Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10,221 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jun 4, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

"Psycho or Silence of the lambs come to mind"

Buffalo Bill wasn't a transexual.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, Jun 2, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

How is this in any way Riker's doing? He was given an ultimatum, sex or no escape. He did everything he could to get out of it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 2, 2021, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

@Trish he called Devil's Due a "well crafted fun adventure".

Seems he doesn't hate everything.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I do like FASA's take on the Gorn from their role playing game supplement Demand of Honor: a society that values physical prowess and is ruled by a complex honor code.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

"There’s plenty to critique- like why did Kirk and company not immediately beam up when first beaming down to the colony when it was very obviously a trap."

They had to assess the situation and look for survivors. It wasn't known that the Gorn were still on the planet until they came under fire...after they found that one colonist alive. Also they did try to beam up but by then Sulu had raised the shields because the Enterprise was under attack. Geez.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

It wouldn't be so bad if this was the only time Troi had a meltdown, because in this case it's for completely understandable reasons. Unfortunately, she's had unprofessional emotional outbursts in "Haven", "Gambit", and Voyager's "Life Line" off the top of my head. I can give "The Survivors" a pass since her mind was being deliberately manipulated, her outburst in "Face of the Enemy" could just be her manipulating Subcommander N'Vek, and she was drunk in the movie "First Contact" thanks to Zefram Cochrane, so those aren't AS bad. Still, none of these incidents, along with her crashing the Enterprise in "Generations", or the numerous "pain, so much pain" and other emotional blatherings do anything to benefit the character.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

"Duras would never have used poison..." Why not? He was shown to be dishonorable, self-serving, and conspiring with Romulans. Maybe the Romulans poisoned K'Mpec under Duras' direction, or at the very least a "do whatever you need to do" mandate from him.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

Since the consoles are backlit they're actually more readable in darker ambient conditions. That's why in some of the movies, Voyager, and the alternate "Yesterday's Enterprise" ship, the bridge is darkened during red alert. Beyond that though, it's not "night" so much as secondary/tertiary shift. Depending whether it's before "Chain of Command" or after, they have either three or four shifts per day (eight or six hours each, respectively). There's only one captain, one first officer, one chief medical officer, etc., and they can't be on duty 24/7, so they need to have some lesser down-time shifts.
Set Bookmark
Philadlj
Sat, May 29, 2021, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

For those wondering why there was no consistent chief engineer in the first season: it all comes back to the 24th century Ent-D being less of a military battleship and more of an exploratory cruise ship.

On such a vessel with civilians, families, and children, the counselor would be more important role than the mechanical workings of the ship.

Thus, the symbolic shift from Scotty as third in command of the TOS ‘Prise to the ship’s psychologist getting equal standing with the CO and XO on the bridge.
Set Bookmark
jack Ten
Fri, May 28, 2021, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Just my short opinion on Pulaski.
She's horrible. I mean just horrible. I'm shocked by comparisons to McCoy whose gruffness concealed his humanity and his love till death for his comrades. Muldaur is just a royal pain in the ass, in bold turns caustic, poisonous, opinionated and ignorant.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 28, 2021, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

Never mind your silly banter. When is someone going to address the existence of the pool on the Borg cube?
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Wed, May 26, 2021, 6:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

I don't know why the author of this review claimed that Nick Larcerno and Tom Paris were basically the same character. I believe their similarities were at best, superficial. Both were pilots that committed an error that led to someone's death. Both had initially lied about the accident. And both were portrayed by Robert Duncan McNeill. But there are differences.

It took Wesley Crusher's confession to finally lead Lacerno to take full blame for the accident. Tom Paris had admitted his guilt without anyone forcing his hand. Lacerno seemed to possess a "cult leader" personality. Paris did not. The latter has something of a cynical personality. Lacerno did not.

"First Duty" is a good episode, but there were times when the pacing nearly put me to sleep. Or perhaps I was tired at the time of my last viewing.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, May 26, 2021, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I don't see the problem here.

LAFORGE: You wanted to see me, Captain?
PICARD: Yes, Mister La Forge. It seems that the exemplary nature of your work has caught the attention of Starfleet Command. In fact, someone is coming on board just to see the engine modifications you've made.
LAFORGE: Who, Captain?
PICARD: The Senior Design Engineer of the Theoretical Propulsion Group. Doctor Leah Brahms.

So Leah has no real authority over Geordi, she's just there to observe, learn, and report. As Jason R. said, she's not threatening to sanction Geordi or anything like that, she's just being kind of possessive. She also comes around pretty quickly, realizing that many of the modifications are useful and deserving of credit. That said, it IS her business, because she is a representative of Starfleet, and while Geordi or Picard may not answer to Leah, they all answer to Starfleet. So if Starfleet is interested in this then they have authority to send in whoever they want to do whatever they want.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, May 26, 2021, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

I'm not familiar with Kor's portrayal in TOS but if you look at knights in medieval times, while they were always striving for greater status and class, there was still very much a spectrum within their ranks from crass lowly commoners to sophisticated high society elites. Klingon culture being what it is, I have no trouble imagining a nobleman being excessively gruff and uncouth. Kor doesn't need to be a "snobby rich kid" he just needs to be dismissive of anyone he doesn't find worthy. He probably saw Martok's application and rejected it out of hand with no more than five seconds of consideration because it didn't meet some abstract metric of his. That Martok would find such action dishonorable, and treat Kor accordingly, is no surprise either. Long-standing grudges, discommendation, and inherited dishonor are de rigueur in their society. Klingon's aren't the "turn the other cheek" type, they're the "revenge is a dish best served cold" type.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, May 26, 2021, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

I never got the impression that Sisko and Kurzon were anything more than good friends/mentors, and Sisko doesn't want his relationship with Jadzia (or Ezri) to be anything more than that either. So there doesn't seem to be any conflict there.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, May 26, 2021, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

"Ok, Jason - I'm turning up to your office all next week. I won't threaten any repercussions, either, but I'll be rude when we first meet and from then on I'll constant ask you to justify everything you do and I'll be sure to have regular scathing comments for your every explanation. If you ever seem puzzled or ask why this is happening, I'll just say "What is so complicated here? What is so difficult to understand?". See you on Monday."

I haven't watched the episode in a few years, but didn't Geordie invite her to the Enterprise? She's not some random hobo who wondered off the street unannounced. She's a fellow engineer who criticizes what he did with the engine she designed. She doesn't threaten to sanction him or imply that she has such authority. She just acts like a jerk to him.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, May 26, 2021, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Brahms never threatens Geordi with any repercussions so the question of whether or not he "answers" to her in an official capacity is basically irrelevant to the story.

Brahms was upset that he monkeyed around with her design and told him so.

What is so complicated here? What is difficult to understand?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, May 26, 2021, 5:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

"39 years stuck, gets himself out. Goes right back in. Why? I feel like I'm missing something obvious here..."

He wasn't trapped in the beast for 39 years. He was hunting it for that long. His predicament was presumably more recent.
Set Bookmark
Joel
Tue, May 25, 2021, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

The taboo against reconnecting with past intimate relationships didn't seem to make sense to me due to the continued friendship between Dax and Sisko, but come to think of it since Sisko is a human and not a Trill, maybe that's why it's not considered much of a big deal. Sisko will not live as long as a symbiont.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 22, 2021, 9:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 8: Redemption

My general point is that this is more about executing on tried-and-true Star Wars comfort food (and that is done very well) more than it is groundbreaking or innovative.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 22, 2021, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Ya in Data's defence:

Night Terrors
Bobw2
The Game
Conspiracy
Allegiance

Am I forgetting any other episodes where the crew goes nuts / gets taken over by hostile aliens?

And in most of them Data saves the day.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 21, 2021, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

"They have no problem accepting the fact that Adira has a worm in their belly and a dual-personality of a host+symbionte, but the notion of them being trans is somehow difficult for them swallow."

That's a feature, not a bug for a contemporary audience. And Discovery is all about validating a contemporary mindset. If they treated it as "no big deal" that would be seen as a kind of erasure. It would be offensive.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 18, 2021, 5:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

"Going to add my admiration for the Vidiians"

Agreed. They did what they had to do in a tough situation. And the lungs were better off in someone other than Neelix.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 17, 2021, 7:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

From my Google search if looks like lots of similar artifacts have gone up for auction ($40,000 for Picard's Resican flute?) but the baseball does not show up anywhere.

Agreed it would be a neat thing to have.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 17, 2021, 4:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"@Jason
Don't worry too much. Could the PRC invade the ROC, sure but that would go against everything the PRC does right now in a strategic sense but to you too I would recommend maybe do some public debate. Raise concerns, seek vigilant peace. Sure the PRC does some pretty shitty things but they are not crazy and they are not evil. The West can reason with them. As it did with the Soviet Union. Sure the PRC is fairly strong but a dwarf, a tiny dwarf with old weapons, compared to NATO. They know that."

The PRC is still no match for the USA to be sure - but they don't need to be in their own backyard. And military balance is changing. I realize that Xi Jinping is no fool and I guess from his point of view China is winning the peace so why start a war over Taiwan? But the latter calculation could change if the economic situation gets worse for China or alternatively if China gets so strong militarily and the west so weak that it gets cocky and does something stupid.

The problem with these situations is that one side could be compelled (by pride, hubris, saving face) to escalate the situation. Both sides don't want war and know it would be lunacy, yet unstoppable force could meet immovable object if the right setup occurs. Xi Jinping has said - no its ands or buts - that Taiwan *will* be reunited with the mainland. He can't go back on that. The US has its own lines in the sand.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.