Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 141 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Jan 29, 2012, 9:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

While I understand why this didn't get four stars, I still rank it as one of my favourite Voyager episodes.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Thu, Jan 19, 2012, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I think it's foolish to condemn this episode on technicalities. It's about medical ethics and it's an issue it explores extremely well. I'd give this 3 stars, easily.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Sep 25, 2011, 8:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: One

I assume they constructed them from replicated components and then recycled them back into energy once they had made the trip. Same argument for shuttles.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Sep 25, 2011, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I like this episode. Strange new world and strange new life form, there's something very 'classic Trek' about it.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Thu, Sep 22, 2011, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

This is not only one of the best episodes of Voyager, but also one of the best episodes of Trek, and hence one of the finest things television has ever produced. It's stunningly good. I watched it again last night, and I have to say I'm surprised Jammer didn't mention this exchange:

EMH: B'Elanna Torres. Intelligent, beautiful and with a chip on her shoulder the size of the Horsehead Nebula. She also had a kind of vulnerability that made her quite endearing.
QUARREN: You miss her, and the others.
EMH: From my perspective I saw them all only a few days ago, but in fact, it's been centuries, and I'll never see them again. Did they ever reach home? I wonder.

This dialogue is *beautifully* delivered by Picardo, and actually brought me to tears. This alone makes it a classic, but the surrounding story is so impeccably done. This is a great episode.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Aug 7, 2011, 7:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

Watched this last night and laughed the whole way through. Yes, Jammer, it's FUN. It's fun! All of your reviews for Voyager seem to revolve around the fact that it's not the show you wanted it to be. But I'm not sure that means you are judging the show on it's merits. Being 'fun' is actually a big plus sign in my book. No, it's not as quality as DS9. But it sure is fun. I like fun.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Aug 7, 2011, 7:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

But Star Trek has had a variety of rape analogies where the perpetrator has been guilty, so it's not awful to have one that deals with false memory, particularly as it relates to childhood abuse- that is to say, Seven HAS been raped, by the Borg and, possibly, again by Kovin. I also was in two minds about his guilt, which makes his death (hardly Voyager's direct responsibility, they did try to tell him to stop) slightly more palatable.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Jul 31, 2011, 9:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I immediately thought that Belanna deleted the message from Tom's father, so that she could give him the more hopeful message he needed to hear- was surprised Jammer didn't pick up on that also.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Jul 24, 2011, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

This episode is amazing. I liked it well enough the first time I saw it, but I totally bawled my eyes out rewatching it for the first time yesterday. Make no mistake: for an American television show this episode is *stunningly* bleak, even by today's standards. I don't think Neelix is 'fixed' by the end, I think he's barely hanging on, for Naomi's sake, and that's the whole point- that's all we have to hang on for. That's damned bleak, especially for Trek- this may be the darkest episode Voyager ever does, philosophically speaking.

I guess the reason Neelix's faith was never mentioned again was because he lost his faith in this episode.

As for the 'nanoprobe death cure', can we point to a subsequent death where this treatment would have been applicable?
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Jul 17, 2011, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I really liked this one, and I think the idea that the Voyager crew weren't aware of all the Mari laws actually was addressed- when Seven pointed out, quite rightly, that Voyager stumbles into new cultures with insufficient knowledge.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Sun, Jul 10, 2011, 8:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

I LOOOOVE this two-parter, one of my favourite Voyager episodes ever, primarily because of the Annorax character- probably one of Trek's most effective and sympathetic villains.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, Jul 6, 2011, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I quite liked it- it certainly doesn't deserve 1.5 stars, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, Jul 6, 2011, 1:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

Chakotay cracking up at the end of his scene with Harry is hilarious.

I suppose we could see this episode as the beginning of the 'holo-arc' that continues almost to the end of the series, in that it's the first time we see another 'sentient' holographic entity, and note the Doctor's reaction to them.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, Jul 6, 2011, 1:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

@mlk + tijn- I agreed with Philosopher-animal: I thought it was pretty clear from the episode that Chakotay was not seeing the Vori's true form- they probably looked no different than the Kradin, but convinced Chuckles they looked human so that he would sympathize with them- just as they manipulated Tuvok to look Kradin.

Decent episode, three stars seems about right.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Thu, Jun 30, 2011, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Perhaps it was non-digetic light? Or starlight, that can be pretty bright.

Either way- I like this episode!
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Jun 20, 2011, 12:43am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

I love this episode! It's fun, funny, and really pushes the 'family' theme. I laughed pretty much the whole way through.

The holodeck didn't 'malfunction', it executed it's program as designed. I thought it was a fresh take.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Mon, Jun 20, 2011, 12:31am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

I can forgive the 'coincidence' of Voyager encountering the Saurians because it wasn't coincidence- the Saurians sought them out, over great distances. Being annoyed at that is like marveling at the coincidence of a google search bringing up the thing you were looking for.

Anyway, rad ep.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Fri, Jun 17, 2011, 12:59am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Amazing episode- definitely one of the season's best, and a very fitting last swansong for the Kes character.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Thu, Jun 9, 2011, 10:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

Ha! Burn, Jammer.

Anyway, killing off Red Shirts is a Trek tradition and I always smile when I see it.

Great ep, good review. As for the Wolf 359 thing, er... transwarp corridor on the cube that got blowed up? The Queen was on that cube as well, after all.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Tue, May 31, 2011, 12:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

The only thing wrong with the fight scene was that they didn't start playing the Decapodian national anthem on top of it. Yes it would have been ridiculous and over the top, but at least it would have shown committment to the over-the-top ridiculousness the episode had already embarked on. Admit it, if they'd done that, this episode would have totally gone down in history as being totally megarad awesome.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, May 11, 2011, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I love the paradox in this episode (Futurama even re-used it with Bender's head), that is classic sci-fi, but Jammer is right, it's lacking in energy, particularly the weak cliffhanger.

I also see this episode as the answer to the question: "Why does Guinan see her relationship with Picard as 'beyond friendship, beyond family'?" which many fans consider un-answered.

I see it this way: When Guinan first met Picard, it was not the first time he had met her. Conversely, when Picard first met Guinan, it was not the first time she had met him. So their relationship really is *beyond* friendship and family- it's a recursive friendship that goes beyond linear time.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, May 11, 2011, 8:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Great review for an amazing episode. Even reading the review and just *remembering* the episode made me tear up.

Regarding the speed at which Picard recovers, I think you'd be surprised at how quickly you'd recover from such an experience. It'd be like waking up from a dream. I think Stewart plays the 'strangeness' of waking up from the experience extremely well.
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, May 11, 2011, 8:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

The floor thing is easily explained by the gravity coils in the deck plates of both the Enterprise and the shuttle. *spluh*
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, May 11, 2011, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

"If you're going to use this person..."
"It's not a person, damn it, it's a Borg!"
"If you are going to use this person to destroy his race, you should at least look him in the eye once before you do it. Because I am not sure he IS still a Borg."
Set Bookmark
Destructor
Wed, May 11, 2011, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

Love this episode! Almost every scene is a delight. Also it's nice to see the usual 'moral yardsticks' (Picard and Guinan) be the ones with hate in their hearts. Some real growth for both characters.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.