Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 571 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Another thing I didn’t much care for Was the fact the writers didn’t mine Picard’s irumodic syndrome arc of his decline over couple seasons which I thought they were doing. There was no reason it had to be resolved by the end of this season It could have hung over the series always in the background informing things
Oh and I’d give the finale 2 stars. It’s watchable and there are times when suspenseful and entertaining but overall it wasn’t as satisfying as could have been. Which also applies to the season itself which I’d give a C

The writers didn’t have enough material to sustain the ten episodes and the times the writers attempted to tell standalone type stories they were bad like “ Absolure Candor” and “Stardust City Rag”.

The writers could have condensed the season by keeping the first three episodes getting to free cloud and Maddox in episode four and focusing that hour to Maddox, agnes Picard catching up etc. since the Borg thread was extraneous and went over well trodden ground(we have seen liberated Borg before with Hugh, four seasons of Seven on VOYAGER, Unity Borg, descent Borg and STP didn’t do anything interesting with them here) the next episode could have been set on some sort of Romulan facility instead of a cube where Soji was located so picard could rescue her, keep Nepenthe then Jump to the season finale two parter. Something like that rather than lot of pointless romantic trysts, long drawn out scenes involving holograms etc
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Daniel.

I agree with what you are saying and I thought the goodbye scene between Data and picard was the best part of and most poignant thing in the finale. I just think if they wanted that message then not even a part of data consciousness should have been a possibility and that Data was completely gone in nemesis and Picard would just have to live with unresolved feelings of regret like we all do who lose someone. As humans we don’t get the chance to resolve these things the way the writers let Picard do. But yes the way the scene was filmed wirh blue skies playing in a drab grey setting and Seeing Data gradually decompose before our eyes was impactful and well done

That’s why I felt if they want that don’t open door to possibility for resurrection by saying part of Data exists up until last night cause then the obvious question is if you resurrect Picard why not resurrect Data, give him a. Ticking clock like they did Picard
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I was also disappointed the writers didn’t do more to provide insight into the state of the Alpha Quadrant this season. Afterall it’s been twenty years since visited this time frame. It might have been nice to do some namedropping which these writers love to do and flesh things out a bit by say suggesting part of the reason the Federation has withdrawn and become so isolationist and not quite so gung ho on being explorers like they did during TNG was due partially to
The war with Dominion and repeated confrontations with Powerful alien threats like the Borg and Dominion leaving the Federation believing it’s better to focus on rebuilding and focusing their energies at home rather than sending ships further out into the galaxy with the possibility of encountering more hostile groups like the Borg and the dominion

This kind of applies to Seven too. I was disappointed we didn’t get any interesting backstory of Seven and her last twenty years. I also think a more interesting role for her instead of vigilante would have been serving as part of the reclamation team. Or Perhaps going around liberating drones from the collective helping them regain their individuality. Would have also loved to hear some namedropping of her voyager crew members to satisfy the nostalgia

And if I were the writers I would have totally ignored the whole nova destroying Romulus but from JJ trek. Watching Picard this season wouldn’t have known Romulans suffered such a devastating setback. Or if writers wanted to devastate Romulan Empire and have it tie with season arc as well as the cube thread they should have just gone with Maurice Hurley’s original plan for Borg to destroy/assimilate the Romulans from
TNG season two.

The few things that did work this season were Picard and Patrick Stewart; the time spent on Earth in the first three episodes be it on the vineyard or Starfleet or Daystrom, the Romulan couple who worked for Picard, Number One, Riker, Troi, Kestra, Soji and the Android mythology

I liked how the writers chose to draw on The Android mythology and develop it. How all that unfolded by starting out with Dajhe and then soji and slowly peeling back the layers with the ban and then late in the season eventually revealing that there’s a culture of androids with different models with an actual homeworld
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 11:12am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

TNG is my favorite Trek series and I was ready to return to the 24th century for a long time after years of TOS redux by imagine less writers. So when first heard of Star Trek Picard I was excited but my excitement was also tempered by the fact that I knew the writers and producers behind the series weren’t great

But I went into it with an open mind avoiding spoilers and messageboards until last night's finale. And I must say sadly that I pretty much got what I was expecting even though was hoping for much better

The whole season was uneven and a mixed bag which has always been my experience with these Mystery Box type shows. Some intriguing beginnings and mysteries that usually end up ultimately not having the imagination or satisfying payoff I envision. Sad when writers who get paid big bucks to do this professionally because in theory they’re suppose to be at the top of their craft can’t come up with something more intriguing or cooler than the rank and file fan can

So was the case this season on Picard I thought. I mean if you step back there were several good ideas here. Things like picking up on the recurring thread from TNG of Data and Maddox trying to create more Soong androids like Data and Data feeling a sense of isolation by being the only one of his kind. That seems an appropriate thing to revisit and seeing the culmination of a thriving culture of human like synthetics with a world of their own seems like a worthwhile payoff

But then You have the things that didn’t work but actually had potential to work in the right hands

Top of my list easily was the inclusion of the Borg. I was surprised by the writers including the Borg but excited. There was plenty to initially be excited about in the beginning—the return of Jonathan Del Arco as Hugh, free reign on a disabled cube set for a full season, Seven of Nine but then writers botched all that big time

No interesting insight into Hugh’s last 25 years since Descent. Hugh was barely used and ended up being killed off in a way lacking any emotional resonance

Then Seven shows up but initially in a lame standalone story until finally she is brought onboard the cube lare in the season. But by that time Hugh’s dead so no potentially interesting interaction between the two most iconic former Borg

And If there was one story left in the Borg I figured it was an origin story. Here was a chance for the writers using the study and investigation of a deactivated Borg cube where they have free reign on without fear of the Borg coming to retrieve it because of the submatrix collapse coupled with the cube setting being a season long thread —to give the audience some new interesting revelations and insights into the Borg Collective, their ship, their Queen(an element fans have been debating about ever since her debut)and their history and the writers don’t do any of that.

Instead we get shit like the floors of a cube are so slick you can slide barefoot across them. Or we get moments where it seems like we are on the verge of getting that cool new insight and having new layers explored on a cube or about the queen and instead the writers vis the characters like Seven basically say, “ do you want me to tell you more about the queen cell or do you want me to retake the ship?”

Then there were moments where okay I started to
Accept I wasn’t going to get new insight to add to the Borg mythology and was settling g into some exciting developments such as Seven taking control of the drones and powering back up the cube for a battle with the Romulans only to have the drones jettisoned and things to fizzle like they did in “Broken Pieces”. Then same thing happened in part I last week of season finale where cube shows up only to promptly crash before anything interesting was allowed to even begin

Frankly with how the Borg part of the story played out in full I would have been happier with the Borg not being tacked onto the season. Even though it seemed initially it would at some point dovetail with the Romulan and android pieces it never did. And sadly it could have by tying the Borg to the ancient aliens and admonition in some way perhaps offering a Borg Origin story given the timeframes would match up.

Up until last nights season finale I actually thought that was where they were heading. What with the Borg being synthetics, the Romulans operation on the cube and the fact the writers kept referring to the cube as the Artifact—a term that for me has a meaning signifying something unique about this cube, a sense that it was very old. Could it have been one of the earliest or one of the very first Borg cubes? And that the Romulans/zhat vash were studying it to help them
Unlock secrets and have more knowledge in their mission. Could they have even deliberately set out to capture it and cause a submatrix collapse intentionally knowing full well by assimilating Ramda the cube would be theirs ? But I’m the final analysis it seems Borg werent tied to Destroyers story. Ramda wasn’t sent on purpose to capture cube as part of a well executed devious daring plan but instead was just serendipity a zhat vash shuttle just so happened to encounter a cube.

And that trend of exciting ideas that ended before that even had a chance to develop into something interesting continued last night in the finale where just as it seemed the writers were going to pull the trigger and bring into the canvas the alliance of synthetics setting them up as story material for season two the writers close the book on them land send them
Back from wherever they came

Another missed opportunity was when Soong showed up. I thought at first it was Data. Afterall they had his neuron they could reconstitute all his memories and put him In a synthetic body and would have been the fulfillment of what he always wanted which was to be human. Instead it turned out to be Soong. Data could have spent the remainder of his days teaching his children all that he knew about humans to avoid what almost happened here from again

Another example of the frustrating knack of this season to seem to be building up to something satisfying only to fizzle in mere seconds was the romulans confrontation with the synthetics and starfleet. Not for one minute did I buy Oh who devoted her life to a group who spent literally centuries trying to prevent the second coming of the destroyers to withdraw and move on simply because Soji reactivated beacon. What about the other synthetics? What about the beacon that could be restarted at a later date ?
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Re: original Borg plan

The original idea was to open season two with the Enterprise discovering the Borg has destroyed the Romulan Empire and the crew discovering that the Romulans found a way to destroy the Borg cube

The crew were to run into more Borg and would need to figure out how the Romulans destroyed the first cube
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

The writers were doing so well in season one then they just seemed to not care any more. This and voyager season three are really some of the weakest seasons in Trek

Most episodes were uninspired. And I came away with feeling of Been There Done That, Been There Done That Better

Nothing new. Nothing entertaining .

Dawn and The Breach are pale imitations of TNG The Enemy

precious Cargo a poor rehash of TNG Perfect Mare

Vanishing Point weak copy of The Next Phase/Realm of Fear

Regeneration retread of Q Who and Identity Crisis

The apathy from this season doomed the series
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

2.5 stars

For a big event multi parter wasn’t very exciting. Very formulaic only thing that helps it rise above is the inclusion of the Tellarites, Andorians and Romulans

The Hoshi/archer bickering was fun.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I rewatched this the other day I realized it is kind of all over the map as far as the narrative

It starts out about a legitimate investigation with good faith from all parties then decided to pull the rug out from the intriguing conspiracy angle before halfway in turning into a story making Satie too extremely paranoid and Picard too extremely naive before deciding to change course again with Sati turning into an all out villain singlemindedly wanting to destroy Picard for opposing here

The writing left a lot to be desired
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

3 stars. Another in a small group of season 7 episodes that was pretty solid and felt like TNG

TNG didn’t have a lot of things to revisit before it ended but Wesley returning was one of them.

I liked the way his arc wrapped up and I found the characterization believable and true to life with regards to his overachieving then burnout

I also liked seeing Native Americans brought into the 24th century and a little bit about them and how they exist in a future setting. It felt very fresh and interesting. Plus it set up the fact that we knew that year that the first officer on the next series Voyager would be Native American

Another thing the episode had going for it was the feel of interactivity between TNG and DS9 in settong up things for VOY.

Overall a good interesting episode

Another
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I also think TNG benefitted from having an open submission policy allowing a lot of good story ideas to come in. The writing staff were good writers when they had someone else’s story to work from. I just don’t think on average with the exceptions between Michael Piller or Brannon Braga that the TNG staff were idea people.

A large part of the decline I feel in the last two TNG seasons besides Michael Piller stepping back had to do with the staff generating not only the scripts but the story ideas themselves. I just didn’t think Ron Moore or Rene were good at coming up with ideas and for me this was brought home on DS9 where they wrote their own storiesmodt of the time leading to lackluster outings.

. But when they did an uncredited rewrite on like The Visitor, Visionary, Destiny, In the Pale Moonlight the episode was great. Or when again they were working from somebody else’s idea like Children of Time they did a better job

I think that’s the same problem for VOY. Not only was Jeri Taylor not a good show runner but they relieetoo much on the writing staff to generate episode ideas. And write them. Let’s face it Lisa Klink, Ken Biller, JoeMenosky, Jeri Taylor. Again about the only on staff writer with good ideas was Brannon in my opinion

If you look at TNG seasons 3-5 most episodes were stories from someone else that a staff writer wrote. And most story contributors contributed one story and no more. I think that helped TNG and why those seasons are usually the ones highly praised.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I do think DS9 is definitely overrated online. TNG is my favorite. I think TNG did best at balancing character and plot as well as taking full advantage of the space setting. I also liked that it was an action adventure series and that most stories had an immediate urgency to them with the problem of the week

Early DS9 did a better job at capturing that sort of TNG feel and balance mostly thanks to Michael Piller still being heavily involved.

But I didn’t care for a lot of Ira Behr’s storytelling style—with the exception of his handling of the Dominion War which I really liked. Instead of taking advantage of the space setting the way TOS and TNG did, he basically told stories that we had seen before on contemporary dramas with weddings, pregnancies, romance, dating issues, daddy issues, love triangles etc. there’s not much new you can do with those so they felt pretty mundane. And there were also times that war cliches were things he fell back on that didn’t feel particularly fresh

I also didn’t like how a lot of times we just had a character or two headlining a DS9 episode. I missed the camaraderie constantly displayed in TNG where the entire cast was involved each week in the story.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The problem I’ve always had with Kurtzman and Abrams storytelling is they are so totally hung up on structure and cons that everything else becomes tertiary. They fixate on setting up WTF twists and reveals and intriguing mysteries early on then when it’s crunch time they always come up with something so very anti-climatic. And because everything is so interconnected the writers don’t want to show too much of their hand in service of the “a-ha” moments. That’s why so much stuff I think happens offscreen. It’s very unsatisfying

That is what I miss most about 90s Trek was that it wasn’t about the VFX or the spectacle or games. It was really about telling entertaining one-off stories that effectively utilized the 24th century and space setting TNG wisely used battles so rarely it was always a treat when they gave the audience some. And on FS9 you could easily follow the fights unlike the blur these epic battle sequences tend to be anymore these days
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

TNG era Trek and even TOS will initially struggle because the shows before never asked viewers to do this much thinking just to get through a season"

TOS, TNG etc never asked viewers to do that much “thinking” because they were well written and solidly constructed and therefore didn’t require viewers to make sense of a convoluted mess of narration

Don’t confuse making sense of the absurd for thinking

Don’t confuse convoluted for complex.

DIS isn’t well thought out or structured. It’s a frenzied mess and blur of a bunch of half realized ideas and plot points just thrown together. It’s like the writers suffer from A form of storytelling ADHD. They simply can’t slow down. Catch their breath. And work out a nicely told five act standalone episode.

They can’t seem to fathom that they don’t have to use TOS as a crutch and throw in every TOS character or element to their episodes.

TNG wisely avoided this and became its own successful thing. In fact, Roddenberry explicitly didn’t want TOS mentioned and hired people not familiar with it.

TNG went onto use sparingly TOS elements as well as create its own unique original characters and races

dS9 wisely stopped shoehorning in TNG elements after its freshman year making the show better

But it seems nowadays writers think Trek needs to be TOS or recycled TOS or tied into TOS. Frankly that’s boring
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

It’d be nice if Trek would get back to more small scale intimate storytelling. Frankly I miss the basic episodic action adventure storytelling that most people fell in love with on TOS and TNG.

Nothing epic. No convoluted plotting. No serialization No obsession with Trek mythology. Not caught up in namedropping and Easter eggs.

Just fun exploration of the unknown—newlife, ancient civilizations, sci fi weirdness, discoveries that fired the imagination and the occasional thoughtful reflective outing

Writers are making it unnecessarily difficult in themselves trying to construct these complex arcs and story structures. Their time would be better spent on the nuts and bolts of just sitting down and crafting a solid script that is entertaining. I also think it would do them good to have to construct an actual beginning, middle and END!! Episodic storytelling won’t afford them the crutch of dragging things out and putting off a conclusion. Hopefully that would lead to better payoffs than the one they put off til the 11th hour
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

It took what...just 2 years to figure out they should have never tackled a prequel and instead should have gone forward in the Trek universe

But that only remedies the canon and continuity issues. Jumping forward doesn’t fix the poor writing or weak cast.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Reading the reviews and recaps makes me happy I didn’t sign back up for season two. It sounds like what I expected based on season one and Kurtzman’s track record

I’m seriously amazed The studio handed the reigns of such a beloved franchise and an enormous budget over to someone who has the writing skills of a failing creative writing college freshman.

He has no grasp on the fundamentals of writing. He just throws shit at the wall and sees what sticks.
They can throw the series into the future to free them from some of the continuity issues but as long as the same writers are running things it won’t matter.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

3 stars I enjoyed this one
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Personally I’m glad they did away with the Maquis bickering.

Frommy perspective VOYAGER’s problem was not a lack of serialization or a lack of conflict or not addressing resource shortages.

I’d have been perfectly happy had it ended up being TNG in the Delta Quadrant. Weekly adventures telling a variety of consistently entertaining episodes week in and week out

Unfortunately it was highly uneven and mostly mediocre storytelling

The show didn’t have a strong head writer like TNag did with Piller. Jeri Taylor oversaw a weakened season six of TNG and awful final season. Brannon when he took over came through on his scripts but seem torely care about polishing everyone else’s

TNG was so good because it looked for scripts and ideas from outside the writers room. I’d argue that the writers on TNG were at their best working off of and rewriting other people’s submitted ideas than generating ideas themselves. But they were good enough writers to turn out a good script

Voyager pretty much had all ideas generated drone from jeri Taylor(Real Life, One, Resolutions, Day of Honor, Coda, nothing human), Ken Biller( Initiations, Jetrel, Elogium, lifesigns, Tuvix, The Chute, Qand the grey, Mediocre Unity, Nemesis, Endgame, Q2), Rob Dohert(Vis aVis, Taunkatse, Imside Man) Joe Menosky , Lisa Klink,(Warlord, Blood Fever, Favorite Son, Sacred Ground, OmegaDirective, Revulsion), Michael Taylor( Drive, Once Upon a atime,)BryanFuller(Gravity, Juggernait,Spirit Folk, Friendship One, Mortal Coil, Retrospect )who weren’t very good idea people. Brannon was much better at generating fresh ideas and script writing than anyone else on Voyager staff in my opinion.

Another thing were the characters. All of them on Paper had potential. All were well cast except Beltran who I think wasn’t a great Chakotay

But as time went on the writers butchered most of the characters to the point where I was happy wen they started sidelining them and focusing only on a Janeway Seven and the Doctor.

Paris was fine until season four then became an obnoxious jerk. Kim became annoying around then.
Torres was an indifferent character around season two

So at the end I was only interested in plot heavy episodes or episodes headlined by those three.

And by the final season it was clear nobody cared and just wanted to be done with the series as evidenced by the weak offerings at the end, no revisiting the Caretaker, no revisiting Unimatrix Zero resistance and Biller having no idea what to do for finale and asking Brannon for ideas who at the time was involved in preparing ENTERPRISE and clearly not interested in VOYAGER anymore. Hence the halfhearted series finale
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

2.5 stars

I thought it was pretty mechanical and mediocre. Most of the scenes were not very involving They were just “there”
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Third Season Recap

This was a definite improvement over season two but it was also highly uneven.

Looking back over the episodes it wasn’t really til the season got to Azati Prime and went all in on the season arc material did it become truly compelling g viewing. The rest of the season meandered with pointless standalones or stories tied into the arc that were only interesting for the crumbs of information soles out about the spheres or xindi. The episodes themselves were disposable and aren’t all that exciting to rewatch beyond a few moments you can just fast forward to

There were exceptions like Anomaly or The Shipment that we’re solid as just hours of television entertainment but far too many like Harbinger, Hatchery, Doctor’s Orders, Chosen Realm, Exile, Extinction , E2 felt like filler to drag out the arc which was disappointing.

I think they could have done a better job bringing in maybe Tholians and Future Guy into the mix since they were threads left dangling from first two seasons

But Twilight, Azati Prime, Damage, The Council, Countdown and Zero hour were solid and packed a lot of good things into them where you walked away feeling like each hour gave you your money’s Worth

The writers should have made it a half season long arc

But the arc and xindi mythology were excellent.

The way seeds were set up with trellium, it’s odd effects on Vulcans, the unraveling of the sphere mystery, the fleshing out of The Xindi species, The Xindi history and dynamics at play, dovetailing the seemingly separate threads of the spheres and xindi attack all were really well done

I enjoyed the scope. From sets like the Degra’s ship to the reptilian ship to the council chambers to ENT J to transdimensiomal realm to the spheres to the weapon

To the scope of history from 21st century Earth to 22nd century to 26th century.

Liked the roster of characters featured from
The various xindi to Daniels to sphere builders to Hayes to MACOs

Lots of surprises and twists which was a welcome change from the first two seasons storytelling. Lots of intriguing complications and clever ways of utilizing everyone such as Hoshi being kidnapped because of herskills to decode launch code.

Lots of great production stuff from The Xindi design to the council chamber to the visual FX and costumes.

The arc itself was also pretty inventive with the idea of a faction from the future being defeated by the Federation and in order to avoid this they plot to wipe out humanity before they can help form the Federation.

Lots of interesting dynamics as a result that I enjoyed. Such as Archer realizing the attack had nothing to do with his mission. He had never even met The Xindi. He just had the unfortunate luck of simply being from
The time period where the Sphere builders chose to target Earth

Then you had the Xindi having no clue who humans were or the significant role they will play in the Alpha Quadrant in centuries to come. They have no appreciation at all for that. They simply see humans as a hostile aggressive force. I wouldn’t have been surprised if the visual recording the Sphere Builders showed the council was of the MU Terran Empire destroying the Xindi

So you end up with all these players and having interesting dynamics and perspectives like Degra/Dolum, Degra/Sphere Builders, Daniels/Archer, Archer /Degra, Dolum/Insectoids, Dolum/Sphere Builders, Sphere Builders/Daniels/Future Guy, andorians / Xindi etc. it is all quite fascinating.
One thing I may have done was reveal that until Archer stops the Xindi and restores the timeline that Daniels and any help from the future is removed because in this alternate timeline where The Xindi destroys earth no Daniels since no ancestors. That way the burden is on Archer and his efforts

I also enjoyed the attack on the Enterprise and the subsequent episodes chronicling the repairs
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: First Season Recap

I find season one a pretty decent year for the series in for Trek in general.

I like the standalone approach. It feels more grounded and realistic given the time period. The show did a good job throughout the episodes putting in new spins and details that you wouldn’t see on the other shows

Frankly it had a pretty solid foundation. All the writers really needed to do was come up with more original plots and twists and use TOS era aliens like the Andorians, Orions, Tellarites etc. they wouldn’t even have to be included in a Federation building /political arc story either. Just throw them in the weekly plot like TNG often did with Romulans and Klingons.

Lot of solid episodes —the pilot, Fight or Flight, first half of Strange New World, first half of Unexpected, The Andorian Incident, Breaking the Ice, Civilization, Fortunate Son, Cold Front, Fusion, Detained, Fallen Hero

This and TNG season one are my favorite modern Trek freshman seasons
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

2 stars

I liked the broad idea this episode was going for with using TNG which launched successfully this 18 year run of modern Trek to close it. And at the same time reflect back on ENT and it’s crew from a historical perspective of the 24th century

But the execution was bad.

The writers should have had the episode be set in TNG era still so we could stillbe treated to the recreation of the ENT-D sets and CGI ship model and Tanag uniforms and communicators but instead of setting it during a specific episode like The Pegasus should have been centered around a story where the crew is celebrating the anniversary of the founding b of the Federation and remembering the ENT crew by running a holodeck program based on their final mission leading up to the Federation ceremony

This episode messed up by telling a totally disconnected rescue story with throwaway players and aliens. It should have been tied to the Federation and signing ceremony.

That way the episode also would play nicely off the theme both in universe and in real life of the celebration of the end of an era.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

The Borderland was a good idea showing that in this day & age that anything goes including piracy and slave trade giving the region a much needed sense of being in the wild frontier with its lawlessness. Every species is out for themselves trying to stake their claims to the quadrant and establish themselves as the major power. The Federatin isn’t yet around to establish order and every species is vying for territory.

It makes sense that two formidable groups like the Klingons and Orions would mark territory leading to this no man’s land. Some of the best things Coto did for the show was to build up the universe in which the crew occupy by fleshing out the 22nd century Alpha Quadrant both in terms of power players and geopolitical landscapes.

I enjoyed it when the crew would visit an alien world whether in Broken Bow or Rajiin, for instance. And while not quite as exotic as either of those, I did find the slave market with its mix of aliens including a Tellarite different and welcoming. Like in Broken Bow the crew are learning how other alien races conduct themselves and is an eye opening experience. A human starship and human presence doesn’t carry the influence it will one day. Right now they are just another alien species afforded no more respect or concern than any other—their ships will be attacked, their people kidnapped especially when they have no shields to prevent transporting

T'Pol had a nice moment that further highlighted the qualities I most appreciated in her when amidst her own disorientation she manages to reassure the young ensign and later I liked how he attempted to return the favor by protecting her when the Orion came to take her away. I like it when the crew watch out for each other it just gives me that warm fuzzy feeling.

And it was really cool to see an Orion female in a modern series as well as the well designed Orion males. Fun stuff

The great escape was fun and so perfectly Soong to take advantage of the mayhem to make a run for it.

And while not crucial to the story, the slave market/Orion detour was an entertaining diversion on the way to the real heart of the story with the Augments which continued in the next two installments. While they didn't really get much attention what screen time they did have allowed a glimpse into the players especially Malik and they certainly projected very well the same superiority and danger about them as Khan's genetic supermen except that these are younger and not quite as sharp. Manny's method of bringing the Augments into the 22nd century was clever and not the least bit contrived like it could have been. It makes a lot of sense there might have been embryos left over after the Eugenics War.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

3 stars

Not as bad as I had feared based on Andre Bormanis writing track record but not nearly as good as The Forge but I did enjoy it.

The Vulcan trilogy followed by the Augment arc and Klingin two parter were my favorite season stories

Bruce Gray was well cast as Surak definitely coming across as a wise influential figure with a gentle spirit. I could definitely see him being the Father of Vulcan Logic. The images in this arc once again stood out as highlights.

The way Archer interacted with Surak’s katra was well conceived with its ethereal vibe. The haunting shot of the nuclear bomb going off in the distance was a very chilling sight to behold depicting a very dark period in Vulcan history a little unnerving too. It showed the stakes of what Vulcans could become again if no changes were made I enjoyed the Surak/Archer scenes

T’Pau’s characterization as an young rebel leader determined to save her people at all costs was interesting from the standpoint of where she ends up within Vulcan society and the Federation in her later years.

T’Les shined in her scenes including her death which was a moving moment as she shares in a very emotional way why she was doing all of this for T’Pol

. I loved the shot of the trio looking out over the sanctuary as it was being bombarded

The show did a really good job in making it clear that whatever is about to happen Vulcan would never be the same. This whole arc does an exceptional job of making this historical period so vibrant and alive. Seeing these various characters from Archer, T’Pol to Soval, T’Pau and the Syrannites being cast as those historic figures you read about who at the time didn’t really appreciate what they were bringing about but which history acknowledges is just marvelous stuff.

As for V’Las I know some fans don’t care for his emotional outbursts but for some reason it didn’t bother me. I think I’ve seen so many emotional Vulcans in ENT coupled with what we learn of V’Las as being a Vulcan that subscribes to the militant philosophies of the ancient Vulcans and rejects Surak That it makes sense

Just when the episode needed it we got the development that the Syrrannites are at the sanctuary trying to find a mysterious ancient artifact from the time of Surak the Kir’Shara which was an intriguing revelation.

So overall the episode could have used maybe some furthering polishing it was pretty solid and entertaining all in all. I liked it
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 12:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

3 stars

A pretty solid outing that would have benefitted from
A little more polishing by the writers to smooth the rough edges

It was neat to bring in the Andorians to the Vulcan trilogy but the torture of Soval was boring and went on too long. Shran came off as very one note. And the Vulcan Andorian fleets facing off against one another possessed a certain cool appeal but it also didn’t help that it reminded me of far superior such engagements from DS9 that had more suspense and unpredictability attached to them than a prequel will allow here

I liked the episode remedies Tpol’s panar disease. The reveal of the Kir’Shara’s writings was a good moment.

The best moments though were the last few minutes of the hour when the relationship beywwwn Vulcan and Earth takes a more friendship and less adversarial turn followed by the closing scene where we learn V’Las wasn’t just a Vulcan who was opposed to Surak’s peaceful teachings but also someone actively allied with Romulans for decades trying to undermine Vulcan progress and restore the society to a more militant Romulan philosophy which sets them up as a genuine threat

In fact, the Romulans were never as threatening as in ENTERPRISE.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.