Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 92 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Martin
Mon, May 22, 2017, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

@Paul
"I'd also like to know why people who don't move through the timelines disappear when they cross from one area of the ship to another. If they're not moving through time like Chakotay, then where are they going?

Aren't they on their ship in that time-frame? As far as they know everything is normal, it's just that Chakotay has turned up, which is weird... like when he goes on the bridge. Janeway immediately arrests him."

Doubtful, as Janeway mentioned that Stadi disappeared when she walked down the corridor. I think it's more like normal people passing through one of the barriers is moved into another timeframe. In Stadi's case, with everywhere else on the ship being the future from her perspective, she died as that's what she was in those times.

"Another thing that bugs me. If Wildman & Icheb are in the future why are they wearing out of date uniforms? We already know their current ones are old style."

Voyager never updates their uniforms (the only Trek series not to actually), not even after Contact was made with Starfleet and they saw the new uniforms. Real world it kept Voyager and DS9 visually different because the producers think we're all stupid. In universe, it would probably be hand waved with a "we can't afford the power for 150 new uniforms" line (Not that the replicators wouldn't then recycle the old uniforms) not that power/resources were ever a problem when they were building new shuttles and rebuilding the whole ship. I guess it's a captain's discretion thing too, and we don't really want a repeat of the uniform mess we had in "Generations". But yeh, Naomi and Icheb had the right uniforms for the ship, regardless of what starfleet was actually using.

Speaking of uniforms, did the Doctor give Chakotay's uniform, commbadge and rank insignia a Timey-Wimy injection too as they had no problem going with him through the rifts when the medkit didn't in the turbo lift. How did Chakotay do that to Janeway's uniform, commbadge and rank pips to get her through? Especially when he was holding her hostage at the time?
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, May 21, 2017, 6:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

@Jack

"Also...what is the insignia Chakotay has on his collar? It's not the usual 3 pips of a commander / first officer, but rather a long rounded bar."

That is a Starfleet field commission insignia that all of Voyager's Maquis wear. If you look close, they all have various numbers of bars/slashes on them in the same way the pips do to denote rank. Interestingly, Chakotay's has two good bars and one black, making his field commission actually equivalent to a Lt. Commander, despite him only ever being addressed and listed in the opening titles as "Commander" (Torres likewise actually shows a Lt J.G. pin) Second interesting thing is that in "Before And After", Chakotay wore the proper four pips of Captain after Janeway had died. Is there no field commission pin for Captain, or did he pull the pips off Janeway as they closed the lid on her torpedo?

But yeh, they're field commission ranks as I doubt Starfleet protocols allowed Janeway to give actual Starfleet ranks (or NCO ranks) to what were effectively captured terrorists. Paris got a normal Starfleet rank in "Caretaker" presumably because he had been captured and was being punished at the time, so he was "free" so to speak.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, May 21, 2017, 4:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

As others have touched on, I really don't see the moral dilemma here, at least not as much as it is played up. Yes you don't want to kill a creature if you don't have to, but this thing has destroyed at least a dozen planets along with all but a few of the inhabitants. So why, when faced with this deadly threat that is even incredibly hard to track and find that doesn't give warning of its appearances, is the Enterprise the only starship apparently looking for the thing? My main beef though is that through the rest of the series, the crew, and Starfleet in general apparently, are so much more concerned with dealing with Klingons, Romulans, Cardassians etc when there is effectively a planet killer roaming Federation space! There should have been fleets of ships looking to destroy this thing and not just Starfleet as I doubt the Entity would restrict itself to Federation/human planets. This is a threat to the galaxy not unlike the Borg, and we know how hard Picard would fight to beat them. Why is the Entity not one of Starfleet's most wanted?

Also, communicating with the Entity is apparently very difficult here. But didn't Lore, who is mentioned several times in this episode, communicate with it? And not in any super special, just invented it, method. He spoke to it in a normal voice over the regular comm system. Picard could have tried that, or even tried to have Data pretend to be Lore to tell it to get lost. At least that would have prevented Marr's sonic attack on it.

And what kind of scientist is Marr when she can't even hold a tricorder the right way up? When she was talking to Data in the caves, it was upside down in the shots of her towards to the end of the conversation. All she should have got scans of were herself. Not even Data, the science guy, noticed!
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Tue, Nov 1, 2016, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Lee
"New uniforms in this episode. They suit DS9 (ha ha) a lot better than the old ones. I think they get a mention at the beginning of the episode, but otherwise I'm always a little surprised by how underplayed the transition is. The Starfleet uniform is so ubiquitous, it just seems odd that this didn't get a little more discussion. "

I know what you mean. You'd think the characters would comment on wearing new stuff (especially Bashir when he gets back from the Internment Camp, actually never having worn this style uniform before that). I think we get more references to the Bajoran uniforms being itchy than anything about the Starfleet uniforms... ever.

Ironically, "Bashir" here asks Sisko, "Does my uniform look brighter today?", when he's just gone from wearing bright blue to dark grey this very episode!

And Sisko's uniform here was a mess. Think he needs to sack his seamstress, or at least his replicator. It looked really bad with the commbadge on the too large grey area and it's just bulky with the thick red shirt, waistcoat and jacket on altogether. I was just waiting for a Bajoran to shout "hey everyone, here's our Emissary. He can't even dress himself properly!"
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Tue, Nov 1, 2016, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I think we can all agree that episode is crap. One thing I haven't seen mentioned yet though is Leeta's Bajoran break up ritual. As moronic as all that was, almost on par with the Elogium from Voyager, its funny how in "Children of Time" Kira and Shakaar broke up seemingly just because the Prophets said so. Kira certainly didn't look like she'd spent the last week getting f---ked every which way by random strangers to seal the break up...

And another thing... I think it's commonly know that Terry Farrell has a skin condition that doesn't tolerate sunlight much (and I think prosthetic makeup) explaining why Dax was injured in "Rocks and Shoals" and why she got the spots and not the TNG Trill makeup, yet they have her doing the bathing suit beach stuff? Not that I'm complaining, just seems it would have been safer for her to send someone else (unless the beach was a set or something).
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Tue, Nov 1, 2016, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

I really enjoyed this episode until I realized that O'Brien being distraught over murdering a man to the point of wanting to kill himself was a load of crap. Why? Because O'Brien fought in the Cardassian Wars, and in "The Wounded", he even explicitly talks about shooting and vaporizing a Cardassian right in front of him! He said that he hated what that act made him, but he never seemed to have been at the point of suicide over it. I know the circumstances were different (war zone vs fighting for food, phaser vs bare hands) but when you remember that O'Brien has already killed, and a much more gruesome death it would have been), this episode packs less of a punch.
Set Bookmark
matthew martin
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Haha, this is hilarious.

Really likes Into Darkness, doesn't like Beyond.

Lol I don't even..
Set Bookmark
Martin
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

"A blind man teaching an android how to paint? That's got to be worth a couple of pages in somebody's book."

Best joke worth 4 stars by itself :D
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Fri, Jan 1, 2016, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

@Eric that wasn't the warp plasma that Neelix used in "Fair Trade". The warp plasma canister shown here was actually given to Gegan by one of the Tak Tak from "Macrocosm", indicating that some was traded to them during Janeway and Neelix's shuttle trip there. Hopefully the tricorder they got ahold of wasn't traded or it would go against Janeway's usual orders of not sharing technology. The comm badge on the other hand looked dirty so can safely be assumed to be a lost unit.

I always wondered what became of Hogan's remains. Chakotay must have known who it was even though he didn't comment on the death of one of his own Maquis. Did Voyager get to take his remains and give them a funeral which obviously wasn't possible after "Basics". I'd hope the Voth didn't keep/destroy them.
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Mon, Dec 28, 2015, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

@El Treko - They didn't remember her probably because the Krenim temporal incursions wiped that knowledge from Voyager crew. As for your other point, I would add that how did Voyager pass Borg space and deal with Species 8472 without Kes being affected by 8472 like she was/would be and evolving and having to leave the ship.

I hope that no Ocampa is ever alone when they give birth or that baby is going to be dropping onto the floor. Not great when you can only have one kid...

I think this episode is where the writers thought they'd killed Lt Carey off as he was mentioned as having died in the Year of Hell. They must have forgot it was a time travel episode and only had him show up in the past until "Friendship One"

Also anyone else notice that Captain Chakotay wore the standard Starfleet four pip captain rank insignia rather than a Maquis field commission version? I like to imagine him stealing them off Janeway at her funeral just before they closed the torpedo casing....
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Mon, Dec 28, 2015, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

I can't get past that the Taresians as aid they'd gone all the way to Earth to implant Harry's mother with him and no one thought they could trade Harry for whatever technology they had that could do make that trip? That's a price I'd be willing to pay. Even if they really could do that, why the hell would they? The Delta Quadrant isn't exactly deserted, there's plenty of easier victims to use, and it's not like they'd know they'd infected to begin with. The Vidiians do alright just in their own region after all. And the biggest issue, how did the Taresians know that Harry, their 70,000 light years away baby, would conveniently end up in the Delta Quadrant and passing their space? Did they know about the Caretaker and maybe even work with him to get Harry there? It would open up interesting possibilities given that the Caretaker was trying to do exactly what the Taresians are here! I don't expect the writers to have thought that far ahead, or at all, but it'd have been nice to have the crew at least speculate on what it all meant
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Sat, Dec 26, 2015, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

I like how Kaplan dies from a shot to the shoulder but Chakotay is hit full in the chest and he's just knocked out. His animal guide must have protected him or something...
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Sat, Dec 26, 2015, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

Funny how Voriks apparently only options are sex with Torres, sex with a hologram or die. No one mentioned that one Vulcan ex-Maquis woman we saw with Chakotay in "Repression", she must have been on the ship all this time. I'm sure laying back and taking one for the team would have been "logical" given Voyager's situation.
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Sat, Dec 26, 2015, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Given that everything Janeway experienced was in her own head, this episode boils down to "Janeway has a very high opinion of herself" and is basically 45 minutes of her masturbating over how awesome she is. Spock didn't even get that long in Wrath of Khan and he WAS awesome!

And interestingly, Janeway's shuttle is called Sacajewea, named after the Lewis and Clark guide. Just think, a woman who managed to get her people where they needed to go without getting lost! I bet shuttle launch crew did that on purpose!
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Sat, Dec 26, 2015, 7:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

No mention of Libby then? The fiance that Harry apparently loves so much back on Earth. Although I suppose him prefering to get stranded on the other side of the galaxy with an ex-con rather than spend the rest of his life with her would kinda put a downer on the relationship. If she is still waiting for him when they get back (and we don't hear about her again either way) I'd love to see him explain that the fell in love with a hologram. And a Borg. And the wrong twin. And an alien girl that makes your skin glow... He must love Libby so much...
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Sat, Dec 26, 2015, 5:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

I don't get the whole setup of this episode. Neelix is afraid his usefulness to Voyager will end as he doesn't know what's beyond the Nekrit Expanse. Ok fair enough, but once Voyager moves past there, aren't they still going to need a cook? And a "morale officer"? And an "ambassador"? Those things wouldn't just stop so he'd still have 3 out of the 4 jobs he had before! Don't get me wrong, I hate Neelix too, but he should have realized that. Itd be like the Doctor deciding that because there hasn't been any medical emergencies for a few days, he'd better start training to be a astrophysicist or Janeway would decide he was useless and get rid of him.
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Fri, Dec 25, 2015, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

@ Aemom Not really. The TOS phaser rifle only ever appeared in "Where No Man Has Gone Before". TNG had the Type-III that was also used a lot on DS9. Voyager had its own compression phaser rifle right from "Caretaker" but after First Contact came out, both DS9 and Voyager started using using the new models seem in that film (plus DS9 starting using the grey uniforms as well). Strange that Voyager didn't switch to the new uniforms after contact was made with Starfleet, yet they did, somehow, manage to get the updated phaser, tricorder and now phaser rifle models before they'd made contact!
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Fri, Dec 25, 2015, 5:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

The whole problem with this episode can be summed up in that one establishing shot of the enemy Q's Civil War camp. We cab see a man, obviously a Q like everyone else, laid on the ground, with both legs missing. So... We are supposed to believe that a Q, an omnipotent being with seemingly infinate powers, can be handicapped? Why doesn't he magic himself up some new legs? Or change form to something else? Or go anywhere else? Etc etc...

Why does Quinn's death have the impact it does at all? Amanda Rodger's Q parents were actually executed by the Continuum for renouncing their powers and having a child. Their deaths didn't plunge the Q into war, why did it here? Why wasn't Amanda herself brought up as an example of a child born to two Q, as Q Junior is here, and her birth and subsequent rejoining the Q, had jack all effect on the Continuum as well. So basically, a death in the Continuum did nothing before and a birth in the Continuum did nothing before, but, they are supposed to be the cause of and solution to a problem that didn't happen the first time!

Voyager should have traded Neelix to the Q general to use as target practise in exchange for sending Voyager home.

The tattoo gag wasn't funny, nor was Janeway's "not big enough" attempt at a dick joke (that's how far this episode has dragged the series and the Q down). The only genuinely funny line was Q calling Chakotay "Chuckles" and Janeway barely reacting to it. And I suppose Female Q's "I'm not talking about the puppy" line was funny, but needlessly bitchy as she never showed up when Q was trekking Vash around the Gamma Quadrant for 2 years...
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Fri, Dec 25, 2015, 4:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

@Alex. Sorry I don't see the inconsistency. The original Tieran (at least the one that's beamed to Voyager at the start) using the transfer thingy in his arm to move to Kes when he died in sickbay. Then Kes presumably got fitted with the same thing after he escape from Voyager and take over of the Ilari government, which she used when Voyager stormed the throne room to move to Demmas' brother just before they could use the Doctor's dodad on her. However, as Tieran moved to the brother so quick, he didn't have time to have the arm thingy installed, so had no way to escape when the dodad was used again. Made sense to me anyway.

Shoutout for Ensign Martin, the goldshirt who got phasered by Kes, for having an awesome name! ;) Strange they shot him when he went for a phaser, but only knocked Janeway out while she was physically attacking them! Character shields up!

I liked the part with Kes and Tieran fighting over Kes's mind, Kes's background being Voyager and Tieran's being the throne room. Then as Kes wins the argument, the throne room behind Tieran changes to Kes's Voyager. Nice subtle hint as to who was winning the battle.
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Thu, Dec 24, 2015, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

I love watching Chakotay talking to the militiamen, "I used to think violence was the answer". Then the next thing this ex-Maquis terrorist does is needlessly destroy a truck with his shuttle, killing the driver and, had the timeship been inside as they thought, probably blown up California as well. And let's not forget that at that time, the truck only posed a danger to Rain's abandoned VW camper. But that's what you'd expect from a man of peace isn't it? I wouldn't mind so much about what he said if it wasn't so random and disconnected from how he acts.

Also, in hindsight from "Unity" anyway, was the brief appearance of Ensign Kaplan. Nice bit of rare continuity there and I liked that she had to show the Doctor where to go, who up to now had to reason to know where anything outside sickbay was.

Don't get why the Doctor got to keep the mobile emitter, unless Braxton just time dumped Voyager back to where it was and didn't bother scanning it for any anomalies? Afterall, his ship and its goodies were intact, the mobile emitter came from the version that blew up.

And about the comment that said the part of Voyager found in the explosion was the torpedo that destroyed the Aeon; nice idea, but Braxton stated that it was part of the secondary hull he found. I doubt much of anything of a torpedo casing would survive the matter/antimatter detonation anyway.
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Thu, Dec 24, 2015, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

Loved this episode. But the thing I liked most, a silly thing really, was Starling's company name. "Chronowerx" = "Time Works" and the logo is the 29th century commbadge. Both an admission of where his company originated from. It was called out, which was nice, it was just there to be noticed.

On the Eugenics Wars; I think given that Khan was not American and he described himself as a "prince", the Eugenics Wars were mostly likely happening around the Middle East and probably wouldn't have affected day-to-day life in the west so much if indeed they were happening at this time. If it wasn't for the desktop model of Botany Bay in Rain's office (although it could be a prototype for the DY-100 not specifically Khan's ship), I'd rather date the Eugenics Wars as mid to late 21st century, possibly even coinciding, or even being the cause of, World War III. Some mention of it though, either being on going or what afffect it'd have on California when it does happen, would have been a nice tie in to TOS.

And seen as we're on with time travel, forget the 29th century people returning Voyager home, why can't they just slingshot around the sun as Kirk did several times while they're at Earth?
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Wed, Dec 23, 2015, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

This episode is the first to beg the question of why they don't have/dont make/cant make/ backups of the Doctor. Its standard procedure even today and we don't live on a stranded starship where our only hope of not dying from being near Neelix's cooking is a computer program. It can't be a size issue or they wouldn't have been able to have the Zimmerman program or have two EMHs in one sickbay like we've seen a couple of times or have a lifeforms entire knowledge downloaded into the computer. They say several times in the series that the Doctor is irreplaceable and go rescue etc when he goes missing instead of just loading the most recent backup. "Living Witness" then magically shows that they do have a backup module which was never mentioned before when it would have been useful. And apparently the backup module lost on the Kyrian/Vaskan planet wasn't replaced either...

I know duplicating a character cheapens the character to being no more than a tricorder you replace when you feel like it, but in universe, they should be backing him up everyday and activating a new one whenever the last was lost/stolen. Or even creating Emergency Emergency Medical Hologram copies to solve their staffing shortage! Certainly would have helped Ensign Jehtal if there were two Doctors...
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Wed, Dec 23, 2015, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

Janeway was funny this episode;

"Starfleet captains delete their logs when they do something against regulations?" Yeh I'm guessing there'll be about a 7 year gap in her logs by the time Voyager gets home. Last entry "Leaving DS9 for Badlands. See you in a week".

And "a captain going off to rescue a friend?" Its a good thing for you, captain, that Tuvok disobeyed your direct order not to contact the Viidians and come back for you in "Resolutions" or you'd still be stuck playing Little House on the Prairie with Chuckles and a monkey.
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Wed, Dec 23, 2015, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

I enjoyed this episode but a lot annoyed me;

Neelix. Why couldn't they have eaten him to survive? He can't find water. He can't find food (child of the 24th century Janeway does in 5 seconds though). He can't negotiate (shouting at aliens during a tense standoff while outnumbered and out-speared) and this "survival expert" got 2 people killed on that planet (Hogan and the blueshirt as they only ended up in the cave due to Neelix shouting at the natives). Its sad when the "morale officer" is doing more to destroy the crew of Voyager than the Kazon!

Janeway not knowing why the Kazon were firing at starboard ventral when she studied the specs for weeks before taking command is a major lack of judgement right up there with Hawk in First Contact saying the Borg stopping at Deck 11 that only has deflector control on it was stupid as it wasn't a "vital system". Least he paid for his stupidity, its the crew that pays for Janeways.

And Seska dying by exploding console was such an anticlimax. All that stuff with Chakotay and it just stops.

Funny how no one prattled on about the Prime Directive after the natives saw Voyager land on their planet... why weren't they beamed up anyway? Surely it can't use more power than landing the whole ship. Twice.

And I've always wondered how much precious Starfleet tech the Kazon got away with when the abandoned Voyager? They literally could have started stripping the ship or at least copy the database. I'd have laughed if when Neelix got back he found Baxial missing!
Set Bookmark
MartinB
Wed, Dec 23, 2015, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

As part Vulcan, Tuvix should know the old saying "the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few. Or the one". Logically, and I know he's part emotional Talaxian too, he should have willingly laid down his life to save Tuvok and Neelix.

I agree with Jammer's last paragraph. We've all had to accept Neelix for the irritating little turd he is, so he should do the same for Tuvok. Tuvok is over 100 years old and decorated Starfleet officer, and doesn't need that kind of shit from a glorified rodent.

I did like Tuvix's original uniform, a fusion of Tuvok's Starfleet uniform and Neelix's Indian restaurant curtain rejects. Was a nice touch, although I wonder how that worked given that the clothes won't have DNA to combine, unless you count all of Neelix's hair and dandruff that will no doubt be in there...
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.