Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 45 (Showing 26-45)

◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Wed, Nov 10, 2010, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Latex Zebra: Hardly anything seems to be out of bounds in any of the relaunches (I'm currently reading the TNG, DS9 and VOY relaunches, as well as Star Trek: Titan, all of which take place after DS9's and VOY's end). To answer your question: yes, Sisko has returned - it took quite a bit, though (seven books or somesuch).

Since the series probably won't be continued in any canonical form, the novels have started taking ever greater liberties. Used to be, you couldn't kill off major characters or change in-universe political dynamics. No longer. I won't say any more, because it really wouldn't be fair to spoiler any of the goings-on in the novels (which range from acceptable to truly outstanding).
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Mon, Nov 1, 2010, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

@Mister Teeterman: Huh? Confusing why, exactly? The review makes perfectly clear, even to someone like me who hasn't seen either this episode or Errand of Mercy in quite some time, what the link is and the humorous aspects of it. How is this confusing?
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, May 30, 2009, 4:59am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I mostly agree with this review. The general impression that I got from this was "I want to see these characters again. In a real story."

My particular favourite was Karl Urban as McCoy. Somebody better check the afterlife for the soul of DeForest Kelley; I think it might be missing. :D
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Wed, Feb 18, 2009, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

I seem to remember that Zarek was introduced way back in season 1 as a convicted terrorist. And people find it surprising that he was able to have the Quorum gunned down when it served his purpose? I certainly believe he was capable of doing that at the drop of a hat. Still, all of this seems quite rushed. A three-parter might have served better, but considering the MASSIVE tangle of loose ends that need resolving, that kind of rush is to be expected.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Fri, Apr 11, 2008, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Actually, I find it quite difficult to even think of this as a finale. This doesn't convey the same sense of closure that the other Star Trek series' finales had in spades.

Then again, perhaps I am just influenced by the fact that I recently started on the "relaunch" book series (for those who do not know, it's effectively "season eight"). Once you get started on those books, it becomes really difficult to see "What You Leave Behind" as a conclusive cut - more like a very extended season finale. (And by the way, though I do not receive royalties or anything, I recommend those books. Very neat stuff.)

Greets Ospero
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Fri, Mar 28, 2008, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

I enjoyed this episode a lot when it first aired, and I still do. Talk about clash of cultures. This has to be one of the most purely funny hours of DS9 (you wouldn't actually think that the rather subdued Kira/O'Brien plot fits in this, but somehow it does). The final scene in the Infirmary is a scream, thanks in no small part to the line delivery of Alexander Siddig ("I should stop asking those questions..."). Great, great fun.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Fri, Mar 28, 2008, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

The Voyager mirror universe...gotta love that one. My personal favorites on this are the alternate uniforms (including Psi-Corps-style black leather gloves, no less...) and the image of Voyager. "This doesn't even resemble our ship!", indeed.

And where DS9 tended to use the Mirror Universe for pure comic relief ("Crossover" notwithstanding), this episode actually places the comic-book evilness in a relevant context. "Making history", indeed.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sun, Feb 17, 2008, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Admittedly, I haven't seen this movie. I did read the novelization once, back when it was released.

I once read a review of First Contact that described the rifle-toting Picard in his undershirts as "Jean-Luc McLane" (à la Die Hard). This story might have been good (possibly even great, given that I love the Romulans) if not for some truly unnecessary detours and off-character behavior. THIS is supposed to be Captain Jean-Luc Picard? What is this, the 24th century equivalent of midlife crisis? The character is supposedly in his mid-seventies by this time, for crying out loud!

Also, the use of Riker and the Viceroy was filler. In a film like this, I do NOT expect filler. This is either an action premise or a spark for a philosophical debate on the nature of existence. Does anyone truly believe that there is not enough substance to either of these to fill two hours of screen time?

"Wasted opportunity" is probably the most apt description here. Sad.

And by the way, forget the "even numbers are great, odd numbers are bad" rule. There is one that hits it better - avoid any Star Trek film with a running number divisible by 5!
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Is it just me, or are the season finales of the Star Trek series (excepting TOS, which didn't have a finale as such) on a steady decline?

TNG: "All Good Things...", a brilliant episode that managed to give closure to the series.
DS9: "What You Leave Behind", great but not perfect, and leaving a lot of questions unanswered (which is why I recently started on the "Relaunch" book series)
Voyager: "Endgame", a middling affair, with spectacular action and not much brainpower.
Enterprise: "These Are The Voyages...", a misguided and strangely uncompelling end to an unloved series.

Makes you shudder to think what a hypothetic Sixth Series finale might look like, doesn't it?
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Brilliant. I just find it sad that Doc and Seven seemed to be the only characters for whom the writers of Voyager could find meaningful, innovative stories (exempting "Barge of the Dead", of course).

As an aside: Is this the first time the "nutshell" part is a direct reprieve from another episode? "Prey" is introduced with the exact same words.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Sheesh. As if we really needed ANOTHER "Voyager-stumbles-across-something-from-the-Alpha-Quadrant" episode. That was one of the main problems for this series. Especially when the "something" is as trite and overused as Klingons.

"Lineage" was fine as it stood, folks. Why bother with this?
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Yup. Agreed with all of the above. I especially liked the sequences aboard the titular Barge and B'Elanna's Gre'thor vision (the "Eternal Voyager"). I usually have no particular liking for Klingon Klaptrap, but this episode managed to overcome that dislike.

Besides, seeing the crew carved to pieces by the Klingons (the scene in the casino) was fun.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

I really enjoyed this episode. I don't have the first clue as to why I did, but there you are - this has to be the most ridiculously overblown time travel plot ever seen on Trek (which has to be some kind of distinction). And besides, Jeri Ryan looks cool in a Starfleet uniform (better than those ridiculous catsuits, anyway...)
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Very strange little piece. I guess whether you like this episode comes down to whether you regard it as cynical or as tragic. Either view has some valid support to it. I personally fall into the "cynical" camp - and besides, what was the point of all that?

And just as an aside, of all episodes to make a sequel to, why pick "Demon"? Lottery?
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Nov 3, 2007, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

This is one of the few cases where my opinion is different from Jammer's. I consider this episode (or, more precisely, the A-story) one of the best character pieces done on DS9, and Goran'Agar is one of only two Jem'Hadar ever to transcend the "universal soldier" stereotype (the other is "Rocks and Shoals"'s Remata'Klan). Were it not for the rather unnecessary B-story (why exactly is it that Odo investigates stuff that goes beyond the station? Isn't that exactly what Worf is supposed to do?), this would rate at four stars in my book, and as it is, I still give this three and a half.

Admittedly, this episode is easily overlooked following the two stellar starter episodes of the season. But I for one hold it as an equal to "The Way of the Warrior" and not as far behind "The Visitor" as a three-star rating would imply.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Nov 3, 2007, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

This episode just triggered one reaction in me: "How could this go so utterly wrong?"

I like Ferengi episodes (kill me if you like) - they're not the cream of the crop exactly, but I don't expect anything but silliness when I tune into an episode with the inevitable "Profit" in its title. I also love the Mirror Universe. So what the heck went wrong here?

Sorry folks, but a worthy goodbye to DS9's Mirror Universe this wasn't. "Resurrection" at least had the merit that it was just bland and boring - this one is downright unwatchable. This looks as though it had been written by some kind of ScriptBot - and the cheap variety, too. Except for The Episode That Must Not Be Named (read my comment on the one before "Profit and Lace" for more on that), this is probably the worst episode of the series.

A clunker like that, and in the final season too. Nice work, guys. Not. Yuck.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Nov 3, 2007, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Okay, right off the bat: I consider this the worst piece of junk in the history of the franchise (and I sincerely hope it will keep that status, because I shudder to think how this waste of film material could ever be beaten in terms of sheer badness). If the Federation actually drills its cadets into doing such massively misguided, downright stupid things, congratulations - you've built yourselves a military education system that any totalitarian regime could be proud of. Some of the episode was halfway watchable (like, say, everything with the only thinking person on board, Jake Sisko), but in total, this (known among me and my fellow Star Trek aficionados as "the episode that must not be named"...call the ship the USS Voldemort if you like) made the wrong impression on me. I believe I am not supposed to yell "Yes! Go for it!" when I see a Starfleet ship destroyed, nor should I shout "You overlooked an escape pod!", but that is exactly the effect that the ship's destruction scene had on me. And the bone-headedness of the final scene with the transporter chief (I think it was) just left me speechless. Is it required to hand in your brain when you join Red Squad?

Utterly, utterly misguided and the series' lowpoint, this episode pushes all the wrong buttons with me (and as mentioned, I am not alone in this opinion). I am German, and seeing a group of people shout something in unison is linked with things in my mind that I do NOT want to be reminded of in the context of a Star Trek episode - especially not when the link is caused by the behaviour of the episode's supposed heroes.

Thanks, but no thanks. This episode is to me what "Profit and Lace" seems to be to everyone else - the worst of DS9 ever. And of Trek in general.

Loved that Dominion Warship, though...
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Nov 3, 2007, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I recently saw this one again. Absolutely stellar piece of character work, and proof that Star Trek in general, and DS9 in particular, CAN do innovative science fiction stories without tossing plot and characters out the window. One of the series' very best.
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Sat, Nov 3, 2007, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ties of Blood and Water

Ah, yes...a truly good episode with some rather moving scenes. But I will always remember this one for the gold standard of comic relief scenes ("that was quite toxic, wasn't it?" indeed...gotta love that Weyoun).
Set Bookmark
Ospero
Wed, Oct 10, 2007, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

A truly terrific episode of DS9. I for one have always liked the Romulans, and this show revealing that members of the Federation can be every bit as scheming as the (supposedly) best race in the quadrant at covert action (except perhaps the Cardassians) was disquieting and felt real at the same time.

One thing springs to my mind as I read this review, though: it reads more like a three-and-a-half-star review, rather than a four-star one. Was the verdict on this one changed later?

Greets from Germany,

Timur
◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.