Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 52,296 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,092
Set Bookmark
Lavenderchartreuse
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

Very interesting review..thank you for the extra depth...excellent commentary on your part.

I mostly enjoyed the episode, but found the ending a little confusing. I didn't really see how B'elanna disappearing made any sense in the plays storyline, but maybe I missed something.

I generally DO like an occasional episode that show us a bit of depth of character, or something that is playfully different. I love sci-fi, but I only buy into it if I care about the people and, as long as every episode doesn't turn into a soap opera, I enjoy a little excursion into something unusual or insightful.

On the negative side, (Its possible someone already mentioned this, I didn't read through everyone's responses), the thing that jarred me out of the story was that B'elanna could read the note that she was given by the messenger. Uh, either he can write in her language, or she can read his. What?! Lol.

Otherwise, I enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Unbelievable
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Lava and Rockets

I've been watching every episode of Andromeda in order (for the first time), and there have been highs and lows, but nothing as bad as this putrid turd of an episode.

If this becomes the new norm I expect I will shortly be an ex-Andromeda watcher.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

The first time I saw this episode it stood out. Just plain creepy and unable to be forgotten. I anticipated it when watching Voyager again. It’s all about being stuck in a bad dream or nightmare...for 19 years. Can you imagine? And then knowing that you could die if something happens in the dream. Voyager peeps did a great job on this one.

Anyone feel bad for baby Harry though? That poor kid had to experience the fear for real. Sure hope the real life set was a whole lot different that what we saw on video.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Wow. I just saw this episode for the first time and I can't believe how awful it was! I mean, Voyager was never as good as TNG and TNG had a couple of not so great Q episodes but even the worst of them was better than this crap!
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

It was nuts that they just allowed Troi's mystery possession pregnancy while in the middle of a critical and dangerous mission.

They should have put her in a shuttle or whatever with a doctor since she was determined to have the baby.

One nice touch-- in the briefing when they reveal it's some sort of alien pregnancy, Worf turns and stares at her. It's nice because Worf is typically depicted in a very non subtle way.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I had no thought about this episode that hasn't already been explored admirably by others above me. I always found Bareil boring and not at all charismatic, so no great reaction to his death.

I'll just share an anecdote from when I was 15 and started to really think for myself. My parents and I were watching TV and something terrible was on--I don't even remember what it was--and I expressed disgust at it. My mother said, "Well, you have to respect others' beliefs," and I replied, "Not if those beliefs are STUPID!" And that's all I can say about Nog and his vile culture.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

While it has some solid bits, it has some very weak ones.

It often plays like a cartoon, such as when the female crew member jumps off her seat and slides across the floor yelling "we're moving", and the commissioner guy is practically grinning when contact with the shuttle is lost.

The crew becomes severely insubordinate right after they land.

Boma's insistence on a funeral and Spock saying nice words at it when Spock and Scott are frantically trying to fix the ship is insane. Is that what Boma wants/expects if he dies? He doesn't want them to use every moment to save themselves?

McCoy's rank and position make his tangling with Spock more reasonable, but chatting with the junior officers about Spock not having a heart is extremely inappropriate.

And of course, dead horse, Spock dumping/lighting the fuel was entirely logical. It was a gamble, but not illogical considering sensors were not functional.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Jasper-You watched 7,920 minutes of a show that you had nothing positive to say about. Life's too short for that.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

@ Iceman,

That's an interesting point that I'll think about. However it strikes me as problematic to suggest that giving Sheridan a flagship means they borrowed from DS9. Unlike in DS9, B5 is actually about Sheridan mustering a fleet, which sooner or later would necessitate a flagship, so I don't see how they were getting away from that one.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

Oh, and another cool thing about this episode is that Babylon 5 ripped it off-the White Star debuted a year *after* this episode. Kina pokes a hole in the "DS9 is nothing more than a Babylon 5 ripoff!".
Set Bookmark
Joe
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I remembered this episode fondly, but after recently rewatchung it on NetFlix I was surprised to find myself displeased with the portrayal of Twain, since in my memory that was something I liked about the episode.

When researching it years later, the portrayal of Mark Twain struck me as shallow and cartoonish.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

This one's just bad enough to fall into my stupid category which is worse than my mediocre category -- feels like something from the 1st 2 seasons of TNG than something from the 6th. All the cliches are at play -- 2 nameless warring factions that nobody gives a shit about, alien possession, a megalomaniac, arbitrary medical drama. All to tell a weak story and have Sirtis get to act differently (as in "Power Play").

I think it's clear that Sirtis can play different types of roles, albeit not super-well -- her councillor schtick isn't a great one. She's not an actress I particularly enjoy watching and I didn't get a kick of her excessive flirting with Riker and her having a fling with the young man. But these are all the negative emotions and behaviors of Alkar, including the tough talk in the counselling session (which was my favorite of Troi's new behaviors). But why does she age so quickly? Is that making a statement about what negative emotions do to a person??

So Alkar feels he has the right to do this to young women to save lives in the conflict. Picard reads him the riot act but Alkar doesn't accept it. The ending with reviving Troi and transferring ceremony not completing was a mess -- who knows what should happen when. It's all arbitrary. Although it was curious that Alkar dies when he takes on all the negative emotions. So Picard's words fall on deaf ears or maybe it's just retribution for Alkar.

Wonder if this episode's ending with Troi and Riker in each other arms is to signal a start to intensifying their personal relationship.

1 star for "Man of the People" -- not even good enough to get to 1.5 stars for me (like a 3/10). Felt like it was thrown together in a hurry (let's combine as many Trek cliches as we can) with a very simple plot and an arbitrary conclusion. Gave Sirtis a chance to chew some scenery -- she didn't do too badly, just that I don't think it's interesting or even fun.
Set Bookmark
mypro
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

So, aged Kirk couldnt recall whether he gave the same order twice or not, yet he remembers details of Chekov fright when discovered the dead man. Rolls eyes...

As for the cure, Kirk and the good doctor got their young faces back very fast. Is the aging process reversible? Well, VOY did it better then with “Threshold”...
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

In I, Borg it's also stated that the Borg very much wish to recover lost drones and ships. This makes sense for a number of reasons -- a kind of extreme esprit de corps, wanting to recover all the information from their lost drones, not wanting their tech to fall into the hands of imperfect beings who might gather against them, etc. I think that with Icheb in particular, the Borg want to recover him since he's "one of the collective." Why the Borg assimilated him in the first place is a different story though.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

I also figured you didn't mean Madred was lying about his childhood -- though I addressed that because it's always possible. I also agree that there's no reason to believe that the Cardassian people are better off. I mostly just thought that Madred's argument was that the military saved him, and thus that the military power has significantly tightened during his lifetime, rather than that his experiences as a child were *because* of the fascist leadership. It's maybe not that worth further defending this point, because other episodes tend to back up your take on the history -- The Neverending Sacrifice suggests that Cardassia has been totalitarian for generations, for example. I just for whatever reason read CoC as implying that the military takeover was within Madred's lifetime.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

Peter,

Re: Garak, I agree that Garak does not really believe in the military as such. I was mostly indicating that Garak believes in personal sacrifice for Cardassia in a way that others (Tain, Dukat, Damar at least before the last section of season seven) do not. In his case, I think that on some level he *wants* to believe in The State because that is what Tain wants, but what he really values is Cardassian art and beauty and culture. I guess what I meant about his exile is that Garak accepts his punishment, for a while, partly because Tain imposed it, and he can't entirely go against Tain. I think that Tain and the OO are intermingled in Garak's mind, and as brilliant as he is, I think he has a blind spot about exactly what he believes regarding Tain and the OO. I don't think Garak had any intention of getting back on top in a way that would hurt Tain, and because Tain is a sort of symbol of the State, that also meant on some emotional level accepting the State's view of him. I think things become clearer for Garak after he realizes in The Die is Cast that he couldn't really go back to being who Tain wants him to be, but before then I think he is still trying, on some level, to believe in the State stuff even if it's not what he really values. That he seemed to believe he could go back to being Tain's at the beginning of TDIC is why I think he is still somewhat self-deceived before this point, and not just deceiving others (e.g. Julian) about it -- though indeed, it's true that his reaction to the dissidents suggests that he's basically open to reforms.
Set Bookmark
Lavenderchartreuse
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

@ Jason R.

You are right, of course, but that's what I mean, what they say the Borg are interested in and what they show the Borg are interested in seems inconsistent.

In "I, Borg" Hugh says "The Borg assimilates civilizations, not individuals."

How many individuals have to be around for them to start calling it a "civilization" ? I guess a starship constitutes a civilization in the eyes of the writers.

Still, my point is that they should not have been interested in a single boy.

Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

@ William B,

"That said, yeah, it probably makes more sense that the military dictatorship has been going on for longer than a generation. In that case, I'd say that Madred's revealing that he grew up hungry was still not a *slip-up*, because I think he is still selling the same basic narrative -- his submission to the military is what saved him from starvation -- but it does show that there is something inconsistent in the narrative *about Cardassia* he is pitching."

What I meant to say isn't that he lied about starving as a child, but has been brainwashed that Cardassia has prevented starvation in general through its militarism. The truth of the matter is probably that anyone who signs up with the government or the military will be taken care of, and that for anyone who doesn't do that 'it's their own fault' or they're not worth saving; or other such arguments. I imagine that general starvation has been getting worse, not better, just as the military has been getting stronger; inverse correlation. In 1984 it's true that the depression had been a real thing, but in the present time conditions are deteriorating on a regular basis (chocolate ration being reduced again). I see this as being a Soviet-type situation, where if you're in "the party" then you're sitting in luxury, and if not then to hell with you. Madred's position seems to be "look at what the military did for me", and I think Picard's riposte is "yeah, look at what it did *to* you." This is what I mean about not trusting Madred's narrative; not that he's lying about his childhood (although he might be) but that he's personally deluded about the military and is not a credible source of information of how Cardassia is really doing.
I like your points about what might have been at stake for him, though.

"What I meant in particular is that Garak's belief in the State superseding all is part of why he cannot really recover from his exile."

I wonder about that.
(SPOILERS)
Time and again Garak tries to teach Bashir about Cardassia, such as with the Neverending Sacrifice, and how the state is everything. However over the course of the series we see Garak as always keeping his real thoughts to himself, and the rest is strategy. It might be playing the long game, but I see his final scene with Julian on Cardassia Prime, Garak unequivocally says that the Cardassians are GUILTY. Not just guilty of betraying the Alpha Quadrant, but guilty of everything else they're accused of, too. They made their bed and now they have to lie in it. His concern here sounds like it's for the art, the culture, the great minds lost, but not for the mighty military and the Obsidian Order. I'm not convinced he *ever* believed in the Cardassian supremacy stuff, even though when he worked for Tain he would no doubt do any about of horrible things to please his father. That was his weakness, I think: he did it for love of Tain, not for greed, ambition, or even love of the state. At least, that's my read on it. I think he did care for Cardassia, but not for the Central Command or any of the fascist power structure.

There's a teeny little clue about this in Profit and Loss, when Garak warns Quark about the dissidents. He doesn't seem to refer them as inherently dangerous people, or even as wrong, but as simply on the extinction list. And we might wonder why he helped Quark and them at all, if indeed Garak worships the state for real. I wonder whether it isn't because he sympathized with the dissidents even though he knew that this little group were amateurs and weren't going to get anywhere.
Set Bookmark
I Hate Janeway
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Re-watching TOS, and I got to this episode and it stood head and shoulders above all previous episodes. Probably the best serious episode of TOS ("City on the Edge of Forever" is lighthearted affair). The pacing is so perfect compare to other TOS, and this feels like the only TOS episode where someone's death really matters and makes you sad, unlike the typical TOS episode "Oh some red-shirt guy died, what's his name? Oh well, let's carry on, no big deal."

Yes, the Romulan bridge looked like it was made from styrofoam and I noticed, but this episode transcended low-budget effects and the typical science that doesn't make any sense.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

I remember this episode from when it first aired! I liked it then, and like it now. Yes, the fluids in the truck being intact and it starting up right away was a little far fetched, and yes, I would like to have actually seen the cities, but still, it was an enjoyable episode
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

"A few hundred or thousand people (however many are on the starship) are certainly not big enough to be considered an entire civilization. They shouldn't be scared of the Borg at all."

In the very first episode the Borg appeared, they attacked the Enterprise, which was one ship.
Set Bookmark
Lavenderchartreuse
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 1:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

I struggle with Voyager because of the lack of consistency in the series. Why would the Borg be at all interested in a single individual on a lone ship? I thought they only bothered assimilating whole civilizations.

This thought occurs to me as well anytime Voyager encounters the Borg. A few hundred or thousand people (however many are on the starship) are certainly not big enough to be considered an entire civilization. They shouldn't be scared of the Borg at all.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Visionary

Even though "Visionary" is technically an O'Brien story, it goes out of its way to give everyone in the ensemble a chance to shine. From Odo's "Sometimes I have to remind you just how good I am" to Kira's fight with the Romulans, most of the main characters have a great moment in this one. I wish more DS9 episodes did that. Onto the actual plot, Ira Steven Behr didn't like this one because he said it was too much like a TNG episode. I really don't see that as a problem. The setup is very much TNG, but the backdrop is pure DS9. And as far as technobabble episodes go, this is excellent. It's really fun, well constructed, and makes at least a modicum of sense. It also holds up to re-watches, which I can't say for other episodes such as "Cause and Effect" which was exciting the first time but is pretty repetitive and boring on re-watches. Sure, it's convenient that O'Brien always jumped forward to the exact right time to prevent a disaster, but as far as regular DS9 episodes that aren't status-quo shattering like a certain upcoming two-parter, this one would rank fairly highly. It might not be in the very top tier of DS9 episodes, but it's very high quality.

3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 12:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

It's annoying that so many of these Ferengi episodes can't decide whether they want to be comedies or dramas-when that happens, they end up accomplishing neither very well. "Prophet Motive" continues that trend, except it also wastes the Prophets. Bashir winning an award was just odd. Not bad, but completely neutral.

1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

"Destiny" is built upon interesting ideas, but it's not a very compelling episode. It can't really decide which of its interesting ideas to fully explore, and ends up saying almost nothing at all. A weak and fluffy B plot with O'Brien doesn't help, although Diamond Dave is correct that it adds depth to the Cardassians-not that they need it.

2.5 stars
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,092
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.