Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 279 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 6:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Tom R

I have to say I’m pretty disappointed that you feel the need to insult those who have a dissenting opinion from yours. If you didn’t like this episode and don’t like Discovery in general that’s fine. You are entitled to your opinion and have the right to voice it. If you want to debate the merits of the episode/series then by all means do so. Stick to elevating your opinions not denigrating the opinions. Your comments has an air of snobbish, as though you know better then anybody else as to what makes good Trek. It’s all subjective, based upon one’s own tastes and preferences. I’m not going to take away from you not liking the episode, but don’t insult me or my opinions because I enjoyed this episode.

I don’t automatically like anything with Star Trek in the title. I’ve not always been happy with this show but I’ve enjoyed some of the changes I’ve seen lately. That’s my opinion. You have yours. You’re no more an authority on Star Trek then I am. Save the snobbishness for your kitchen table.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

It's a decent show, but what's noticeable while watching DS9 at the same time is that the actors are much much better in this series. Both DS9 and Voyager had a lot of mediocre actors, whereas e.g. Anson Mount is terrific here.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 11:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I enjoyed it but, as some have said, it's a bridge to what comes next. And that's ok. You need that every once in a while. If we constantly had Big Events happen in every episode, the series would have no room to breathe and it would all feel so busy.

Talos IV? Wow! Didn't see that coming and that's something that well-played. This is still a few years after The Cage and well before The Menagerie. I'm sure whatever events take place here will result in Talos IV being forbidden. Am I right in saying that the Enterprise was specifically said to be the only starship to visit Talos IV? If so, then we will likely be seeing The Big E enter the picture shortly.

As for Anson Mount as Pike, man I wish they could keep him on after this season! He's an excellent captain and, IMHO, the best Trek has seen since Sisko! No offense to Janeway (well acted, poorly written) or Archer (so-so acted, poorly written) but Mount as Pike is a perfect captain! Too bad he's not someone else cuz they could just keep him on instead of sending him back to the Enterprise when the season is over.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I am unsure whether the writers on DS9 are unable to think anything through, or just don't care.

Why no medical officer?

Why did Sisko negotiate in such an aggressive manner?

Why didn't he ask for medical aid?

Why didn't they just beam them out of the ship?
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 1:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

@SlackerInc In a later episode it IS confirmed that the Hansen's accidentally followed a Borg vessel into one of their transwarp conduits, and came out deep in the Delta Quadrant. They managed to last about six months in Borg Space studying the Borg until they were discovered due to an accidental transmission. They were the first humans to reach the Delta Quadrant, and the first humans assimilated.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

I never liked this two-part episode. I don't mind when the Trek franchise tries to be gritty. Personally, I think it needs to be more gritty than it usually does. The older I get, the more I dislike Roddenberry's idealized portrait of Earth and humanity. Calling Earth "paradise" is just a bit too much.

The problem with this two-parter is that it seemed like a weak-rip off of the Earth Civil War arc from "Babylon 5".
Set Bookmark
Jon
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 8:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

The battle made absolutely no sense to me here: does DS9 not have any weapons in the MU? Where are the rest of the defending ships? Why do the Birds of Prey explode so easily? Why are no shield bubbles shown?
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 7:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

As usual, there is so much jarring canon fail here, one has to wonder what the script editors were doing. As mentioned above the hundreds of years line makes no sense after watching First Contact.

Also don't understand why they would keep accelerating and be torn to pieces.
Set Bookmark
Jonas
Sat, Nov 17, 2018, 11:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

All three characters - Tuvok, Neelix and Tuvix - are simply identities and are not in any sense "alive". When one says "I am Neelix" or "I am Tuvix" who is the "I" that is doing the identifying? A little investigation shows that it's the same one in both cases, therefore no one during the episode ever died. Tuvix's protests were meaningless and so were Janeway's actions.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Aug 31, 2018, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

... also, Earth has known for quite some time that the full size weapon would be coming eventually. Did it not occur to anyone at Starfleet command to put together a defense fleet? Sure there weren't any other NX ships yet, but there had to be some non-NX ships they could commission to bulk up Earth's orbital defense. They could take that time to upgrade their weapons. That way even if Enterprise failed, Earth still has a chance to knock out the weapon before it destroys the planet.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Aug 31, 2018, 1:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

I wasn't a fan of the Xindi arc. It felt like a 3 parter stretched over an entire season.

Very little plot progression was accomplished in any given episode.

The Xindi council scenes were always really repetitive and served no other purpose then to remind us that the Xindi were still around.

Lastly, I hated that everyone (such as the Xindi and T'pol) were constantly acting like humanity was the only line of defense for the entire Alpha Quadrant. By the time we reached Zero Hour, they had figured out how to shut down the spheres and stop the sphere builders. Even if humanity failed and Earth was destroyed (obviously not an ideal outcome) there are other races with entire fleets that could launch counter measures against the spheres, such as the Vulcans. All Enterprise needed to do was transmit their plans to Earth, Vulcan, and any friendly neighbor.
Set Bookmark
Jonathon
Fri, Aug 24, 2018, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Clearly, when Ballard died, Voyager should have paid a visit to Miracle Max.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Aug 24, 2018, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

This episode was alright. But I have a nitpick about it. It's a particular nitpick that comes up a lot on various Star Trek episodes.

When they show the actual storm, it's shown as a long horizontal string. If it was energy or radiation being expelled from some central source, shouldn't it expand in all directions?

Also, it makes it seem like the crew is just too stupid to avoid it by going above it or under it.

This happens a lot in Star Trek. Pretty much any episode involving any sort of spacial anomaly or wavefront.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 6:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

It drives me crazy when some crappy little ship from some crappy little planet fires on Voyager, with full shields, and conveniently disables the transporters in the first shot.

They then do this AGAIN with the Delta Flyer.

ARGHHH
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 5:43am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Completely ridiculous the probe had ended up there and that it was on their own home. It's as if the writers have NO idea of how big space is.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 6:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

I simply don't understand the motivation of an alleged respectable publisher to risk their reputation and fortune to publish a few weeks earlier.

The doctor not realising his work would be so offensive just didn't ring true. Also, unsure why he is whining about his creativity but being recognised, when we recently had a whole planet worshipping his singing.

I realise people have to act in an exaggerated manner for drama, but this is a step too far.

I really liked the idea of all the copies of the doctor in a mine, but again why were they using pickaxes?
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Jul 27, 2018, 12:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

I think someone else mentioned this in the comments, but I can't get over this.

Why didn't they send some other hologram to deliver the messages? Someone a bit more disposable? Maybe they could send Da Vinci, or one of the countless bikini clad characters from Neelix' holo-resort program.

All they needed the hologram to do was deliver messages. Heck, it didn't even need to be a hologram of a person. They could have just sent a hologram of the letters.

But, of course, then they wouldn't have a story :P
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Jul 22, 2018, 3:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

I was just watching this episode and it got tot he scene where Kim and Tuvok were in the turbolift. Tuvok was saying that there were 2 outcomes for the feelings Kim had. Either the feelings balanced out and forged a longterm relationship, or things end badly. He advised retreating.

Once that scene concluded all I could think was "Just delete the girl from the holo-program... problem solved"

The sheer irrelevance of the Kim story, combined with the fact that it already done better on TNG, made this episode really frustrating.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, May 27, 2018, 6:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

Poor B'Elanna is trapped in a horribly abusive relationship, with someone who displays no actual affection for her. Horrible writing.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Mon, May 21, 2018, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

"Hey Korok, can you please give us a lift to Earth using that transwarp thingy you just used to come help us at the last possible moment?

-Sure, np guys.

Series over."

Haha
Set Bookmark
Jon
Wed, May 9, 2018, 5:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

"craftily downloaded the Voyager database"

This is done so easily 🙄, yet has such immense implications. Sometimes it seems the writers just aren't very clever. This information is worth far more than any con.

Fake Tuvok was by far and away the best thing about this. Great fun, with him completely submerging into the character.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sat, Mar 31, 2018, 6:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

An immensely significant episode for Starfleet. TWO huge events:

1) A virus that can be deployed to neutralise Borg cubes
2) A neutralised Borg cube, which can be completely cannibalised for parts and THE ENTIRE technology advantage of the Borg can now be downloaded from their databases
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 1:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

"Chakotay, Paris, Kim, and Neelix" on a shuttle: am I the only person who thought that with one explosion, all the terrible actors on this show would be removed?

Quite liked this episode as a minor variant on Inner Light, but another wasted opportunity for the federation: this is an IMMENSELY powerful weapon.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 4, 2018, 5:18am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

A good episode, but completely hamstrung by Robert Beltran and McNeill's total inability to emote. Chakotay is supposed to be obsessed with the history of this probe, but is completely unconvincing. Once again, Jeri Ryan saves the day with an excellent performance, but can you imagine how much better this episode would have been with Picard instead of Chakotay?
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 2:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I'm late to the party, but I'll add my two cents.

As I see it, the real reason Janeway is so opposed to sharing technology with the Kazon is not so much because she cares about destabilizing their society, it's all about preventing the Kazon from gaining a technological advantage over the rest of the Quadrant.
Way back in "Caretaker," the Kazon made it very clear that they wanted to dominate and oppress the Ocampa, and steal their water and the technology the Caretaker gave them.
If the Kazon got superior tech from Voyager, it wouldn't be very long at all before they started using it to change the balance of power of the Delta Quadrant in their favor by subjugating everyone else.

THAT would be the greatest Prime Directive violation of all.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.