Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 78 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 8:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Ugh, why does it seem like every sci-fi show inevitably plays sexual assault for laughs? This reminded me a lot of Lucious from Stargate Atlantis and that’s not a good thing. Look, this guy didn’t “accidentally” touch anyone (except Yaffit). And he certainly didn’t have problems taking advantage of the situation - which he knew nobody was aware of except him. He even fesses up to Alara. This is just gross.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 11:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Unless you count the "glory hole" :p
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 9:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

I agree with Karl. On another note, the Orville has been renewed for season two :)
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Karl

I agree that that's what they're doing. I caught that reference to time crystals too.

My problem with the way they're going about it is that they're being way too superficial about it. Time crystals have nothing to do with manipulating time. Mycelial networks have nothing to do with travel. I wish they would be a bit more clever about it.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Yeah I didn't understand why they would let him go with knowledge of the spore drive
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 8:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Omg. I actually enjoyed this episode...

Stamits... is a likeable character!

Wtf? There was a massive tonal shift here. I guess it did help that I got to see these assholes get killed over and over again haha. Sorry couldn't resist.

4 stars discovery. Keep it up
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 6:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Canon is just another word for continuity, just generally applied to a large body of work. Continuity is one of the most basic requirements of good storytelling. Without it anything that happens in the story is meaningless, because in the next scene or the next episode or the next season it could be completely contradicted and all of the consequences or implications of what happened are erased. Why bother watch the show if its all the seemingly consequential events are just going to be ignored by the people making it. To ignore continuity is lazy, and bad storytelling. It means you weren't creative enough to tell your story in a way that makes sense. If you want to call something "Star Trek" or "Star Wars" or "Stargate" or whatever, that means you want to embrace the universe that was established in that work. Otherwise calling it that doesn't actually mean anything.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

For me this was one of the few episodes of Enterprise that actually had any drama in it, because I was genuinely worried they were going to kill off Porthos. And Porthos was the only “character” on the ship that I actually liked :p
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 2:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Having thought about it some more there are some other significant differences from nosedive. In this the downvotes are permanent and can never go away which has some harsh repercussions. In nosedive it was basically social shame combined with a bad credit rating but you could in principle recover from it.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 1:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

@Dav

Are you saying this episode was filmed over a year ago?!
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 8:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

The producers have implied on After Trek that the war will be over by season two so I'm a little bit more optimistic about that
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 6:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I was surprised by the cloaking device. that kind of opens a can of worms. Does this mean the Orville can cloak too? And if so why didn't they use it before? It could've come in handy rescuing the captain and first officer from the zoo. Or in their battles with the Krill.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 9:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

“Also what is with all the shipwide announcements on board Discovery? 'Ensign Rause report to shuttlebay' 'Commander Wilson, please report to the transporter room' 'Lieutenant Varda(?) requesting your assistance in engineering' etc. Why is Discovery the only ship in the history of Starfleet to do that?”

Actually that happened several times on TOS so that’s one of the things I actually like.

Also, as discussed previously, there are legit theoretical ideas in physics about how to travel FTL. What you’re saying about relativity is true, but these concepts don’t involve traveling faster than light in the local reference frame so they don’t violate relativity.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 9:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Good episode. Idea is essentially the same as an episode of Black Mirror, although the criminal side of it is an interesting twist. Also has parallels with TNGs “Who watches the watchers”
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 4:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

They established that the tardigrade was able to jump directly into the Glenn (it just appeared in their shroom closet with no hull or security breaches). If it could jump in why not jump out again?
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 12:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

The Alcubierre drive doesn't require negative mass specifically, just a negative energy density. Such conditions exist under certain circumstances such as in the Casimir effect.

I liked Saru until he abused the Tardigrade. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 6:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Konstantinos

Oh god nobody is asking for Neelix! He’s the opposite of likeable! All I want is someone who isn’t an amoral asshole, that doesn’t seem to much to ask lol.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@steven

Ds9 had a homosexual kiss
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 6:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Jason

Not everything has to be explained in science fiction, but when things that are important to the plot happen that contradict facts that have already been established by the same story then it’s bad storytelling and breaks the immersion.

The tardigrades claw was depicted as so powerful it could rip through the bulkheads of a starship. So much so they wanted to weaponize it. Yet somehow they’re able to keep this thing in captivity. That’s a contradiction.

The tardigrade was explained to have evolved to use the mycelial network to travel around the universe using just its own anatomy. Yet somehow they’re able to keep this thing in captivity. That’s a contradiction.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Nobody should be paying to see it yet. My free trial doesn't end until Nov 1st. Luckily for me I'll be moving to the UK soon after that so I can catch the rest on Netflix.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 12:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

I believe there was some overlap but it was already known for a long time that if space is expanded then objects can appear to move faster than light as this happens with the expansion of the universe
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@ben actually I'm a physicist and the Alcubierre "warp" drive that the warping space technobabble in TNG is based on is a perfectly valid solution to General Relativity. It may turn out to be impossible because it involves things like negative energy densities but there are examples of such conditions in nature so we don't actually know yet if it's possible or not.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 9:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Ben

I didn't say it was because she was prettier, it was more because she was the captain so in her mind the show should've been about her but then all the focus shifted to Seven. But I agree this is getting off topic so let's leave it lol
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 8:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

If sexism was what was bothering her then her attitude was misdirected at Jeri. By all accounts she was very petty and cruel to her. I think she's just using that as an excuse.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 8:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

The wardrobe decisions for Seven were sexist, however the character was one of the most well developed star trek characters there was. The introduction of Seven was a great change in Voyager imo. I always got the impression that Mulgrews attitude to Jeri Ryan was more because she was stealing the spotlight. Jeri say it that way. After all it was rather personal and Jeri can't be held responsible for the producers decisions
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.