Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 84 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I thought this episode was great. I've probably seen it a few times, but watching it in 2017 was the first time that I picked up that the alien Riker nailed was Lilith from Fraser. I really liked that they didn't end it all clean. Basically, they failed their mission by f-ing up first contact, but came to an understanding and planted the seeds for a better future, but an imperfect now.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I enjoyed the episode but I have one burning, glaring issue with the plot...

So they manipulated the computer's time by 24 hours to cover for the "missing day" - but what the hell happens when they pull up to the next Starbase and start arguing over whether it's Tuesday or Wednesday?
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Holy crap! Liam Neeson!
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

At first I thought this was just a rehash of "For the World is Hollow and I have Touched the Sky." However, that's like saying that any plot with a generational ship that's devolved into ignorance would have to be a rehash. I found the take on this very fresh. And there was so much more character stuff going on. I think that's why I'm enjoying the Orville so much. A good portion of the show is spent on character interaction and growth. The plot, while familiar, is merely the means to an end. It's really about watching the people interact. And I have yet to be disappointed. If anything, this episode really ups the ante in terms of the drama. I like the direction the show is going.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

I have to say that this was a profound episode. I think it demonstrates an inexorable move from the silliness of this show to genuine science fiction. Honestly, this is the best Star Trek episode I've seen in years.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Fri, Sep 15, 2017, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Seth MacFarlane's love of Star Trek is well-known. I, for one, was counting on that reverence to show itself in this show. I was in no way disappointed. I really did feel like I was watching Star Trek. While the casual dialogue was a little bit off-putting, I still found it to be very human. I enjoyed the acting, the characters, and the visuals. The sets were a little too clean for me, but that's trivial. All in all, I found it very enjoyable and I'm looking forward to future episodes.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I thought Worf should have proclaimed that he took over the Enterprise through battle and forced the crew to submit to him and was now using it for the glory of the empire.
Set Bookmark
Scot M.
Sat, Apr 29, 2017, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

I would have liked this episode much more if Jason Vigo had actually been the love child between Picard and his female friend from Tapestry. There is a woman from his past with whom he had a liaison in that Q manipulated timeline. The benefit of this is that it would prove that the events of Tapestry *really* did happen! I never liked the way it was just dismissed as a Q fantasy. It would have given much greater meaning to both episodes.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Mar 30, 2017, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

By reading all these negative comments, I guess I'm not as hardcore of a Trek fan as I once thought. I'm not that deeply aware of Trek cannon and convention, as some are. I found myself fairly emotionally engaged by this episode. I think the core point was to explore a "primitive" society's reaction to first contact. I could certainly feel their bewilderment and fear. And yes, it makes sense that they'll fall back on whatever cultural mythologies that they happen to have when encountering as unknown as a star-ship. By our 21st century eyes, the cultures of 100+ years ago do look primitive and silly. I also bet our 21st century ways will look equally primitive to those who come around after another 100 years or so.

After reading comments about all these faults regarding the plot inconsistencies, I guess I can see them. But interestingly, none of them occurred to me at the moment I was watching. Ok, maybe the Doc being hypnotized by the watch was weak - but it was also funny enough I didn't get bothered by it. So if none of these criticisms surfaced for me at the moment, I would rate the episode at least 3 of 4 stars. My favorite moment was when Janeway's boyfriend shows up on the bridge, and she's got some explaining to do. Given their emotional bond, she and he were really the only hope for a bridge to form between the two conflicting sides. Yes, Star Trek gets a little predictable by frequently making cheesy appeals to rationality, humanity, and good will to resolve conflicts. But that's been true since Jim Kirk and Mr. Spock first set sail back in the 1960s.

Forgive me, but isn't that sentiment a major part of the whole attraction of the entire Trek series? We all have to deal with a world every day that's too much full of irrationality and crap. I suspect that a major part of its fan base depends on a Star Trek that is consistently a world in which good will, rationality, humanity, and non-religious morality wins the day most of the time.

Most of us aren't creators of literature - we're consumers of it. I suppose if I wrote or thought about stories for a living - all day, every day - I'd have similar reactions as many on this board. But I suspect for most of us, there isn't any harm in some technically less-than-stellar plot lines, if we don't have to work too hard to suspend belief, and can still become emotionally connected to the story.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

What breaks this episode for me is that Bashir would go from reanimating his coma patient on day 0, to putting the moves on her on day 2, that makes no sense. It's repulsive that his character couldn't control himself.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I enjoyed the episode, but did so while rolling my eyes.

I had major issues with the following plot points:
- Data can get "drunk" and hyposprays can fix it
- They never initiated a ship-wide quarantine to stop the spread
- Data obviously could have put all the chips back in. They kept cutting back to him and he seemed to be putting the same ones in
- The sun explodes and expels a single "sun chunk" that happens to be going straight at the Enterprise? Pleaaaase.
- They had to do the fancy tractor beam reversal, why? Just use the normal tractor beam to move the other ship in the way of the "sun chunk"
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 7:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

It was a forgivable pilot. Great effects for 1987, they did a good job of introducing the characters, and I enjoyed the "court" scene.

However, there are some unforgivable points:

1) The saucer separation scene was far too long and they literally played the title theme in its entirety.
2) The new station seemed very empty
3) Crusher seemed odd in her challenge to Picard's wishes about children on the bridge with a snarky, "He's in the TURBOLIFT, not the bridge, DUH! He's just going to stand here holding up the G-Damn elevator while I give you a report."
4) Manually reconnecting the saucer section is sold to us as risky and dangerous. Why would Picard needlessly endanger the crew?
5) The time between Picard's order to evacuate the station and the time they shoot the energy beam is very short. They never got any confirmation that the station was evacuated. I just picture hundreds of people screaming as they're absorbed into the jelly fish creature and placed in the fancy torture chambers that make you float.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Dec 29, 2016, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I'm a big The Walking Dead fan. I don't find Sonequa's character to be super-engaging, but she does a very good job with the material she's been given. I'm excited to see what she does with the Discovery role.
Set Bookmark
The Real Scotty
Mon, Dec 26, 2016, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

You always know there's a problem with the episode when you wish you had been sitting in on the early script conference.

There's a dozen questions I could have fired at the writer regarding the lack of logic concerning the basic concept. However there's one question that keeps popping up as I watch this episode.

Wouldn't it be simpler - much simpler - for the Taresians to just secretly beam out sperm from Harry Kim's ballsack? Indeed I believe that last sentence would have made for a superior episode outline.

This episode is so woefully bereft of logic, it would not have been out of place to have inserts of Tuvoc saying "What?" "Huh?" "Seriously?" every five minutes. That's what I was doing, and I'm no Vulcan.

Ugh. Simply ugh.
Set Bookmark
Quincy Scott
Sat, Dec 17, 2016, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I wonder do all the people complaining about Troi's "know it all" abilities also complain about Jordie's "know it all" visor that can see neutrinos (you know... those itty bitty things it takes swimming pools full of dry-cleaning fluid to detect?) or Data's "know it all" petaflops processor? These people probably shouldn't be watching Star Trek at all.
Set Bookmark
Supersized Scott
Wed, Nov 30, 2016, 1:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I find it amazing that nearly 9 years after the original comment was made on this episode that we're here still talking about it with such intrigue.

Whether you liked the episode or not, it certainly goes to the quality of the story that this has happened.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Tue, Aug 16, 2016, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I'm not too big on speculation. With the given details it can go good or bad, that we'll just have to wait to see how it is executed.

The All-Access is both annoying, but opens up some possibilities. I'm hoping they'll make all the episodes available at once. If not, I hope I can just wait until all 13 are out and get All-Access for just one month and binge-watch them.

All-Access does open up some possibilities that the show won't have to be squeaky-clean, since it won't be on TV.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sat, Feb 27, 2016, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: Site Version 7.0 (2016)

Jammer -- I've been reading your reviews for the past few years and I wanted to finally say thank you. Even though I've seen every episode of ST:TNG and DS9, I always use your site to jog my memory and decide which episodes I want to re-watch. Brilliant. Thank you.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I hope they do the new-age way of releasing ALL episodes for the season at once. CBS All-Access is $5.99 per month. I could watch an entire new season of Star Trek in the matter of a week or two. So $5.99 to watch a season of Star Trek? Hell yeah, sign me up.

I'd more than likely be canceling the subscription when I was done watching Star Trek, but maybe they can convince me otherwise, which would be the main reason for making Star Trek online-exclusive.

Mr. Jammer, there's plenty of time. Even if you don't review these episodes as they release we'll be hoping for reviews, even if they take years!
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sun, Jan 24, 2016, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: You Can't Go Home Again

One of the best episodes of the series I cry every time I see them in sick bay. All is forgiven. You guys missed the dialog where Adama explains that sometimes 'you gotta break the rules' because she is family. And he would never have left if it had been Apollo.
Set Bookmark
Scotch
Wed, Jan 13, 2016, 3:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Absolutely brilliant and heartfelt episode. Drama, sorrow, humour, hope, reminiscing, honour and culture - the writers achieved the perfect balance. This episode is a great example of why voyager is by far the best Star Trek show. If you don't like this type of episode, this isn't the show for you. 5 out of 5
Set Bookmark
W. Scott Richardson
Sun, Oct 25, 2015, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

I'm with @Locke: The microphone cord swish was grandiose, in-character, unexpected, and made me laugh, genuinely.

I think Janeway's "Captain Proton" performance counterbalanced the Delaney twins in that one can choose what to perform when in a fantasy setting, and it need not correspond to the accepted norm. It's okay to play "Boobs and Brainless" but when you leave the Holodeck, Megan is back to being competent and responsible. Its also okay to play seductress or savior of the cosmos, but when you leave the holodeck, you go back to being the captain under Federation ideals (completely ignoring the Prime Directive at will) or her Ensign pilot.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Apr 2, 2015, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

I am disgusted by the part where Work picks up the Ferengi Tooth Sharpener and uses it on himself. It would be like going to a garage sale, seeing an old used toothbrush, and trying it on the spot.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Mon, Mar 9, 2015, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I'd give this episode 1.5 to 2 out of 4. It has several fatal flaws.

- Pacing: This would be a much better plot if the show was only 30 minutes long

- Believably: So this alien race is advanced enough to build ships, transporters, and everything else that they'd have leading up to space travel, but they only have a couple handful of phrases they can say that are metaphors for large ideas? I simply don't believe that this race has made it to space.

- Repeated phrases: They simply just say the same jibberish too much in the episode, to the point that it becomes annoying.

Nonetheless, this is still an episode that I cherish, because it is a very unique TNG episode.
Set Bookmark
elscotto
Sun, Mar 8, 2015, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

I realize not everything has to make complete sense, but the thing with Uhura made not sense. How did she still know Swahili if her mind had been wiped? Wouldn't there be major psychological implications if she had lost all her memory? How would it be possible to relearn everything in a matter of weeks?

The joking at the end was unnecessary, too. Seems weird to make jokes about a thing that just killed 4 billion people.

Altogether, this is a pretty weak episode.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.