Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 29,494 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,180
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Peter G.

It's hilarious you said that because I think of this as TNG's "Tuvix".
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

If you find a wallet on the ground and keep it, it's a crime of opportunity. You didn't set out to rob anyone, but you're still taking advantage of the situation for your own benefit.

This is literally no different.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

It doesn't matter if Geordi intentionally created her or not.

Over a thousand lives were at risk and Geordi allowed the program to distract him with needless personal asides that ate up precious time. Any Starfleet officer wirth their salt would've told the computer to knock off the romantic stuff. But Geordi didn't .... and he even made sure to go back (once the emergency was done) to see her holo-duplicate once again and kiss her.

And once the emergency had passed? Did Geordi delete the program?

Just because he didn't create the program doesn't mean he didn't take advantage of it (and her).
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I rewatched the scenes before I wrote my last comment. Again he got a massage from holo Leah and he kissed holo Leah. As Dave said he was clearly romantically involved with the hologram.

He created a hologram of Leah which then provided him with physical pleasure (massage, kissing).
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Booming the creation of the hologram and its behaviour was clearly *unintentional*. Rewatch Booby Trap. Not up for debate.

I don't understand why people can't process this fact. Have to keep pointing it out every couple years.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Also, are we supposed to believe that Geordi remembered she loves fungili a year and a half later?

Obviously Geordi reran the program to brush up on her personal details.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Geordi had a facsimile of her saved in the computer: a copy that was made without her consent in which Geordi engaged romantically. He didn't just "delve into her personal history".
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Why run to the holodeck? Because he realises that however innocent everything was, Leah is going to jump to the wrong conclusion. He wanrts to get there before that happens and explain what happened and put it in context.

And remember, Geordi didn't "create" the hologram, the ships computer did that without him intending to, and it came up with the holographic Leah's script, and with any and all of Leah's actions. Which were presumably based on its understanding of the way she would have been likely to behave with a trusted colleague she liked. The trouble was that, for the real Leah, Geordi wasn't a trusted colleague she liked. Not until later in the episode.

And if his delving into her personal history didn't go beyond finding out a favourite food and didn't even tell him that she was married, it couldn't have been that intrusive.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

* Geordi
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Another question is why Geordie runs to the holodeck when he hears that Leah went to the holodeck? Why run when he has nothing to hide?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

"And trying to find out what food someone likes before setting up a meal amounts to invading their personal space....? "
It can be but what Geordie did went far beyond that. He not only created a hologram with her personality files, he got a massage from holo leah and also kissed her (in Booby Trap). That is not some boys will be boys thing. That is a serious invasion of privacy and she is justified in feeling violated.

In galaxy child Leah asks him how far it went and Geordie flat out lies to her (It was a professional cooperation) and ends his tirade with the sentence:" I offered you friendship." which he certainly did not.
Set Bookmark
Cjanus
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Pros:

- I enjoyed the solid and relatable (but not done-to-death) set-up: a character encounters a race of telepaths and the telepaths discover a secret lurking in her psyche. Most episodes se to focus on ship-in-jeopardy plots or “We’ve encountered a strange phenomenon,” or political intrigue with other races, so I find the different ones refreshing. This one, as well as “Eye of the Beholder”, “Lower Decks” and even the Beverly ghost story all appeal to me because they break the mold.

- I appreciated seeing (finally) a Lwaxana episode that wasn’t about her pursuit of men and romance. The series-long portrayal of her as an aggressive menopausal man-chaser (whom all the male series regulars flee from and mock) is IMO boring, grating and borderline sexist towards older women. (It doesn’t help that Pulaski was axed after a year and that Picard’s love interests are noticeably younger than he is. A pattern emerges.). While Lwaxana was partly redeemed in a couple past episodes - taking a political stance in Half a Life, and admitting her loneliness in the Alexander/mudbath ep - even those episodes revolve around her one-note pursuit of male companionship. Here, at least the writers let her do something (slightly) different.

Cons:

- This doesn’t feel like a seventh-season plot. I wish the writers had fleshed her out with a backstory by season 3 or 4 - or let it go.

- While at least it’s not a romance, it’s barely better: a mawkish motherhood drama. Compare this with Deanna, who at least got to stretch beyond her counselor persona in a couple eps (“Face of the Enemy” and “Disaster”). By contrast, every single Lwaxana story seems to mindlessly reconfirm her as needy, emotional, and defined by relationships, This is lazy and trite writing. The character gained more pathos here - but she didn’t gain more layers.

3 stars for the set-up; 1.5 for the resolution.
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

It was perfectly reasonable of Leah to misunderstand what Geordi had done, and object to what she thought he had, and it was perfectly natural that he should protest at being misjudged. And it was perfectly in character that when the misunderstanding was cleared up she should say sorry. It would have been better perhaps if they'd included him saying sorry as well, rather than leaving it to be taken as understood. Patching up a quarrel generally means you both indicate you're sorry, in my experience.

As for failing to avoid all this by explaining in advance, yes that was a mistake, but the kind of mistake anyone might make, especially an awkward young man probably wary of things being misinterpreted (as they were).

And trying to find out what food someone likes before setting up a meal amounts to invading their personal space....?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 7:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Booming we also know what they know: that Geordie never did anything with the hologram and that its creation was just a fluke / comedy of errors from Boobie Trap.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 1:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Ok I have to add one thing.
The confusion/debate about this episode comes from differing perspectives. Viewed from the outside Geordie is plain wrong and comes across a creepy and threatening. One should not behave like Geordie did. But we know that Geordie is a nice and intelligent guy who wouldn't hurt a fly. That could be the reason why the writers stumbled into this story. They know the character as well.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

I can tell you that I personally was annoyed that they felt the need to pair off Troi and Worf (who have no sexual chemistry) in the very last season instead of giving the audience some payoff with Troi and Riker.

Since I'm admitting things, in retrospect I dislike how (over the course of TNG and DS9) the writers toned down Worf's different nature and portrayed him more like a prissy human samurai than a truly alien being. I personally prefer TNG Season 1-4 Worf over his later incarnation.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

The problem is not if it works as the concept you describe. The problem is that it portrays Geordie's outrage about her behavior as justified when he is pretty much wrong all the way through.

I also think that a battle trained veteran like Geordie is physically superior compared to a female scientist. Or do you think that during hand to hand combat Geordie falls to the floor shouting:"Don't hit me. I'm disabled!"
Set Bookmark
Sintek
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Whole lot of weird Worf-Troi hate in the comments. Does it stem from deeper, creepier issues, or are they just mad that it was harder to jack off to Troi with the knowledge of Worf having been all up in there?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Also, WHY did they put lens flare in that teaser art?!?! It looks completely incongruous with the way it's drawn.

They're literally trolling the fandom at this point.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I think the arrow is supposed to represent movement, i.e. the ship in flight ... but it's really not animated very well, is it?

Looks like something done with Flash animation, to be honest.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Link to the new starship design:

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/star-trek-lower-decks-gets-164500233.html

@ Josh

The lower section doesn't just exist for the deflector dish ... that's where engineering and the "lower deck" crew quarters are located.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

@Luke @Nolan

Yeah, after watching him on "Firefly" and "Supernatural", I'm pretty certain that this is his default voice, or at least close to it...

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

So Data didn't need a pipe and deerstalker to exercise his Sherlockian skills!

I think the comments about poor old Bochra are unfair, even if his experience with Geordi's visor was the source of their knowing about it's possibilities. Both him and Geordi would automatically have been debriefed about what happened after returning home, and there'd have been no reason for him to treat that information as anything to conceal, or to fail to include it in the report he would have given about the episode. In no sense would that have felt like betraying his Federation friend.

As for knowing about Geordi's trip to Risa, I'd assume the Romulans would have a spy presence there, and a hotel booking clerk could have supplied the information.

A well crafted episode - though I prefer Startrek when there's an element of some ethical or interpersonal dilemma.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

@Jeff that's one issue with DS9 I've found, they don't consider their longer term implications. They have a dilema on a personal level but it's obvious the impact of the decision would have led to the fall of the federation and is obvious at the time. In the end they either choose the "right" (or obvious) choice, or some deus ex machina comes up and corrects it back onto the main storyline.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 7:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Wow, I googled it, that's uh, not a very good looking ship... but I think I have to give some of the design a pass what with the Steamrunner Class being one of my favorite ship classes and having a similar setup. Why can't they just declare all this a seperate timeline/universe? At least then I can be comforted knowing this won't carry through the rest of the franchise. (Blahblah same as TNG/DS9 complaints back then blahblah)
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,180
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.