Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 239 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Sep 13, 2016, 7:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Is this the most commented on episode yet?
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jul 9, 2016, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

First, I would say the fact Jake studied Quantum Mechanics presupposes his understanding of multiple "realities" existing. This reality is not tied directly to his existence or death - Melanie will continue to live, and Jake will be dead, but Sisko will be returned to "Normal" space and a separate tangent will continue.

Second, while this is an absolutely amazing episode for Star Trek and I would say in the Top Five, I find it interesting the reviewer says this is the first episode of Trek to move he/she to tears. The Inner Light precedes this episode by years, and is equally as amazing. I still remember watching it when it first aired (and right before Best of Both Worlds Pt 1). Picard's revelation at the end that he truly is living someone else's life; Picard playing his flute to honor a life and a civilization that both was and wasn't his, and the song echoing through the endless cold emptiness of space while the Enterprise flies along.... Yea.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Feb 24, 2015, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

lol the Romulans look like sofas. Yup. Badly upholstered ones...
Set Bookmark
JustinS
Thu, Apr 18, 2013, 5:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Man, I can't believe people dislike Ezri so much!? I think she's a interesting take on the Dax character, and believably scattered considering she was never meant to be joined.

She has a very different personality from Jadzia--I dunno, to me the character is a refreshing change from most Trek characters, who (let's face it) are usually pretty sure of themselves.

That said, I agree with all the complaints about this episode. I enjoyed it, but the Vulcan deduction is a huge stretch.

And since I've never commented before, and probably won't again, I just want to say.... Jammer, this is my first time watching DS9, and I've really enjoyed reading your reviews after every episode.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jul 22, 2012, 4:06am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

I'm avoiding spoilers by skipping the comments section, but I just had to add my own "whoa!" to the list. This is one of the most compelling hours of television I've ever seen. Superb, superb stuff.

On a different note, Dualla's suicide did not come as a shock to me. She showed definite signs of someone who has gone past conteplating suicide and made the decision to go through with it. People seeming almost happy in situations where you wouldn't expect them to be can be a warning sign that they are suicidal. I know this from an unfortunate experience with a loved one who tried and thankfully failed to kill herself. Dualla's scenes were convincingly written. Not to mention acted...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Jul 17, 2012, 2:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Road Less Traveled

Gaius Baltar = Saul of Tarsus
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jul 14, 2012, 11:47am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

Lee turned out to be a pretty good Commander for Pegasus. It's a shame he had to blow it up. By the way, we never did find out if he awarded Shaw the posthumous medal, which is interesting. It was left open to interpretation. My view is that she did not deserve it due to her actions on Scylla. Yes she sacrificed herself to complete the mission, but that does not make up for murdering innocent civilians. The History as it was to be written in Lee Adama's logs should make little note of Shaw. She deserved to be forgotten.

On another note, I had to watch that bizarre Quiznos "Look! Lesbians!" bumper on YouTube before I could actually believe it. Holy frak, we have a weird culture...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Jul 9, 2012, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Torn

Phillip Glass has minimal talent as a composer - pun intended and probably used before.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Jul 9, 2012, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Torn

Not having seen the next episode it's clear to me that Athena became infected by the 13th tribe thingy the moment they appeared out of jump.

Re: music, once again Philip Glass gets WAY too much credit. That piano piece was clearly inspired by Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata." Hence the title, "Battlestar Sonatica."
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Jul 9, 2012, 8:44am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

This episode definitely has its flaws, but I have no nits to pick. It was probably the most exciting episode of the entire run so far. And the gut wrenching scene in the end was so well done and supremely acted by Katee Sackoff. There are many empathy-invoking scenes in this series for many different characters, but I don't think I've ever felt sorrier for anyone than I did for Kara when Kacey was basically ripped away from her. It was an emotional punch in the gut and it was conveyed with no dialogue. Heartbreaking stuff.

I think when you combine both parts of Exodus as one episode, it is just shy of 4 stars. 3.9 stars, I'd say...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Jul 9, 2012, 7:53am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 1

I like eggs.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jul 7, 2012, 11:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

It's all Gaeta's fault. If he didn't have such a man-crush on Baltar he might have been smart enough to realize that maybe Roslin stealing the election was a necessary evil.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jul 7, 2012, 9:45am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 1

The scene with Dean Stockwell couseling the chief was outstanding. I wish we had more clergy as brutally honest as Brother Cavil. Just a beautifully written scene. I'd give the episode an extra half star just for that.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jul 7, 2012, 2:19am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

"Remember, this is the individual who snapped a baby's neck just days (hours?) before Caprica was destroyed, and she apparently did it for the same reason Johnny Cash shot that guy in Reno. But as soon as she's reborn, she's suddenly a tormented soul pining for her lost love. I'm intrigued by where this is going, but it was a big cheat."

@Max, maybe Six woke up with the Astral Queen Blues...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Fri, Jul 6, 2012, 2:31am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

Now that Lee is Commander that means the show cannot ignore Pegasus. Good.

I don't know what endless debate went on here regarding abortion and I don't really care. But, the in-Galactica-universe solution of outlawing abortion is pretty much a no-brainer. They should also legalize polygamy. The human race needs babies and lots of them. It also needs a healthy gene pool and the first law of genetics is to spread the genes apart. Therefore, multiple sex partners for all. Free love, man...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Thu, Jul 5, 2012, 2:09am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Black Market

Fairly lame. Some random thoughts, though.

OK, so Fisk is dead. Who's the new commander of the Pegasus? Shouldn't it be Tigh?

This is the second time Lee has snatched a dude's gun away from him. Pretty badass. I also like the fact that he didn't hesitate to kill Phelan. Pragmatic, indeed.

What's with Lee's death wish? I don't really get it...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Jul 4, 2012, 2:31am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Resurrection Ship, Part 2

@Mark, I think your assessment is spot on. The character development for our heroes in this episode was very good, but Cain was almost too much of a comic book villain. It WAS a copout by the writers to have Six take her out. Sure, it works dramatically and it may even be satisfying, but in the end it's basically a reset button for Pegasus.

And what about Pegasus and its crew? Fisk is now its commander, but he and many of his crew have atrocities to answer for. Public executions of disloyal officers, murder of civilians, theft and rape. I wonder if this will even be mentioned in future episodes, let alon acted upon...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jul 1, 2012, 2:38am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Farm

@Helix, great assessment of Starbuck's character. I'm watching the series for the first time and while I liked Starbuck in the first season I like her even more in the second. Just a terrific character and so well acted by Katee Sackoff. She strikes the perfect balance between badass flygirl and vulnerability.

@Michael, maybe you should run as the Tea Party candidate against Roslin in the next election.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jun 30, 2012, 2:05am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Resistance

This is truly a rare and wonderful series. I thought I had figured out where this episode would go after watching the last one, but nothing I thought would happen happened. This episode completely threw me for a loop. Every scene was believable, plausible, and just plain good.

Onward...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jun 30, 2012, 1:02am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Fragged

@Max, I pretty much agree with your assessment of Tigh. For all his flaws his heart is in the right place and he HAS made some pretty good (and risky) command decisions. It's just the politics he sucks at and he DEFINITELY set himself up to be the bad guy by declaring martial law only to have Adama come back on duty and save the day. He's a true and loyal friend to the Old Man.

Another solid, solid character in an outstanding ensemble...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jun 30, 2012, 12:53am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Fragged

Crashdown had to have been bluffing, but who could take that chance? Cally has survived so much and been so brave only to be shot by her own CO because she refused to go on a suicide mission? No way. For whatever reason he did it, Baltar did the right thing. A shame to lose another soul that way, but it had to be done.

One of the best scenes of the series so far...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Jun 30, 2012, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Valley of Darkness

Ya, Thrace should have made her callsign "Minimalist" instead of "Starbuck."
Set Bookmark
Justin
Thu, Jun 28, 2012, 6:33am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Scattered

I have to pause the show after seeing the mustachioed flashback Adama. I keep expecting him to make origamis and say, "It's too bad she won't live. But then again, who does?"
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Jun 27, 2012, 8:32am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: The Hand of God

"It's the perfect plan which is exactly why it won't work."

What a great line for a wonderful character. I do not at all get the anti-Starbuck vibe I'm seeing from some fans. She's nuanced, compelling, and superbly acted. This was a great episode with terrific character development for Adama, Apollo, Starbuck, Roslin, and Baltar. It was also very satisfying to see our heroes have a victory for once. And a convincing one at that. It's the human condition that won the day here. Something tells me that the Cylons don't have the capability of "out of the box" thinking. This episode and "Flesh and Bone" really set Kara Thrace up as a worthy adversary and nemesis to the Cylons. I love her.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Jun 26, 2012, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down

OK, I'm watching this series for the first time and this is definitely the worst episode so far. Which really is a testament to how brilliant this series is because it's really not all that bad.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.