Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 40 (Showing 26-40)

◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 3:09am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

Ok so here is the thing that is truly bothersome about how the whole abortion debacle. If Roslin or Adama are so worried about the human population dwindling, then maybe they should fucking stop executing people left and right.

Or being so cavalier about human beings they are willing to sacrifice at every turn for "the greater good".

Their pro life attitude is inconsistent and hypocritical because if logic necessitates that they have to rethink the way they do things in this apocalyptic world, then maybe that should apply to their "legal" system and how they dispense punishment as well. Maybe consider abolishing the death penalty.

But no, we cant have that because then that would limit Adama and Roslin from being able to exercise their particular brand of justice as they deem necessary. I find it astonishing that the issue is not even looked at from this angle. The connection is nowhere drawn. Not even in later episodes where they put their own loyal crew members in front of a firing squad.

Certainly if life matters, then the rationale should go both ways.

So why go after abortion?

Because it is an easier target.

No one is gonna argue about the BEBES. The cute little innocent ones. And hey, what's denying a woman the right to her body if you need her to give up that autonomy so she can serve as a breeding machine for the dying human race. I mean isnt that why she is a woman? So she can birth out?
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 2:40am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Sacrifice

Dualla and Lee absolutely dont make sense. Their relationship is not believable to me. No relationship or connection of any kind has been established between them. It just came out of nowhere. She doesnt seem to be his type. She is too mousy and boring. It looks like something the writers decided on last minute or something. I mean what does their relationship consist of so far? A couple of rounds in the gym wrestling.

Billy is so sadly pathetic. It's like this relationship is all in his head and he's just wandering around clueless. I dont think Dualla deceived him. It is more that she simply does not reciprocate those feelings for Billy, so Billy feels betrayed. But I dont know that it is. She never lied to him. It seems like she was just seeing him on and off and he turned it into something more serious without her being in it with him. As I said, It seems more like a one sided thing where he imagines the relationship to be something it actually isnt.

Anyway, to then have him later take a bullet for her was the final straw in terms of pathetic. Why would he do such a stupid thing? Do people really think DYING for someone else, especially someone who doesnt give a shit about you, is romantic? Or kind of endearing? This was almost clichee. The writers are better than that. And then she gets over him in like 2 seconds. Poor Billy. He just might be the one of the most tragic characters on the show.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Tue, Aug 29, 2017, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

Do you really think that men who do that to someone are decent human beings in any shape or form and thus in other parts of their lives? Do you think they treat the women in their lives - mothers, sisters, daughters, wives, girlfriends - any better? There are plenty of men who are under pressure, have seen terrible things and who still dont go engage in this heinous act, assaulting and violating a woman. The men of the Paegasus arent good guys gone bad because of bad circumstances. These are men looking for an excuse to rape and dehumanizing the enemy so you can do that sort of you cant legally do with women in your own society, is the method they employ. In other words, she is a cylon is an excuse. I believe salve owners used the same justification when they raped their black slaves.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Tue, Aug 29, 2017, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

@Jason: well it's a good you arent trying to justify rape. LOL

Anyway, I am not sure what the point of your response is. To make me "understand" why those men made a sport out of raping the cylon who, as I said above, looks and feels exactly like a human? What exactly about my comment are you criticizing? Are you saying I am mistaken? I should give those men and rapists in general the benefit of the doubt and "understand" it? Like understand how conquerors raped natives? How slave owners raped slaves? Again, not sure about the point of your post.

But for the record, no I dont appreciate the nuances of rapists. Rape is about power above all. Sure, it does involve a sexual act, but men dont just rape to have an orgasm. It is the power they get to exercise. I cant believe I actually have to point this out. The men in this story here took a sadistic pleasure in exerting that power onto a cylon and I bet the rush was doubly empowering for them knowing they are disparaging an enemy. But even in war there are rules and just casue you are upset at the "enemy" doesnt make it understandable for you to go out there and torture and gangrape their women and daughters. And doing so doesnt make you a good guy gone bad or your actions more understandable.

There are no shades of grey when it comes to rape. These men dehumanized the cylon much the same way soldiers used to do in Vietnam when they raped villages in their homes or what some soldiers have done in Iraq and Afghanistan. They attacked us, whoever "they" may be, so let's rape the shit out of them, they are all the time.

Again, not really sure about the point of your comment. Are you trying to correct me in some way? Make a case for rape under special circumstances? Make me understand these men? I dont get it, sorry.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 11:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

I cant get my head around these men just so casually talking about raping someone. That entire scene in the locker room or bar or whatever just gave me chills and was repulsive. I cant imagine being a woman and standing in that crowd and listening to them talk about raping someone like they were talking about grabbing a beer after the shift.

I cant discern whether this is just them being how they are , or if they are so casual about it because in this case the entity they were raping is a cylon. Both options are pretty appalling. The first one for obvious reasons and the second one because it almost feels like the only thing stopping these guys from rape is that it is illegal but since it is legal with the cylon, they do it and brag about it. It is very disturbing.

Maybe I could understand why they impose themselves on her if she actually did look like a robot or one of those blow up fuck me sex dolls, but she doesnt. For all intent and purposes and as far as these guys are concerned, the skin jobs are as human as it gets. They dont look like machine, they dont feel like machines, they dont talk like machines. So having sex with one of them is no different than having sex with a "human." So how do they do it? How do they just turn off whatever makes them not rape human women and rape the cylon?

Maybe I dont wanna know the answer.

And about Sharon pulling the blanket over her head being improvised. I figured that when I watched it. It was very intuitive, not like something you script. Watching that entire scene I was cringing and the first thing that came to my mind after Sharon got off the table pulling her pants up was the massive amount of fear but also shame she must have felt. I thought to myself "man, I would wanna crawl in a hole and disappear" and wham, Sharon pulls the blanket over her head to do just that. It was awesome. Park really lived the character at that moment. Her reaction was...very human.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

The ending was sappy, sentimental and absurd and it just pissed me off.

There was way too much sentimentality going around. People giving each other significant looks across the room. Everyone has a smile on their faces, everyone loves everyone, everyone is soft-spoken and gentle to each other, hugging and caressing, being giving and generous. Taking long walks, being romantic and loving and blah blah fart. Good grief. It's like they got mass sedated entering Earth's atmosphere or something. Not believable.

And if was absurd because these people think it clever to abandon not only their technology on this primitive planet but also each other to wonder off and live desolate, isolated lives at the ass end of the world. Yeah sure, Adama just goes off by himself. A 70+ year old man, bitterly alone, building a cabin. How does he build it? He is only one man. He is old. He has no technology. Fuck, he doesnt even have any tools. I think his cavemen neighbor may be better equipped.

And why would he want to do that anyway? Why would he be ok with spending the rest of his life alone and not even be with his son? What was the utility or even wisdom in that?

The answer is, there wasnt. It just made for a melodramatic, sappy and sentimental ending. But it didnt make a lick of sense.

And then Tyrol just grabbing his backpack and wondering off in the Savannah to go find a home in what...current day Scotland? Greenland? The Kilimanjaro?

And what about the kid he had with his wife (who was a total bitch btw)? Sure he isnt the biological father but he ws there since say one and believed he was. What has changed? he just stopped loving him?

Anyway, him wondering off like that, it reminded me of that scene in National Lampoon's Vacation when the Griswold's are stranded in the desert and Clark says "im gonna go see if i can find a gas station, honey" in the middle of nowhere. And from afar you see these two tribal members sitting on their horses with one of them saying "what an asshole".

Indeed. That is pretty much exactly how i felt when Tyrol said he was gonna go somewhere nordic to basically die alone.

The same goes for all of them. As the reviewer says, technology was never their problem, human nature was. Being horrible to each other was.

How are these people better off being scattered around the globe? What are they gonna do on this rock where they are stuck with nothing but a bunch of cavemen? What if they need medical attention? Are they gonna go ask Joe Neanderthal?

Humans are always stronger in communities. We are social creatures and we are always better cooperating and working together and building strong ties.

Isolation and the following loneliness are very damaging and potent. It may seem all cool and romantic at first, the idea of the rugged individual setting out to make it. Or to scream, as Lee did, that you wanna "GO EXPLORE" and "CLIMB MOUNTAINS WOOO HOOO". But wtf man, you dont have a rope, you dont have the equipment. What if you get injured? Bitten? Stung? Eaten? Break your bones? Your shoes fall apart?

And Baltar and Caprica. Let's for one moment forget Caprica's complete 180 from OH I LOVE YOU GAIUS. to OH I LOVE YOU SAUL. to again OH I LOVE YOU GAIUS behavior (amazing how quickly she forgot that freak Saul). But seriously? In Baltar you got a brilliant mind who is now gonna spend the rest of his days with his supermodel wife growing crops? And then what? What happens after 6 months or a year or 5? All alone, in a cabin growing shit?

Helo and Sharon go built a hut and live happily ever after with their daughter? Well, who did Hera end up with to be mitochondrial eve? One of the caveman?

See, these people going back to Earth from that advanced civilization they had on the 12 colonies is like us going back in time 150,000 years. it is not gonna work. You wont last a second without medical care, vaccine, sanitation etc. The fact that all these realistic aspects were completely glossed over in favor of delivering an emotionally driven and sentimental ending that has people holding hands and sobbing pretending they werent just a few months ago executing and killing one another really did a lot of damage to the credibility of the show. And not just that, but it rendered all the darkness that preceded it empty and pointless.

And really ,what makes them think this time around with the centurions it is going to be any different than what they had before? So way to destroy your last chance of ever getting out of here and getting yourself stranded on a planet with a bunch of proto-humans who are a few generations away from walking with their knuckles.

Anyway, it was so all so ridiculous. Too sappy and sentimental. Rather disappointing.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

@Michael: I agree with your first point. I never said this was a bad show. I love this show. And the fact that it can polarize people and create strong emotions and make you think about the harder questions is fantastic. But that still doesnt change the things I described above.

About your second point: the key is consistency. I understand that matters of national security are always used by the state to justify curtailing freedoms and bypassing the democratic process. It is the age old cry of the oppressor. I get it.

But if that is the case, then all Adama and Rolsin had to do was make that very clear, declare martial law from the beginning and not bother with the Quorum of 12 and pretense at democracy altogether. But they didnt. They gave people the impression that they had a say, that their concerns mattered but then went behind their backs and repeatedly applied laws and rules selectively and when it personally suited them and their agenda. Cylons are forgiven for annihilating tens of billions of people but Gaeta and Zarek are put in front of a firing squad without hesitation for essentially not being ok with this arrangement.

Roslin and Adama are the reason the situation escalated as it did. They refused to hear peoples' concerns, they refused to listen and so people got desperate. When you deal with insurgents and unrest, the goal should always be containment, not radicalization.

Even in war time and under such extraordinary circumstances as the BSG finds itself, the reality is that you still have a populace to deal with - be it 10,000 people, 50,000 or 5 million. And if you are just brutal with them and rule with a strong hand of a tyrant, they burn out. But you need them - you need their support, you need their man power, their efforts, their good faith and so they dont start mutinies. All those things, in turn, help create a strong, united front against the enemy. As they say, a house divided against itself cannot stand.

I think Adam and Roslin have done a lousy job. The only person who even remotely made an attempt at genuine containment and inclusion and brought some integrity to the system was Lee.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Someone to Watch Over Me

LOL @ Adama wanting to keep Boomer in the brig because she shot him. I mean he is forgiving all the other cylons who murdered tens of billions of humans but Boomer, she has to stand trial and pay for what she did. Utterly ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

...oh and Zarek. I actually always liked him. Never believed him to be out of line or unreasonable. Or power hungry and all the things that bitch Roslin accuses him of. In fact, they would insult him to his face many times and he'd take it. Always polite, classy. But no, na ah. He was considered a terrorist to never be trusted. Adama couldnt even stomach the idea of him in charge. for a few weeks. But he had no problem making a tight alliance with a bunch of genocidal murdering cylons. Zarek maybe got a few people killed - UNFORGIVABLE. Cylons commit genocide and nearly annihilate the human race: they become allies.

And by the way, how do these fools make an alliance with the cylons and take them all the way to Earth? Hadnt they done that after the first war where they left for 40 years and then came back? What makes these idiots think they wont do it again? And why bring them with you to the safe haven you were seeking after they destroyed your world? And then murdering your own few remaining human beings for this ill conceived alliance? Good grief...
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

@Hourglass: I competently agree. If there is one thing I got out of watching Battlestar Galactica then it is that humanity is not worth saving. Episode after episode you see these people do horrible things to each other. In fact, they spend more time murdering each other than going after the actual enemy, the cylons, that by the end of the show you just find yourself rooting for the cylons. Just a few examples:

- The apparently super duper popular captain Adama once threatens to execute his officer's wife because he is leading a strike for improved working conditions of a peoples who have been working the refinery since day one and are not allowed respite unless they want a bullet in their heads.

- A group of vigilantes get together every day and votes on who they think committed treason and then they pick that person up and throw him out of an airlock. They do that with over a dozen people and when Adama and the president find out, they do absolutely nothing about it. I mean here you got about half a dozen officers and crew members, one of whom is the CO and second command, execute people based on their own private tribunal and the so called honorable leaders dont to anything about it? It was mind boggling.

- They torture, abuse and then wanna execute Baltar alleging that he collaborated with the enemy. In reality, the man was nothing more than the leader of a puppet government controlled by the cylons. He had no say over what they did to Caprica Two. The cylons, literally, put a gun to his head and said they would pull the trigger if he didnt follow orders. But Adama and the president refuse to see that. They spend episode after episode joking about how much more they would love to see Baltar suffer and how they can come up with a quick (kangaroo) trial and verdict to send him out of the airlock asap.

- The rule of law is only selectively applied, if it is applied at all. See Baltar's sham of a trial. Lee made the best speech when he pointed out it was a trial based on emotion and conjecture. As Adama himself said, he didnt even think Baltar deserved a trial. Adama is actually the quintessential authoritarian shitlord. At best a "benevolent" tyrant but a tyrant no less. If you recall at one point he just wanted to put an end to the trial altogether cause he didnt like the way Lee was questioning his girlfriend.

It is like for these people the rule of law and such are just inconveniences they are willing to tolerate as long as it produces the results they want. But it is at their discretion and they reserve the right to bypass it , and the democratic process altogether, if it suits them. Roslin often doesnt even want to address the other civilian leaders and rolls her eyes, like they were this nuisance. She is annoyed that she has to keep justifying her actions to the people under her.

- When Roslin was on the cylon ship held hostage, Adama just refused to acknowledge the legitimacy of Zarek as the VP. He just refused and then put his fucking son in charge and appointed him president. Again, straight from the authoritarian's rule book. Nepotism. Put your family members in charge of top government positions. And everyone was supposed to find THAT acceptable?

It goes on and on. You got one irredeemable worthless, morally bankrupt character after another; you see what they do to the few loyal cylons who, for all intent and purposes, are sentient beings (rape for fun, torture, murder, give them forced abortions...) and you are appalled.

On the one hand they outlaw abortion cause there are so few humans left, on the other hand their punishment for nearly every crime is execution. Seriously, almost every transgression is punished by death.

Halfway through you realize that as much as these people have made the cylons into this big bad thing that is ruining their humanity, in reality they are doing it to themselves, which, ultimately, begs the question as to why humanity is worth saving in the first place. If anything someone should warn Earth they're coming.

The only two decent characters on the show are Sharon and Carl. But by and large you kinda lose all sympathy for the rest of these garbage nightmares of people and their "cause" and actually end up rooting for the cylons,..
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 7:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

Did I mention how much I fucking hate Starbuck? They should have kept that bitch dead...she is annoying as hell, unpleasant, unlikable and a real jerk.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

Dualla's scenes were all nicely done and the suicide scene was amazing in a sad and tragic way. She wanted to close the chapter on a high note, after having spent a wonderful and fun evening with Lee, her love. She was holding on to that feeling in the locker room for as long as she could, humming her song, carefully putting away her wedding ring, taking one last glance at her picture as a child. There was no regret or fear in her voice. She was completely in the moment, full of clarity.

And then she ended it. No agony, no crying, no misery. No flinching or contemplating, just do it while the good feeling lasts and before the fear and panic and loss of hope appear again the way they had back on that awful planet and at the sad realization that the promised land that they had sacrificed so much for was a scorched apocalyptic wasteland.

And she played it superbly too. You could, literally, see the exact moment she decided to end her life. It was in the cockpit of the shuttle as they flew back to Galactica. She kept telling herself that it will be ok, again and again, with Helo comforting her and after a few seconds of whispering "it's gonna be ok, you gonna be ok " to herself, she then stopped. Suddenly her face stopped being all tensed up, she relaxed, her frown disappeared, her eyes stopped moving frantically as relief washed all over her. The kind of relief you feel when you know you have found the solution to a terrible ordeal, where you realize that this solution will finally put an end to the agony and pain. That you dont HAVE to deal with it anymore, that there is a way out.

I think that is when she decided to end it. And once she had made that decision and resigned herself to this fact, she could suddenly open up again and try to enjoy whatever time she had left and end it on a high note. Leave the party when you have the most fun. It was a brilliantly played coda.
Set Bookmark
Ellen McGowen
Sat, May 7, 2016, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

There is one little problem with this episode: the biochemistry is bogus in a very elementary way.

The virus is silicon-based; it needs silicon compounds to grow. There is no silicon in human bodies. So how could it grow in us?

I could imagine it infecting windows, wine glasses, ceramics, silicon based electronics (if such electronics are still in use in the mid 22nd century)... but not humans or animals from Earth.

Otherwise, it's an ok episode.
Set Bookmark
Ellen
Sun, Aug 24, 2014, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

You know, looking at the Voyager reviews on here and the comments to those reviews it is apparent that you people just *dont* *like* *Voyager*. There are a lot of people on here who right out think the show took an entirely wrong direction and therefore is supposedly not as interesting or deep or sophisticated as TNG or DS9. If that is your sentiment, then I am not surprised that every review on here is just anther way for you people to bash Voyager altogether and show how, based on each episode, this is just a crappy show in your opinions. Knowing this about you, does not make reading the reviews interesting as these are no longer reviews by basically a summary of why it is apparent, once more, what terrible show Voyager is.
Set Bookmark
Kellen
Fri, Aug 8, 2014, 2:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

I've got little to say, except I think that Klingons would parent using the "spare the rod, spoil the child" method. Normally I'm not big on violence, especially directed at kids. However, I always find myself wishing Worf would knock Alexander on his ass when I watch this episode. Sure, it wouldn't be very therapeutic... And generally frowned upon by the crew of the Enterprise. But come on... Worf would totally knock a bratty kid around a little bit. Maybe there's no honor in physically disciplining a juvenile Klingon. I don't know.
◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.