Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 61 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 25, 2018, 9:21am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

The Aids comparison seems to be a little contrived. Anyway, it has been sugested that T'pol had been psychically "raped".

Is that right? Every time Spock or Tuvock made a mind meld they were raping others' minds?

Maybe one message is that medicine is at times infected with intolerance and misguided conceptions as any field of knowledge, which reminds me of the immoral Dear Doctor installment.

T'Pol's position is noble, I liked it. Archer is clueless.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 9:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Derivative but the theme is always interesting.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 7:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

11 of 26. Steady as she goes. I hope things get better in season 3.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Lame! And how the heck did she get the part? Don't answer!
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 5:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

OK episode. Neither original nor compelling, but still watchable. Hoshi is cute and all, but kinda piece of a bore as well. It seems like the writers are begging us to care about her, but there is no character development here.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 2:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

This culture contamination thing is getting kinda tiresome.

I wonder what are the Romulans' and Klinglons, for instance, policies on the subject. There seems to be plenty of prewarp places around.

How do they build their empires??? Only at the expense of warp capable cultures, leaving others alone?! I would doubt so.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Classic WTF episode. The dog is cute, but so what?

I disagree with Jammer about Phlox. Before "Dear Doctor", he stroke me as being kinda Neelix doc, but rather arrogant (nothing against the actors at all).

After that sad episode, I simply don't care anymore.

Bones was the best ST Doc not for his medical mumble jumbo, but for his true humanity, always challenging Spock's cold logics.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Option B, in my opinion, but who knows for sure.

About Archer's reaction, it does make sense. We long know that the mind meld has always been described as a dangerous and invasive procedure. Of course, Archer is angry and puzzled, because he feels T'pol's was violeted somehow, but can't figure it out, it seems to me.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 1:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I liked this episode. But, no matter realistic, the reference to T'pol's "bum", falls kind of flat. It is like the producers were too eager to explore more her sexuality than else. Previous episodes clearly objectified her.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 10:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

And by "Neelix" I mean "useless smiling ugly pestering annoying thing".

Ok, ok, I never ever liked Neelix, but at least it was sort of touching when he decided to stay on the asteroid - I was happy, 'cos he was a real pain in the... nose, but it was a little sad too - bitteraweet.

This is the first time ever I've been watching Enterprise. Please, no spoilers!! I do hope they leave him on a asteroid too! And Archer back to Earth, where maybe he can make a difference making easier decisions.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

No stars. This episode is a cynical attempt to fabricate the bases for the Prime Directive. There is no ethical dilemma at all. If the Doc really had the cure, he ought to have handed for the suffering people. He claimed to be a scientist, but he jumped to conclusions too easily - actually, it is hard to believe he really could find a cure so fast. They (he and Archer) did played God.

In DS9, Doctor Bashir faced similar situations and no Prime Directive stopped him, at least, to try to find a cure.

Everything was going well before the stupid twist. What I thought was going to happen, logically, was that since the Doctor couldn't possibly find a cure, the hopeless people would try to force Archer to hand over Warp technology, as hinted more than once.

Well, I guess our “Neelix” Doc did not pass in the charisma test. Under the same circumstances, let’s think, what would Bones do? Bashir? Crusher? Any human doctor?
Set Bookmark
Franco
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 10:11am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

It is another derivative ok show on surface. Actually quite enjoyable. What I really liked was the captain's attitude. Despite being "pre-industrial", those people are not backward morons. The Doc said it loud and clear: had that scientist be born on earth or Vulcan, she would be very successful. The notion is quite clear: ancient people were NOT less intelligent or capable than modern people, so there is no evident reason for patronizing "pre-industrial" civilizations. Archer did the right thing.
Another blow on the contrived Vulcan "prime directive" policy.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 6:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

Now we know why Spock will be treated with suspicion by TOS Enterprise's humans, specially by Bones, chronologically speaking. I like where this leading to. Vulcans do lie. Let's not forget Tuvock who will be a infiltrated agent in the Maquis.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 12:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Strange New World

Despite being derivative this episode is quite effective and enjoyable. It seems to me that the main point is the human distrust in the Vulcans.

I only disagree with the review in one thing. T'Pal is a scientist, not a warrior and Tucker was a real havoc. Ok, Spock was a scientist too, but let's not think all Vulcans are as resourceful as him! The captain's solution was a little over elaborated but adequate to the situation. I saw that coming.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 11:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

It's the first time ever I've been watching Enterprise thanks to the convinience of Netflix. So far, so good - except for the opening theme corny crap.

To this point I have a clear feeling that the Prime Directive was basically written by the Vulcans. So obvious, sure. But I am curious to learn how the humans will give in and buy it to the point of lunacy as we've seen on the other shows.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 2:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

It was not the series finale of my dreams, but, as a isolated episode, solid 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 12:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

At least the bed death confession gag was funny. Seven's face when Tom asked if Doc had anything else to confess made me LOL.
Set Bookmark
Adolfo Franco
Sat, Mar 17, 2018, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Entertaining to an extent but the legal feud made the episode boring.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 17, 2018, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

De Lancie is a fine actor, but the whole Q thing is utter BS.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 17, 2018, 5:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Frustrating indeed, but we'll played and relevant. 3 stars to me.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 17, 2018, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Not an awesome episode, but far more entertaining than the Barge of Dead.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 5:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

As a show, it was entertaining, but when you stop to think seriously it is all but very elaborate bs. Berserk holodeck fantasy taken as majestic. What kind of computer could believably run all this "sentient" holodeck foes without draining all energy available??
I can't buy it. If the hologuys are acting up, shut the damn thing up. The episode lost me somewhere. I could not care for the holograms and now I care less for the Doctor.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

One word: tedious. Maybe it is me, but I found the twists so contrived that I never took them seriously.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 10:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Lame. It strikes me as a homage turned into insult, TNG ethnicity handling.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 11, 2018, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

Fun show. Also, relevant to Seven's character as the final dialog with Tuvok demonstraded. 3 stars.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.