Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 868 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

Fantastic review Elliot. But I am with others in thinking the Borg Queen's temptation of Data was botched. There was one episode in all of Trek that seriously attempted to address the allure of collective consciousness (rather than portray it as unmitigated horror) and that was Voyager's Unity.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

"BLM protestors are wearing masks."

Reaaaaly. So mass gatherings of thousands of people are a-ok as long as people wear masks?

You should have a word with the Provincial and Federal governments here in Canada cause they don't concur. Indeed until recently our own health authorities were discouraging mask use claiming they are not useful.

In Ontario any gatherings are still capped at 10. How about baseball games? Maybe they should open Yankee stadium as long as people are given masks at the door?

And a week before the mass protests there was a huge uproar against people lounging in a park in Toronto. There was no mention of lack of mask use as being the big issue - it was all about the gathering period full stop.

How a pandemic can radically change in a week ayy?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

And I forgot to add there are plenty of anti corporatists on the right side as well. It might skew a little left but that's pretty well irrelevant to the "cancel culture" debate and becomes nothing but obfuscation in this context.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Elliott your focus on economics as the central axis of the conservative versus liberal paradigms in the USA is obsolete and not really relevant anymore. The fact is both sides are generally corporatist excepting a few outliers like the Sanders faction.

At a minimum it is irrelevent to this debate. Reminds me of the scifi author Orson Scott Card who claimed to be the real Democrat despite his opposition to gay rights and other highly conservative viewpoints. His playbook was dated as is yours.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

"3. My impression is that many self-described liberals and leftists "support" cancel culture in various forms, whether it be deplatforming or whatever. I don't have a good sense on what the percentages are here."

In Canada it is pretty well mainstream, or if it isn't almost nobody speaks out against it. At this point I couldn't care less what label you choose for it. It is what it is.

Suffice it to say, defeating these people is literally the only political objective I care about anymore. They're to me what Trump is to that NYT commenter who said she'd vote for Joe Biden if he raped her.

I oppose any cause they support on principle.

Elliott may call this petulant (and he's not wrong) but I don't waste time finding common ground with people who think I don't have the right to speak my mind.

I will make one additional point. Elliott claims that the recent protests are "affecting policy". I challenge strenuously that assertion. Moreover, I put it to him that there's very little evidence that BLM is even interested in "policy" in the sense of actual reform of the police. The vast majority of the political messaging I have seen appears to focus on "systemic racism" in the most general terms and I'm sorry, "defund the police" is a slogan not a policy.

So even if you agree that I'm petulant it doesn't change the fact that there's little evidence that this movement has any real plan for serious reform. Intelligent people like Elliott can ascribe to them whatever rational policies he thinks they ought to support, but people like Elliott aren't behind the wheel or if they are they are grappling with about 100 others for control and they are going to lose that struggle.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

By the way Peter addressing the point you made about DS9 requiring more focus than TNG that's a result of not just the serialized structure but also the interdependent nature of the big cast, which is both a blessing and a curse.

For what it's worth my own viewing habits mirror yours. I can watch a TNG episode like Disaster or Sins of the Father or Peak Performance three times a week and never get tired of them. DS9 does require more work to enjoy.

Voyager is more in the TNG mold and is easily accessible except for the minor snag that it kind of sucks so there is that :)
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Valinor since Elliott made the claim we were discussing and then seemed to suggest that I was using an incorrect definition, I asked him to provide the correct one.

But I agree this is played out. Just when I thought I was out they pulled me back in.

Frankly I was hoping I'd get more pushback on my Voyager rankings from Elliott since he's such an apologist for that series.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Elliott you are the one who asserted that "the left" believed in x and not y.

I will leave it to you to define "left" in the context of your own positive assertions and respond if warranted.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Elliott you need to read carefully what I am writing because my point is exceedingly narrow.

You made a series of "the left doesn't care about x, it cares about y" assertions. You didn't bother to define "the left" so I presumed you were using a fairly colloquial understanding of the word.

I made the very narrow point that clearly a very significant number of people who are most certainly "left" do care about the things you described, such as corporate logos, racist films etc... and that the media is replete with such examples.

I am not interested in debating the merits of such beliefs in of themselves. I am simply pointing out that while BLM, for example, certainly cares about police violence, they *also* clearly, unequivocally, care about a host of issues including ones similar to what you dismissed as not being the concern of "the left". The same is true of many similar groups.

That you may personally not consider something like a corporate logo to be as important as police reform, for example, may be true but is also irrelevant.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Elliott I am not going to go down the No True Scotsman rabbithole with you.

It is abundantly clear to anyone who reads the news, follows social media, or has stepped foot on a university campus, that there are legions of left leaning individuals who certainly care about corporate logos appropriating native images, tv shows with racist messages and other similar things.

But as I said I have no interest in pointing out examples to you so you can declare them not the true "left" or dismiss them as all being disingenuous opportunists or fake news or whatever.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

"There are bushels of straw men on this thread."

Respectfully Elliott, there is mountainous evidence that the left cares about all these and similar things quite deeply and aggressively.

You are certainly entitled to an opinion, but not to your own facts. You are unequivocally wrong.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

The irony is the "police" dog isn't even really a cop despite his uniform. As prior critics have pointed out, Ryder's outfit is private, not public. So the dog isn't so much police as private security. Which I guess makes the Paw Patrol mercenaries like Blackwater?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 7:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

"Paw Patrol wasn't actually cancelled. The world is not *that* crazy... yet."

That was the one thing I wanted cancelled :(
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 4:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Ya Peter I was being pretty sloppy forgetting people left and right. Haha Morn I guess I should have included him since I did give TNG points for Homm and Spot.

Funny though that in the end the numerical averages weren't nearly as meaningful as I thought they'd be. The big takeaway though is that DS9 had *tons* of important side characters like Garek, Dukat, Weyoun, D'Mar etc.... and you can't even compare these to even the very prolific side characters on Voyager and TNG like Guinan or Q or Borg Queen because the DS9 group has wayyyyyy more screen time. D'Mar alone probably had more screen time than Q and Guinan combined.

But I will concede that DS9's focus could be a detriment at times. Yes you'd see folks like Weyoun a ton but also Rom and Leeta.

One thing that is apparent though is the weakness of Voyager's main cast. I would say I was really cheating a bit giving Janeway 3 stars (I am a fan of hers, even though I suspect that is much more controversial than the 3 star rating suggests) and you can just see how low their ratings are. Seven is the only really unambiguously great character. I guess an argument could be made to give Doctor 4 stars but my personal dislike for what he became forced me to 3 star him (I guess that balances out my upgrade of Janeway)
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 6:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Just for the heck of it I will do Voyager too:

(Shit I also forgot Barclay *** and O'Brien *** on my TNG list)

Voyager Tier 1:

Janeway ***
Seven ****
Chakotay **
Torrez **
Paris **
Tuvok **
Kim *
Neelix *
Kes *
Doctor ***

AVG: 2.1 stars

Voyager Tier 2:

Naomi Wildman *
Icheb **
Borg Queen **
Seska ***
Cullah **
Q **
Chaotica ***

AVG: 2.142 stars
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Shoot I forgot Sloan ***, Cassidy ** and Brunt *
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

@William you got me thinking, what if I actually list and attempt to quantify the characters? I am going to compare TNG to DS9 to see if my thesis holds up.

Tier 1 will be the main cast. Tier 2 will be any secondary character appearing in 3 episodes or more not counting two-parters. I will exclude one season wonders like Pulaski, Tasha and Ezri. I will also assign a Star rating for each character according to my estimation of the quality of the actor and the overall writing for the character as well as my impression of the popularity of the character.

4 stars is legendary / classic character. 3 stars is well regarded but not universally beloved. 2 stars is middling to average with both boosters and detractors. 1 star is mostly derided with few supporters.

TNG Tier 1:

Picard ****
Riker ***
Data ****
Worf ***
Geordie **
Troi *
Crusher *
Wesley *
Ro ***

AVG: 2.222 stars

TNG Tier 2:

Guinan ****
Q ****
Lwaxana *
Mr. Homm ***
Lore **
Keiko *
Alexander *
Spot ****

AVG: 2.285 stars (Spot excluded)

DS9 Tier 1:

Sisko ***
Kira ***
Odo ***
O'Brien ***
Worf ***
Bashir **
Dax *
Quark ***
Jake **

AVG: 2.555 stars

DS9 Tier 2:

Rom *
Leeta *
Zial **
Nog ***
Garek ****
Dukat ****
Wynn ***
Weyoun ****
Founder ***
D'Mar ***
Martok ***
B'arial *
Keiko *

AVG: 2.538 stars

Looking at the above it is apparent to me that for the main cast, DS9 has more talent spread out more evenly in the main cast. When it comes to the secondary cast though, the average star rating doesn't do DS9 justice because of the sheer difference in quantity of secondary characters. There is just no comparison - DS9's secondary roster is just stacked with talent and plays an outsized role in the storytelling, whereas TNG concentrates almost exclusively on the main cast. This may be partly due to the serialized nature of the storytelling to be fair. But for me it's such a big asset for DS9 that paid off even before the story departed from episodic storytelling into full on arcs.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Just saw this episode again and even after all these years Emissary holds up as the best Trek pilot by far. Avery Brooks's acting is eccentric at times, but never boring. I just can't help but like this guy, "Aaaaoooo!" notwithstanding.

I always laugh at Odo's line "and here I thought I wasn't going to like him" after Sisko finishes extorting Quark. Or Sisko telling Dukat he's welcome to visit anytime he's homesick and then flinching as Dukat leaves the room. Just splendid.

It's these little character moments that pay huge dividends as the series progresses. And I get choked up every time I watch his "I exist here" scene at the end of Sisko's meeting with the Prophets.

One thing you realize is that DS9 has such a huge advantage over other Trek shows because of the quality of the secondary characters. No series including TNG was so stacked with talent in the middle of the "lineup" (to borrow a baseball metaphor) like Armin Shimmerman, Camille Saviola, Marc Alamo, Andrew Robinson...

Even the weaker characters (Bashir, Dax) are made better by their chemistry with the rest of the cast (Bashir / Garak, Dax / Sisko). In TNG you had singular performances by Stewart or Spiner but seldom so much great chemistry with recurring guest characters (Guinan and Mr. Homm excepted)

I guess, to extend the baseball metaphor, TNG felt like a handful of superstars carrying everyone while with DS9 it was a real team effort.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

I never bought Kes and Neelix as a couple to begin with so any "development" or arc was simply pointless to begin with. Those two had zero romantic chemistry. Even Anakin and Padme worked better as a romantic pair - at least they were kind of hot even when discussing sand.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 11:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

The signs are posted on public land along the street fronting my townhouse complex. I did not mean to suggest that they were targeting me specifically.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Thanks Booming I do. Peace and long life.

But I am cancelling my newspaper subscriptions and will not be voting or engaging politically anymore. I hope this is my last political debate. It's just not worth it. If silence is violence I plan to drop an atom bomb on my enemies lol.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

"The fact that that sign makes you uncomfortable is entirely the point"

Oh for sure. Message received loud and clear. I can't vote in the US election but if I could I'd vote for Trump, just to spit in their faces.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Incidentally the sign posted on the street outside my door says "silence is violence" or something to that effect (I try not to look at it). So not only would I be considered a nazi by the people posting such signs but they'd tell you in earnest that I am a "violent" one. Who needs lynchings anyway when you can attack people just by not obeying their every whim?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

"By the way, 1984 was written by a socialist"

You say that word like it means anything. Words like socialist and liberal are useless in this context because even 1990's "liberal" would be considered a "white supremacist" or "fascist" today, to say nothing of earlier years.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

That's the trick Elliott. The politicians don't have to. They just have to agree with the people who do.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.