Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 40 (Showing 26-40)

◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Mon, Dec 17, 2012, 1:24am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I very good episode indeed; I would agree with most of what you've said Jammer.

I also very much agree with Eric's comments above, particularly the points about Archer's decision to send the cogenitor back. As he says; "once the damage was done, with the cogenitor rethinking its existence and making such an explicit, clear, and legitimate request for asylum, denying the request is not the moral choice. It is only the political choice."

So during the 'Archer chewing out Tucker' scene, there should have been a throwaway line about Archer having contacted Starfleet and them ordering him to release the cogenitor on politcal grounds. If they'd just rectified that issue I would rate this as a real Trek Classic.

Anyway, as is, it's still a first-rate, thought-provoking episode.

Note: I'm willing to give the writers the benefit of the doubt and assume that Archer was indeed expressing some genuine guilt when he said "You did exactly what I'd do? If that's true, I've done a pretty lousy job setting an example around here."
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sat, Dec 15, 2012, 9:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

I would agree with Jammer and the last few posters.

I've had so few positive sentiments about this series so far (currently [re]watching) that this episode does stand out.

I also quite liked the scene of Enterprise outwitting the (boringly dumb) Duras as told from a Klingon perpective.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Fri, Dec 14, 2012, 10:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

This is a VERY typical example of the type of episode Brannon Braga cut his teeth on during TNG. I was never a big fan back then (except for the occasional spark, like Cause and Effect or Parallels) and I'm not a fan now. They just feel too hokey and inconsequential.

With Vanishing Point, I also felt the resolution was telegraphed from about the second act.

A 1.5 to 2 star epsiode for me.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Dec 12, 2012, 9:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I agree that funny-bad is better than dull-bad.

So I'd give this 1-star instead of zero.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Dec 12, 2012, 9:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I think I can honestly say that Porthos and Phlox are my 2 favourite characters on this show.

1 star.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Dec 12, 2012, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Seems like I wasn't the only person shaking my head in consternation while watching this episode. Sadly, an all too common occurance.

2 stars, tops.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Tue, Dec 11, 2012, 9:15am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

I would also rate this as pretty ordinary. About 2 stars, max.

Berman/Braga trying to do Behr/Moore and failing miserably.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Tue, Dec 11, 2012, 8:24am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

"by far one of the best episodes of The A-Team since, oh the mid 80's"

That.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 2:45am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

If only there was more of this in Season 7.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

I'm with Paul and Jay - 1 star from me.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 2:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I was waiting for this review just to bag the parts concerning Troi's... I can't even say it... promotion.

But I'll just tip my hat to the rest of you who have already said it well (esp Paul M).

The only good thing about it is that it contrasts so sharply with the A-story, emphasising Data's overall superiority as a character and actor.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sun, Dec 9, 2012, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

Eeeeeeeeasily the best episode of what was an otherwise mind-numbingly dull season.

3.5 for me.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sun, Dec 9, 2012, 9:39am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I'll back you on this review Jammer.

Although I personally felt the Vulcans were far too emotional for what their species is meant to be. Still, I take your point about having too many monotonous drones on screen at one time - hence they tried to spice it up by making 2 of them passive-aggressive and impatient and 1 of them compassionate.

Note: Can someone please explain why Vulcans openly lie on Enterprise? (Unless this is explained later in the series)
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sun, Dec 9, 2012, 9:18am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

Once they worked out that there was a 10-20 second delay between arming and detonation, why didn't they just beam the guys back to the ship rather than have them hold up bits of tin?
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Fri, Dec 7, 2012, 11:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Add my name to the list of people who thought you must have been smashing some grade-A happy pills to have given this episode 3 stars, Jammer.
◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.