Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 88 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Sun, Jul 17, 2016, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

I watched the original with my girlfriend who hadnt seen it in a long time (she was 5 when it came out, so hadnt seen it at all) and it brought back all the good vibes except the pro-Americana nonsense at the end (not that im anti-American, but the Yanks are here to save the day is so cliche in 2016). I thought it was very well balanced between terror, humor, and drama. This movie was just.....crap. It didnt know if it wanted to be funny, be dramatic, have inner conflict, or terrifying and in the end it didnt really accomplish any of it very well.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Jul 14, 2016, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

Also I wanted to add how awful the dialogue was. When the President was hiding in the bunker (why didnt she take the Stargate to safety?!!) and the aliens busted in, "THERE WILL BE NO PEACE!!" Like, yeah lady, no kidding, I think they are aware.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Jul 13, 2016, 6:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

"But I'm likely placing way too much importance on such thoughts, while trivializing the images of 9/11 in terms of a movie."

No your not. This aspect of the movie took me right out of it from the beginning. In my town, it has taken 2.5 years to build a bridge. In ID5, it took 20 years to become a space fairing race, rebuild the planet, while designing and creating huge amounts of technology. It would take the lifetimes of millions of people to reverse engineer the kind of alien tech showed off in ID4.

In reality, after the destruction caused in 1996, this planet would turn into chaos. "100 million dollars" wouldnt mean anything anymore and it would be anarchy.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Jan 29, 2016, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

To say this movie was the of the triology wouldnt be saying something untruthful, but that doesnt make it good. This movie was horrendous. A real piece of shit. For the prequels I would rate 1 star, 2 stars, 1.5 stars in order.

"Vader's "Nooooooo!" seems to be one of those things that divides fans and is often ridiculed, but for me it was an effectively operatic way of completing this story."

I disagree. I think the most effective way of completing that story would have Vader go on a kill crazy rampage when he hears the news of his wife's "death". Kill some attendants or whatnot. NOOOOOOOOO just doesnt cut it.

"I understand the reason why Padme had to die in service of Anakin's final arc, but couldn't Lucas have come up with a better way than this?"

Yeah, he could of, and its real real real real easy. Actually have Vader kill her. When she steps off the ship on Mustafar and he tosses her around because he feels she betrayed him, you could have Anikan snap her neck and then have some sort of thing where the kids were saved and she died due to her injuries. But no, they didnt do that, and what they did sucked.

"I think this goes back to George Lucas and his apparent limitations as a director."

No. Its his apparent limitations as a writer and frankly, as a human being. He wrote this pile of crap, and the dialogue he wrote makes you think the guy has never ever had sex with a girl in his entire life. It was awful.

"The downside of all this is that it makes Anakin — and by extension Darth Vader — into a pawn whose identity was built on a series of personal failures and rapidly compounded bad decisions"

This movie/trilogy did a horrible job of converting Anakin to Darth Vader. In the span of 20 mins he went from a petulant horny teenager Jedi to someone capable of slaughtering kids by the dozens. It didnt work. A lot of it was the acting, but a lot of it was the setup, and it didnt fit.

And of course we have the Jedi. This movie makes them out to be imbeciles. Like, complete idiots. Why would the Jedi sent Anakin to spy on Palpatine, if they think Anakin is being manipulated by Palaptine??!?!? The way the two Jedi paired with Mace Window meet their doom at the hands of Palpatine was laughable. And when the Emperor executes order 66, how these Jedi just crumble like cotton candy in water. These are the mighty Jedi? Yeah right.

R2D2 being able to fly? God help us.

The prequel movies had to take every cliche nad nuance that people liked about the original trilogy and amplify them by 10000x. Yoda's speech, Chewbacca, R2D2 and C3P0, CGI.

I did like how the Galatic Empire came to be. That was decent story telling albeit you didnt need three movies to tell the story.

"There is actually almost overwhelming evidence that Palpatine killed Padme."

The same "evidence" that Jar Jar Binks is actually Grand Master Snook? That would be giving the prequels too much credit. People come up with these theories because they want to believe the prequels were meant to be something greater than they actually are.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Sat, Jan 10, 2015, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

"Scotty: "How do we know he didn't invent the thing?"

Um...because somewhere some historic scientific journal would show who really did, and now they're screwed. So much for not altering history... "

I didnt read the novel and I thought the movie made this fairly clear.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

This movie didnt need to be any longer but it needed another 20 minutes. Therefore yeah I agree with you msw188, the Matt Damon stuff went on too long.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

"that lead shows like "Tsunkatse" to be the highest rated of the season for reasons that aren't about matters of the intellect)"

Tsunkatse was the highest rated show of the season becasue it had The Rock in it and Smackdown (on the same network) drew 6 million viewers a week.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Nov 21, 2014, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

I completely agree with you. Not only is it sloppy, it reeks of simply not knowing or understanding how to end it. Kind of like the Lost finale and in some regards the BSG finale. The buildup doesnt meet the hype.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Nov 21, 2014, 1:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Just watched this ep over at streamup.com.

"The Slipstream lets them travel 10,000 in a matter of minutes and Janeway orders the damn thing taken apart! I could almost hear the log entry: "If the crew can't get us home in one big jump, then I'm not interested. Its the principle of the thing!"

This is exactly what I was thinking. Why couldnt they make little jumps at a time? 3 star ep from me.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Nov 21, 2014, 12:53am (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

@Dom, heres my issue though, I didnt find the ending satisfying enough to warrant having deep thoughts about it or having discussions about it after. I spoke with a buddy after and we both agreed the ending was bullshit and left it at that. Inception didnt leave me feeling this way. This movie needed about 10 more minutes to tie up the ending.

The big question online is where Cooper went when he stole the ship at the end. Well conventional wisdom says he went back through the wormhole and made the journey to Edmond's Planet. Well one of the Nolans have said there is no wormhole when Cooper Station arrives at Saturn. Thanks movie for establishing that. How did Murph know Brand was stranded on a planet setting up a civilization and that Cooper should go back for her? Why did Cooper give Murph the coordinates of NASA if he wanted himself to "Stay"?

Little details aside I really enjoyed the movie....until the point when he ended up on Cooper Station. This movie would have been best served by having Cooper give Murph the solutions she needed to get humanity off Earth, Cooper dying in the black hole having been Murph's ghost, and the next scene we have humanity showing up at Edmond's Planet where they find Brand having set up shop with Edmond rebuilding society with the Plan B people. (As an aside, we have this movie long story about LOVE, and Brand shows up and the man she loves died in a rock slide. What the fuck. Its like, the Nolans cant help themselves but make sure every character has an unsatisfying conclusion)

Instead we dont know what is going on, why humanity is sitting in orbit of a wormhole-less planet, where Cooper is going, what Brand is doing, what anybody is doing.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

"But it is not all about the facts and having an ironclad answer for everything"

I disagree with this point. I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE leaving a movie with an ambiguous ending where I have to come up with my own interpretation. Fuck that. I am not the story teller and I should not have to come up with my own version of an ending to YOUR story. YOU tell me how it ends.

So in this movie the questions remain:

1) Where in time is Brand in relation to Cooper
2) With the wormhole closed, where is Cooper going in the little ship
3) Why the Cooper station orbiting Saturn with no wormhole there.

Thats just to name a few.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Nov 18, 2014, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

Personally I dont think this movie held a candle to Contact but maybe thats looking back through rose colored glasses. Interstellar was really good but I found myself being underwhelmed by the final 30 minutes. Emotionally I was hit harder when the lander returned from the Water Planet and Romily was standing there after being left alone for 24 years. After that we were hit over the head over and over and over about the time dilation and I found myself not really caring when we got to the final scene with Cooper and Murph. Also I didnt care for the lack of a Brand/Cooper reunion in the final scene.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Nov 18, 2014, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

"Lesson of the week: When a viewer starts waiting impatiently for all the story's main characters to get blowed up real good, that's probably a telling sign that the story isn't working."

Huh, so does 7 years of Voyager count in all this?

I thought this episode should have been Negative 5 stars. The 6 minute rape scene near the end was atrocious.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Oct 7, 2014, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

"Sure, why not? In the olden days (i.e. the '00s), I wondered if they could bring him back in a way that would make sense."

They wanted to bring him back on Enterprise for the Mirror episodes but he was asking too much money.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Ill watch the third one but I will probably be downloading it in some form. I will not goto the theatres to watch it.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

Agree with the review and some of the comments regarding the Federation and the capabilities of their ships.

I dont think the Federation vs. Dominion battle plans were very well thought out. In the start of the next episode we see how the Federation have lost 100 or so ships and many more in countless battles. Where the hell are all these ships coming from, and how the hell did they get 600 more for the battle of DS9 6 episodes later?!? (And that wasnt even all of them cause they were waiting on the 7th fleet or something) I hated how two torpedoes destroyed a dominion ship, a trend that followed through the last two seasons. Captain Sisko isnt that resourceful. I would have liked to have seen less ships with more thought out battle plans.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I vote no.

I watched the last half hour of STID and I cannot believe how truly awful it was. If really disliking a movie is "vitriol" then so be it. It was terrible. Kirk dying and being brought back to life in 10 minutes, Robocops ship crashing into San Francisco killing hundreds of thousands of people with no consequences, and Spock yelling Khan.

STID reeks of some crappy fan fiction that someone wrote on their toilet. It was an abomination and im not afraid to say it.

As for Jammer and his review. I agree with Lord Garth. The man can do as he pleases but I also agree that an update saying yay or nay would be nice.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Sat, Sep 20, 2014, 1:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

The general public did enjoy it. People I know who are not ST fans really thought it was great and I could not convince them otherwise. Very few people who had seen STID have seen ST: WoK so they werent disgusted by the whole thing. They just thought it was a great flick.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Sep 19, 2014, 2:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

"Are Berman and Braga convinced that the only way this series will hold our attention is if humanity's entire existence (ostensibly) hangs in the balance every week"

Yup, thats exactly what they thought. Going into season 3 they though increasing the stakes was the only way to go.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Sep 19, 2014, 12:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I think its quite clear we are not getting a review on this.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Sep 18, 2014, 2:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

If its any consolation, Brandon Bragga calls this piece of filth the worst episode of Trek ever.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Sep 18, 2014, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

Yall should watch this documentary on the failing of Enterprise.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hYGGXRNvR5Q
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Mon, Jun 8, 2009, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

You know I had a thought:

How different was this trash compared to Star Trek 1? Trek 1 was created to be flashy, hollywood nonsense with lots of flashy graphics and flashy stuff and a bald woman. Then Star Trek 2 was the meat of storytelling.

Hopefully these new movies will follow the same path.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Fri, Jun 5, 2009, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

TV isnt art.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Jun 3, 2009, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

What I liked:

1) The characters were spot on. Perfectly cast and well acted. I cant say anything bad about that aspect and look forward to future movies with these actors

2) I actually enjoyed that they took a storyline risk with blowing up Vulcan and stuck to it.

3) I liked how it actually made Star Trek feel cool.

What I didnt like:

1) Typical JJ Abrahams bullshit trash hollywood garbage flashy monsters, super duper hyper graphics, and lens flare. It gave me a headache near the end. Like the Cloverfield monster? Really??? Piss off.

2) Typical JJ Abrahams bullshit trash subplots that nobody understands or reads. Did anybody know there was a published comic book with a background on Nero and his ship? Well apparantly according to this Nero fitted his ship with Borg technology to seek his revenge. If anybody here saw Cloverfield, JJ puts so many sub plots into his story that you have to goto other sources to find out exactly what happened.

3) The plot was filled with more holes than swiss cheese. So where was the Federation fleet while all of this was going on? What were they doing in "insert random system name here" while earth and vulcan were being blown to hell.

4) Is the Enterprise straight out of Starship Troopers? SO Pike puts Spock in command and Kirk, a renegade cadet as first officer? There wasnt anybody else in line for first officer?

5) And on that note the Captain ejects the first officer out an escape pod and nobody bats an eye?
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.