Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 336 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Not the greatest way to start the series, “Encounter at Farpoint” is thinly plotted with showpieces that are unnecessarily dragged out. The separation and reintegration of the Enterprise serves no purpose other than to show off the ship’s new feature. And there are one too many extended shots of someone looking at the bridge in awe for my taste.

However, the characters are all introduced well and allowed to contribute in some fashion. Q is intriguing with the Humanity on Trial storyline containing promise. Though the mystery of Farpoint hardly lives up to the hype, the aliens are certainly unique and beautiful to behold. A rocky start.

⭐️ ⭐️
Set Bookmark
Jon
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

I have a friend who worked on the crew for Voyager, and they said all the actresses' costume had padding built in to enhance their breast size. In fact, that's one of the reasons Genvieve Bujold (originally cast as Janeway) quit the show.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Akiva Goldsman is an executive producer, I believe. So it’s not so much they got him so much as he said he’d do it.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

If anyone is going to have a redeeming moment it’s Agnes. I don’t see Soji dying because of the rapport she’s developed with Picard. I view her as Data’s heir and so I think she’ll stay. If anyone dies in an act of redemption it’s Agnes.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 7:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Goof

The O’Briens were on DS9, not DS12. There are different DS stations. FIRST CONTACT mentions DS5.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I feel torn on this episode. It felt hurried and not flushed out enough. We finally find this colony of synthetics and learn virtually nothing about them. What do they think of the outside world? Are they scared? Curious? Why is it that they’re so easily swayed into taking action to exterminate all organic life? What are their motives? I understand this new Dahj Android (I forget her name) saw this vision but is there already an underlying mistrust of organic that she feels? How does she feel about her sister being murdered by Starfleet?

Not enough was done on the Borg cube. I feel Seven’s presence has been minimal and thus Jeri Ryan wasted.

And what about Dr Soong? He seems pretty ready to disregard all organic life. And are we going to see Picard uploaded into this new android to save his life?

I enjoyed the episode which is why I’m torn. There was some very imaginative stuff. I loved the space orchids and thought they were pretty cool. There were some neat TNG-era vibes. I was reminded of the Ba’ku village.

But I’d wished we had seen more androids. This was 45 minutes when the last two episodes ran close to an hour. This episode could’ve used another 5-10 minutes to go a bit deeper. It’s still hard to judge when this is obviously the first half of a larger story.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I gotta add to the commentary on Alison Pill and Jurati. I think that Pill is a better actress as well but also feel her character isn’t as annoying. I believe she’s also more complex, especially given her actions. Does anyone see Tilly acting the same way?

As for holograms....yes, I believe the self-aware holos are sentient but not the others. I would also think that most holos wouldn’t be considered a threat like androids because unless they have a mobile emitter they are less....well, mobile. And also it seems most can simply just be deactivated. I’m curious to know The Doctor’s date which it sounds as though we will learn next season.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Sorry for the double-post but I just remembered to make an observation about a comment that I read earlier today. Someone mentioned something along the lines that fans of nuTrek view the TNG characters working together to solve problems as a bug. In my case, not true. I grew up with TNG. For me, that is and to this day remains STAR TREK. Its optimistic message shaped me. Its acceptance of others has helped me with how I look at others.

If there is one regret that I have with the way the characters of TNG were handled it's that there wasn't more tension between them. Not in the constantly fighting or feuding sense. I'm talking about in the sense of the tension that existed for a time between Kira & Bashir on DS9. While I do believe that depicting people from different walks of life who are totally different coming together and solving problems is inspiring, I also believe that people who have personal differences and yet are able to set those aside to solve problems is equally inspiring.

Isn't that also a tremendous message for Star Trek to broadcast? That even though we have some conflict or problem with someone else that we are still able to moved beyond that and work together to solve problems? Considering the political dynamics of today (particularly in the US) and the hyper-partisanship that exists, isn't that a message that should resonate and be important to share with the world? "Hey, you and I have a difference of opinion on A, B & G but we have a problem that needs to be solved so let's work together". I don't know....maybe I'm just mistaken in the kind of message that STAR TREK can deliver.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Stardustraven, I appreciate your thoughtfulness. I do not recall all of your previous posts however I take you at your word when you say you never mocked anyone. I never directed my original question at anyone specifically because I did not want anyone to think that I was going after/attacking them. Things have a way of spiraling out of control on an online forum where everyone remains anonymous behind their keyboard and thus have no accountability in their every day lives.

Now, whether or not I should have kept my post in such a general fashion is another question. I wanted to hear from those who have a passionate dislike of PIC & DIS and not get into a Hurling of the Insults with someone who felt like I was coming after them. I never addressed any specific comments in order to keep it generalized. Some have expressed their views in more passionate terms than others. Some have said they're done watching yet return. Others, like yourself, don't say that and are clearly waiting for it to "get better" in their eyes.

As it is, a couple people seem to have taken my attempt at civility in the wrong manner I have thought that I was attempting to intimidate or shame them into not sharing their opinions. So perhaps not addressing any one person or any one comment specifically was a mistake. I don't know.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@bencanuck

I'd like to add onto your observation about the TNG crew's vocabulary use. Did Data not say "oh shit" in Generations? What about Riker saying "bastards" in Insurrection? And when Lily calls Picard a "son of a bitch" in First Contact, did he act aghast at such a term being used in his presence? No, he continue on with his work and tried to brush her aside. With the medium of a motion picture, the writers were able to take more liberties with the cursing. I'm sure that if the rules of TV in 1987-1994 had been similar to today's that we would have seen a bit more cursing on TNG.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I'm sorry, but I thought "Valiant" was a dumb episode. I think it would have worked if the cadets were junior officers commanding the surviving crew. But a Starfleet commissioned officer giving a cadet a battlefield commission, when the smartest move would have been to order the cadets back to the nearest Starfleet base? And what was up with Nog? He enthusiastically agreed with everything Watters did . . . yet, in the end, judge the latter as a "poor captain"?

This episode was dumb.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Wolfstar, thank you so much for your thoughtful response! That is the kind of insight I’m looking for! To know what goes through someone’s mind as they watch these shows. Thank you very much!
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Sen-Sors

That is all I am asking. I'm only seeking confirmation. I wish to only discuss opinions and if I have questions ask them. That is all I have done. Thank you very much.
Set Bookmark
Captain jon
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 12:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Brian,

There is no subtle implication intended. None at all. I stated my purpose in asking my question. Now I feel my intent has been misconstrued as an attack. It is not. It is an attempt at an open discussion without people taking things personally.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Whoa whoa whoa! I’m not trying to shame anyone! I made perfectly clear what my intentions were when asking my question. It’s my right to do so since I’m curious. I even said everyone is entitled to share their opinions. I’m not seeking to intimidate anyone into silence. To suggest otherwise is misleading. There is no sarcasm. No malice. Only curiosity. I wish to only have a discussion.

There are those who have voiced only negative opinions, nothing positive. People who say they are done and yet return. I’m only curious to know what keeps them watching. Those who identify both positive and negative aspects seem to have a genuinely open mind and aren’t out to trash these shows simply because they can. They are making genuine critiques.

I am not here to troll, to shame, to bully or intimidate. We live in a free and open society where we can express ourselves. I only wish to learn from those who have different opinions.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

To those of you who absolutely despise this show as well as Discovery,

This is not intended in anyway as trolling or mocking. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I respect that even if I disagree with it. "Picard" and "Discovery" are not perfect but neither are any of 90s-era Trek. TNG started horrendously bad, DS9 was consistently great but had its fair share of clunkers as well (I'm looking at you, "Let He Who Is Without Sin..."), VOY was inconsistent and ENT was mostly weak. As I've said before, I think that PIC and DIS are suffering from first/second season jitters but that PIC is now gaining momentum going into its finale.

However, having said that, I know there are people who just are not buying it (well, actually you're PAYING for it). You come here and you voice your opinions, your displeasure, you rip into choices. That's all fine and good. But my question to you is this; if you don't like nuTrek so much, why not just stopping watching it? Why come here and rip into it? Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I'm just curious about your choice to continue to watch something that you continue to be so awful.

Everyone has a different standard of what they continue to be good Star Trek. But no one can dictate to anyone else what is good and what is not and no one should ridicule or mock someone else for their opinion. It is all subject to one's own opinion. I'm not right but neither are you.

So....why do you still watch? Are you waiting for it to meet your standard for what you consider to be good Star Trek? What other reason would you have other than you're waiting for it to get good or because it's Star Trek? I'm just curious and trying to have a civil discussion about this.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I know that the first half of the season is considered weak especially in comparison to the first episode and these last few. While I enjoy the early episodes, they certainly are more flawed. However, I find them to be necessary. Those episodes laid the groundwork and the backstory. And now we’re seeing the payoff both in regards to plot and character.

Had they condensed the season to 5 or 6 episodes I think we’d be complaining that the pacing was too quick, that things were moving from one thing to the next too quickly to get from A to B to C. With 10 episodes they took their time and allowed things room to breathe. I like that. I enjoy a good slow buildup as long as there is payoff sporadically spaced throughout. Yes, things could have been done a little bit better with those early episodes but keep in mind the how long each 90s Trek series (especially TNG) took to get their sea legs.

I also would like to point out that Patrick Stewart’s performance has changed over the course of the season. It’s always been strong but I felt like in the first half of the season we were watching Patrick Stewart. It wasn’t until that final scene between him and Seven in “Stardust City Rag” when we actually saw Jean-Luc Picard and he hasn’t left ever since. Just as the writers needed a chance to find their footing, so did Stewart.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I have no problem with the Borg cube storyline, though I’m still waiting to see how it fits into the Big Picture. Why was Soji there? Why are we still there? I wonder if Seven will bring the cube in to save the day in the finale to fight the Romulans.

Anyone else expecting that at some point in this series Picard or someone attached to him will be responsible for these 8 stars arranging in such a way? If not Picard perhaps Narissa who will probably be defeated by the androids. Would that make all this a self-fulfilling prophecy?
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Another really strong episode which is rearranging the pieces for the two-part finale. I must say that “Picard” has done more to form a coherent, thoughtful narrative that provides answers then “Discovery” ever did. DISCO rearranged pieces based on this week’s plot requirements then what made sense in the Big Picard. PIC has been laying the groundwork and is providing those answers.

Now, I do find Rios’s connection to Soji to be a little convenient. After all, the pilot that Picard hires to fly him around on his mission happens to already have a connection with these new androids to be a little convenient. Having said that, it was done well enough that I can overlook it.

I’m looking forward to the finale!
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Somewhere above I read someone complaining about the music being too intrusive and trying to tell us what to feel. As a musician who collects movie scores that’s precisely the point of music; to make us feel. Whether it’s the opening fanfares in Star Wars or The Motion Picture trying time excite us, Jerry Goldsmith’s noble theme that plays during First Contact. The suspenseful music as the crew find the Borg on the Enterprise. It’s telling us what the mood is and how to feel. Music is probably the most manipulative aspect of a movie outside of the acting.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Cynic, the badge was Hugh’s. He gave it to Elnor as he died. They didn’t explicitly show it. They show him handing something to Elnor. Hugh is pretty much telling Elnor to call Seven.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 2:02am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Boomer, not enough people own up to things that they should not have said so that’s pretty cool of you!

Just an observation, but Riker did spend a majority of the episode cooking which justifies the apron. And I don’t think that it was written that way in order to make an excuse for the apron. The entire episode was building towards the dinner table scene. It was the payoff to for the episode.

Regardless, I didn’t view it as they were trying to hide Riker’s belly since an apron doesn’t really do that at all. It actually adds a little! And I don’t think Frakes would be ashamed of his weight since there are plenty of pictures of him at conventions and behind the scenes that don’t seem to attempt to hide his weight.

I’m one to talk, though. I’m not as thin as I used to be either....
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 1:51am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@Dave in MN

I totally agree! I firmly believe in tolerance and agreeing to disagree. After all, isn't that a prime message of Star Trek? HOWEVER, where I will NOT be tolerant is when the attacks become personal, whether at an actor, writer, director, producer, anyone involved in the show, anyone on this board or anyone in general. People are free to have their opinions and to share them, but when they become personal I believe it goes too far. There's no need for that and people get personal when they really have no leg to stand on or they are criticizing for criticism's sake. Leave weight and appearance out of it.

I thought Frakes gave his best performance as Riker in a long time and his weight has no relevance in this discussion. He, Sirtis and Stewart have allowed themselves to age naturally and have done nothing on this series to hide that. In fact, they've only embraced it and made it part of who they are. One of the great things about ST:II was that it aged the characters and made them wiser and more experienced. We're seeing that here as well.

Unfortunately, comments like that show the toxicity that is creeping its way into fandom. It's why Star Wars has been crippled over the last few years as an outspoken, intolerant few make loud, obnoxious and personal attacks. So the creators gave in to fear and took the safest route in order to silence those few naysayers.

I don't agree with everybody who posts here. I enjoy "Picard" and it's obvious to me that I enjoy the series (and "Discovery", though it is flawed) much more than many around here. I think that Star Trek is evolving as it must in order to be viable. Many criticisms that people have are perfectly valid. I may not agree with them but I respect those criticisms. I don't think it's right to cry "KURTZMAN!" when we see something we don't like and think that's he's to blame. Keep in mind he is also a big reason we have Trek right now and maybe it'll take the right shuffling of creative minds to get the series to a place that's more in tune with what a lot of people feel more comfortable with as Star Trek. But I would like to point out that I remember a time when anything with name "Rick Berman" on it was automatically dismissed as garbage. However, he was with TNG from the beginning and though he wasn't the head writer, he was still the head honcho for much of its run including it's best years. The same can be said for DS9 which he did co-create and though others ran the show, he allowed them that freedom (even if it was sometimes restricted). Should Berman have stepped aside years before he did? Absolutely! But he was still a major factor in the Trek Renaissance of the early- to mid-90s. Let's not be too quick to simply dismiss something simply because a certain name is attached to it.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I'm going to go out on a limb here. I think what this is series is more Jonathan Frakes as Riker. Patrick Stewart may be the best actor to ever put on a Starfleet uniform and grace the bridge of a starship but I think that it was Frakes who gave some much-needed levity to TNG. I'm working my way through TNG right now and I'm nearing the end of Season 1 ("Conspiracy" is tonight, which BTW I feel still deserves a sequel and "Picard" could provide that opportunity - just saying) and let's face it; Patrick Stewart mostly places Picard very straight and with a bit of a stick up his ass. And he's pretty much that way throughout the series. Yes, Stewart's performance starts to relax once you get to the fourth season (he almost left after the third) but a lot of the good-natured, grounded heart of the show came from the other actor who top billing and that was Frakes.

Frakes may not be the greatest actor but HE IS Will Riker. He's all charm and charisma and that helped ground the series. Compared to these new characters who are grim and conflicted, Frakes/Riker stand out and beyond. Riker has the burden of the loss of his son and he had a very passing moment of grief when discussing ignorance of danger, but he immediately slaps a smile back on and returns to being his good-natured, upbeat self. Compare that to Picard who wallowed throughout the ENTIRE pilot because he still grieved for Data. TBH, as a father, I don't think there's any comparison to the grief for a friend and the grief for a child.

Picard may have embodied the leader that we all want to see right now but I think Riker embodies the hope and the spirit that we all love about Star Trek. And dare I say, I believe he does more than any other character outside of TOS.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

There’s some strong parallels here between Picard/Soji & Dahl with Kirk/Spock in ST:III. Kirk went to Starfleet and was rejected so he took matters into his own hands. Picard did the same and was rejected so he took matters into his own hands. And as has been mentioned above Riker called him out for his arrogance because this is a worse situation because it’s not like Picard had a starship to steal and a crew ready to help. He had to draft a crew and a ship and chose not to include people who would be equally invested in the situation as he is.

I really feel like Riker and Troi are the only characters capable of calling Picard out. No one else can (aside from maybe Beverly). Not Worf, Geordi and we’ve never seen him with any other Legacy characters (aside from Seven) so that wouldn’t be appropriate. And while they’re knocking him down a peg like others have, at least they don’t hold a grudge against him.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.