Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9,625 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 9:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Peter:

Do you mean that you feel that the Greek Scriptures (or what some call the "New Testament") is not accurately inspired of God? That's an interesting view-and I would be happy to discuss it with you. You can email me anytime at SHagins_17551@yahoo.com

What I referenced above however, was actually from the Hebrew Scriptures (or what some call the "Old Testament")
Set Bookmark
Steve Jobs
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Imagine being a decorated officer with years of service and you get promoted over by an Ensign. Must be great for crew morale.
Set Bookmark
JPaul
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 11: The Heiress

Many of the the Mandalorian episodes are very basic plots but this one struck me as having some really deep subtext that won't immediately be seen by most viewers.

The Mandalorian himself is basically an everyman character, a type of character that is supposed to be a stand-in for the audience itself at some level. In this episode, Mando's attitude is that he doesn't care about Bo-Katan's attempts to rebuild that Mandalorian homeworld, he is just interested in fulfilling his quest to return baby Yoda to its kind. This struck me very much as the typical casual Star Wars fan reaction to more recent Star Wars content such as the Clone Wars, Rebels, or the new movies. They don't want anything complicated, they just want to see some Storm Troopers and Tie Fighters get blown up.

It's not all that out of line with a video game player who is just following a quest because that's what they're supposed to do, not caring one bit about the plot of the story they're supposed to be following, just in it for the action. And as we've seen with Mando, he learns that not all Manalorians are religious extremists like himself (he didn't even know he was a religious extremist because it's all he's ever known) and now he's likely questioning what else he doesn't know, potentially mirroring the causal Star Wars fans asking themselves a similar question. I expect that to much of the audience of The Mandalorian, the idea that not all Mandalorians are such extremists comes as a surprise, but to viewers like myself who have seen the Clone Wars and Rebels, it's no surprise at all, in fact it was confusing to us initially because we had never seen Mandalorians have this type of attitude before.
Set Bookmark
James G
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

One postscript to that - I was reminded of the Series 3 episode 'The Survivors', in which a being with god-like powers recreates a replica of his dead wife.
Set Bookmark
James G
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Interesting one. I liked it.

I was amused that the phaser repair of the planet's molten core is available to be performed "almost immediately" when Pran Tainer gives the nod. No debate in the planet's parliament, no consultation with local officials, no planning, no initiative to raise public awareness of what's going to happen, no risk analysis, just ZZZAPPP - a massive energy beam ploughing kilometres deep into the surface of the planet on the authority of a geologist.

I also don't quite buy that a single inventor could create an android like Juliana - so sophisticated that every bodily function is replicated exactly; so perfect that she believes she's human herself. Maybe a huge 24th Century corporation or a team of scientists and technologists.

I was amused that Beverley examines Juliana then declares "she should be awake". She's a physician, not a cyberneticist. How would she know? Sloppy writing. Geordi should have had that line.

And the interactive hologram doesn't quite work for me - it's almost an analogue of Juliana; intelligent enough to interact with Data and respond like Soong. Too clever. But I loved the "don't rob her of that, son" moment.

Hadn't seen that one before. It's a good one despite its flaws.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Havegun your view of Vulcan logic will vary considerably depending on which series you are watching. Based on TNG, Voyager, DS9 and TOS I would say the Vulcans did sincerely follow logical paths, albeit imperfectly at times.

In Enterprise I would say it's debatable but to be fair (spoiler alert) we discover towards the end the series that the Vulcan High Command was a) corrupt and b) under the influence of Romulans, not to mention the rediscovery of Surak's teachings which revolutionized Vulcan society. So even Enterprise doesn't actually retcon the Vulcans so much as show them behaving in a certain way in that time period for specific reasons.

The Klingons of course were always dishonorable assholes mind you :)

Regarding Michael Burnham being the show's protagonist, yes that is true as long as the showrunners wish it to be. Even Kevin Spacey got the heaveho from House of Cards and he was a major celebrity and A-lister.

SMG is not exactly a superstar in the first place so I can't imagine it would be impossible to renegotiate her contract to sideline her if the showrunners felt it was for the good of the show. Obviously they don't but many here think they do.

Claiming they can't because she is the protagonist, as if that is set in stone, is a copout.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 6:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@ OmicronThetaDeltaPhi I agree. Accepted a man-made anything as authority is more than unwise-it is self-destructive. “It does not belong to man who is walking even to direct his step.”​—JEREMIAH 10:23

Many religions claim to follow God, but instead follow the edicts that come from men. I am not here to point the finger at any religion, but any that does this is, of course incorrect-they are placing man's viewpoint over God's
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 6:21am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

The resolution of the problem went well for me. The only thing that I saw as unwise was that the Suliban decided to question/torture T'Pol. If they know as much about Archer as they have proven they do, they should know that he would also confide in Trip. A human would be a lot easier to break than a Vulcan-even with truth drugs or whatever that was. As far as the gratuitous improper attire goes, sadly, this is the way of TV. It was totally uncalled for, and sad to see, but not unexpected.

I haven't watched these in years. I actually expected the colony that was destroyed to turn out to not have existed at all. Since that "wasn't supposed to happen", I guess those 3000 people didn't do anything crucial and the timeline didn't suffer much?

As far as Archer not taking Silik hostage, I imagine Daniels told him not to-maybe there is something he needs to do in the timeline, so he has to be let go

Another thing that I thought was unwise is how the Enterprise crew faked the warp core damage and then ran. What if Archer didn't make it? They would have all been killed. Surely something else could have been attempted?

Now, I do not ever make crude comments, but as I said before, I think Cutler is the prettiest girl on the show. I forgot how little she was actually on it-and now that season 1 is finished, I know she is gone (sadly, the actress died and so she never came back)
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 5:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

A tense exciting episode! I honestly can't understand why people don't like this show. This was the best cliffhanger since "The Best of Both Worlds". I love Daniels! I know this comes later, but as for the series finale (which I wasn't a fan of), if they wanted to have some Next Gen crew in it, I think having Daniels bring Archer into the 24th century would have been a better idea (I am thinking kind of like Sisko had to go back to the 23rd).
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 1:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 6:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I am not getting into a debate. But I would say that facts should be carefully examined before making accusations. We do not believe in a burning hellfire. The bible talks of the wicked being destroyed, not burning for eternity. But it also talks about how we are objects of hatred, so none of this is surprising.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 5:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Desert Crossing

I REALLY liked this episode. I like the fact that Zobral didn't turn out to be the baddie of the piece (like I expected)

This episode shows again that neutrality is best. Rather than taking sides, we try to show people the real solution to problems. I think for the show, they tried to take this road, and it worked reasonably well
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 4:16am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

I actually almost didn't watch this one because I thought it was going to deal with Risa and immorality. I'm glad I read the synopsis, or I would have missed a good episode! I like the Ambassador. She wasn't "out of character" for a Vulcan, but she WAS friendly! Which would be realistic-an ambassador couldn't expect much success if she acted superior all the time'

Good to see the younger actor from Crazy Like a Fox as the alien baddie. I like how the chase played out-suspenseful and interesting!

I also like how T'Pol acted when she thought her "hero" was "fallen"

I guess it is possible that once the Federation was formed, starfleet suddenly achieved Warp 7 (I guess it makes sense that the Vulcans would have a leg up on humans since they already had warp technology when Cochrane did his famous flight-I actually kind of see it as compared to another sci-fi series-Animorphs! In that, the Andalites was kind of stuffy, and Ax (the main Andalite character) told our humans that they were actually a little afraid of humans. He mentions "your species went from their first heavier than air plane flying to landing on the moon in 66 years! Andalites took over 2 centuries to achieve that!" The implication is that humans are very quick to learn and inventive. Perhaps this is the case with humans in the Star Trek universe compared to other races We've met Ferengi and Nausicans already, and while we didn't see much of their tech, it seems that it isn't much different in the 22nd century than it is in the 24th. After all, if those Ferengi thought Enterprise had stuff cool enough to steal, they can't be much more advanced than them, and in the 24th century, it really seemed like their stuff made them a joke compared to Starfleet (maybe I'm reading that incorrectly)

Anyway, it is a good show, and again, I like the prequel feel to it. I'll bet Malcolm is REALLY wishing they had shields like everybody else!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 3:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

I LOVED the music in this episode! It had that quality of mystery and spookiness that the episode more than lived up to. It was good to see what I think of as a classic Trek episode. In that there were no villains, just communication with a very different lifeform! Great! It was also good to see the captain's hobbies and his friendship with Trip
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 12:58am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

Ok, now my review of the episode:

There are many different things this episode can be associated with from real life events. It is a shame, but as Ecclesiastes 8:9 says, "Man has dominated man to his harm" I know a lot of people here do not believe this, but I look to God's Kingdom to correct the problems in the world as it soon will. This includes this kind of treatment after the wicked are destroyed and the earth is a paradise.

The episode itself gave a touching example of how these things happen. Racism, fear and prejudice run rampant today, whether it is internment camps, or peoples personal ideas (eg: Someone from Race "A" did something bad to me, so all people from Race "A" are bad) What helps me to fight this prevalent attitude is remembering that "God is not partial, but in every nation the man who fears him and does what is right is acceptable to him.”​—Acts 10:34, 35.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 12:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@SlackerInc I will never say what television can show. I am a Jehovah's Witness and am completely neutral about politics and such. It is God who will judge of all us on our actions, not us. That is why we preach to people, but we do not try to force anyone to do anything. We all will account for our actions ourselves
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 12: The Siege

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

This is completely off the topic of the episode review, but I have a question that maybe someone can answer:

I wonder how they have child aliens. I mean I know that the rules of child actors are that they can only work limited hours and must have a tutor on site. I was wondering about this, because the alien actors on Star Trek usually have 2 hours each for makeup application and removal. I would think that by the time the child actors go thru that, there would be very little time left for actual acting! I asked that in a review for the Voyager episodes with the Borg kids too-anyone know the answer?
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 9:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Well, I just watched the show in its entirety. That was unexpected-it still had that spooky, mysterious element! Great!

I guess the only negative to it in continuity is the fact that the Enterprise crew could fix the computer with its holographic creations. I mean holograms in Starfleet only make an appearance 200 years later. I used this analogy earlier, but it's like a 19th century steam locomotive mechanic fixing a 21st century jet engine.

But that nitpick aside, I really liked the episode! I see T'Pol seems jealous of Trip! Hehe-that was amusing
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 9:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Episode had a deliciously spooky beginning, and then changed to a stranded crew. Not a bad one.

You know, I found Liana to be quite attractive here. It was Annie Wersching's first acting job. I don't mean this in a mean way, but it is uncanny how people can be made up. Every other single photo of her that I've seen, she looks TOTALLY different and not attractive at all! I think it is the hair, mannerisms, and I'm not sure what else. I mean she even looks different in the facial features than she does everywhere else.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 8:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@SlackerInc

You said, "Most scientists are atheists". I would like to draw your attention to a few accounts:

https://www.jw.org/en/library/videos/#en/mediaitems/OriginsLife/pub-jwbiv_201606_3_VIDEO

https://www.jw.org/en/library/videos/#en/mediaitems/OriginsLife/pub-jwbiv_201604_3_VIDEO

https://www.jw.org/en/library/videos/#en/mediaitems/OriginsLife/pub-jwbiv_201606_2_VIDEO
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

@Den they not only took their 7 year old on an expedition to study the Borg, they also deliberately marooned themselves in the Delta quadrant in a runabout with their 7 year old (in the middle of Borg space). Bad parents doesn't even begin to describe what these two are.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 2:46am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Ok, I am going to make my comments on this episode before reading any previous ones (although with the bashing of Enterprise in general here, I can only guess what they will be...)

I LOVED this episode! It was genuinely funny (and not all Ferengi episodes are to me from TNG and DS9) and I was entertained.

Yes, I know that the Federation doesn't officially meet them until 200 years later, but they never actually named their race, so I'll give that a pass.

I am actually seeing the Spock-like humour in T'Pol (When she withheld the key from the captain), and Trip and Archer had their funny moments too. Also, it was neat seeing the little boy from the Carbomite Maneuver as well as Shron the Andalite, Neelix, and the other guy (who looks familiar too but I can't place). I like how goofy the Ferengi are, and I think it is neat that not all the threats and baddies the Enterprise runs into are life and death. My only thing is that a lot of the main cast had nothing to do but play dead on the ground (well, at least they still got paid, and they had an easy time remembering their lines!)

Ok, so now I am going to read the comments. If I am wrong, I apologise, but if not, I will say that people need to lighten up. I just don't know what people want in their Star Trek. For me, I watch television for light amusement. If I laugh at a comedy episode, then it did its job. The only issue I had with the show is the "Oo-Mox" and the way they objectify T'Pol. I never understood this, and I think the show would be better for it if they left that alone. I mean I think Crewman Cutler is VERY pretty, and it doesn't come from a skintight outfit or a sultry walk. Shame on Star Trek for that kind of common denominator baseness!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 1:32am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

Again, I don't know what everyone wants. I personally liked this episode. I don't see it as anti-hunting as much as anti-exploitation of people. When it was thought that the hunters were just shooting wild boar, Archer had no problem letting Malcolm join them (even if he wouldn't do the actual killing), but of course killing an intelligent lifeform is wrong.

Many hunt in the area I live in, and I've gone myself before. We do not kill for sport, but actually eat what we hunt.

I would honestly like to know what the nay sayers here want the episode to be like. I read one response that they wanted the wraiths to be evil and trying to tempt Archer. Ok, that kind of thing has been done in episodes too, but Star Trek has always had episodes where the "alien monster" was not a monster at all (Like the Vorta in Devil in the Dark) Classic Dr Who did this as well (I am thinking of the episode " Doctor Who and the Silurians" in the Jon Pertwee era)
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 12:37am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

@Grace: Archer did not hypocritically try to get in Kov's personal life-he was following orders. You can tell he didn't want to so the Admiral had to even tell him, "The Vulcans let you keep your science offer-we should return the favour". And he used persuasion under a mental force that Tolaris tried to do with T'Pol

I actually really liked this episode.

I still don't understand why everyone is bashing Archer. It seems from the reviews that Kirk and Picard are the gold standard of captain, and Sisko, Janeway and Archer are losers. I don't understand that!

Especially in Archer's case as he is literally paving entirely new ground (space?) here! And he IS learning every episode. I mean he's REALLY unbent already when you compare this episode (still in season 1) to the premiere! The only one I have the most issues with is Trip as he has spurts of insubordination. But either way, they are all learning and improving

And no one mentioned it, but there's the chief from Chips! YAY! **He's also the new Kirk's dad to link him via Star Trek** Just a shame Worf wasn't in this episode (Michael Dorn got his start on Chips too)

If anything about this episode, it reminds me of the Next Gen episode with the telepath who basically did the same thing to Troi. As much as that is, I personally thought all of the Vulcans would show some kind of quirk to verify that the purging of emotion is the right path for them. But the chief (I don't know the character name), and the engineer Vulcan seemed stable (despite the fact that they enjoy a smile whilst chomping on chicken), so this kind of leaves it open to the possibility that Vulcans don't have to be totally emotionless and still function

Another thing that kind of bothered me is that the Vulcan ship needed help. I mean, yes, it could break down of course, but I thought their technology was so far above humans that asking them for help would be like a modern 21st century auto mechanic asking a 19th century steam locomotive builder for help using the car's computer diagnostics. I'm surprised Trip could even comprehend the gear the Vulcans used. Although come to think of it, I guess maybe that analogy is incorrect because when the Federation is formed, I don't think there was a major leap of understand once Vulcan joined up
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.