Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,109 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 7:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Booming

Making the "challenge the source" argument is silly. I just picked the two top articles that had the most material consolidated within.

It would and should have taken you two seconds to find this mentioned all over the place. Pedro doesn't dispute it either.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 6:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Booming

I should've proofread before I hit send, but it was actually a Instagram post he since deleted. (I don't use social media so I didn't recall which platform used to say it).

He deleted TWO posts on Insta apparently. (The second one includes a image that has been misappropriated and doesn't show what he alleges).

https://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2021/02/two-mandalorian-actors-posted-nazi-analogies-social-media-lucasfilm-fired-conservative-one/

He also made more than one Tweet of questionable merit:

https://boundingintocomics.com/2020/11/07/the-mandalorian-and-wonder-woman-actor-pedro-pascal-compares-donald-trump-voters-to-nazis/

ISide note: it's pretty amusing that a woke individual such as Pedro would be extolling the socialist virtues of the whitest countries on earth (all of which exploit North Sea oil for wealth while the US pays for their defense: freeing up that cash to pay for extra social goodies).

Care to rephrase your assessment of Pedro, Booming?

You think that's BETTER than Gina's statement?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Booming

Instead of putting in my words in my mouth (which was everything after the words "You mean if ..."

Let's not overthink things, just take my words at face value. No need to clutter it op.

If conservatives ran the social media zeitgeist and liberals were getting banned and fired for making analogies referencing Nazism on social media, how would you feel? Would that be okay?

Would it be ethically or morally just?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 9:27am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Booming

If you want to understand someone's fear, put yourself in their shoes. Or create a hypothetical where the current paradigm is reversed?

Would you be okay if these tactics were used against you? Would you like to be fired for simply posting the same analogy your co-workers made?

BTW, if you want to find Pedro's comments, you just need to Google " Pascal Republocan fucking Nazis ".

I'm supposed to believe there's NO bias in Disney's decisions?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 9:18am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

That was @ Cody B.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 9:17am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

I love reading the reviews as people work their way through Season 2.

You're in for a fun ride!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Feb 13, 2021, 11:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

Everyone has a way they unplug from reality with some kind of plain unadulterated fun.

We saw how Picard was when he was young and his friends knew him as Johnny. I can totally believe a bar-fighting young Picard mightt get hooked on such a thing.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Jammer

You've got a great point. It applies to everyone here, after all.

I doubt there's one user that agrees 100% of the time with ANY political party. INow that I think about it, I'm not even certain such a person exists .... anywhere.

It's sad that everything is just so stratified and toxic with politics nowadays because it IS an interesting subject. Humans trying different methods to solve social problems is fascinating, and it's doubly so when a new issue (cloning, AI rights, etc) comes up for debate.

Talking things out and compromising should be encouraged .(which, incidentally, is another point in your corner for leadership by example.)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 5:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Jammer

You just don't seem like a guy who neatly slots into some artificial political binary, if the fair-minded way you approach reviews from multiple angles is any indication.

@ Booming

It's ironic we're discussing cancel culture and you're still using terms ("crippled" , "the homosexuals") that would have you pushed out of Hollywood so fast your head would spin.

That's the thing, in Hollywood no one would care what your intent is or if there's actual malice in your heart. They'd blacklist you and toss you out with the trash, whether you mean well or not.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 11:12am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Yanks

I think this place is pretty unique and that uniqueness starts at the top.

Jammer's insightful commentary and tolerance is commendable in this day and age. I mean, I've read hundreds of thousands of words from the man and I still have no idea of his politics. He's also even-handed in his moderation. (News people could learn a thing or two from him).

And this kind of leading by example trickles down to the users.

I think the difference between this place and Twitter is we all see each other as people, not as avatars for political parties we love/hate. We can agree to disagree without campaigning to destroy our intellectual opponents.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 10:22am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

The fact remsins that Pablo Pascal made the same analogy two months ago and Pablo's included profanity. Her statement was more nuanced and less emotional than his version.

Two people, one analogy, two outcomes.

I also must object to this this notion that only goverments can censor. There's nothing in the definition of censorship that confines it to bureaucracies and historical usage of the word is not confined in such a manner.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 2:29am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

"Going overboard with practicing a freedom"?

I don't mean to pick on you because you agree with me on principle, just intellectual curiosity.

Who gets to decide how much of a freedom being expressed is "going overboard"?

IIt seems dangerous to start putting limitations on speech. Those in power can't be trusted to constrict speech such a power is inevitabky abused.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 9:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Cody and Yanks

I've never registered with a political party and I'm proud that my first vote was for Jesse Ventura, a shockingly effective outsider. Ask most Minnesotans about the job he did .... it doesn't matter the party affiliation, we all liked him.

Speaking as a guy who does his research and has no party loyalty, I'm incredibly disturbed by this Witch Hunt atmosphere permeating the air.

I thought about watching "The Drumhead" again after all the recent hubbub, but honestly, I watch entertainment to escape reality, not to remind me of it.

I also dread what will happen when the pendulum swings back the other way. Will we go back to the old paradigm or will vindictiveness rule the day?

A lot of people aren't thinking clearly, that's for sure.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 6:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

* with a current one?

Sorry for the typo.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 6:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

And frankly, Nazi is short for "National Socialism", which was how Germany functioned post-Weimar.

Why is it wrong to compare a historic political party advocating national socialism a current one?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 6:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I think it's hilarious when two people deliberately mischaractetize each other to score points. Neither of you are the partisans the other claims.

Isn't focusing on the conversation better served on by focusing on your arguments instead of on personalities?

As far as Gina getting fired, she made the exact same analogy her still-employed co-star did, the only difference being which political party they were talking about.

Why does he still have a job?

This is also the very same company defends not firing yet another employee (the host of the High Republic show) who has made openly hostile racist Tweets.

Let's call this what Iit is: absolutely demonstrable discrimination and open bias.... this is actual blacklisting.

She should be suing them right now for wrongful termination.

Personally, I don't ever want to see another celebrity pontificating on any subject if they're not speaking up now about this. If it was wrong to deny jobs to communists who sympathized with the Soviet Union, then how is this any different?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 7, 2021, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

^

I was hoping no one would point this out, simply because the resulting give-and-take will be tiresomely predictable.

Also, I wish there was a more universally accepted method about how to post spoilers. Booming did a better job than previously, but when one paragraph is directly next to another, it's still incredibly easy to inadvertently read something.

Wouldn't something like ....

WARNING SPOILER AHEAD
*
*
*
*
Then spoilery statements

.... be more apropos?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

This is slightly off topic (tangential anyways), but why don't these companies turn over their evidence to the police in harassment situations?

If they've found enough justification to fire someone and their behavior could be criminal, shouldn't they obligated to give that information to the authorities to determine what laws may have been broken?

There must bd a legal reason why they don't cooperate fully in such situations (protection from liability perhaps?). I'm sure a legal eagle here can tell me why.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

^

The current system works just fine.

We're all adults here, we don't need multiple people sanitizing the conversation. I think the world already has enough of that.
Set Bookmark
dave
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 1:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I have come here for, I cant believe this, TWENTY FIVE YEARS. Jesus, that is something.

So , yeah, get a Patreon Jammer. Ill sign up at the 5 dollar level without hesitation.

If the extra money helps you pay for a streaming service or take a day off work once in a while to do some watching and reviews, I am all for it.

Or, even just a thank you for 25 years of a place to go whenever I run through some Trek or see a new series, its worth it.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 11:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

My only concern about a lot of alterations is it might take away from what makes this place special, but then again, Jammer and the users are really the reason this website shines and that wouldn't change.

Since everyone is openly dreaming, I'd love for a space to cover famous genre films.

I just KNOW Jammer's review of 2001: A Space Odyssey would trigger a shitstorm. 🤣
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

@ William B

Stick with it. You're getting closer to the "grow a beard" moment.
Set Bookmark
dave
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 10:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Yes, I used to go to Trek BBS too. Gave up on it years ago.

For all my criticisms of some posts here, Jammers is still the gold standard for Trek discussion with good people who are passionate about it.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

^

You still have the second season to watch (and Season 3 will be out in a few months).

Trust me, it gets more Trekkish with each episode.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 11:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

@ William B

It most definitely does grow a beard.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.