Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 47 (Showing 26-47)

◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Apr 17, 2009, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I saw the Caprica pilot, and I thought that it was really cool. I hope that you check it out, Jammer, in the future.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Apr 3, 2009, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

going to echo that....no. And...no.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Thu, Apr 2, 2009, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Random aside: Was rewatching Disquiet follows my soul, and I realized that that episode is really good. I didn't appreciate it enough at the time, because I think I was so anxious to get the mutiny on.

Although I have loved season 4.5, I think I will enjoy it even more after I rewatch the whole series, because now that I can relax, knowing the show is over, I can appreciate all the great moments that made up all of these last episodes.

Anyways, I was reading on the scifi.com website that the battlestar galactica: complete series dvd and blue-ray edition will be released on July 28, 2009. Hurray! It has been really hard not being able to watch this show on DVD, or even really on TV, so, having the entire show on DVD is going to be great fun.

Random aside ended.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Mon, Mar 30, 2009, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Face of the Enemy

Was just thinking about this the other day..and then I remembered...

WE CAN BE SLAVES!!!!....(you know the rest)
Set Bookmark
Robo
Mon, Mar 30, 2009, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Jammer,

I can't believe this is the end. After this review, what are you going to do next? Stargate Universe?! (I'm joking). I'm not sure what's out there at this time, so, heh, I don't have any concrete ideas for you for a new sci-fi show.

Caprica, perhaps, but I'm sure you'll think it over for a while before deciding. Looking forward to reading your review on the finale, hope it's a long one.

I'll hold back my comments until you post something, but I will say this: this finale made me feel happy, sad, hopeful, and everything in between. And that's something special.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Oh, and I was just thinking, that any battlestar finale that causes as much of an uproar as this one, as well as controversy, is truly a finale made in the name of battlestar galactica, lol.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

oh Jammer, why did you read the comments?! (I kid). But I sincerely hope that this does not impact your reasoning or review, hehe. I believe that reading the comments for an episode like this only further cemented my opinion about the episode, and indeed, the whole series, and as Alex1939 said, made me more defensive. No need to do that in your review.

Whatever review you give, glowing, middle of the road, or disappointing, will be sure to cause a firestorm on this forum (look how many comments have been made before you reviewed!).

Things seem to have stayed under control for now, but don't be afraid to shut the comments down after the review if things get out of hand.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Mar 20, 2009, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 1

Great review, Jammer. Also, a clever way to compromise between reviewing the episode, and holding back on a final opinion. Perhaps, if the two episodes are merged together on the DVD, you'll merge these two reviews together into an extended cut? I kid, I think.

In any case, this show is awesome, and I am sad to see it go. All good things must end, however, and it is up to us to remember and enjoy them for what they were. This show has a heart, and is at once timeless and grounded. Pretty amazing.

Another tidbit of info (not a spoiler, but if you believe that it is, please erase): In an interview with Moore I read a few days ago, he said that Rolsin's family tragedy with her sisters was written into the show bible all those years ago. The writers were saving that little piece of character insight until later, I think. Roslin is a very private character, so any insight does help a lot in better understanding her as a character. Cool.

This site is the best, so see you on the other side of the finale! Also, I was reading your Voyager finale review the other day, and it's hilarious. Good times.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Thu, Mar 19, 2009, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

My apologies, and thank you for removing that information.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Thu, Mar 19, 2009, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

[Spoilers removed.]

[Reminder from Jammer: Please do not post spoilers of anything not contained in this episode or an episode before this. This includes anything from trailers or podcasts or articles you read elsewhere.]
Set Bookmark
Robo
Sun, Mar 15, 2009, 7:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Indeed, Jammer, that's a good point! I love Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly, but Whedon's history with Fox has been rocky in the past.

Yes, apparently, Fox has interfered heavily with "Dollhouse", which has caused a lot of grief in the process (especially for Whedon). I've been watching the show since it started last month, and while I have tentatively enjoyed it so far, I think it's taking a little bit to find its own groove.

Now, Whedon has claimed that the network "understands" the show now, and Whedon promises to try to balance Fox's need for action with his own tastes, but I guess those who watch will have to wait and see.

I'm happy to have battlestar on some "weird" network (SciFi is so strange sometimes), with pretty low ratings, because the show never needed to be popular on TV to be good; it has earned revenue from DVD sales. Yes, anonymity can go a long way towards more creative freedom.

Sorry for rambling so much; been studying for an accounting test on my computer, so, it's "gonna be one of those nights"...lol.

(Oh yes, and Whedon has promised that the 6th episode of Dollhouse, the one airing this Friday, is the one to watch. But guess which other show time Dollhouse interferes with on this coming Friday?)
Set Bookmark
Robo
Sun, Mar 15, 2009, 7:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

In addition, I've heard some troubling things about Moore's latest project, Virtuality, which is/was/unknown being considered for pickup by Fox.

Guess Fox thought that the show was too dark and complex, and wanted less character work, and more action (along with other changes), to make the show more identifiable with fox's perception of the channel's audience base. While the show may still see the light of day, the pilot has already been massively retooled. Moore is too upset to talk about it in interviews (or at the very least, has no comment)

I suspect, as Jammer noted, that similar occurrences would have happened to battlestar if a major network had considered funding the show.

I think we all understand Jason K's frustration about certain actions on SciFi's behalf (those hiatuses were nasty!) But now that it's all over, we can have the episodes on DVD forever, as the show was intended. For that, I am happy.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Sun, Mar 15, 2009, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Jammer is right, without SciFi, Battlestar probably would have never found a home. I really don't think it would have survived 5 weeks on a major network, so let's be thankful that it got a full run (an accomplishment that so few shows are able to do, or are even designed to do).

Sure, some of SciFi's promotions for Battlestar have been evil and strange, but they've always stood by this show, given them the freedom to really push the limits, and become the best show the crew and cast could make it.

If SciFi really didn't like Battlestar that much, I doubt they would have supported it this long, or allowed Caprica to get a first season. So, cheers!
Set Bookmark
Robo
Sun, Mar 15, 2009, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Interesting; I've been skimming the scifi forums, and it looks like, according to Ronald Moore's wife (Terry, I think), Daybreak was meant to air as one episode. However, Scifi forcibly split the episode into two pieces.

Hopefully (though I have no confirmation), they will put the Daybreak episodes back together for the DVD, like the miniseries DVD. I'm pretty sure the Daybreak on the DVD is also going to get extended, along with Islanded and Disquiet (according to Bear McCreary's blog)

See everyone on the flip side! Can't wait for your reviews, Jammer after the finale.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Feb 27, 2009, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

Occuprice-I can see that you have given this argument a lot of thought, and that's great, because there is certainly a difference between a good storyteller, and a good writer. However, I must admit that when I read your first post, with the massive capitalizations of "SHE" in a big list, I got irritated. But no worries.

As these things usually go, there is going to be a difference in taste, and that's what this ultimately boils down to. I really enjoyed Escape Velocity and The Hub, The Passage and Dirty Hands were fine (not amazing), and Deadlock is rather unique. Espenson usually gets the in-between episodes, it seems (with an exception to The Hub), which on BSG, are often used to lay groundwork for future episodes. As the saying goes, art is never completed, only abandoned...heh

Well, anyways, this forum has always had great discussions,and I think that as long as the forum can avoid the massive bile and hate comments that I've seen floating around other sites in the past few days, things will be a lot more respectful, as well as honest.

And with that, I eagerly await the next episode!
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Feb 27, 2009, 12:54am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

I absolutely disagree with this review, (and also somewhat with Blood, which I really enjoyed), but I'm glad to see, that unlike many other commentators across the net, you didn't devolve into a Jane Espenson blame game, whom I believe is an excellent writer.

This episode, upon repeated viewings, has left me even more enthusiastic about it, as I believe that it really rang true with who these characters are, who they've always been, and who they are trying to be. With the baby, you really can go either way (was it science, or faith?). Take your pick, it didn't feel forced to me.

Additionally, I appreciated the humor this episode brought to the fore front; it's something that we need, given that we're about to take the next plunge into the final hours. For me, it all really worked, and I wish that we didn't have to wait several weeks to watch the end, because when I think it's over, I will have gained even further perspective on this episode.

Good review, nevertheless, Jammer!

3 stars, easy.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Thu, Feb 26, 2009, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

I understand, Jammer, but I have to tell you, those summaries of the Voyager and Enterprise seasons are really funny. Nice work. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of your reviews for battlestar!
Set Bookmark
Robo
Wed, Feb 25, 2009, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

Hey Jammer! I was thinking; I've read your other Star Trek reviews, and I've noticed that in the past, you would write an analysis for each ending season. If you had the time, wouldn't it be really cool if you wrote your final assessment/analysis for the entire Battlestar series, after the finale? Just a thought, but I figure you might incorporate that into your review of the finale, which by itself is already a huge episode. Coolness.
Set Bookmark
Robo
Wed, Feb 25, 2009, 12:43am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

Great review, Jammer! Spot on. Additionally, I think that from here on out, the remaining episodes will most likely be construed as one large story (even more intertwined than this season has been), so, hopefully, the concerns you have over the aftermath of the mutiny will become addressed over time, but not all at once. This goes for the remainder of the plot and character threads as well. Perhaps it is in more than words that will detail the impact of the mutiny. We see it on the faces of Adama, Roslin, as well as in the general atmosphere of the ship and crew. Things are really bad, and the already tenuous control that has kept our characters moving is slipping away. Very cool. But I believe that there is great hope, even in the face of this ever deepening despair. Onwards to the finale!
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Jan 16, 2009, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

Brilliant, you did it! Go Jammer!!
Set Bookmark
Robo
Fri, Nov 21, 2008, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

Yay!
Set Bookmark
Robo
Thu, Nov 13, 2008, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Please, Jammer, please put up a review! The election is over, it's time; arrrrrrrgh

Great reviews so far!
◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.