Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,089 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

By the way, Season 5 of Babylon 5, in addition to a perfect series finale, also had several fantastic episodes that rank as some of the best in the series. Day of the Dead? Fall of Centauri Prime? These are essential viewing episodes for any B5 fan. It was wayyyy better than season 7 of TNG.

But I digress. I haven't followed Discovery after about halfway through season 1. But I have followed Jammer's reviews religiously. I also watch all of the dreadful Picard, which nobody can accuse me of not having an open mind about (I once said they'd have my subscription if it was just Patrick Stewart sitting in his office filling out his tax returns in a Starfleet uniform).

There was not one, not one memorable episode, not one classic. And Jammer's reviews seem to corroborate that.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

"@John, I think we can safely think of Discovery & Picard as something like Season 5 of Babylon 5."

I actually liked alot in S5 of Babylon 5, but assuming its weak reputation is deserved, you are missing one important component: a fantastic series finale. Like Season 7 of TNG Babylon 5's fifth season didn't impress fans but it knocked it out of the park with the series finale (Sleeping in Light) which is a fan favourite.

Do you really expect Discovery to knock ot out of the park at *any* point? Remind me, how many 4 star classics have we seen from Disc in 3 seasons?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 7:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

"I'm with @Cameron. The interrogation asking about the number of lights was blatantly cribbed from Orwell's 1984."

It's not the first instance of Trek plagiarism. When Picard ripped off Shakespeare in Menage a Troi I nearly quit the show in outrage.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 5:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

"There are plenty of working fusion reactors. They are just so lousy in generating power (at present time) that they require more energy than they produce"

And none of them actually generate any electricity. They are basically just science experiments. Even ITER, the big project of a multibillion dollar international consortium (which might be online by the 2040s at this rate lol) is just a science experiment that will never so much as turn on a lightbulb. I sometimes wonder if nuclear fusion will ever happen. People are always so certain that human ingenuity will find a way. We will see. I hope so.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 4:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

"It's neither clean or cheap, though, because tritium is manufactured in fission nuclear reactors and it costs about a million bucks per ounce."

I gather they plan to breed the tritium in the fusion reactor itself with some kind of envelope that produces tritium as a byproduct when it's bombarded with neutron radiation from the fusion reaction. Reminds me of a story I read about a Soviet nuclear reactor where they discovered some casing had been transmuted into gold over time- *radioactive* gold!!

This is all hypothetical of course since no one actually has ever built a working fusion reactor. We are still at the science experiment stage of the technology which is why I guess they are going with the less challenging formula. Fusion is nut-bustingly impossible enough on easy mode - no need to get fancy.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@Omicron, huh I stand corrected. But according to the Wikipedia page this form of fusion would require *higher* temperature but I think it produces less neutron radiation so maybe it is more practical as an energy source?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

"Warp drive is actually theoretically possible, the physics of it work. We just don't have the energy required to do it. Wormholes are another possibility. Transporters on the other hand..."

Just because something might not violate the laws of physics as we understand it doesn't mean it is possible, let alone that it will ever happen.

"There's also huge value out in space, even just the nearest reaches of our solar system. The moon may have vast stores of helium 3 which is incredibly valuable for fusion power."

What? What form of fusion power generation uses helium?

"Small asteroids are worth hundreds or thousands of trillions of dollars for their metal content alone. We don't even need warp drive to get these things, we just need to innovate beyond chemical rockets, which isn't that difficult considering how far we've come already. Orbital slings, ion propulsion, solar sails, nuclear propulsion are all in the works."

Sounds to me like the next big 2020 tech ipo. Just photo your sailboat on a space background, call it a "solar sail starship" and take some preorders. Should be valued at least 50 billion in today's market.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 12:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"I said this back then but maybe get some support. Knowing that we here will go into a hard lockdown soon"

Thanks lol about the "skin off my back" thing. Didn't even realize you misinterpreted my statement. Now I get it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 11:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"I won't condemn you, but I'd take a long look in the mirror if I were you. Despising someone is a very strong emotional reaction to have."

Agreed. It's unpleasant. Never used to feel that way about anyone.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 6:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Really sorry guys. Gonna dial it back here.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 6:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"Jason said that Transpeople makes his skin crawl"

Absolutely false.

"and that he hates anybody who fights for transrights"

I despise trans "activists".

"If I would say that when I see a Jew I want to vomit and that I despise anybody who fights against antisemitism. Would you comment on that?"

Haha. I'm an atheist you know. Not sure where you got the idea that Judaism was a big deal for me or that I'm hung up on Jewish identity.

But maybe we've gone a notch too far on this thread, both of us.

Sorry. Trent always triggers me.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 6:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

""We're not haters, we're just SKEPTICAL! and CONCERNED!""

I never claimed not to hate.

I don't hate trans people mind you. But the activists who advocate for them I don't just hate but loathe. Anything to spit in their faces. Whatever they hate I love.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

https://www.thecut.com/2016/02/fight-over-trans-kids-got-a-researcher-fired.html

In case you are interested Booming the background of the case is described above.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 12:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"On what is that thinking based? Do you have any proof for willful malpractice on a wider level? There will always be a few bad apples, obviously."

The malpractice would be willful blindness to any explanation for gender confusion *other than* being trans. A prominent doctor at one of our gender identity clinics was fired a few years back for methodology that involved encouraging children to be comfortable with their biological sex. Note this doctor was not against medical intervention for genuinely trans individuals but he disputed the knee jerk "affirm no questions asked" mentality and got sacked for it.

Lately, I've started to hear the argument pop up that any attempt to encourage a child to be at peace with his/her biological sex (rather than uncritically accept their professed identity no questions asked) is akin to "conversion" therapy. So the second a child says he/she identifies differently, no matter the age, we are on a road potentially leading to drugs and /or surgeries.

And ya, administering puberty blocking drugs to a prepubescent is appalling. The claim that you can drug someone to stop or even delay puberty and that this is a harmless thing to do is outrageous.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"You are saying that the most important factor is phenotype, I think it is brain structure.
Brain trumps genitals."

I take no issue whatsoever with your link or any evidence speaking to the brain issue.

But it's purely a matter of opinion whether "brain trumps phenotype" as you say or vice versa. How a society chooses to look at gender is not a scientific process.

I suppose we'll see. If as you say, my viewpoint comes from my upbringing and younger people will have a different view then that will be and my objections may prove irrelevent in the long term.

Who knows, one day medical science may even advance to the point that a truly seamless gender reassignment is possible and not the Frankenstein hatchet job our current methods permit. In that scifi scenario my feelings would be truly irrelevent because practically speaking, it would simply be impossible to tell the imitation from the genuine article.

But in the here and now 1) really is foremost on my list of practical worries because I do feel that young people are being manipulated and encouraged to take dangerous life altering drugs at earlier and earlier ages for, frankly, political reasons.

I do think that some of the doctors involved in this are, in a best case scenario, exposing themselves to huge civil liability in the future. In a worst case, some of them really are behaving in a manner that I would call criminal in its implications.

The nightmare here as a parent is that your child wants to transition, including drugs and surgery and any attempt at sober second thought or hesitation over frankly ruinous harm to the child's body are brushed aside in the name of faddish ideology. This is not a hypothetical scenario anymore.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 9:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Booming if I had to point to the thing that bothers me most on the trans file there would be basically two items:

1) I think giving kids puberty blocking drugs and/or surgeries is an atrocity; and

2) Forcing us collectively and individually to believe that self identification trumps sex in determining gender.

The first item is self explanatory.

As to the second, in our culture gender is derivative of sex, absent highly unusual circumstances (hermaphrodites etc...)

I see no reason whatsoever why anyone should be forced to see it differently. Sex is a perfectly valid, understandable and justifiable marker for gender. It has the advantage of being objective, easily discernible and straightforward in the cast majority of cases.

I take no issue with science purporting to show how trans brain chemistry differs from non trans etc... I just don't accept someone's right to force me to believe that self-identification is the metric and not sex.

This is not a scientific question but an ideological one.

Why not just go along with it? Why is it skin off my back if someone claims to be a woman despite being biologically male? Well for one, language belongs to everyone. Pronouns belong to everyone. Others don't get to force our language to change to privilege their own feelings. And see 1) - I find the trans agenda vis a vis prepubescent children to be ghastly and overtly harmful.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 9:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"It's nothing more and nothing less than a question of personal identification. Science has nothing to do with it. "

We agree. That was my original point.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 10:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Tomalak should steal Booming's car and display it's broken hull in his front yard. That would be truly inspiring.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 7:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"Heaven forbid Star Trek attempts to teach us morality lessons."

Depends on whose morality it is.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 4:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Too bad species 8472 is such an inappropriate subject for this allegory. The cold war was between two equal superpowers. The Federation is an insect compared to 8472.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 11:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

To clarify I was addressing "non binary" specifically and not trans in general.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Ubik expecting logical coherence on this subject is a fruitless aim.

The simple explanation is that "non-binary" is what a person who calls themself non-binary is.

It's an entirely unfalsifiable, untestable proposition. There is no "scientific" explanation of this phenomena because it is not a proposition that can be addressed through the scientific method except tangentially.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"Oh goodie. Transphobic comments here from the "englightened" Trek fans who, of course, are frothingly angry about all new Trek. Surprise surprise."

Not alot of fearful or "phobic" seeming comments thus far. Maybe you're the one with the neurosis?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 7:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

I might further add that CBS (actually ViacomCBS), as a publicly traded corporation, has tremendous pressure to perform and its streaming platform has to be where most investors are looking for growth given its otherwise fuddy duddy image. Adding subscribers in the short term has to be a top priority and I'll bet is steroids for the stock price. With streaming services popping up left and right, driving those growth numbers and locking in subscribers (before the market inevitably gets saturated) has to be a massive priority. Streaming is basically a gold rush for these companies and mystery box serial storytelling is the perfect device to capitalize on it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 7:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"I find many of the episodes truly terrible. But weirdly after watching I can't even remember them well enough to say what even happened to make them truly terrible. Maybe DSC is bland enough to always seem at least ok after you watched it because it doesn't even make enough on an impression."

That's a feature of serialized writing not a bug. When you look at say TNG season 1 the stinkers like Code of Honour are memorable because all that badness gets compressed into a short 45 minute format. Each is concentrated and self-contained in a standalone story.

Whereas with serialized stories you get alot of filler and very long arcs play out over multiple episodes. How many reviews does Jammer tell us something non-commital along the lines of "we'll see where they are going with this" - we can't judge a story too harshly until we have seen the big picture. And by the time you reach the end, you may not even remember what happened before well enough to retroactively condemn it. That is why so many of Jammer's reviews fall in that mushy 2 1/2 star range.

Even glaring continuity errors and sloppy writing get smoothed over in a serialized story with season 1 of Picard being a perfect example. I mean half the audience probably never realized that entire plot threads were abandoned or went nowhere (why was Maddox "on the run" if the android colony was perfectly safe and happy? Wasn't there reference to his lab being destroyed implying that he had nowhere to go? Why did Soji have amnesia? What was her mission anyway?) but it doesn't much matter when most of the story is obscured over an entire season.

Another advantage of serialized stories is that it keeps you tuned in each week even if you are only marginally entertained. Most people want to see the end of the story even if it isn't a very good one. Very few people in my experience will walk out of a movie and a serialized story is like a very long movie.

Another big advantage that comes of all this is that because it is harder for critics to see the big picture and because this evens out the reviews in a relatively safe range, terrible critical response is less likely and a show can kind of coast along without triggering too much of an audience or critical backlash.

The down side of this kind of storytelling of course is that there is almost no rewatchability. With shows like TNG the episodes would live on in syndication forever with fans rewatching them multiple times over decades. Also it was easy for new fans to jump in. But the latter is less relevant to a streaming business model where anyone is free to watch the first episodes and catch up.

But my feeling is that CBS sees the serial structure as being more consistent with their goal of getting a good base of subscribers on their streaming platform. They don't much care if people are going to rewatch Picard or Discovery five years from now. It makes no real difference if there are classic episodes a la Yesterday's Enterprise or Measure of a Man. Those event type episodes are not needed to fulfill CBS's primary goal: fast subscriber growth for All Access.

What is important is that they subscribe and stay subscribed as long as possible over many months - which a serialized series is perfect at ensuring. Once someone is subscribed and being auto billed a small monthly fee, they will probably say subscribed and there is a certain inertia that takes over. Along with Netflix or Disney it becomes just another streaming service you pay a small fee to. It doesn't need to be great television, just good enough to get people paying the monthly fee over an extended period and then inertia (and an occasional new Trek series) does the rest. I have seen this phenomenon play out in my own household as we very gradually subscribe to new services and yet don't bother cancelling the old ones even if we rarely watch them. The truth is streaming is sooooooo much cheaper than our old cable plan that we could subscribe to pretty much every major streaming service and still end up paying less than we used to with cable or satellite.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.