Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 66 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sun, Dec 20, 2009, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I'm only 20 minutes into the episode, so take what I say with that in mind.

Having said that, this episode is horrible. First, the plot starts off with yet another gimmick to getting home. Now, we know they aren't getting home... so the story's strength really depends on the execution of how they don't get home, and what the story is REALLY about. And when it come's to this story's execution... let's just say it's abysmal.

How many stories do we need where the writer's tease the audience about getting home? Can't you think of something else? Even Tom seems to think so... as the character telegraphs that every plot to devise to getting home has been some sort of trap. It's like they are making fun of the concept... yet the story is treating it 100% seriously.

As we watch, we realize all is not well after all - oh dear, like we didn't know! But the twist comes when we see that the Ferengi are behind it. Really now? The Ferengi?

I am almost want to stop watching right now, as the story has gone into a direction that I would have thrown in the garbage once the writer pitched the idea, let alone put it into production.

And now this is 2 episodes where the ferengi try and screw voyager over. My god, can't the writers think of something else?
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sun, Dec 20, 2009, 1:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Perfectly good episode. Not amazing, but quite liked it all around. The B-plot with the thief was a little lacking, but the Doctor's A-plot was very good all around.

If only Voyager could string together 2 episodes of such quality in a row. Somehow that doesn't seem likely ;)

On to the next episode... wish me luck...
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sun, Dec 20, 2009, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Daniel,

There are voyager episodes that perfectly good and likeable. In these episodes, it is easy to enjoy it, get lost in it and savour it.

Then there are episodes like this.. and dozens like it. It is very hard to just watch it and enjoy it when the writing is just awful. It is well below the standards set back Voyager's better episodes... or other series like TNG and DS9.

This site in particular is not a "We love Voyager" fan site. It is a review site for all Star Trek series, some of which are reviewed very favourably, such as DS9 or TNG.

The hate comes from loving Star Trek so much... and seeing a series like Voyager rip it to shreds. It's about acknowledging what could have been. There is a lot of frustrating and even anger in long term fans of the franchise when they write crap like this episode.

It's not just the episode - it's the mentality of laziness and the utter lack of desire to make something of high quality.

The real problem with Voyager, as I've said in many other threads, is that the writers cannot create a sound premise for a story to save their life. There are always massive continuity errors, even contradicting episodes from week to week. There are always characters behaving in illogical ways... or behave way out of character. The writers seem to change anything as long as it works to convey the story they want to tell... and this just wasn't done on earlier series. Frankly, it's somewhat insulting, and it frustrates me to no end.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sat, Dec 19, 2009, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Did we really need to see a brief "what if the maquis took over the ship" episode? Did we? Really now?

I thought I was watching a miss episode of DS9 - just for a second. I thought... oh boy! There was a DS9 episode I *didn't* see?! Nope.

One thing I will credit to this show. The beginning has a very different flavour than many voyager episodes... and for a time, I thought this episode might head a in a good direction. At least the whole "voyager is an action series" wasn't present in this episode... and that's a good thing. It seems that every episode is so repetitive in its plotting and action sequences, that this episode felt different.

Having said that, this episode is horrible. To me, it was pretty obvious Tuvok was the person responsible. The blurred out image actually does look like Tuvok - you can see the ears and the bald head. Didn't fool me in the slightest.

However, there was a loophole in the episode where Tuvok not able to commit one of the mind-meld attacks as he was preoccupied with the investigation. I honestly don't know how we did it. Nonetheless... even at this time I figured it was Tuvok, just because I knew the writers were going in that direction.

From here, the episode turns in a horrible direction. The whole Maquis vs. Federation angle just doesn't fit in season 7.... nor does the motivation of why did the Bajoran mind-control lunatic decide to do this now? What is the motivation? The show NEVER, EVER answers for this... which makes an already bad episode worse because we got to see the "what if" just because the writers wanted to... not because it had any sound premise.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Fri, Dec 18, 2009, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

1 Star. Awful.

This show was the biggest string of predictable plotting I've ever seen. As soon as I knew that Seven was sick, it was so obvious that Icheb would come to rescue. Everything else after that was just padding to the episode. The writers/director telegraphed it from a mile away.

You have many other bad plot points. Janeway continues to want to do things herself. She's been this way concerning away missions time and again... it's getting a little repetitive. Instead of investigating why this is the case... and perhaps the sudden increase in solo suicide missions... the story just keeps doing it... and the series never answers for it.

Moreover, as soon as they get the cordical node... aliens have to show up and cause problems. Who are they? Why are they there? Do they have any importance or relevance to the plot? Nope. It's just typical hard-headed, cardboard alien bullies that we see on Voyager week after week. And they don't even come back into the episode once there scene has ended.

The biggest problem with this episode is that there is no satisfiable outcome. If Icheb dies, it merely get rids of a character they may want to kill off so they no longer have to worry about continuity of having rescued him in the first place. And if Icheb lives, the story has no lasting impact and the whole endevour is irrelevant. So either way, the story is screwed.

Lately, the endings of these shows has been really sappy, and this story is no exception. The writers want to give a "warm feeling" at the end, but I just cringe as I watch it. The opposite effect happens - I wish I had never seen the episode at all, as I feel I've wasted 40 minutes of my life watching the show.

This 3 star review is completely unfounded. I usually agree, but this episode was terrible.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Okay... I haven't read the review, AND I am only 9 minutes into the episode. Even still... I cannot believe Janeway is agreeing to send the doctor. ARE YOU FREAKING MAD! Why can't the characters do anything that make sense on this show? WHY?!

Belanna wants to enduce death for spirtual reasons? SURE! Why not? We don't need out chief engineer if you die!

The doctor wants to save his creator? Sure! We don't need a Chief Medical Officer the next 30,000 light years! Nosiree!

What a joke. What a freaking joke. The show may turn out to be good, but I have lost respect for the premises of these shows. The writers CANNOT create a sound premise for a show to save their life. It either has plot holes, continuity problems or has characters not acting logically and out of character for it to work. Ugh... why do I even bother watching?
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 11:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Oh, I meant to say the first 3 seasons, not episodes. My bad.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

OMG... if this isn't one of Voyager's worst episodes.

Did the writers actually watch the first 3 episodes of voyager before writing this episode? If you wanted to make an episode about Kes in Season 6... this is what your brilliant minds came up with? Yuck.

The thing with time travel episodes is that they often filled with holes. Going to the future to the present can work logically, but never in the past. There is thing called the butterfly effect... having all that crap happen with the Vidians will most certainly impact how their trip plays out.

Or if you prescribe to alternately created universes when people go back in time to change something... then there is still the matter of the one universe where B'Elanna is still in fact dead. But I guess we aren't following that universe anymore.

But let's ignore that... are we ready to believe that Kes forgot about her childhood on Voyager, which by and large, was positive? I can understand bad childhoods being suppressed... but people with good childhoods often remember way more details than those who had shitty upbringings. Not really buying it, even if you say that Okampa psychology is different than humans... I don't buy it. She's demonstrated the same emotional capacity and similarities as humans and other species.

Lastly, I don't know how Kes plans on getting back home. Isn't she 40,000 light years away? I mean, holy crap... unless she gets a warp-core to drain power from, I don't know how she's going to make it. She seems pretty weak.

And if she can get back to planet Okampa... why not send Voyager home then if she's ever so powerful? Hell... why do you even need a shuttle for?

Minor quibble: Kes is using the same shuttle used by the first timeship in season 3 - the one that got them trapped in the very late 20th century for 2 episodes. They've used this ship in other episodes as well. Those 3 blinking lights on either side of the pilot's face are a real give-away. It's just not believable if they keep using the same shuttle for everyone's ship!

Ugh, the episode was just bad. This isn't the way to remember Kes on this series. It has plot holes galore.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

Surpringly a good episode, although a bit slow at parts. The ending was rather nice.

The one thing I don't get with this series... is how does this fit into the bigger picture? What is the point?

And more over... why does the episode happen at all? Why do any of these shuttle crash shows happen? Why are they out in shuttles in the first place? Isn't the point to go home? Why explore every nick and granny of the galaxy for?

I know the show has brought this point up... and sometimes, it makes sense. Other times, I just don't understand why Voyager is 10 light years away as they send their shuttles out in another direction for. Why doesn't voyager just go itself?

I just never understand this. I don't understand how shuttles have faster propulsion systems to go faster than Voyager. Makes no sense. I don't understand why Voyager can't do any of the things these shuttles do... I mean... what does Voyager do... sit around and do nothing while 2 or 4 crew members go off and do something "more important"?

Even if a shuttle was needed to explore something Voyager couldn't... why is Voyager so damn far away for? And then they lose track of the shuttles over and over again on these episodes... never questioning why they send the shuttles out in the first place. Rediculous.

And what's up Tuvok? Does his mini sleepless story have any point at all? Even a Vulvan thinks not sleeping for 10+ days is logical? Why isn't anyone else looking for B'Elanna and Harry? Why is it only Tuvok... where he has to spend his entire resources by himself to look for them? Don't they have a freaking crew to help?

While the episode is good... the premise on how it comes out to be is absurd... as are all the shuttle crash episodes. It makes no sense how they came to be. None at all.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I agree. The whole scene where Janeway and B'Elanna are arguing... I just felt like, "who cares?" We know how ridiculous the argument sounds... and we know it's outcome. Of course, to move the plot, Janeway has to capitulate to B'Elanna. There is no other outcome. God forbid Janeway says no... and the episode ends right there.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

This is a passable episode. It's not amazing, but it's decent. One could only wish the bad Voyager episodes were of this equality... then we'd have a much better series.

I know this isn't groundbreaking... but I do have to commend the writers for continuity. This is now 3 episodes with the children from the borg cube... AND... they managed to tie a plot point to explain how the first cube in "Collective" was infected in the first place. That's admirable.

A lot of good serialized shows do this kind of plotting all the time... but because Voyager has virtually no plotting across episodes at all... it actually comes off as surprise. The show is better and stronger for it. One can only hope they did it all the time.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sun, Dec 13, 2009, 11:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

I'm 28 minutes into the show... but who the hell was Lindsey? I don't remember her on the show... I don't remember the away mission... I don't remember any of it.

The actor who plays Lindsay is really cute... love the hair and her alien form isn't bad either.

Still, the show's premise... once again as far as voyager premises go... doesn't hold up. And it ruins an otherwise okay but not great episode.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sun, Dec 13, 2009, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Moreover, the story isn't even clear as to what causes the malfunctioning of the holedeck characters. Is it really because it's being left on all the time? Later on in the story, Tom mentions to Janeway that he made so "adjustments" to bring the characters more to life? Really now?

Why is everyone an expert at holodeck programming? And why is it so easy to make sentient holograms, even though the series' premise indicates that it is no small feat to create a sentient holodeck character or other forms of AI?

The premise is indeed laughable.

And they also ran the fair haven program all day in the last fair haven episode... why were the malfunctions not happening then? And we have to assume that Tom made those characters "come to life" at that time, no? So when Janeway makes the crowd disappear... why didn't Michael Sullivan notice?

The blatant inconsistencies are just too huge to ignore.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sun, Dec 13, 2009, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I'm only 3 minutes into the episode, and I already hate it. The premise just doesn't hold up. The holodeck characters are programmed to be obvious of the commands to the computer. Are the writers saying the computer cannot control the holodeck characters within it's own simulation?

More so... in the last Fair Haven episode... Janeway removed all the people before she kissed the bartender dude... why wasn't he aware that Janeway removed all the people from the dancing party?

Man, I wish the writers cared more about the show. I don't mean to be a stickler and a nit-picker... but this is hugely overlooked and it is very surprisingly they can't even keep their holodeck mechanics straight from episode to episode, even though they've been properly established since TNG.

The only holodeck characters to have this kind of awareness were characters like Moriarty on TNG or Vic from DS9. Now apparantly they all do... and the holodeck can't make it's own characters not react to the user input. Ugh.

BAD. Very, very bad.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sun, Dec 13, 2009, 6:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Didn't like this episode. Outside of the scenes with Tom and B'Elanna, can't say the episode was all that good. The scenes did not have much emotional resonance for me. It just seemed dry, obvious and boring. Even the end didn't give me a happy feeling, which is what the direction was going for. It's passable - far from terrible. But 3 stars? Nah.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Wed, Dec 9, 2009, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

The episode's better than 2 stars, which should mean something coming from me since I a) usually agree with you; and b) criticize a lot of the show when criticism is deserved.

Sure, the show has its share of problems, but it holds together alright. I was a little confused at the Doctor's feelings for the alien woman. That came out of left field...

I am puzzled that the crew treats the doctor poorly when it serves the plot... but we got 40+ episodes without a peep out of the crew other than being nice. Again, like "Tinker, Tenor, Doctor, Spy", the abuse against the doctor is unfounded in season 6... and would be better suited season 2.

I also didn't think the captain would let her EMH go. Seriously... tom is the new CMO aboard the ship?

Having said all of that... the episode is very watchable, and there's a lot of enjoyable scenes... especially when the doctor calls the captain, "Katherine". Oh man... that was freaking PRICELESS!

The interplay between Seven and the doctor was quite good... and the merits of the story also make sense.

Overall, I'd give it 2.5 or 3 stars. 2 is very harsh.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Wed, Dec 9, 2009, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Great episode. There were a few holes in it... namely why the male astronaut didn't age after several minutes after the anti-matter charges stopped.

That one is not the worst though. The most troubling aspect is that they develop transporter technology and ships and warp drive and tractor beams.... but we see no actual flights and ships in orbit every few seconds. Are we really to believe they develop all of this tech on the surface... and after hundreds of years... finally decide to use it all?

That's just me complaining. I really loved the episode as a whole.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Wed, Dec 9, 2009, 7:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

I have mixed feelings on a show like this. I can't understand why Voyager insists on resetting everything back to normal. Why couldn't Janeway have a holographic boyfriend on the ship for the rest of the series? What is wrong with that? The doctor makes a point, "It's not logical to have sex with your subordinates or wait for the chance alien passing by."

I'm not really sure what to take from the episode - not to change your loved ones? If that's the case, she dumped him for non reasons anyway, even if she can't change him anymore.

Ugh... it just makes me thing the entire endevour is pointless. The show has some really nice scenes too.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Wed, Dec 9, 2009, 4:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

I have no idea why voyager can go from such extremes of good episodes to bad episodes. Last episode was extremely high quality, which little to fault. Then we have this.

While I had a hard time believing that Seven was buying into her theories (and to be fair, it was explained that she was 'malfunctioning'), I honestly don't think they made a lot of sense when I hear them... just as Janeway and Chakotay heard them. If I wasn't convinced... I'm not sure how two of the top chain of command were convinced.

Perhaps as an audience member, we know the whole thing is ludicrous... so in a way, I got some smiles and joy out of hearing the insane theories. There were some aspects of the episode to like.

Still... I just can't see either Chakotay or Janeway believing in the theories. It just doesn't hold up... especially when the "coincidences" make a lot of sense and flow within the context of what happened just fine with the information they knew.

Not buying the fundamental premise of the episode. Just not buying it.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Wed, Dec 9, 2009, 4:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

For once, I totally disagree with this review. There episode was nothing short of boring. I don't feel anything, and I didn't want to finish it. It's not that I don't commend the writers for 'trying' to make real character changes (even if they will never be acknowledged)... it's just that the changes themselves lack so much weight.

The *only* good moment in the episode is when Torres hugs the captain at the end of the show. We get a sense of what the experience meant to B'Elanna. Still, the experience was so boring and pointless and was going, "What? You threw a batleth in the ocean and you are suddenly better?" And we are supposed to believe that this has cured her anger issues or something? Ugh.

Even after the hug... there was scene missing at the end. There was something needed to cement these changes into her character... like a talk with the captain... or chakotay... or something. It just didn't end at the right spot.

Ultimately though, I was bored out of mind for the first 3/4 of the episode. The intro was not catchy either, nor was I in "suspense" or clueless as to what was going on.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Wed, Dec 9, 2009, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

Enjoyed this one a lot. Like the review noted, the only problem I have with it is the insane probability of discovering the ellipse in the first place. Still, there are so many really good moments, and the whole thing holds together. Here's an episode that really knows what it's trying to say, and it goes for it in every scene. The logs were especially well done. I cut up voyager a lot on these comments... but this one of the episodes I thoroughly enjoyed, despite the fact that it has no point with the series goals or purpose (if there is actually a purpose at all).
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Wed, Dec 9, 2009, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

Oh, there's a few other things I thought up as well.

When they were fighting the ships and transported tuvok... didn't they have their shields up to protect them from the incoming fire? Isn't it established that you can't transport with the shields up? I caught this when watching it... and then as I read the review, I remembered I thought this.

I also didn't understand why Gedron was against his own people. I mean, there is so few of his race left... and he's going to kill them off? Who would be left? Ugh.

The one thing I never get with Voyager is... why are all the weapons comparable with voyagers? It would stand to reason that even 100 years of technology would give someone a MASSIVE advantage.

Let's put this in perspective. Computing systems typically become twice as fast every 18 months. When I was 19 years old (I'm 29 now), I think I had a 400mhz processor. These days, we have 3000mhz x4 processors. That's just 10 years! Not 900!

Now, I don't suspect that equating the Vaadwuar with Earth's technology 900 years ago... but come on... It's obvious that Voyager is way more superior. Those phasers on those Vaadwaur ships shouldn't even be scratching the shields on Voyager.

Yet, week after week, every other species' weapons are comparable to voyager... without fail. I mean seriously... they have little dinky ships... they are nomadic, spread out races... they only occupy 1 world... and they have ships to match. I can never believe it. The federation is composed of hundreds of worlds, is it not? At least dozens... over the course of what... 300 years or so? Are you seriously trying to tell me that 300 years and several dozen worlds can't make better shields and weapons than some lonely races out in the backwater delta quandrant? Give me a fucking break!
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Wed, Dec 9, 2009, 2:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

A show like this is so frustrating... because a lot of it is very, very good. It's one of the few episodes to really grab me and hold my attention most of the way through. I liked it.

And like your review says... the ending sucks. It seems like the lesson is the wrong lesson. How many other episodes in star trek did we awaken people in stasis pods? My god... it's happened enough times that it's probably considered protocol.

And then leaving the aliens to fight off the battle for them while Voyager makes the escape... really? That seems... unethical. It just didn't sit right with me.

I wouldn't give it quite 2 stars... it's probably better at 2.5. There are worse episodes that have gotten 2 stars.

It's really too bad... because this is an episode that had promise.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Tue, Dec 8, 2009, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

The thing I don't understand... is that when Janeway denies the doctor's request to expand his program at the start of the episode... she says it will take months to do it. Didn't we have an episode last season where they made an entire Cardassian EMH in a matter of hours? While I like the fact that the logic makes sense in this episode with 'most' of the continuity... it only makes the other episode stand out as a blatant disregard for logic when they need to change it for the sake of the story.

Even worse though... and this is something I can't shake off... didn't the doctor's program go bust in one of the earlier seasons when he expanded his program too far? Was it the Swarm? Didn't they have to use the only backup matrix to fix it? If they expand it further... wouldn't take delete the Chief medical officer for good once the program got corrupted again?

See... I understand Janeway's hesitancy here... but the story doesn't bring up these concerns and relate to the previous shows. And honestly, the doctor has expanded his program far beyond the point that he did in season 2... isn't it bound to go bust very, very soon?

I also don't understand the request for more freedom and stuff. Seriously... when was the last time the crew seriously treated the doctor poorly? Season 2? This story seems really out of place in season 6.
Set Bookmark
Ken Egervari
Sun, Dec 6, 2009, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

I also wanted to make a note... why is the borg designations for species out of order? It would make sense that since the Borg live in the delta quandrant, the species' numbers would be smaller if they originated in the delta quandrant than if they lived in other quandrants... no?

Yet... some alpha quandrant species have numbers like 364 while other species like the kazon have 4 digits.

Makes no sense, and this thought occurs to me every time they mention a borg designation. It's just happened so many times in the last 2 seasons.

I mean, there are designations past 8472... and aren't they one of the newer species? Kind of ridiculous, unless they use random number generator to come up with the numbers (unlikely).
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.