Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 800 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

I got the feeling that the captain may be a hologram too or that's not the real him in some way, so am interested to see if that's the case.

Hoping that things get more interesting on the cube, they always felt like a chamber of horrors and giger-esque in the past but so far not feeling the danger yet.

Narek and his sister are the weakest part of the show so far, they don't appear to be particularly cunning. Ok ep though and nice to see a little green blood and of course, seven.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Thu, Feb 13, 2020, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

This was the best episode since the first for me, which surprised me a bit - the trailers made this one look a lot more questionable than it was. Loved seeing more of Romulan culture and having more filled in about what exactly happened with the resettlement efforts, and Elnor is a lot less cringey than I feared - he actually felt compelling. Continuing to enjoy the new characters. Also loved the appearance of the TOS-era BOP, which seems perfect for the sort of repurposing of old military tech you'd see in a semi-abandoned part of an old empire.

Literally only have two problems: incest plot with the Romulan siblings seems a bit too "look how shocking we can be!" Honestly feels hoary and like something from a worse show. Other issue is that we only have six episodes left this season, and things still feel like they're just ramping up. Otherwise, very much enjoyed this one.

3-3.5/4
Set Bookmark
Lodged Torpedo
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 7:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Just playing Data’s advocate here, but couldn’t Admiral Jarok’s statement from TNG’s “The Defector” about Romulan cyberneticists who would have loved to get their hands on Data also mean they would have loved to get their hands on him to disconnect or destroy him?
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Picard makes Discovery look like The Sopranos.

Folks, "no record of any incoming or outgoing calls; the information is there, but the indexes have been surgically deleted." My brain almost fell out of it's skull during the opening forensic sequence.

An actual clue tucked inside a false clue. Ghosts in the machine. "I'm saying this transmission.. came from off-world." Cut to Picard sh*tting in his diapers.

I actually stopped the episode and popped in "Measure of a Man" and almost wept at the beauty of it. The look Data shoots Maddox as he crosses the bridge for the first time. Guinan's history lesson in ten forward. A whole generation of disposable people. This episode is a testament to how underrated Season 2 is.

The age of the TNG cast just does not work. I am going to have nightmares of Data with his dumpy butt standing next to an easel for a very long time.

This is "All Good Things" on a $20 million budget and twenty years too late. Picard is in full puzzle-solving mode, which made for some of the worst episodes. There's no ship to tie it altogether. He's lost everything, he's a relic, he wants to find Data and bring honor back to Star Fleet. Good Lord. You can just tell they are going to trot out every TNG character with a pulse as the show continues, and the send-off is going to be some kind of grand reunion of the original crew. Perhaps Deanna emerges from deep Tal Shiar undercover.
Set Bookmark
Lodged Torpedo
Thu, Jan 30, 2020, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

F-8, or rather, Fate. This amazing show should have been called Destiny 🖖
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Tue, Jan 28, 2020, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

This discussion shows that it's easy to get caught up in the utopia as a given but not really consider the hard work and principled stances all the show's captains had to take to make it a utopia. Someone mentioned Star Trek VI above - an excellent example of Kirk *overcoming* his bias towards Klingons. The work Kirk takes to get over his human bigotry can inspire people in our time who might be in Kirk's shoes right now. If Kirk just started out as an "I love all and accept all aliens" type of character because he lives in a utopia, there'd be no Trek message left to give.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

A nice start on first watch and good to see positive comments above, I must admit the Picard day banner was lovely :). The theme whilst not overly memorable is probably reflective of Picard's stage in life so it's possibly better being on the subtle end of the spectrum I guess. Initial thoughts, it's a shame Dahj went so soon, Data was fine and sad b4 didn't make it in a way but also happy with why he didn't. I like the fact that they reference Maddox and are referencing TNG elements in a seemingly useful way. The big reveal would have been more effective without trailer spoilers ideally, but that's the way of things these days. Looking forward to the next episode.
Set Bookmark
Pedant
Thu, Jan 16, 2020, 7:29am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Contrary to popular belief, there's no such thing as the Star Wars Christmas Special. It was the Star Wars Holiday Special, and the holiday in reference was Thanksgiving.
Set Bookmark
Harmen Breedeveld
Sun, Jan 12, 2020, 9:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

M, in response to your point,

I get what you say, I have been myself in a dark time in my life.

But we live in 2020. This episode is from 1997, I think.

Much has changed in the West concerning treatment of mental trauma in these 23 years, and for the better.

Depression, PTSD, men showing emotions, it has all become a bit less of a taboo.

We are not there yet. But we have come some way in 23 years.

I hope that if someone watches this episode in 2043, he or she will wonder why Neelix was left to figure this out all by himself, instead of having received the standard support programs.

On a personal note, warm greetings and a warm hug from the Netherlands. Respect and my compassion for what you have experienced.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Thu, Dec 12, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Boothby channelling his inner Mick from Rocky?
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sun, Oct 27, 2019, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Just watched this episode for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was surprised at the identity of the saboteur, too. All that said, all of Jammer's critiques are valid. This isn't great drama and has a lot of holes. But I did have a good time with it all the same.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Edwards
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

An ambitious misfire, this film is the closest to Gene Roddenberry’s vision but also one of the more boring entries in the series. The film desperately wants to be the Star Trek version of 2001: A Space Odyssey, but ends up feeling lost and ponderous. Skipping it wouldn’t hurt your viewing experience, but if you like ambitious and existential sci-fi you might find some enjoyment here.
Set Bookmark
Eddie
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Lesbian Kiss: Let's be honest, it's a ratings grab. This is a business and they're in it for the money. They don't care about you they just want your eyes on the screen and cash in their pockets. Let's not be naive; this is not about some social movement. It's about profit. They were just as glad when people who hated homosexuals watched in outrage and never changed their minds. As a wise man once said, "Dolla Dolla."

Terry Farrell: Her acting was, to put it politely, not up to the task. Maybe the writers are also to blame but she simply couldn't carry her scenes, especially at the end. Her opposite did great but that only makes Farrell's poor performance more pronounced.

Writing: Speaking of the writers, they certainly phoned this one in. The whole "taboo" thing is obviously contrived. Especially when the punishment is essentially the death penalty and not just re-assignment to a different location. Jesus, Trill society is apparently now on par with Saudi Arabia or something.

So far, this only makes a bad episode. That's not really too big a deal; every series has it's share of weaker episodes and that's certainly no reason to go nuts. But there's a much larger problem here.

Jadzia Dax: In the episode "Dax" it is established that when a Trill joins with their host a new personality is formed. While the personality has memories of the host and the Trill it is still considered a new, unique person that is, in effect, neither the host nor the Trill. In this episode, it is explicitly shown that the Trill's personality still exists and exerts massive influence. We now have a contradiction.

This is a serious problem that only a couple people here have taken note of. I no longer know what Jadzia Dax is, how they think, or even who they really are. If I don't know them I can't relate to them. And they're no minor character in DS9. Imagine if you couldn't relate to Spock or McCoy. If you couldn't understand Riker or Data. At this point the problem extends beyond just one bad episode and the entire series is put in jeopardy. Honestly, for me, it never fully recovers. You can't just throw a lead character into the blender like this and not suffer any consequences.

In a way, this is exactly how things work today. Corporations or Governments (what's the difference am I right?) go on about how they love LGBT folks and use that as a smokescreen to hide their deep, far-reaching flaws. A spokesman virtue signals on TV and while everyone's talking about how good that makes them feel companies assemble their products with slave labor in China and bureaucrats erode our freedoms. You know what? I take it all back. The production of this episode is a perfect unintended analogy for modern times. You can't hide bad writing and terrible character development with chicks kissing. 10/10.
Set Bookmark
Eddie
Thu, Oct 17, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

I think DS9 suffers from some seriously lazy writing. I understand the Bajorans seeing the Prophets in religious terms. If some incorporeal alien that could tell me the future showed up I'd probably think they were God, too. But the Starfleet crew (especially Sisko) shouldn't be feeling this religious awe that the writers are so desperately trying to force.

Starfleet has tons of experience with incorporeal lifeforms, energy beings, etc... all the way back to TOS. And beings that can tell us the future or are weird about time? Tons of those on record, too. Remember that guy Q? He's been around and well documented for years at this point. Sisko talked shit to him and punched him! Now I'm not saying Sisko and crew should ignore the Prophets. If someone is trying to relay future intel to you, even if it's heavily couched in metaphor, you wouldn't just ignore it. But the sense of religious awe is completely misplaced.

No Starfleet officer would give this subject matter a second thought in religious or spiritual terms; everyone's used to various intangible time-aliens by now. This is all probably required first-year reading at the Academy or whatever. The idea that anyone other than Bajoran civilians would have this wide-eyed look of mysticism on their face as they wonder to themselves "Maybe they really are divine?" is absurd. It all seems forced and that's not a good way to develop characters.
Set Bookmark
Eddie
Tue, Oct 8, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

I like the idea of the Federation being forced into morally ambiguous situations. That's why I don't like this episode. There was no ambiguity at all. The writers tried to pretend like there was, which only makes it frustrating, but there wasn't.

FEDERATION: Those planets are in disputed territory. Cardassians live there, too. No one knows who will own them. We don't recommend going there; they could legally become part of the Cardassian Empire. You have freedom of movement though, so we won't stop you.
MAQUIS: We're going there anyway!
FEDERATION: Ok, they're part of Cardassia now, like we warned before. That's not too good, but we can help you leave anytime you want.
MAQUIS: We're not gonna leave!
FEDERATION: Ok, like, you know we can't send our police over there or anything, right? That territory is part of a foreign country now; we can't apply our laws and courts and whatever there.
*Cardassia does what Cardassia always does*
MAQUIS: The Federation is a jerk!

Sorry, but I call complete BS. The Maquis knew the risks and took their chances. They don't get to force the entire Federation's hand (to break their own laws, violate a treat, and start a war) based on their whims. Colonists now dictate how the Federation negotiates treaties? The entire premise is almost childish. And of course, when Sisko explains this to Kira she has to scream and yell and make it all about her even though this political situation is nothing at all like the Occupation. Seriously, if an officer can't keep a lid on their emotions during a crisis they need to be dismissed.
Set Bookmark
Eddie
Sun, Oct 6, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

This episode is primarily about the rights of citizens verses refugees. Can refugees make a claim on land in a foreign Nation-State? This can get emotionally charged, so I suggest preforming this simple thought experiment. Pretend that several hundred thousand poor white people from Appalachia suddenly demand that Japan give them land to use as their own. They have no claim on the land, none of their ancestors ever lived there, and Japan never did anything to harm them; they just sail over one day and say "Give us land or you're hateful because we're broke and your country is wealthy."

Be honest, you would think they were entitled beyond words, probably racist, or even outright insane. And that's without perfectly fine land being offered to them from somewhere else.
Set Bookmark
Captain EddieD
Mon, Aug 5, 2019, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Been watching this with jet lag and I keep falling asleep, and have now seen the first two acts like 30 times. And I still love it!
Set Bookmark
Hatted
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

I never liked this episode and I liked it less after listened to an interview with the screenwriter as part of the podcast The Trek Files. He describes Patrick Stewart being a jerk to him at the table read for "The Icarus Factor" and writing this episode to get revenge on him... which is a bit odd, considering that Picard actually has a pretty interesting part here. He also pats himself on the back for showing how "autistic people aren't stupid." (!?!?!)
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Fifty-first now. ;-)
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 3:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This is like the 10th time that Red Letter Media review has been linked on this site...today.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Face of the Enemy

great to find the entire series on Dailymotion
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

they served their purpose
Set Bookmark
Amazed
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 4:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

This episode is incredible! In fact, it’s the reason I started watching Star Trek at all. It was randomly on one night and I got hooked. Before that I looked down on sci-fi. Great action, characterization and an awesome WW2 setting. And sevens gorgeous singing voice. Hands down 10 out of 10!
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

a closing episode that sets up the rest of the way
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

love how 24 discussion overtook this with some hatorade for Brannon Braga
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.