Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 43 (Showing 26-43)

◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
Set Bookmark
MadS
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I like fluff episodes, as long as they're fun, and this qualifies. I like watching the characters screwing around trying to learn baseball. . .

About the "all Vulcan ship", I'm pretty sure it's common in the Federation for ships to have a "majority race" on a lot of ships. Maybe ships manufactured in Earth-run shipyards have more humans, or maybe more humans request to work on ships who are assigned a human captain? (Or Vulcan, etc.) Because the Enterprise certainly seemed to be majority human, especially if you're looking at commanding officers (Picard, Riker, Troy, Crusher, La Forge...). And it is stated quite clearly that the crew of the Voyager is majority human. (B'ellana mentions the exact figures when she's saying that her daughter is going to feel left out on the ship as a quarter Klingon, since the crew is almost all human. I only recall actually seeing two Vulcans, Tuvok and Vorik). But I don't think we're supposed to think Starfleet as a whole has more humans than all the other member races combined. Also, we know there are some members of the Federation who require different gravity or atmosphere than humans and Vulcans. They must have their own Federation ships. . . Anyway, I saw it as a bit of a good sign that there was a Vulcan-heavy ship. Explains why most of the ships we've seen have just had a token Vulcan or two!
Set Bookmark
MadS
Sun, Sep 3, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

@Jakob M. Mokoru

I agree that "For the Uniform" showed Sisko making significantly worse decisions than in this episode. In this episode, it was easy to agree with his final conclusion, that the ends justify the means. But In "For the Uniform", I was mostly rooting for Eddington, which considering how grandiose he was acting and the fact that I never particularly cared for him on DS9, was a tall order.

@Mat

This may be overrated, but I think I would definitely include it in my top 10 DS9 episodes, which is not too shabby, considering how many total episodes there are. And I honestly wouldn't ever be able to put them in a definitive order, because different episodes are great for different reasons. This could be my favorite, or number 10, depending on my mood. That's one of the interesting things about DS9. I think it leaves more room for personal interpretation of the quality of various episodes than some of the other Treks. At least for the episodes at the top. I think a consensus on the top 5 TNG or top 5 VOY episodes would be easier to reach than one for the top 5 DS9 eps. Because we're all looking for different things, coming from a show that does a lot of different things, and includes way more grey characters and storylines than is customary for Trek.

For me, DS9 is almost always at it's best when it focuses on the large story arcs, and this one is quite a turning point in the Dominion war, but yet also has more character revelation/development than most other episodes. I also love character stuff, like Duet and Waltz. Plus, I tend to like episodes with a strong focus on Garak a lot, especially when he's putting his sinister talents to good use. He's the most interesting character on the show, for me. I can't think of many other DS9 episodes that left me with so much to think about after they ended. And I just can't shake the last two scenes. The acting between Sisko and Garak when Sisko learns of the "real" plan is awesome.

@Dan

"'All it cost was the life of one romulan senator and one criminal.'

I guess the 4 Romulan body guards don't count... "

I thought the same thing! Also, whoever was hurt of killed by whatever the biomimetic gel was used for! They said it would likely be biological weapons or illegal experiments.


@Marco P.

"It is not only Star Trek's idealism (as envisioned by Roddenberry) that we are going against here, but MORALITY in general. A Jean-Luc Picard, despite perhaps being forced to choose the same path and sacrifice a few for the greater good of the many, would have commented on the moral ambiguity of this choice, stating something along the lines 'only time will tell if our choice was the right one... but at what price?' Sisko on the other hand, seems to accept the moral burden on his conscience far too easily, in a a way that is unbecoming of a StarFleet officer and even more so of a Trek lead character."

I agree with you, that Sisko has stepped out of the realm of morality in this episode. I thought he did so to an even greater degree in "For the Uniform", due to his poisoning of that planet, even if no one died thanks to the evacuation. It was still a shitty thing to do. I think the point is that Sisko simply is not as moral a man as Picard. I don't accept that it's just the circumstances he finds himself in that makes him less moral than Picard. I believe Picard would have done more to find another way. Still, that doesn't make Sisko an evil man. He's just... grey. Like Kira, like Odo, like Quark, and like (the darker grey) Kai Winn, Gul Dukat, and Garak. Sisko is not an almost perfectly moral man, like our normal Star Trek heroes. But it may he that a completely moral man couldn't have made it all these years on Deep Space 9. He's working with and dealing with a LOT of morally ambiguous people and situations all the time. I like Sisko, but unlike Picard or Janeway, I don't look to him to be the moral compass of the show. And in fact, it's a bit difficult to find a moral compass on this show. Do any of the characters hold up to moral scrutiny??

I think this is why I tend to say DS9 is my third favorite of the Big Three Treks (TNG, VOY, DS9). It has lots of good episodes, more compelling arcs, and more layered characters. . . so why do I have less underlying affection for it? I guess I just really enjoy spending (viewing) time with some honest to god heroes and good guys, and the other Treks are chock full of them. Since DS9 claims to be Star Trek, I judge its characters based on lofty moral expectations, and they often come up short. I mean, I would say the main DS9 characters are all more moral than the Battlestar Galactica characters, for example. So I'm not calling them bad guys. But they're not "Star Trek" good.



Set Bookmark
MadS
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

First, I agree with others that it was highly strange that none of Warf's friends from the Enterprise were even mentioned. Maybe they're on some important mission that won't allow them to come to DS9, but talking to one of them on the view screen, or even a throwaway line of dialogue on why they can't make it would have been appreciated.

Second, watching Jadzia and Warf's relationship is bumming me out even more on this re-watch than it did the first time I watched DS9. That is because I've since had a relationship in which I was in love but our personalities weren't a good fit, and I'm convinced it's a horrible idea, even when you love each other. Warf is always trying to put Jadzia's fire out, and I don't like it. Every other male on the station has a crush on her, and she could do better. And by better, I mean someone who won't try to change her or tame her. As others have said, maybe the Warf we saw later in TNG would be a good fit with Jadzia. But they're writing him too serious and obsessed with tradition in all these eps with Jadzia, and it's making me feel bad for her. I mean, I love Warf, but he's not a good influence on Jadzia. Bleck.

Biggest problem with this episode, though, is that "the big talk" between Kira and Odo was off screen! His was a horrible betrayal, and I wanted to see that talk more than anything else that happened in this episode. Maybe we'll see more about it later. . . but I wanted to hear that INITIAL conversation. I think Kira should still be realllly angry with Odo. And in fact, I don't even think she should have allowed him to remain head of station security at first, after what he did. She obviously didn't tell the Star Fleet people who were off the station what he did. And she should have. They should know he can't necessarily be trusted! But they looked pretty buddy buddy when Jadzia found them talking! Come on, she was more awkward with him just after finding out he was in love with her, and less awkward now. . . when he's a possible danger to the station?
Set Bookmark
MadS
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

@Hiroshi

I agree with you two negative points. The Deus Ex Machina of the Prophets destroying the Dominion fleet, and especially how wasted Ziyal's death was. Really, the other characters, especially Garak, should have been more upset. And I would have been quite happy to see her stay on the show. I like the idea of an insane Dukat, but I don't remember (on a re-watch now) how long it lasts. I hope for a long time, or it's REALLY a waste.

I also agree with Jammer that Odo's betrayal seems to be too easily forgiven. He should put his damn self in a cell, or agree to a demotion, or something. He really messed up, and was hours away from single-handedly being responsible for getting Rom killed. And in fact, if it weren't for the prophets, he would have been at fault for the conquest of the entire quadrant, since Rom was the only one able to prevent the destruction of the mine field. I really liked the angle they took with Odo in previous episodes. It was like he had developed a drug addiction. An addiction to the link that caused him to lose time and stop caring about all he held dear. He should have remained that way until going through some sort of extended rehab, after hitting an obvious rock-bottom. This episode didn't do enough to show that the stakes were really any different than they had been the previous episode. So why did he all of a sudden care?
Set Bookmark
MadS
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

There's nothing I dislike about this episode, but as another commenter said above, it's fairly "pedestrian" for me. Still, your review did make me appreciate it a little more than I had before. Let's put it this way. If I started at 4 stars and then subtracted for each negative part of the episode, my overall rating would stay near four stars. Because I have no specific complaints. But it's just not memorable enough, funny enough (minus a couple of lines of dialogue by crazy Doctor Geiger, haha), or moving enough to earn four stars if actually compared to other episodes of Star Trek or DS9 in general. Jake and Nog are two of the most "likeable" characters on the show. So I was rooting for them. But though the outcome at the end was pretty sweet, until that final montage there was never a sense that what they were doing mattered much one way or the other. If it weren't for that final montage showing that they'd bolstered spirits throughout the station, I would have liked the episode significantly less. As it was, it was nice. Especially knowing what I do now, that these characters are all about to be put through the ringer. Glad the boys could cheer them up a bit.
Set Bookmark
MadS
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I like this episode, and really enjoyed Garak going full-on evil. He's truly the best character on this show, and though I love all of his witty dialogue all the time, my favorite moments are when we are reminded that he's the most dangerous character on the show, however much he has reformed and been humanized over the years. I really appreciated the camera work at the moment when O'Brien tells Garak he "doesn't look like a tailor", and at that moment, it's very true. The following shot has him looking decidedly dangerous.

I actually could have gone for more time in the episode devoted to Garak being full-on scary. I would have liked the sense that O'Brien was getting scared. Though, the way O'Brien acted (cool-headed) does fit with his personality and fighting experience. Truthfully, I don't care that much about O'Brien and Garak together, though I know this episode was meant to highlight them. I really wish either Bashir would have been on the station, or at least we would have had a scene between Bashir and Garak (constrained on a bio-bed) at the end, before Garak was cured. I want to see Bashir straight-up frightened of the crazy-eyed infected Garak. To sum up, I thought Garak was freaking scary, and I wanted one of the characters on the show to appear to experience the full effects and once again be reminded that Garak is just on a leash, but is still just as dangerous as ever.
Set Bookmark
MadS
Wed, Aug 30, 2017, 11:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Count me as a lover of this episode. I was riveted. I love time travel episodes (more than the average Trekkie. Seems a lot of you DON'T love time travel. Gasp. Sacrilege!)

I'm one who often disagrees with Jammer. (I am generally perfectly happy for things to wrap up happily and with a bow at the end of each episode. I like the majority of the Ferengi episodes. Hell, I like Voyager more than DS9. His Voyager reviews are depressing. Haha, yeah, so we don't see eye to eye.) But I'm with him on this one. What a compelling episode. For once, I'm glad they didn't have their cake and eat it too. Well, just a bit of that second piece of cake. (They made it out without having to consciously choose to sentence the settlement to death, so that did work out pretty nicely for their consciences, but it would have been really lame if the whole "copying" plan had worked out.)

I really liked how we watched each of the main characters, one by one, decided to sacrifice their life (Kira), or lives as they knew them and seeing their families again, for the good of the colonists. Actually, knowing Star Trek as well as I do, I feel like these guys were a little slow to come to that decision, for Star Fleet officers. But it was very realistic. Choosing to give up one's life isn't easy, whether or not it's the right thing to do. The colonists were also well-realized, and I really believed that Yedrin was Dax.

I don't like Star Trek romances much, as a rule. It just never gets enough attention for the pairings to seem especially believable. . . nor do I want it to get more attention, since it's generally not very compellingly written. I don't watch Star Trek for that. Generally, watching Star Trek, I feel like I can TELL that the writers are kind of socially awkward when I watch a "love" scene. Pulls me out of the action!

Still, Odo and Kira was one that I was even less interested in than normal, the first time I watched this show. But on re-watch, knowing it was coming, I guess I'm minding it less.

Whether or not I'm interested in it, this is probably one of the best Star Trek romance-driven episodes of all time, the others being on Voyager or TNG (I'm picturing the episode when Tom and B'elanna admit their feelings while floating in space suits running out of oxygen, the episode where Captain Janeway and Chakotay are forced to remain behind on a planet alone together, the episode in which the Doctor gives Seven social lessons and falls for her, to be rebuffed at the end before he can come out and admit his feelings, the episode in which Riker's double and Troy attempt to have a relationship that falls apart in the same way the first relationship ended, and perhaps the episode where Crusher and Picard can hear each other's thoughts and know once and for all how the other feels).

Anyway, Odo and Kira have some compelling chemistry in the episode. I was feeling it. For Odo to finally admit his feelings to Kira (taking her completely by surprise). . . though it's not really him. For her to begin to consider the prospect. . . only to discover that he's decided to sentence 8000 people to non-existence for her. Pretty deep stuff. Another thing that makes Odo and Kira interesting compared to other Star Trek romances is the length of time that the writers chose to make it unrequited. It has been at least a couple seasons that we the audience knew about Odo's feelings, while only Quark knew about them in terms of characters on the show. Star Trek loves to do slow-burn relationships, to create some will-they-or-won't-they (Dr. Crusher & Captain Picard, Commander Riker and Councillor Troy, etc), but those other relationships were always two-sided, and just put on the back burner for professional and other complications. But with Kira and Odo, until this episode, there was a sense that it might ALWAYS be unrequited. Hell, we already saw Jadzia firmly turn down Julian, which seemed like a likely pairing at the beginning of the show.

So... yeah. As I say, this is a re-watch, so I do know the general direction that Kira and Odo go from here. But I don't really remember very well. I hope that the fact that his older self was willing to sacrifice all of those people for her comes up again.

Set Bookmark
MadS
Tue, Aug 29, 2017, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

This episode was really great. Garak has got to be my favorite character on the whole show, and his character development stuff, especially the reveal of Tain as his father, was really interesting and moving.

I loved how much character and interesting plot they managed to fit into this one episode.

I actually didn't notice Bashir was using the old uniform in the prison at first (didn't really think about it, at least), but you can put me down as one who believes A) This episode was initially meant to air earlier, or B) It was just somebody's last minute costuming mistake. It clearly makes no sense, and as far as I can see, it clearly WASN'T their intention to imply that he'd been there since the Ascent. Adding up all of the time that must have elapsed, across all those episodes, would definitely make Julian have been gone longer than just "more than a month". More like two, or so. Also, completely unbelievable that a changling could have handled all of those medical procedures, or would have allowed that changling baby to die.

I prefer my head canon, which says that is wasn't a changling who worked on Sisko during his visions, helped Odo with the changling baby, or delivered Kira/O'brien/Keiko's baby (Though those last two WOULD seem to have been the changling, according to dialogue in the episode stating the O'brien baby is still a bit under a month old).

One reason it's unbelievable is that they chose to have Alexander Siddig act a bit "off" throughout this entire episode (starting after the reveal) when we see him on DS9. It's clear to the viewer that he doesn't act the same as the real Bashir. I didn't like this acting/directing choice. They should have either had him acting COMPLETELY normal, so we would believe that he had managed to fool us all all this time, or they should have (probably would have been better) started having him act the slightest bit off for the past few episodes. Not enough to make us think he was a changling, but enough so when the reveal happened, we'd see that it was actually planned in advance, instead of shoehorned in this episode (which is how it looks). I also thought this episode would have been made more interesting if they'd maybe continued having him act completely normal, so we could have briefly wondered if maybe prison camp Bashir was the imposter. But no, it was obvious from the reveal that DS9 Julian was a bit odd.

Let's just say this. The writer of THIS episode may have intended to imply that Bashir has been gone since The Ascent, but the writers of the previous episodes, as well as Alexander Siddig, were clearly not in on the plan.

And now, some comments that are a little more over-arcing, not so much about just this episode.

This is my first time re-watching DS9 (didn't remember it that well), after having finally seen Babylon 5 for the first time recently, and I do have to say it's weird watching it now. It's clear (as the creator of Babylon 5 claimed), that they truly did take some stuff directly from his ideas. When I first saw that claim online (before this re-watch) I assumed that it must just be coincidence that there are some similarities. I love Star Trek and don't want to think anything bad about it! But there's just *almost* no other way to explain it. The Cardassians are clearly the Centauri, the Narn are the Bajorans, Gul Dukat is Londo (who invites the enemy in to return his people to their past level of glory and power but will live to regret it), the Dominion is the Shadows, Sisko has visions of a shadow falling over Cardassia, as Londo has visions of the Shadows over Centauri Prime, etc. etc. I don't know, the whole thing is kind of strange. They're both good shows, and I enjoy both, but it's making it a bit uncomfortable to watch DS9 now. Can't help feeling like the parts of the show that people love to praise (the shades of grey and long arcs) were kind of stolen. The show has lots of interesting characters and fun stories that have no similarities to Babylon 5, so it definitely has other stuff going for it. . . but I just felt I had to say, especially after this episode, that I DO believe something fishy went on with some stolen ideas.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sat, Mar 18, 2017, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I liked this episode a lot. When they kiss at the end I started crying. I don't think the science is unbelievable. After all, this is Star Trek, with Borg cubes, Q and whatnot. A touching story about what it means to make a sacrifice, about an extremely difficult decision and about love.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Madbaggins: I think there are some really good Voyager episodes. Regardless of how Jammer rates Darmok.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sun, Feb 5, 2017, 5:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

I like when Picard at the end reflects over this gift Q has given him. We can all identify with the theme of the story. Who has not done things that we might regret or don't want to think about? I am in a way reminded of Back to the future, where the protagonist must stand up to his father's bully in order for his parents to get together.
I think it is believable that Picard has regrets and that he needed to accept some choices he made in his life. I like this episode.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Wed, Jan 25, 2017, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

I really like this episode. I find it touching that Data is prepared to be court martialed when he stands up for the exocomps. I love how utterly gentle and kind Data is. Riker and Picard show great understanding and abiity to come up with solutions. Underrated episode!
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sun, Jan 1, 2017, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I just watched this episode and loved it! It is filled with humanity and wonder. One of the best Enterprise episodes I have seen so far. 😃
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

Smug imperialism.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sat, Nov 5, 2016, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I did not like this movie. There is way too much pointless action, the camera moves too fast and the shots are too short. Made me feel like the director thinks I am a complete idiot.
In between the action there is dialogue and scenes put there just to score melodramatic points.
This movie is so bad, and on top of it all, the 3D version takes focus further away from the film that begs to be let out somewhere in there.
Set Bookmark
Mads
Sun, May 24, 2015, 7:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

I like this episode. It is entertaining. If your hearts are so closed by detailed interrogation of the episode, you are never going to enjoy i!
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sun, Mar 8, 2015, 6:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

Seems like most comments in here try to find faults and be critical. Well, you find what you are looking for. I think this episode was an ok episode.
Set Bookmark
Madson
Sun, Dec 23, 2012, 2:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

Everyone's wrong, Chakotay is probably the most senior ranking and best looking guy in the crew. Thus, he's probably already the object of affection by many of the single female members of the crew. In contrast, Janeway is most likely avoided by many of the men on the ship, even if they feel any attraction towards her. Thus, she's in a quandary and having a holodeck companion, probably beats dating by a long shot.
◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.