Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 247 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Was one of the warrior nuns with Oh in the prophecy circle??
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

The death of Hugh was very sad, because it was a waste of time. Why only have Hugh for a couple of episodes?

Does Soji trust Picard?

Flashback - Agnes sees Oh. Sunglasses? It sounds very weird that Agnes was being watched and under surveillance... is that the Starfleet way? Or the Tal Shiar way? Is she really a Vulcan - Oh? Then she did a mind meld with her, without proper consent! Oh gives her a tracker and then Agnes chews it. Something Agnes must do... a terrible sacrifice.

The drama between Rios and Raffi - very good, apart from Agnes though... Narissa gets the exBs killed... she is bored. Narek follows Rios and the crew... Narissa mentions the treaty... Narek follows the tracker and then the ship is released. "Has to a be a trickl" Elnor decides to stay to help Hugh.

Then we see Narek following Rios. I am just confused about Commodore Oh. Is she part of a cult??? She wore that cloak and was part of the "prophecy circle".

Nepenthe - we see rabbits/hares on this planet. Soji and Picard gets transported on the planet. Picard reveals his heart has solid duritanium?? (Q must come back! - that Tapestry episode)

"I dont believe anyone" says Soji. Is Picard deliberately letting Kendra talk to Soji? Then the word ANDROID. Just get on with the mindgame? We see Troi doing the gardening and couldn't Troi feel the presence of Picard? A good hug.

Just Soji... Why the music when Riker is on. Another hug... Newton's 4th law of thermodynamics? LOL Troi cannot read Soji... expected... that theme TNG theme when the three of them together - Picard, Riker and Troi. The talk about Data and mucus... Soji wanted to be human still - Kendra gets to be the boss of Soji. The sad scene between Picard and Troi and her late son...

I think Agnes knows they are being tracked when they are trying to escape from Narek. Synth chick... Raffi is suspicious of Agnes! And then Agnes gets defensive! Cake?

Riker guessed it! Tal Shiar - Data's daughter and she is on the run... regenerative powers?? That head tilt?? She is clearly an android.

Silicon based virus? But only curable with a positronic matrix... The scene between Troi and Soji seemed very icy and cold. Troi seemed very harsh and I think because of the synth ban, Troi was reminded of her son. All this about trust - another game... could it come down to the Soji trying to destroy the universe? Soji pushed Picard! Why??

But Troi said the right things - her ability to trust is a flaw in her programming - manipulated. Trying to solve the problem together, Troi becomes softer...

In the end, Soji does come to sort of trust Picard - heart rate - pupils dilating. All of this seems to calm Soji

Treaty violation? Hugh trying to take the cube back... Elnor, definitely a better fighter but sadly Hugh dies... Elnor contacts the Rangers and hopefully we see seven again!
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 12:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

"And why is Elnor so loyal to Picard even though Picard abandoned him as a kid?"

What?? Elnor idolised Picard. Yes, Picard abandoned him, but he also binded his sword to his "lost cause". Also, Picard is his only male father figure. Quwat Milat is a group of warrior nuns and sadly Elnor cannot be part of this. When Picard came along, he belonged somehow.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

It was good episode. I preferred this episode than the previous episode, but not in star trek way. It does not feel Star Trek. I think I would need to watch it again

It felt tense. The plot is moving along. The slow pace is now understandable and this episode made that clear.

SPOILERS (obviously)
So does that mean Soji is 3 years old? So we see the dream of the wooden doll and it is Soji. Why implant a memory that makes Soji look like a doll? This reminds me of a TNG episode where Troi was a cake and Data was hearing the phone ringing... Phantasm is the name of that episode.

Did Narek have feelings for Soji? And when he revealed his real name, was it true? I liked that Elnor chose to go to the Borg Cube and that Picard did not want to leave him. The scenes with Hugh and Picard were very good, like old friends.

Previews for the next episode - Narissa and Hugh gets confrontational. Picard meets Riker!

I only liked this because of the pacing and tthat he plot was moving along. At least now Soji is "activated". Will she feel betrayed by her mom? Narek, obviously. Now that we know what planet Soji was on - two red moons and lightning

The nervousness of Picard was very clear.

The words from Narek "You’re not real. You never were." VERY CRUEL! Contrast that to Picard - "If I'm right, it means that you are the daughter of a man who was all meaning, all courage. Be like him."

Like many many prophecies, they are self fulfilling because they really believe in it. But we make our own futures.

It was really good that Soji bumped into Picard, as she escaped from the room.

Romance between Jurati and Rios? Rios will get his revenge! I liked the scene with Raffi and the starfleet person

I hope nothing bad happens to Elnor.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Also the theme music from star trek
There is a noticeable theme from
TOS
TNG
DS9
VOY
Now with DIS and PIC - I can sing them, I can hum the melody, but it is not strong. It is not as "majestic" or "powerful" in the sense of "hope".

The theme music for Voyager starts majestically. The horn is strong. The woodwind instruments in the background, as though in the space. In the middle, the strings come in, showing how Voyager is alone but going home. Then the horn comes back strong again. Hopeful and strong.

The DS9 starts slow and solemn. The it "shoots off" (Season 6) The brass and the strings complement each other. Question and answer. The first 4 notes are strong and then it expands. When Worf joined, it became stronger and more upbeat. It sounds hopeful, yet sad and longing. A space station on its own. Towards the end it feels hopeful.

TNG starts with feeling slow and alone. With Picard narrating, it feels strong and purposeful. Then once Enterprise goes to warp, it feels hopeful with the brass and the strings. The brass sounds triumphant and joyous. The strings bring the harmony of the crew of the Enterprise.

Now the Picard theme. Does not start with brass. It's woodwind and strings and piano. It is more solemn, more peaceful, more sad and more reflective.

1. It is not like before, where we can stream and watch from CBS or Amazon Prime.
2. The hopeful is there in Picard, but not as strong. The brass is absent from the beginning.
3. The visuals in the opening show Picard is slowly losing himself. But bit by bit, he comes back together again, like a jigsaw puzzle.

Another reason why it is not "star trek" as of old.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Why would I not live in the Star Trek Picard universe? Romulans just popping in and shooting you! Imagine that. Having lunch and you get killed! This is from the 1st episode.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Since we are not talking about the next episode...

I dislike the episode, the latest one, number 5, the one before 6 and the one after 4. Why? I would not want to live in the world where Picard is currently living in now. Star Trek TNG, I would imagine living there. DS9, despite the Dominion war, I could live on planet Earth and lunch at Sisko's. I could live on Voyager's Earth.

Star Trek Picard? I would not want to live in that universe.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

From Memory Alpha:
//In 2369, Lore discovered a group of Borg that had been disconnected from the Collective after integrating Hugh's sense of individuality into the hive. Lore styled himself their leader and gave his Borg individual names, coercing them into becoming his fanatical followers. He began cruel experiments on them, attempting to replace their organic brains with positronic components. Meanwhile, he somehow influenced their behavior, making their attacks more violent – they ceased to assimilate individuals, instead murdering them.//

Could this be the goal of Romulans? But ... they want to destroy synths...
1. If the romulans ceated the Borg, they would not want to destroy them. However they want to exterminate the synths. The primary goal of the Borg is to assimilate and not assassinate. So in one sense, the borg is a lesser evil.
2. Like Lore, Soji could turn evil once activated because of some programming error? And if Soji decides to turn Borg into synths (or command them), who would then able to destroy the new Borg?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

POSSIBLE SPOILERS and IDEAS

Could we focus on the next episode?
In the trailers: Picard goes on the Borg cube, part of the Reclamation project
Was there an scene with Locutus?
We see Narek and Soji together and she closes her eyes.
We see Soji and red mist
We see Picard being desperate to see Soji before she activates
We see Picard getting captured
We see Soji throwing something
We see a Romulan Rubik cube and something coming out it, a green figure?

1. I think Soji will be activated next episode. I do not know what that means. When Dahj was activated, she saw Picard. Will Soji see Picard when she is activated? Why is she the Destroyer? Will she command the ex-Borg to become Borg again? Is she a Borq queen? She is a twin, so is she like an evil Lore?
2. The closing of the eyes... when Dahj did it, she saw a lot. She could go through security clearance, access computer systems etc before she located Picard on Earth.
3. If Picard sees Hugh, will there be anger? Disappointment? Relief?

Another reason why I find this series a bit "fantasy" is the element of a prophecy. Of course this can be explained by time travel or even the Prophets in some way...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//That is why we have gore, downfall, incest, one or two action scenes per episode and endless mysteries.//

And is this Star Trek?
"A television series of the 1960s, and later a series of successful films, in which a group of space explorers in their craft, the Enterprise, travelled through interstellar space."

"The premise: A five-year mission of space exploration in the 23rd century"

"The Original Series establishes the two most crucial elements of the Star Trek ethos: The show is set in a utopian future in which divides based on race, gender, and nationality are a thing of the past (reflected in the unprecedented diversity of the main cast), and it uses the lens of alien cultures to comment on contemporary issues. So while humanity may have ended bigotry, the half-black, half-white aliens of the planet Cheron are still torn apart by prejudice. That allows Star Trek to both imagine a better world and comment on the harsher realities of our real one."

1. So far it is not "utopian"
2. The amount of violence and gore is accentuated for shock value - Icheb's death only provided Seven's motivation for revenge, nothing more. His death was disposable...
3. The concept of money is back. The Federation should have gotten rid of money already but it is back. There is Freecloud, for example... black market...
4. The Federation is corrupt. Infiltrated by Romulans, this is no longer Star Trek. It is no longer Star Trek because Picard even says it in the first episode!

"STARFLEET IS NO LONGER STARFLEET" in the interview.

This is not Star Trek and I agree with Picard and Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 2:24am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Q had better come back to save this show.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 7:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

A A roi

Have you watched "someone to watch over me"?
Have you seen the relationship between Chakotay and Seven?

Its not a question of who you fall in love with! Even seven admitted she is still trying to regain her humanity! In episode 5 in Picard. Every "damned day".

I hope you are not dense. Really. It's not in Sevens character to be stupid and to not research her friends. That's who she is - she is clever and intelligent. Yeah, Janeway taught her to trust but troi2 and her tal shiar links... it makes her incredibly stupid.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Well. Nathan. That made feel a bit better.

I got the impression they were best friends. Not lovers. If they were in an intimate relationship (no problem with bisexuality) it just implies how Seven is too stupid to do her homework.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I am thoroughly annoyed with the Writers. A moment of weakness with a relationship and Seven tells troi2 about icheb? Then the harvesting of borg implants and then the phaser disintegration? The writers are completely stupid. Seven would have thoroughly researched her prospective partner and not get blindsided. Even 10 years in the alpha quadrant would not have made seven that short sighted and stupid! Thoroughly annoyed.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

https://comicbook.com/startrek/2020/02/21/star-trek-picard-seven-of-nine-lgbtq-lesbian-confirmed-jeri-ryan/?fbclid=IwAR2Yug_tAR7NkcE9soENj4GsDb0fhUZc2Hx-OoFCTsGpMFaYkaFxsVy9MrQ

Is Seven really that stupid??
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

So I just heard. Star Trek writers confirmed Seven is bisexual. (Comic book. Com)

That means Seven is stupid for allowing troi2 to take advantage of her and it's character assassination. I am annoyed with this revelation. Not because of her bisexuality but because of what happened. So because Seven had a relationship with troi2... icheb died and now seven wants revenge.

Writers! What are you playing at! You have made Seven stupid!
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//I bet a good number of people on this forum will not watch DSC Season 3. And, if things continue to devolve, quality-wise, for PIC, then many on this forum will not tune in for Season 2.//

NO. I will almost certainly be watching them. Despite their problems, I will still watch it.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Dave

"Her child"? Icheb was not her child. He was certainly as close a son to Seven on Voyager, but certainly not her child. She does say the words as he died. He sacrificed his cortical node for Seven. Icheb was an ex-Borg and he was created by his parents as a virus to destroy the Borg. It was Seven who became a foster-mom to Icheb.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Also the irony is this: From Voyager - an attempt to prevent an event triggers the same event, like in Star Trek First Contact, where the Borg goes back in time, but the crew of Enterprise ended up saving history.

The current thinking online is that Romulans created the Borg... in the effort to sacrifice the few to prevent the creation of artificial synthetic life. Why create Dahj and Soji? Data died to protect Picard and his essence was transferred to another flesh and blood synthetic and that become Dahj and Soji. Why wait to be activated? If the Romulans (zhat vash?) created the Borg, why do they hate synthetic life? The destruction of all life, the Romulan "mythology expert" had said, would be brought about the Destroyer (Soji).

The dilemma is this: Picard wants to save all life (as many as he can). The "corrupt" Federation and the Romulans wants to destroy this synthetic life - Soji - because of what they know. Does this go back to Data and Lore, one is evil and one is good? Narek had already placed a seed of doubt into the mind of Soji.

Dr Jurati apparently received a mind-mind from Commodore Oh and has now killed Bruce Maddox. Why doesn't the Federation let Picard know about this?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

In short, Star Trek Picard is the continuation/ the repercussions of the following. I think the relevant question is: will Soji work out she is the daughter of Data and will she follow in the footsteps of Data?

In TNG, Measure of a man (bruce maddox)

DATA: I will not submit to the procedure, sir.
PICARD: Data, I understand your objections, but I have to consider Starfleet's interests. What if Commander Maddox is correct, there is a possibility that many more beings like yourself could be constructed.
DATA: Sir, Lieutenant La Forge's eyes are far superior to human biological eyes. True? Then why are not all human officers required to have their eyes replaced with cybernetic implants? (Picard looks away) I see. It is precisely because I am not human.

GUINAN: Well, consider that in the history of many worlds there have always been disposable creatures. They do the dirty work. They do the work that no one else wants to do because it's too difficult, or to hazardous. And an army of Datas, all disposable, you don't have to think about their welfare, you don't think about how they feel. Whole generations of disposable people.

PICARD: What is he?
MADDOX: A machine!
PICARD: Is he? Are you sure?
MADDOX: Yes!
PICARD: You see, he's met two of your three criteria for sentience, so what if he meets the third. Consciousness in even the smallest degree. What is he then? I don't know. Do you? (to Riker) Do you? (to Phillipa) Do you? Well, that's the question you have to answer. Your Honour, the courtroom is a crucible. In it we burn away irrelevancies until we are left with a pure product, the truth for all time. Now, sooner or later, this man or others like him will succeed in replicating Commander Data. And the decision you reach here today will determine how we will regard this creation of our genius. It will reveal the kind of a people we are, what he is destined to be. It will reach far beyond this courtroom and this one android. It could significantly redefine the boundaries of personal liberty and freedom, expanding them for some, savagely curtailing them for others. Are you prepared to condemn him and all who come after him to servitude and slavery? Your Honour, Starfleet was founded to seek out new life. Well, there it sits. Waiting. You wanted a chance to make law. Well, here it is. Make a good one.
PHILLIPA: It sits there looking at me, and I don't know what it is. This case has dealt with metaphysics, with questions best left to saints and philosophers. I'm neither competent nor qualified to answer those. I've got to make a ruling, to try to speak to the future. Is Data a machine? Yes. Is he the property of Starfleet? No. We have all been dancing around the basic issue. Does Data have a soul? I don't know that he has. I don't know that I have. But I have got to give him the freedom to explore that question himself. It is the ruling of this court that Lieutenant Commander Data has the freedom to choose.
(Data walks over to Maddox)
DATA: I formally refuse to undergo your procedure.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

From The Void, Voyager Season 7
JANEWAY: The Charter's a statement of principles, not a practical document.
JANEWAY: No. But I've become convinced that we've got to stick to our principles, not abandon them.
JANEWAY: If the alternative means becoming thieves and killers ourselves, yes. But I'm betting that our principles are going to keep us alive.
JANEWAY: The Federation is based on mutual cooperation. The idea that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Voyager can't survive here alone. But if we form a temporary alliance with other ships, maybe we can pool our resources and escape.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Definition of Star Trek?
To boldly go where no [one] has gone before
To explore civilisations
To seek out new life

So far, this is not Star Trek as of old. Well, the moral dilemmas of Seven? Where is the new life here? Star Trek Discovery has the mycelial network... that was "new"... The only that is at odds here, or at conflict, is "synths". Why do Romulans have an aversion to synthetic life?

What happened on Mars? Why are Romulans the antagonists (not Laris, Zhaban and Elnor)? Who was Dahj and who is Soji? Does Star Trek Discovery has anything to do with Picard that relates to Control? Why is the Federation/Romulans involved in this that relates to Bruce Maddox?

The Jem'Hadar was new on DS9
The Hirogen/Species 8472 were new on Voyager
Etc etc

So what is Star Trek? At the moment the only thing that makes this "star trek" on Picard is Soji and why she is the twin daughter of Data. It is the exploration of Romulans, the Borg, synths and the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//It also felt like there needed to be clarification if Seven and Picard knew each other.//

Huh, obviously not. When Seven was beamed aboard, you didn't see the reaction from Picard? They know of each other only by reputation. Or even when Picard was Locutus.

//I believe the reason Sevens appearance feels random is because if I remember correctly, she knew nothing of Picards mission.//

She did not. That is not related at all. She is ex-borg. She came back from the Delta quadrant. She is now a Fenris ranger
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I have issue with
1. Wealth and money and expensive
2. Profanity just for the sake of profanity
3. The vaping the addictions by Raffi
4. Poverty? I thought it was eliminated

Devils advocate
1. Non federation colonies still use currency
2. Profanity is only used because it is no longer banned by the network. Not a good excuse to just use profanity... but it shows the humanity. It shows flawed characters and it shows "human" characters
3. Barclay was addicted on tng... addiction is not new
4. If you are off the grid, you have to survive without the federations help...

I still have problems with these. Other than that, Picard is OK.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//Seven waits 13 years to enact her revenge//

Hank
Have you sent an email to the writers? Patrick Stewart is an EXECUTIVE Producer and he would like to hear your criticisms. Look up his agent, Hank, and send an email or even call him! Call Patrick Stewart and tell him (he is an executive producer, repeated for emphasis) that the writers are substandard and you, Hank, have a better grasp of writing the story better than those who are actually doing the job.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.