Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 704 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

It is worth seeing but it is sometimes quite slow.
Discovery had a 2 episode start where a lot of nothing happened. Here we have three and it seams that they can start. I hope so.

I am not found of these long themes. I just rewatched Enterprise and really enjoyed the Xindi season three where many episodes where standing alone.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 30, 2020, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Mr Stewart did obviously not want to retire. Glad for that.
It looks promising, I hope he also will have some influence on other things than his own character. In such can be very good.

In this episode some parts was a little slow some very fast but Stewart's acting great,

Look forward to the rest,
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 29, 2020, 7:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

If I saw it in advance the first time I watch is a secret but the second time it was obvious. Now at 3rd or 4th rewatch, it sometimes felt a little long but that is easily forgiven.

In my opinion the the 2 Reasons why Phlox mind picks T'Pol as a companion is that, firstly she is the only person on board with sufficient experience as well philosophical intellectual and ethical capacity to join him. Secondly in many ways she is his counterpart. They complete each other in a way no other persons do.

I am seldom nitty gritty regarding the context but in the Fallen Hero episode V'Lar says that she and T'Pol was the oldest on board. I always considered Phlox as quite old having collected several degrees a in various sciences in combination with the maximum age of 350. Definitely he is the most mature person on board.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, May 28, 2020, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

When I started to rewatch this I could not remember that I had ever seen it. After some minutes it looked familiar. Somehow a similarity to Sim in Similitude where his memories re-appeared. When I finished I could remember it all.

I guess that it is an indication for the episode not being great.

Still I could enjoy it. Conor O'Farrell argued in the same way as some esoteric / Feng shui / anti 5G / religious fanatic people do. Luckily most of them does run around with implanted bombs. His interpretation / acting was good / convincing.

The moral at the end was also very clear.

There is a risk that I will write a similar comment in a couple of years having forgotten this.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, May 28, 2020, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Rewatching again, every time I get a little bit frustrated I do look on TOS. The plots there can be really stupid.

This is to me a quite funny and good episode. Blalock's subtile acting. Guest actor Leland Orser comes magnificently through like a real arse.

I very much disliked the "temporal cold war" theme, I mostly dislikes the logics around time travelling. But to me this episode had a lot of things I appreciate. Run down area, T'Pol trying to make logic of a primitive world. The word plays referring to common situation like going starboard in a card, the burger drive through.

To some extent I like the Xindi plot more than many other plots, also the expanse component . But the more important the main plot gets, you concentrate to much on that. This episode does not bring much to the Xindi plot, I agree. But when I remove the Xindi storyline from my mind I get a funny and enjoying episode.

To Jammers defence, I am not sure I liked this the first time I watched it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, May 27, 2020, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

A really good time twist story. Also one of my favourites. Archer / T'Pol / Phlox chemistry works fine.

There are many complaints regarding Anthony Montgomery and Linda Parks acting or Characters. They are too weak / bad.

To be honest I am not sure. Perhaps two background characters where needed. It was the same with Garrett Wang in Voyager. I believe such character are needed or perhaps wanted. In real life there are a lot of people who not expose themselves to much. Hoshi get more space then Travis but I am not sure that it was just bad acting that brought Montgomery in the background. His acting / character has not been a big annoyance to me. But it is a pity that he could not be used more or better.

Sometimes it seems as we need to bash.

I would have liked to see more of the character Cutler from first season.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 24, 2020, 8:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

O dear. I have tried to re watch this three times earlier but never succeeded. I find it so embarrassing that I could almost not view it. I decide now to force myself through it.

Trips behaviour is so very annoying that it gets embarrassing. Yes he is right but when viewing this drama that goes towards a catastrophe I just want to take a pillow and hide behind it. I guess this is how my children feel when I make funny jokes with their friends. Trips nativity stresses me. He is so stupid that it seems impossible.

By the way, the two middle aged men who when out with the sports car was also embarrassing.

I accept and can understand why some people like it. I understand and appreciate a very important theme. But for me it disappears behind the pillow that I am holding in front of me.

Is it a good episode? I do not really want to judge it but I am happy for those who like it. I hope I will change my mind.

Start good. Malcom side plot was funny. The lines from T’Pol and Plox were relevant and the ending good. And ok, a plus for taking up a important theme.

An think of this. It is not meant as an insult. As a white continental European I have no problem taking a drink with white American and British males although many of you treat non-white migrants as sh*t . But this does not mean that I myself are without prejudices.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 24, 2020, 6:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Plox /Billingsley episodes are mostly quite enjoyable, here the script was perhaps a little bit to "pedagogic" but the acting good, even Dr Plox can lose his temper. Hoshi's character is as Mayweather's (mostly) quite much in the background. But Hoshis / Parks performance in the Tribble part was very good even if it was short.

T' Pols/Blalock Frankstein scenes was very funny.

I also like the space life episodes as a complement to those with more action. And the plot was definitely in Roddenberry's spirit. And then some actors also were in a cave.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 23, 2020, 6:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

The problems with stars, If made today , considering the acting only and general screenplay, few stars. Considering the nostalgic value, more stars. Trying to travel back in time and watch it with those eyes. Probably, wow this is great. I guess I watched first when I was 17. (It took some years before it was aired in my country, Impuls speed for distribution in those day, compared with warp possibilities today). I must have watched it with relative adult eyes. As a sci fi reader I am sure that I was amused.

Of course I like to view it again.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 22, 2020, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

I think it is the third time that I am rewatching this episode in the hope that I would enjoy it. Sorry, never really liked enemy mine or Darmok either. It is mostly a long transport between an acceptable start and fair ending. Boring.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, May 21, 2020, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I am doing a rewatch. I have the liberty to skip anything I do not like. But I did not skip this episode. Is it one of the best episodes? no. Is it funny to watch? Yes, fairly.
Sexistic, primitive, simple, ridiculous ... still or perhaps because of that, I find it quite funny and enjoyable. But I must admit I lot forward to "the catwalk".
Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Wed, May 20, 2020, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

It seems like Trek itself is not 100% consistent on how time travel is supposed to work. The TNG "Time's Arrow" 2-parter would seem to take the position that you can't actually change the past, because whatever you end up doing when traveling into the past has already happened and is thus part of a single unchanging timeline. Guinan remembers her initial meeting with Picard in the 19th century even though, from Picard's POV, he hasn't yet traveled back in time and met her.

On the other hand, ST: First Contact seems to posit that you can change the past, because when the Borg first travel back in time, the TNG crew witness 24th-century Earth turn into a long-assimilated Borg world before following them into the 21st century to counteract their changes.
Set Bookmark
4Q2
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"The third season of Discovery still doesn't have a premiere date beyond "soon." I intend to be back for that."

Not me. Gave the first two seasons a full and honest chance. I might be up for a Pike-led Enterprise but no way am I signing up for another STD.

Picard S2? Ehhh...sure.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@James White

lmao! Andy's Friend literally describes the straw man in his head that he's arguing with. Look no further than your nearest mirror for the fool in question.

@Andy's Friend

Peter G. stated my position correctly. (Thank you.)

Meanwhile, you then twist what he stated into a notion that I might think Data was a toaster. That's asinine. Data was very clearly depicted as a sapient organism. All he lacked was emotion. While there's research to indicate that emotion compliments our reason, I seriously doubt the question is settled. It's quite reasonable for a work of fiction to present that as not being absolutely necessary. And that's certainly what TNG did.

As far as trying " to take strands of conversations to initiate other conversations..." I find it difficult to even want to talk to someone who's forever arguing with the misunderstanding they have of what someone else is saying, so I doubt I'll be taking you up on that offer.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Andy's Friend

Once again you've come to an overblown and erroneous conclusion. Your entire post had nothing to do with what I was talking about. Jason R. claimed that you needed a physical body to interact inside some vaguely specified environment and together that is perhaps the recipe for the emergence of intelligence. I questioned the assumptions inherent in those specifications and the vagueness thereof.

I understood Sarpeshkar just fine. Did you? No, I didn't change my mind. No, I didn't argue against it's principles. I've stated them and you simply failed to understand what I was talking about. And instead of clarifying with me, you substituted your vague notion of what I was talking about and argued against that. A straw man by any other name is still a straw man.

Sarpeshkar's talking about emulating the principles of biology and leveraging the massive parallelism and built in logic/calculations/computations available in the laws of physics and chemistry. I never once claimed that digital programming was either sufficient or necessary for intelligence. That's something you pulled out of your ass, as my prior comment about 0s and 1s to Jason R. indicates. He was the one who brought up digital, not me. The prototype device would probably be a hybrid device: digital for ease of programmability and analog for the raw power of computation. Call it a digalog computer.

I don't know what you think software is. Software is just information embedded in some form. There is nothing called "software" floating around disembodied in some more delicate corner of space-time. It's an arrangement of particles in some structure. Sarpeshkar is suggesting we arrange those particles in a different fashion according to different principles, not get rid of them altogether. If you somehow believe that "software" will magically be exorcised from a world of analog computers you're delusional. The software will simply have most of its logic embedded in the laws of physics or chemistry, rather than trying to express it as a sequence of logic gates.

When Sarpeshkar talks about building an analog device that electronically represents the functions of a kidney that's exactly what the hell I was talking to Jason R. about, simulating a body, rather than actually having a body. Sarpeshkar's not talking about actually building a god damned kidney. There's no wetware. You couldn't stick Sarpeshkar's analog device in your ass so you don't have to go to dialysis tomorrow. It's a programmable device (which yes includes software) capable of representing all of the functions in a kidney in terms of analog electrical signals. We could scale up Sarpeshkar's approach to represent an entire human body. There wouldn't be an actual human body walking around in any kind of real environment; there would be an analog representation of a body interacting with an analog representation of an environment inside a device or a stack of devices as Sarpeshkar described in his talk, which is EXACTLY what the hell I was talking about.

Sarpeshkar even refers to his prototype concept chip as "Digitally Programmable Analog Cytomorphic Supercomputers." How the hell could you have missed that? He actually talks about placing a bunch of chips on a PC board and building multiple stacks of these boards as large as the room he was talking in. He then says that if they did just that "in five to ten years we could possibly SIMULATE the entire human body." If he calls it simulating, why the hell wouldn't I call it simulating? There would be no wetware anywhere in sight, despite your claims, only the simulation (there's that word again) of wetware with analog electronic signals. You don't need wetware; you only need something just as robust as wetware. And we have all of physics to search for that.

All that crap attempting to draw a distinction between the EMH and Data is just nonsense. The EMH's software, whatever form it takes, is implemented on some type of computer. Someone pointed out above that none of the computers in question need even be digital. In Voyager's case that's the Bio-neural gel packs of which Voyager's computer system was composed of, OR, the magical mobile emitter, which we have no idea of what it's composed of. How you expect me to believe that either one of those things can't do what also magical positronic circuitry could do is ridiculous, especially in light of the source material (TNG, Voyager, etc) telling us otherwise.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

This may look like a tangent, but it's relevant to not only the current conversation, but to a prior conversation about what Soji and other Cylon style androids are and how they relate to human beings. As I was trying to say before (with the frog cell robot), it's the principle on which a computer (cell) or the basic components of a computer (cell) is designed.

This guy, Rahul Sarpeshkar, states it far better than I ever could. If anyone is interested, this right here is one of the best Ted talks I've heard in awhile. Titled, "Analog Supercomputers: From Quantum Atom to Living Body," it's only 22 minutes of your life. I seriously doubt you'll want them back: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZycidN_GYo0
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Jason R.

That's just not true. There are many different types of computers. 0s and 1s are not even the tip of the iceberg. Assuming (and that's a big assumption) the human body requires analog information, computers are quite capable of producing the needed information. Analog computers are an actual thing. You're using the term, "data stream," as a pejorative. Just what do you think the cones and rods of your retinas are giving you RIGHT THIS MINUTE, but a data stream? Your inner ears are giving you data streams. Your nerve endings in your skin are giving you data streams. That's all it is.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Jason R.

We can't simulate it exactly, but we can give a pretty damn good rendition of it. What exactly can you experience with your 5 senses that you believe can't be simulated?
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Jason R.
"Trying to create a general intelligence, artificial or otherwise, absent a physical body, is akin to trying to teach someone to walk as a pure intellectual exercise, only multiplied a million fold in difficulty."

"Well anything from a Google search engine to good old Dr. Sbaitso can mimic intelligence without being intelligent. Conceivably, you could even develop an algorithm so sophisticated that it could carry on a natural seeming conversation flawlessly. And yet it would only be an algorithm not a conscious being. And if you somehow gave this algorithm command of a physical body, it wouldn't know how to walk *at all* even if it could explain the process in exacting manner. Because knowing *about* walking and knowing how to walk are distinctive things. "


Interesting pov, but most likely untrue. Let's assume for the sake of argument that a physical body learning to interact in an environment is the definitive method of producing intellect. Modern technology allows us currently to simulate both the physical body and the environment far better than we can simulate a human brain. So the objection you raised is actually the least of A.I. researcher's concerns.

If you could create an A.I. with the potential to acquire sapience and all it lacked was a body to interact in an environment to learn from, we could achieve that right now with pure simulated virtual reality, let alone what's achievable with the tech in PIC where they have holodecks capable of fooling human senses. We don't actually need a body to build a functioning brain or an environment; we just need a Matrix to download our brand new brain into.

Your argument also fails to take into account the nature of the environment and body that you claim are required for intelligence. In order to successfully make the claim you're making you'd have to know precisely the level of capability, complexity, detail, etc in both the body and the environment that is sufficient to generate intelligence. In other words, it may indeed turn out that an environment as simple as a billiard ball table would be all the environment required and a simple mobile toy to interact with the billiards all the body necessary to achieve the goal. The body can be something very simple, like something no more complex than an inchworm or a mollusk with a foot. Any of these things would be easily simulated.

They've actually already simulated the brains of simple creatures. The bodies would be child's play. And they're already teaching robots to walk. They could easily do so completely inside a simulated environment, no actual body or tangible environment needed.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@J
"'Anyway why didnt they put Data back in a new body?'

That's no doubt the biggest problem here. Data's reason for wanting Picard to pull the plug was to experience the humanness of a temporal existence. But with the Golem they could have actually made him essentially human, as Picard's new body is, with the bonus of dying after he's lived a fully human life. Surely he would have preferred this to actual instant death?"

You hit the nail on the head at what bothered me about an otherwise nice send off for Data. That could've been the culmination of Data's life long dream of becoming human. They could've left Picard in the simulation for later and put Data in the new body. Data could've been indistinguishably human with emotions and all, lived out the remainder of a natural lifespan, and then died, like every human who ever lived. The problem with that is Brent Spinner didn't want to keep playing that role as I understand it. Another problem is that Data would quickly take over the show, even from Picard.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Leif
As far as I could see, Soji's only connection to the Borg was that she was doing research on the Artifact due to the fact that it was completely disabled when it assimilated Rahmda and got a spliff of the Admonition. That's why all those Borg in the one wing were so damaged and out of it and reacted so negatively to Soji. They were all hopped up on the Admonition. That's what that entire scene was all about. She was there specifically to learn about the Admonition. The Synths didn't quite know exactly what they were looking for, but her programming had her gathering any and all information she could find on the cube that could even possibly lead her to the Admonition. She may indeed have gotten some information from the neuron of Data's that spawned the new line of completed androids. However, that was unclear though. Sorry if that doesn't answer your questions.

@Jor-El
I noticed that. You missed one I think. There was a Borg being "reclaimed" when Picard came aboard and Hugh showed him the Project. He was missing one of his eyes and the wound over the spot was healed using a dermal regenerator I think. He was still missing an eye, but it didn't look so horrendous afterwards.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 1:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Also, I lol when someone (forget who and I'm not scrolling this Great Wall of Text to find out) claimed that the people who don't like Picard never claimed it wasn't Star Trek. What's the purpose of the term NuTrek? Use the search function at the top of the page and search for "NuTrek" or for "Picard" and "not Star Trek"/"isn't Star Trek" and see how many people are making this claim. In fact, we have two people on this very page, who have expressed exactly that point of view. Use your browser "Find" function to take you right to it. So the notion that detractors aren't saying this is quite simply an erroneous claim.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 1:21am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Glom

Soji was on the Artifact to gain intel on the Admonition. Watch episode 3, especially the conversation with the nut job Zhat Vash Borg reclaimees.

@Sen-Sors

Interesting. I don't recall Sisko being all that troubled about poisoning the atmosphere of that Maquis colony in retaliation for Eddington's terrorist attacks, in order to force his surrender. Been awhile though. Maybe I just forgot.

Pretty sure any competent attorney could get Jurati off. Not only was she under the influence of the Admonition, which all by its lonesome took out a Borg cube and generally drives people bat$# insane. She was also under the influence of Oh's mind meld. Mind melds all by their lonesome are harsh mistresses. Oh gave her not only the Admonition, but her fanatical mindset regarding the Admonition. Who knows? Season 2 episode 1 might open with the great great great great grandson of Samuel T. Cogley getting her off with probation.

I'm tempted to go check how many of the people complaining about a still unresolved plot point in Picard, most likely dropped due to time constraints, also complained about The Orville's casual murder of a number of prison guards, during a botched prison break, which was never even mentioned afterwards in the episode, “All the World is Birthday Cake.”
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Would Picard really have wanted this? I remember an episode of TNG where he lectured someone for cheating death and now he's gone and done the same thing. They should have saved his dying for the end of the series instead of this pointless reset button of making him an android when it doesn't really change anything apparently other than he's no longer dying. The whole illness thing could have been completely left out altogether since it wouldn't really have changed the story much at all.

What is it with CBS and the stupid "Last time on" flashbacks for their shows? They aren't even flashbacks from the last episode but random snippets from the entire season. It's so annoying to have to skip past them every time I watch a new episode.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Tommy D. @Ryan

Hear! Hear!
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.