Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 58 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 2:24am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Q had better come back to save this show.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 7:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

A A roi

Have you watched "someone to watch over me"?
Have you seen the relationship between Chakotay and Seven?

Its not a question of who you fall in love with! Even seven admitted she is still trying to regain her humanity! In episode 5 in Picard. Every "damned day".

I hope you are not dense. Really. It's not in Sevens character to be stupid and to not research her friends. That's who she is - she is clever and intelligent. Yeah, Janeway taught her to trust but troi2 and her tal shiar links... it makes her incredibly stupid.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Well. Nathan. That made feel a bit better.

I got the impression they were best friends. Not lovers. If they were in an intimate relationship (no problem with bisexuality) it just implies how Seven is too stupid to do her homework.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I am thoroughly annoyed with the Writers. A moment of weakness with a relationship and Seven tells troi2 about icheb? Then the harvesting of borg implants and then the phaser disintegration? The writers are completely stupid. Seven would have thoroughly researched her prospective partner and not get blindsided. Even 10 years in the alpha quadrant would not have made seven that short sighted and stupid! Thoroughly annoyed.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

https://comicbook.com/startrek/2020/02/21/star-trek-picard-seven-of-nine-lgbtq-lesbian-confirmed-jeri-ryan/?fbclid=IwAR2Yug_tAR7NkcE9soENj4GsDb0fhUZc2Hx-OoFCTsGpMFaYkaFxsVy9MrQ

Is Seven really that stupid??
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

So I just heard. Star Trek writers confirmed Seven is bisexual. (Comic book. Com)

That means Seven is stupid for allowing troi2 to take advantage of her and it's character assassination. I am annoyed with this revelation. Not because of her bisexuality but because of what happened. So because Seven had a relationship with troi2... icheb died and now seven wants revenge.

Writers! What are you playing at! You have made Seven stupid!
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//I bet a good number of people on this forum will not watch DSC Season 3. And, if things continue to devolve, quality-wise, for PIC, then many on this forum will not tune in for Season 2.//

NO. I will almost certainly be watching them. Despite their problems, I will still watch it.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Dave

"Her child"? Icheb was not her child. He was certainly as close a son to Seven on Voyager, but certainly not her child. She does say the words as he died. He sacrificed his cortical node for Seven. Icheb was an ex-Borg and he was created by his parents as a virus to destroy the Borg. It was Seven who became a foster-mom to Icheb.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Also the irony is this: From Voyager - an attempt to prevent an event triggers the same event, like in Star Trek First Contact, where the Borg goes back in time, but the crew of Enterprise ended up saving history.

The current thinking online is that Romulans created the Borg... in the effort to sacrifice the few to prevent the creation of artificial synthetic life. Why create Dahj and Soji? Data died to protect Picard and his essence was transferred to another flesh and blood synthetic and that become Dahj and Soji. Why wait to be activated? If the Romulans (zhat vash?) created the Borg, why do they hate synthetic life? The destruction of all life, the Romulan "mythology expert" had said, would be brought about the Destroyer (Soji).

The dilemma is this: Picard wants to save all life (as many as he can). The "corrupt" Federation and the Romulans wants to destroy this synthetic life - Soji - because of what they know. Does this go back to Data and Lore, one is evil and one is good? Narek had already placed a seed of doubt into the mind of Soji.

Dr Jurati apparently received a mind-mind from Commodore Oh and has now killed Bruce Maddox. Why doesn't the Federation let Picard know about this?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

In short, Star Trek Picard is the continuation/ the repercussions of the following. I think the relevant question is: will Soji work out she is the daughter of Data and will she follow in the footsteps of Data?

In TNG, Measure of a man (bruce maddox)

DATA: I will not submit to the procedure, sir.
PICARD: Data, I understand your objections, but I have to consider Starfleet's interests. What if Commander Maddox is correct, there is a possibility that many more beings like yourself could be constructed.
DATA: Sir, Lieutenant La Forge's eyes are far superior to human biological eyes. True? Then why are not all human officers required to have their eyes replaced with cybernetic implants? (Picard looks away) I see. It is precisely because I am not human.

GUINAN: Well, consider that in the history of many worlds there have always been disposable creatures. They do the dirty work. They do the work that no one else wants to do because it's too difficult, or to hazardous. And an army of Datas, all disposable, you don't have to think about their welfare, you don't think about how they feel. Whole generations of disposable people.

PICARD: What is he?
MADDOX: A machine!
PICARD: Is he? Are you sure?
MADDOX: Yes!
PICARD: You see, he's met two of your three criteria for sentience, so what if he meets the third. Consciousness in even the smallest degree. What is he then? I don't know. Do you? (to Riker) Do you? (to Phillipa) Do you? Well, that's the question you have to answer. Your Honour, the courtroom is a crucible. In it we burn away irrelevancies until we are left with a pure product, the truth for all time. Now, sooner or later, this man or others like him will succeed in replicating Commander Data. And the decision you reach here today will determine how we will regard this creation of our genius. It will reveal the kind of a people we are, what he is destined to be. It will reach far beyond this courtroom and this one android. It could significantly redefine the boundaries of personal liberty and freedom, expanding them for some, savagely curtailing them for others. Are you prepared to condemn him and all who come after him to servitude and slavery? Your Honour, Starfleet was founded to seek out new life. Well, there it sits. Waiting. You wanted a chance to make law. Well, here it is. Make a good one.
PHILLIPA: It sits there looking at me, and I don't know what it is. This case has dealt with metaphysics, with questions best left to saints and philosophers. I'm neither competent nor qualified to answer those. I've got to make a ruling, to try to speak to the future. Is Data a machine? Yes. Is he the property of Starfleet? No. We have all been dancing around the basic issue. Does Data have a soul? I don't know that he has. I don't know that I have. But I have got to give him the freedom to explore that question himself. It is the ruling of this court that Lieutenant Commander Data has the freedom to choose.
(Data walks over to Maddox)
DATA: I formally refuse to undergo your procedure.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

From The Void, Voyager Season 7
JANEWAY: The Charter's a statement of principles, not a practical document.
JANEWAY: No. But I've become convinced that we've got to stick to our principles, not abandon them.
JANEWAY: If the alternative means becoming thieves and killers ourselves, yes. But I'm betting that our principles are going to keep us alive.
JANEWAY: The Federation is based on mutual cooperation. The idea that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Voyager can't survive here alone. But if we form a temporary alliance with other ships, maybe we can pool our resources and escape.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Definition of Star Trek?
To boldly go where no [one] has gone before
To explore civilisations
To seek out new life

So far, this is not Star Trek as of old. Well, the moral dilemmas of Seven? Where is the new life here? Star Trek Discovery has the mycelial network... that was "new"... The only that is at odds here, or at conflict, is "synths". Why do Romulans have an aversion to synthetic life?

What happened on Mars? Why are Romulans the antagonists (not Laris, Zhaban and Elnor)? Who was Dahj and who is Soji? Does Star Trek Discovery has anything to do with Picard that relates to Control? Why is the Federation/Romulans involved in this that relates to Bruce Maddox?

The Jem'Hadar was new on DS9
The Hirogen/Species 8472 were new on Voyager
Etc etc

So what is Star Trek? At the moment the only thing that makes this "star trek" on Picard is Soji and why she is the twin daughter of Data. It is the exploration of Romulans, the Borg, synths and the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//It also felt like there needed to be clarification if Seven and Picard knew each other.//

Huh, obviously not. When Seven was beamed aboard, you didn't see the reaction from Picard? They know of each other only by reputation. Or even when Picard was Locutus.

//I believe the reason Sevens appearance feels random is because if I remember correctly, she knew nothing of Picards mission.//

She did not. That is not related at all. She is ex-borg. She came back from the Delta quadrant. She is now a Fenris ranger
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I have issue with
1. Wealth and money and expensive
2. Profanity just for the sake of profanity
3. The vaping the addictions by Raffi
4. Poverty? I thought it was eliminated

Devils advocate
1. Non federation colonies still use currency
2. Profanity is only used because it is no longer banned by the network. Not a good excuse to just use profanity... but it shows the humanity. It shows flawed characters and it shows "human" characters
3. Barclay was addicted on tng... addiction is not new
4. If you are off the grid, you have to survive without the federations help...

I still have problems with these. Other than that, Picard is OK.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//Seven waits 13 years to enact her revenge//

Hank
Have you sent an email to the writers? Patrick Stewart is an EXECUTIVE Producer and he would like to hear your criticisms. Look up his agent, Hank, and send an email or even call him! Call Patrick Stewart and tell him (he is an executive producer, repeated for emphasis) that the writers are substandard and you, Hank, have a better grasp of writing the story better than those who are actually doing the job.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

For the record, check IMDb and it says Jeri Ryan is to be in all episodes till the end, since episode 4. I think Trent is seriously making unnecessary assumptions.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Trent says //She has nothing to do with Picard's arc. This is a terrible way to integrate Seven into this story. She's a kind of throwaway McGuffin.//

I think these words are stupid and idiotic.
Jean Luc was Locutus.
Hugh is an ex-Borg.
Seven is an ex-Borg.
Icheb was an ex-Borg. This show is about artificial intelligence. This show is so far about Romulans and the Borg...
NOTHING TO DO WITH THE STORY??? Throwaway McGuffin... ???

//She just randomly turns up at the precise moment Picard needs a Borg bargaining chip to use on hokey gangsters. Then she goes.//

You mean after a decade returning from the delta quadrant, it is NOT impossible for Seven to just show up? Have you even checked IMDB if Jeri Ryan will come back or are you making unnecessary assumptions based on your stupid words?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Spoilers
*tears for Icheb* very sad and very upsetting, very dark... like First Contact dark...
Is it really character assassination for Seven? And how does that gangster lady know about Annika? Quark's bar! Visual egg.
Since Icheb died and remember in the episode where the futuristic drone called One on Voyager... you could tell that Seven would want REVENGE.
How did it come to this? Why is Seven a vigilante?

Raffi and her son... a good character development and a good delving into her past and her relationships... her addictions and her troubles since the Mars incident...

Who did not see that coming? Dr Jurati and Maddox... that cruel end... Picard will find out soon...

Who likes Elnor? I do... We need good Romulans to fight against the bad Romulans. Hopefully Elnor stays grounded with Picard. Hopefully Laris and Zhaban
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Time crystals DO exist.
https://news.berkeley.edu/2017/01/26/scientists-unveil-new-form-of-matter-time-crystals/
"In a paper published online last week in the journal Physical Review Letters, the UC Berkeley assistant professor of physics describes exactly how to make and measure the properties of such a crystal, and even predicts what the various phases surrounding the time crystal should be — akin to the liquid and gas phases of ice."
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

This show is about Burnham... so to say it does otherwise isn't really thoughtful... you knew what you were getting into
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Georgiou cares for Burnham - the hand, the fear of losing her.
I thought it was rude that Stamets brushed off Culber
Wow, Burnham's mum?
Tillys comedic moments... excellent
I liked the Spock and Burnham moment but Spock still seems snarky but a lot better this episode
That Leland and his eyes got punctured... wtf?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

4 stars
Saru seems more snarky, after his evolution.
That episode on Voyager, Kes returns and Tuvok could figure out why the time-line has changed, it just reminded me of that.
This episode told us that Burnham must be important somehow, or that Spock and Burnham are important to this series. Why save her then? Without the Red Angel she would have been dead...
I think the fight between Culber and Ash needed to happen.
And what is going to happen to Airium? The camera is pointing at her after all these unauthorised business so they want us to think about her... what is this three red dots? Does it mean anything?
Ok, so the crux of this episode is that Spock is now better after visiting the Talosians because they have mind powers? The change in the timeline made Spock trying to make sense of the change in the time line, then Spock was trying to make sense of it when more of the sightings were happening... Spock became affected and Talosians cured him?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

*laughed*
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Already it seems very fast paced already, Burnham wanting to go to Vulcan, the temporal distortions on the bridge and sending a probe, Pike and Ash... The way Burnham pleaded with Amanda was not that tense, I thought it could have been more tense.
"Evasive manoeuvres" lol
When Saru took charge, it was awesome. Saru knew what to do straight away. When he mentioned Mudd, it is clear he could remember things.
When we see Spock in his condition, we could see the anguish from Michael Burnham. Did Amanda mention how she found him or how Spock came to Amanda? All Amanda said was that Spock came to her for help. How did Sarek know to follow Amanda?
I did not like how Ash and Pike were arguing though...
I am confused why Sarek would turn Spock in to section 31 (but as a human)... as a Vulcan, he would do so, because of the alleged crimes he commited... Section 31 is not as mysterious yet and not as nefarious...
(If Leland allegedly killed Burnham's parents, does that not mean Leland is the killer, and not Spock?)
During the scene with Leland, Burnham and Spock, I got the sense Leland wanted something nefarious.
When Burnham found the number was backwards, I thought, why couldn't Burnham have thought of that before?
The scene with Ash and Pike in the shuttle-craft as they were being attacked - I thought it looked like a giant virus... why would the probe be sent to the future 500yrs, back again to kill them
Saru's command of Discovery was amazing, how he praised the guy who figured out the 3 plasma bursts (Rhys)
I like how Stamets helped and gave Tilly a pep talk.
The future probe trying to determine about the shuttle craft and the Discovery...
The choreography with Georgiou and Burnham was AMAZING! I alughed out loud. They did their own stunts? I expect so.
Was Airium infected by something?
When Georgiou reacted as she shot Burnham...
It's good that Pike and Ash patched things up.
That camera shot "Fight for the future" and ended up on Airium...
What is at Talos 4? *gasp*
In the preview I saw those OCTOBOTIC things attacking Earth...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Quote:[lets biologically modify all the Kelpians at once, inducing horrible pain, hopefully not killing them, and overturning the balance of two species which will inevitably end up with conflict]

Devil's advocate:

I am not saying you are wrong, but the Ba'ul falsely accused of the Discovery/Federation of kidnapping Saru! The moment Ba'ul threatened Discovery/Pike, it became a Federation matter. Saru had curious instincts to explore the stars. Again, I am not defending why PD was slightly washed over, but Saru was effectively an asylum seeker on Starfleet.
1. Saru had a personal stake on this, he has a sister on the planet
2. The Red Angel is reported to have been sighted there, a Discovery mission
3. The Ba'ul (we learn now) lied about the Great Balance and is effectively oppressing the Kelpiens (apologies for previously spelling it with an a) because they were prey to the evolved Kelpiens.
4. Yes, the Kelpiens have seen warp technology, albeit very rare and occasionally.

So yes, the PD should have been explored more, but they did explain WHY they did what they did. It is not like the species were totally unknown to them and completely pre-warp. Saru was basically an ambassador and yes they did not ask for their permission to have their biology changed, but they just accelerated puberty, as it were.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.