Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 465 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Michael
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 9:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

To be fair, I have been counseled to by GP doctors I've seen so maybe they don't need psych degrees. Claire didn't seem like a particularly good counselor either which is about on par from what I've seen from the MD world. Although what she did with them is probably far better still than the help from most psychologists, although they do try their best and their hearts are in the right place.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 7:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Dave - I had that same thought watching the episode. And then found myself thinking how common such racism (speciesism?) was throughout all of Trek, from McCoy calling Spock green-blooded to various crewmembers disdain for Ferengi and Klingons to Archer's childish quips about Vulcans.

I thought the Claire storyline was the weakest. Somehow her being a "good mother" along with her son's issues ends up resting upon winning an ad hoc classroom trial about whose son is to blame, and suddenly everything's okay again, even though there are clear problems with her son and his behavior and attitude.
Set Bookmark
Michael T Dunleavy
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Nice to have a reason to come back to Jammer's reviews. I am just now catching up on Discovery on blu as I refused to pay for All Access just for one series.

About Lorca's plan (note - his reveal as MU Lorca was a total surprise):

I think the problem is you are working it backwards, and assuming that is the way it was intended to play out. Think of it like a game of chess - once checkmate is achieved, you don't assume that everything that happened along the way was one long, pre-planned scheme in which if anything had gone differently, the outcome would change.

My guess (with 3 eps left to watch) is that Lorca just put himself in position to exploit opportunities when they arose. He knew Michel's potential from working with her in the MU and wanted her counterpart by his side. Had Michel not been imprisoned, he likely would have requested her as XO. One way or another, he would have tried to manipulate the events that happened to deliver her to his hands. What we saw happen is just one way he was able to achieve the desired goal, working within the circumstances outside his control.

Similarly with the spore drive, somehow he knew its potential, and got himself appointed to the Discovery in the hopes that an opportunity would present itself. It did not have to play out exactly the way that it did to get back to the MU.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Oct 21, 2018, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

Elliott -

And if they had critiqued the system in the episode, then someone would have complained that they should have critiqued the causes of the system, namely the kind of thinking which led to its establishment. Where do you stop?
Set Bookmark
Michael
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 12:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Paul M - I observed the same thing early on when I was watching Discovery and there was a discussion alone these lines in one of the episode threads. TOS especially took special care to select crew members reflecting a wide international and cultural diversity - or at least wider than we normally see on television - and this helped to give a sense of international collaboration that many people would hope to see in the future (well, unless you're Donald Trump). It was pointed out that on the International Space Station today there are a wider range of nationalities than we see on the Discovery, and I would daresay even NASA is far more diverse.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Fri, Sep 28, 2018, 10:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Isn't the whole of Vulcan basically a desert? You would think Spock would know a thing or two about them.
Set Bookmark
Michael F Patterson
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

This is an interesting take on the Donnie Brasco film, which I also enjoyed.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, May 13, 2018, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

@JASmius This was addressed in the episode:

"PICARD: Could the T'Ong be disabled rather than destroyed?
LAFORGE: We could probably knock out their warp drive engines without damaging the rest of their ship.
K'EHLEYR: That would gain you nothing. Disable the ship, and K'Temoc will destroy it himself.
WORF: Klingons do not surrender."

@Peter G. As William B points out, this episode is one of several that suggest Worf is an arch-traditionalist. Therefore, I would take his comment that K'Ehleyr has a 'human' rather than a Klingon attitude towards sex with a grain of salt.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sat, Mar 10, 2018, 11:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

It's hard to see exactly just how, from a very strong seasons 1 and 2, BSG turned into one of the most contrived, cringeworthy soapfests I've seen in a TV series. If season 3 didn't stretch the limits of believability by the characters making the most ridiculous decisions and putting them in such contrived situations, by season 4 the plot twists were so forced they had made me lose all interest in what was happening on screen. I don't who was responsible for the total mess the series got itself into, but they managed to destroy a very promising series. If I ever happen to rewatch the show (and I doubt it - I would take a rewatch of Voyager, Andromeda, hell even Discovery over it) I will stop at New Caprica and just imagine that everyone lived happily ever after.
Set Bookmark
MichaelS
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Can anyone confirm that Clint Howard has now had a role, however minor, in every iteration of the Star Trek TV franchise?
Set Bookmark
Michael
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 1:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I literally burst out laughing when the Enterprise appeared and the TOS music started up over the end credits. That was unexpected.

Also, what's stopping L'Rell from taking power and then blowing up Earth as well? I don't see the connection between her having control of the bomb and suddenly becoming a pacifist towards Earth just because Burnham was nice to her. It totally goes against what we've seen of her character.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 10:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

It was just boring.
Set Bookmark
Michael Hoffman
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

@ J Rich

Your post says it all right there! I couldn't have said it better myself. The reboot at best i would give 1 and a half maybe 2 stars (mainly because special effects were excellent and similarities to characters created by original actors was good. although simon pegg as nu-scotty???)

Its hard to believe that die hard fans of star trek would like this crap-fest. Its hard to believe i have to remind star trek fans (not you J rich, you are on the ball) that star trek was never about space battles (ever). All fans have to do is watch the TOS as well as the other tv shows and pay attention to the pacing of the stories.

I guess critics who love the nu-Trek would say that the tv shows make for good tv but would be boring as a movie. The first star trek movies from 1 to Nemesis were made when people used to have an attention span that didn't require explosions and space battles every two seconds. What was fun about the movies was seeing the tv show up on the big screen and the characters interacting with each other as well as a rivoting plot. Youngsters today don't even know what a plot is or are even able to listen to the dialogue. If they watched 2001: A Space Odyssey they would give it 1 star because its boring and they had to (god forbid) listen to dialogue.

Its not star trek that needs to change to the re-boot version, its the minds of those who feel the need to change star trek to space battles and everyone has to be young and beautiful.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Wow...this guy came onboard and savagely murdered dozens of people, and they made his punishment be 'banishment into an uncomfortable relationship.' I guess it's like ol' Jean-Luc said that time: "We are not qualified to be your judges." How did this incident not find its way into Mudd's records for Kirk to discover, for one thing?
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 9:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

I was getting tons of buffering problems and got booted back to the android app's main screen once. I never have this issue with netflix, huluplus, youtube, or even CW. I wish there was a download option like netflix offers. I am paying for the commercial free cbs aa plan.

@WTBA
"Easter egg: Nice to see Connies mentioned (not sure if Burnham had to mention the Enterprise - there are others, right?)."

It makes sense for Enterprise to come immediately to her mind if her 'brother' Spock is serving there.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 12:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I would just like to point out that the 'mirror' in 'mirror universe' is a metaphor. As in, actual mirrors (the objects) shouldn't have anything to do with the alternate quantum reality nicknamed 'the mirror universe.' The alternate Stammets inside the mirror makes for nice imagery, but how in the world does it make any actual sense in-universe?
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 9:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Hank
"Yeah, sure, Lorca escaping so easily was a typical trope..."

I'm pretty sure Lorca's escape was part of the Klingons' plan, not merely due to his skillz. Also part of the plan was for his arrogance regarding his skillz to blind him to the fact that they let him go.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

So Lorca was dropping key phrases such as 'ghost ship,' to see who might leak info to the Klingons. He said 'ghost ship' to Ash, but later attributed it to Mudd's listening device. But couldn't Ash have passed it to the Klingons instead, as far as Lorca knows? Eh.

Lorca left a fellow prisoner behind. No other captain on any series would have done that.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This episode had a more of one element the show needs to express - human feeling and friendships. I hope it is a sign of things to come.

I wondered after watching tonight whether I liked this episode entirely on its own merits, or just in contrast to the dreary episodes that preceded it.
Set Bookmark
michael j
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 4:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

So many here find Satie's meltdown implausible. I disagree. It's pretty much foreshadowed. She tells Picard she hasn't seen a family member in years and that she has no friends. She lives on starbases and starships. I'm already seeing red flags.

Note the frequent references to her father. She has elevated her late father on a pedestal because that is all she has. That and the Federation. That's not much of a life. Zealots -- especially isolated and lonely ones -- have facades that don't crack easily but when they do, it's quite a scene.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 3:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Spore Drive might actually give them an out, if the show proves to be as unpopular as I suspect it will. Simply say that the Spore Drive can make you shift between universes and strand them in the actual Prime Universe where everything is much closer to the original TOS timeline. Destroy the ship in the process so that their technology doesn't contaminate the real Prime verse. Kill off the unpopular characters and put the popular characters on a prime Starship to continue into season 2.

Did anyone notice that they killed 'Zaphod' on the mine planet? I noticed it in the captions. Lol
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I forgot to add, I think the title of this episode refers first to the producers and second to the fans.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I think one fundamental problem is that this is a show about miserable people. And nobody wants to watch miserable people. Real life is miserable enough. I'm not saying it has to be a dick-joke comedy all the time like Orville, but for God's sake, has anybody even cracked a smile once on the show? Maybe Captain G (yeah, and see what happened to her)? There's no charm to these people. They have no charisma. Jim Kirk had a sparkle in his eye that made people love him. Hell, even Wesley (the boy?!) had more likeability than any of the cast here with the possible - possible - exception of Saru. Everybody's either bland or an asshole!

I know 10 year old me is spinning in his ... uh... grave, but I just can't get any enjoyment out of this Trek incarnation so far.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

It's becoming clearer to my why we needed the first 2 episodes to focus on the Shenzhou, at least in the minds of the writers. They wanted to establish what the ship and crew of a "normal" Federation ship in the 2250s is like, in order to contrast it against the relative strangeness of the Discovery.

Judging by the comments about the show, this isn't working. People are taking the attitudes and staff on the Discovery to be typical Starfleet, and I don't blame them. I think we need to see other Starfleet ships and how the moral license on board the Discovery differs from them. Also, how could things have got so desperate in the war that the Discovery was commissioned in the first place? We're missing a huge chunk of the story that I hope will be revealed in time.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 4:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

this was a forced comedy that disengenuously tried to be about serious weighty issues going on in the continuum.

I respect Plakson for her versatility. She's been almost every alien you can imagine in Star Trek, but in this outing I was really embarrassed for her.

"I'm not talking about the puppaaay" Ugh. And it's all downhill from here. All this finger-snapping and powers that the Q arbitrarily possess and lose. The whole contrived mess ended up like an episode of Bewitched.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.