Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 72,508 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,901
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Cody
Oh so sensitive.
" You’ve stopped now to saying “amis” which the exact same thing as an American calling Germans “krauts”"
No, it is not the same. It is just an abbreviation (Amerikaner=Amis). But if you want to call Germans Krauts that is fine with me but I have to tell that there are quite a few Germans who don't eat Kraut. Imprecise.

" Respectfully, can you please stop with anti American stuff?"
The quotes from me are not anti USA. It is just my geopolitical view. My views on India or China are not much more rosy than that. People who know me say that I have an eerie ability to correctly predict things. There is of course nothing eerie about it. There are fundamentals that will bring about certain realities. Most people just like to ignore those and live in a dream world.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@James
That is not depressing shit, that is reality. We have almost reached the point of no return. Stick you head in the sand if you must.
"Private sector will drive space travel and future expansion."
I highly doubt the future expansion part and I would like to add that for around a decade half of space flights have been done by private companies, mostly Arianespace.
Apart from satellites and a few billionaire space tourists what market is there? Private companies won't be able to build space stations or a mars base and I don't know how much money there will be from governments when they have to invest so much into camels herds for the great transcontinental desert and underground living facilities.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Booming

This is a sample of some things you’ve said in the past one week. Who knows what there would be if I went back further. You’ve stopped now to saying “amis” which the exact same thing as an American calling Germans “krauts”. You can play coy and deny that but some very simple quick research would show the term has negative connotations. Respectfully, can you please stop with anti American stuff?

“Maybe it works for Amis (that is how Germans call the US Americans), I don't know.

It seems like they wanted to ridicule the military but also not spit on the eternal love of Americans for their military.

Before Trump I thought that you would make it into another cycle but now I'm not so sure. Actually I don't think so. Apart from Trump blowing up the federal budget, The US made more than 1.2 trillion in debt last year during the longest economical growth period since probably the Roman Empire and then Corona. What will cost that 6 trillion at least. Could be a lot more. There are a few fundamentals that are really off in the US. And now with Trump having destroyed the last remnants of the democratic consensus...

Either the US has lost the ability to create positive outlooks or the audience is so depressed that they want nothing else

Or maybe the USA are no longer capable of creating positive myth or universes about the future.

Do you know what I hate most about American shows? That they have to go on forever

I think they are about navel gazing and despair which is rampant in the USA right now. The US Empire is falling apart and nobody knows how to stop that. “
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

I have watched a lot of terrible Trek in my day but this one really takes the cake! The main problem is the atrocious Edo. I doubt that even Draco was as bad as the writers make this lot. And not a Solon among them to alter the constitution in a reasonable way.

They realize that their law code is backward and disgusting and do nothing to revise it. For all we know these are the seventh sons of the seventh son of the seventh son times 49 generations without any change in the status quo. All we get is petulance from the leader dude, who's upset that he can't just execute Wesley and uphold his idiotic legal traditions. He has to admit that the Federation is more advanced and that he won't be able to speedily mete out justice to the boy, who he angrily describes as "an advanced person who luckily escaped the barbarism of this backward little world." He is genuinely disappointed at not getting a pound of flesh in exchange for his damaged little flowers.

In a way, the episode is very effective. It's really hard not to want to throw an old sneaker at the TV when the Edo start whining about not getting to execute a kid and throwing the words god and punishment around.

A good scene with Picard and Data in the early version of 10 Forward ( an empty cafeteria)...saves the episode from the deep dustbin of history.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Indiana Jones Last Crusade is on tonight so #Mom Rewatch2020 is postponed for this episode as it is so bad. I literally told my mom to keep watching this movie instead
Set Bookmark
stallion
Sun, May 31, 2020, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Catspaw

A Halloween episode of Trek sounds like a nightmare, but this episode wasn't bad. One thing I love about TOS is the sense of fun and adventure. We get that with season 2 with episode where they deal with a greek god, Vulcan mating, Mirror universe and etc.

This is the first episode of many to feature aliens being overwhelmed by human sensation and they did a pretty good job. It was kind of fun watching the Silvia turn evil and banter with her partner in crime. Despite TOS being famous for the break three I really do like they way they use the whole cast. It would had been better if the bridge scene featured just Uhura and Chekov. it does make sense that assistance chief engineer Desalle is in charge because Scotty took command a lot as well.
Set Bookmark
James White
Sun, May 31, 2020, 8:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Booming - I thought you were going to cap your depressing shit at 5 examples per day. You're pushing your allotment.

Yes, we have issues. But Omicron is right. It's a great achievement. Private sector will drive space travel and future expansion. There will be better times
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

Forgettable episode with some cringey moments and also some really good ones— which I had forgotten about and enjoyed anew! It’s not actually the “worst episode in the show” that I thought it was— it just shares that black market, and maybe the passage And deadlock. The episode annoys me more than black market, but it also has some wonderful moments that black market did not (adama roslin, helo moving away from hot dog and his rash)
Set Bookmark
d-maxsted
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

The Boldest Trek Of Them All

Of everything that is Star Trek this is without a doubt the boldest voyage the Starship Enterprise has ever taken. A Machine Planet Sending A Machine To Earth To Find Its Creator and not till the final 20 minutes does the absolute WOW factor reveal itself as to who this machine is. As a lifelong Star Trek fan I really appreciate this film and the more times I watch it I love it even more as this film has every element that makes Star Trek the incredible story that it is and yes there is still a lot of hate out there towards this film but for me it is simply the perfect Trek of all,the return of Kirk,Spock,McCoy,Sulu,Chekov,Uhura and Scotty,the incredible intorduction the the new Enterprise,the magnificent new theme and incredible score by the legend himself Jerry Goldsmith,Douglas Trumbull,John Dykstra creating simply amazing visual effects throughout the entire film that give Star Wars a run for its money any day and at the helm none other than director Robert Wise who shows why he is the legend he is as a director,every shot in the film is so beautifully crafted and shot,I cant say I think its long overdue that Paramount release this film in 4K with a Dolby Atmos Soundtrack but I imagine it will happen sooner than later.
Set Bookmark
Chilledfish
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

I think that it's clear that Spock is a bad leader in this episode, but more importantly I think, the episode demonstrates that he doesn't understand logic.
When his plan, which was based on limited information and assumptions fails, his brain seems to break down. In his mind he applied "logic" to the problem, so it "logically" couldn't fail.
He goes on and on about logic, when all it does is make him seem heartless and pompous to his subordinates. Not very logical.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 31, 2020, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

{{ My biggest problem with this episode is, and always has been Robert's advice to Jean-Luc, which was tantamount to just deal with it. We wouldnt tell a returning soldier suffering PTSD to just "deal with it" }}

I can see how it would look that way, although what I took (and what I *think* they were going for) is more "You'll have to face it one way or the other - you can't just run from it."
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sun, May 31, 2020, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

Thoughts on Star Trek Continues: "Embracing the Winds" about a woman wanting to be captain of the Hood that mysteriously lost its crew and competing with Spock for that honor. Very heavy handed episode on discrimination and the glass ceiling but one that takes the easy way out with the Hood getting destroyed and Kirk not having to opine to break the tie.

As always with STC, I'm impressed with the recreation of TOS -- this time it is the exterior visual of the starbase. There's a certain aesthetic to those images like the mining plant in "The Devil in the Dark" or the plant in "Where No Man Has Gone Before" and it is captured perfectly here. Well done STC.

One thing came up here that I'm not sure is true -- this episode says that the Federation composed of Earth, Vulcan, Andorians and Tellarites came about to counter the Romulan threat. I didn't think it was spurred into creation by a particular threat...

Anyhow, so there's this very driven woman Garrett who wants command of the Hood and comes across as so untrustworthy b/c she won't answer questions about a mission gone wrong and then calls for an immediate decision -- which brings about a court room scene just like in "Court Martial". This Garrett character could have been written better.

And then there's the Federation hesitant to have a female captain due to Tellarites being backward and potentially pulling out of the alliance. This strikes me as bizarre and unrealistic.

The B-plot is weak here. Chekov "MacGyvers" a way to take down the Hood's shields so Scotty and the others can beam back before the Hood blows up. That was a bit ridiculous but it wasn't as bad, to me, as how the writers made Scotty so apathetic about having nothing he can do to stop the Hood from blowing up -- he's gone way farther in coming up with miracles ("That Which Survives", "The Doomsday Machine", "The Naked Time" come to mind). Bottom line, the script demanded that the Hood be blown up so a decision does not have to be made between Garrett and Spock for its command.

2.5 stars for "Embracing the Winds" -- barely. Could have really taken some risks here. STC definitely focuses on its issues of the day but I don't know what was accomplished here. I think most would pick Spock over Garrett due to her evasiveness and obviously feeling Spock is uber-capable. So what was the purpose of having Garrett have some dubious actions to raise doubts? It didn't become an issue of just her gender, but then the whole decision is rendered moot anyway by the Hood blowing up.

I think what STC has accomplished is fantastic but what's missing is the writing/premises/ideas to really come up with some memorable episodes.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

An episode with better tempo, but to which prices. Some scenes was absolutely disgusting and unnecessary. In itself I am also not fond of this revenge / vigilante approach.

On the other side, good tempo, good story telling, the jumping forwards an backwards when telling the "knock on the door" part was ok. Jeri Ryan as Seven really good even though I did not like the development of Seven.

It would definitely had been possible the have this tempo with keeping "star trek ethics".
Set Bookmark
The_Man
Sun, May 31, 2020, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

The Enterprise is a badly run ship.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Sun, May 31, 2020, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

https://trekmovie.com/2020/05/29/bryan-fuller-describes-star-trek-voyager-serialized-year-of-hell-season-rejected-by-rick-berman/
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Omicron
" both in terms of cost and versatility"
Why do you think cities or whoever gets a new bus?

"You know, for a person so desperate for some positivity in their life, you sure are bent to look at the negative side of things..."
Oh yeah with global defence budgets going up every year, more control by companies and states of our lifes, destruction of our planet accelerating every year (most people don't know this but CO2 emission still go up not down every year), destruction of the rainforest accelerating, dictatorial sentiments on the rise everywhere and a global pandemic to just name a few little clouts.

But a hey a billionaire megalomaniac has build a reusable rocket which can transport as many people as the space shuttle and a quarter of the payload. It is truly a great day.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

It is worth seeing but it is sometimes quite slow.
Discovery had a 2 episode start where a lot of nothing happened. Here we have three and it seams that they can start. I hope so.

I am not found of these long themes. I just rewatched Enterprise and really enjoyed the Xindi season three where many episodes where standing alone.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Mal
"countries like China and Kazakistan and Iran do not typically live broadcast manned launches from their facilities (Russia doesn't launch from Russia)."
Technically Baikonur is a part of Russia and under Russian jurisdiction. (Picture me pronouncing that like Malkovich would in Space Force)
What more is there to say than.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1FxfR3lg6Q

"We live in awesome times!"
Oh we sure do.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming

Looks like the currently fashionable cynicism has stuck to you too...

I don't like Elon Musk either (to put it mildly) but this doesn't change the fact that today is a big day for space enthusiasts all over the world.

The Flacon 9/Dragon combination isn't just "a new bus". It's a technology that's far beyond anything else we currently have, both in terms of cost and versatility. It's the first step towards returning to the moon and beyond.

You know, for a person so desperate for some positivity in their life, you sure are bent to look at the negative side of things...
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Booming, countries like China and Kazakistan and Iran do not typically live broadcast manned launches from their facilities (Russia doesn't launch from Russia).

https://www.rocketlaunch.live/?pastOnly=1

But when Nasa is involved, you might at least get the launch.

https://www.rocketlaunch.live/launch/soyuz-ms-16

It is a rare treat to get the entire mission broadcast live, as we are getting right now for Dragon.

https://youtu.be/21X5lGlDOfg

Part of that is that TV stations aren't about to give 23 hours of continuous broadcast of NASA TV, which is how long it takes to get to the ISS. And part of that is that online broadcasting has dramatically improved in the last decade.

We live in awesome times!
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, May 31, 2020, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The governments Mal refers to usually are driven by some kind of profit, though. Would the US have gone to the moon if not in competition with the USSR? A group of people banding together doesn't make much sense unless there is some other group of people somewhere else. World government probably won't happen until there is another "world" of Vulcans and ETs whom we can fight, bargain with.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

and let me add this: Building rockets and electric cars. What a visionary!
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:58am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Mal
"There is no reason to minimize launches just because they are taking off from Russia."
I didn't. The Russians provide reliable rockets for a long time now. But only because the US messed up their planning and were unable to launch nothing for 10 years doesn't mean that what happens now is special. When a new bus is introduced near you, would you watch that?
Do you know how man successful orbital launches there were in 2019? 102 (97 succesful), in 2018 it was 114. Did you watch those, too?

"ST First Contact taught us that our greatest breakthroughs will be thanks to individuals driven by profit like Zephram Cochrane, not any sort of world government."
ST first contact was not a documentary. And our greatest breakthroughs were certainly not because of "indivduals driven by profit" Do you think that Einstein or Flemming or Newton were driven by profit?! Plato! Unbelievable. :D
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming.

TOS taught us that Russian accomplishments are human accomplishments. There is no reason to minimize launches just because they are taking off from Russia.

ST First Contact taught us that our greatest breakthroughs will be thanks to individuals driven by profit like Zephram Cochrane, not any sort of world government. There is no reason to minimize human accomplishments just because of the character of the folks making the breakthrough.

Dragon is less than 1 mile from the ISS!!! It looks so beautiful over the Chinese night sky right now:
https://youtu.be/21X5lGlDOfg
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I could not be any less interested in Elon's new toy. Since the whole pedo guy thing, I despise that dbag for which he was acquitted even though he was guilty but hey justice. He is two twitter feuds away from becoming a Bond villain. Plus the Russians fly rockets into space for 70 years now and I don't watch that either.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,901
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.