Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 142 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Jasper
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

Archer always seemed angry or annoyed to me, so this really isn't much of a change. Episode was nice, sphere was cool, torture bad. Thank God for the comments. Same as on DS9 there are people saying: yeah, but this time torture is okay. No, that's what ideals are for. You stick with them. Especially in aftermath of 9/11 Star Trek should have been the show to tell that story.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Mon, Oct 29, 2018, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

I'm with Auralgami and #teamboring on this one. The engine gets unstable at two stars so that's all this episode gets from me.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Oct 24, 2018, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I just have to say my piece. Episode was great. Nice concept with three genders. I think it shouldn't have been Trip, but Hoshi as main character in this episode. But all that aside, I was so angry at the end. Lot of commenters already mentioned it, but Trip was just right to fight for the rights of the cogenitor. The speech of Archer was infuriating. Not worthy of a Starfleet captain at all. Picard would've granted the asylum. At that point the episode fell from 3,5 stars to 2 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Mon, Oct 15, 2018, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

Good review. Empty action. The final fight sequence was terribly contrived. You can see the writers struggling... "How many more minutes do we need? Well, than he wakes up and they fight some more. Next episode!" Filler within filler. Good grief.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cease Fire

I didn't think the last few episodes deserved 2.5 stars but this one does. Maybe even three. The shooting was boring and the plot was predictable but the planet looked good, some of the acting was fine, tall blue woman with the antennas was just spectacular in so many ways. So yeah. Good stuff. Oh, Archer must stop walking around and looking away and dropping long pauses when talking to people. Archer is really annoying. More episodes with T'Pol in command would be great.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

Agree with the review. Very average, so no more than two stars. You can see everything coming from lightyears away, even the storm. And agree with the comment about sickbay also being protected. There was no need for the doctor to move his critters.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Mon, Oct 8, 2018, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

I had a dream in which Jammer rates all episodes that were just a dream really really low. But that dream has vanished. Or has it?
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Fri, Sep 28, 2018, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

I agree with the comments about childish behaviour. Especially Reed is really annoying, but Trip and Hoshi as well. Even the danger is trivial, radiation. Not really exciting. But some coffee and a shower snaps you of it. Poor episode. 1.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Fri, Sep 21, 2018, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I'd rather see Kai Winn make love to Gul Dukat. I'd rather see Chakotay boot up his spirit animal starter kit. I'd even rather see Beverly Crusher make love to a ghost!! (Okay, I didn't mean that.) But this was so terribly awfully bad. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Fri, Sep 21, 2018, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I'm still watching this episode right now. Halfway through. I want to finish it. Completionist and all. Man it's hard. I'm watching an episode about a sick dog. They're walking around with nets. This. Is. So. Awful.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Sep 12, 2018, 5:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

The acting of Malcolm is so bad in this episode. He gets really childish and obnoxious. The plot with Archer isn't really a plot. And how come every time Starfleet visits Risa there is crime? Unrelated stories, poor acting, bad writing. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
jasper@kingjay.nl
Sat, Sep 8, 2018, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Great alien, nice language scene and the scene with Phlox about torture was okay. But it all was a bit slow. T'Pol with Hoshi just didn't feel right. And I'll just ignore Mayweather. But just speaking a few words and all problems are solved? I have the feeling Enterprise really rushes the endings because the writers can't provide a plausible theory. That's ashame because the devaluates the very nice ending scene.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

So Michael and Rosario think the Jewish ghettos were alright as well and a good thing to strive for in the future? And Michael thinks schizophrenic people and lunatic people should all be locked up? And then you wonder why you receive hostility in response? Get out of here. Please do.

For the episode. 2 or 2.5 stars. It's okay, but Maywearher's acting is so poor and it's all just so predictable. You can see the whole story coming from miles away.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Episode is in the running for all time low score of Star Trek. Most of it is already being said. I was especially frustrated with how easy Archer, Trip and/or T'Pol could have overpowered one of the Ferengi. And indeed with just sending them off at the end. Same as with Quark: a lot of serious crimes, never any real punishment. Do all Ferengi have an infinite amount of get-out-of-jail free cards?
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Iceman Been looking back at my comments. In the first few episodes we agree a lot on bad episodes. And I did write some nice things up until season 4. Maybe I should have stopped right there, but I'm watching all Star Trek seasons and series. Currently watching season 1 of Enterprise. So far it's better than I expected.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

@Jason R. Nice try, but no, it's not like that. In his human form Odo has obvious problems imitating realistic hair, but as a sheperd he can imitate a perfect furry coat. As a human his nose is clearly way off, but his dog nose is nice and black. Even a german sheperd could see that :-)
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

Season...not episode.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

@Jason We are well in the 5th episode now. They've been back and forth to Earth in the meantime. It's deep space but they have spaceships for that, right? For such an essential outpost it would have made sense to build up some kind of fleet in those 5 years to protect it and keep it closeby.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Iceman Mine apparently isn't. I really did like the start of DS9, but the longer it lasted, the worse it got.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

Character building can't be an excuse for a boring episode.. And there is no building because they both get stuck in their circles. It's all just so obvious and not inspired. Just when i was growing into ENT a bit. This is no 3.5 stars, not by a longshot.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Sun, Aug 19, 2018, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

All the translation trouble is of course to give an excuse to Hoshi to do something. What do you mean that the concept of the universal translator never made any sense?

I think this should be two stars. And Unexpected is the 1.5 stars episode. The alien vessel deserves points. Although they should know they can't hitchhike with every vessel. I like how they are advanced enough to have a holodeck and cloaking device but still need a human engineer to fix their engines. Okay, maybe 1.5 stars is fair.

I don't like the all American crew on Enterprise. Trip really seems like a rather narrow-minded hillbily and Reed is a cliche British guy. There are two aliens but no European, African or Asian member of Starfleet? Mayweather and Hoshi both being really American.

I do really appreciate the skip intro feature of Netflix for this series.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Wed, Jul 4, 2018, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Phew. Finished. Two stars for this long and winding finale that just want to tie up too much for one episode. Some stories should have been closed in earlier episodes. A lot of anticlimaxes. Winn and Dukat. Odo and female founder. Well, at least it's over now. #teamelliott
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Tue, Jul 3, 2018, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

Oh, and as almost always: #teamelliott
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Tue, Jul 3, 2018, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

Ezri and Bashir: childish, predictable and stupid
Sisko's baby: hysterical, out of nowhere, stupid
Rom as nagus: not funny as hell, all done before, stupid
Odo: mildy interesting, too short, fuck Federation, stupid
Kira and Garak on Cardassia: good, bit predictable, ok

Overall: this episode is everywhere and so it's nowhere. The arc started full of promise, but is collapsing rapidly. Symptomatic for DS9 as a whole. It wants to do too much, loses it and drifts into space.

No stars.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

It's good to be back with #teamelliott. Quite a snoozer this one. Especially the lock picking of Nog drags on and on.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.