Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 47 (Showing 26-47)

◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, May 21, 2018, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

This isn't a review of this episode. But generally, Christ on a stick, aren't most of these season 3 episodes boring. Yawnsville! I'm onto where I left off, deep space 9 season 3 after, as I'm nearly done with watching all of the original series.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, May 14, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

More like star wars - the last yawn.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sun, May 6, 2018, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The thing about modern day star wars is that's it's just vacuous and boring. Really boring. The same old formulas, with a vaguely different spin on scripts, that were articulated better 35 to 40 years ago. The only exceptional episodes were 4 and 5. 6 was very good. 1 was laughably disposable. 2 was ok ish, 3 was better. 7 was enjoyable, rogue one I thought was actually very good.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, May 5, 2018, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Nearly 4 stars for this? You must've been watching a different version of the film to most of us.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Well, I've just finished watching this film. Didn't see it at the cinema so I saw it in blu-ray format. This is my take on it - an absolute load of garbage. An overly long, tedious, unexciting, quite uninteresting, muddle of an episode. Nothing really that hadn't been recycled before. Weakest installment since episode 1, the phantom menace. a veritable yawn-fest overall. The humour didn't work, the Yoda cameo was unaffecting and much of a muchness, the music was more or less ok, the casino planet stuff was extraneous filler, the snoke character was utterly pointless, the acting and script was typically unintelligent. Only good acting was mark hamill in a reasonable role. Albeit an odd one. However, It didn't feel like a great star wars film at all. I favour star trek.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

An absolute load of old nonsense. Possibly the worst season 2 episode. Nuff said.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

A bizarre and underwhelming finale episode. Quite why riker and troi were on it, pegasus episode via the enterprise d holodeck aside, is obscure.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

When are you going to review this installment, Jammer? I'm guessing it'll be when the blu ray is for sale.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

A solid debut episode for Enterprise. As for the theme tune, well, it's utter tosh. Star trek musically works best with a classical theme tune that's grand and sweeping. Star trek discovery has a them tune that's quite classically modern and it grew on me. Not as epic as jerry Goldsmith or James Horner's score's but good enough. I think James horner was by far the most gifted film music composer that worked on star trek, and his subsequently illustrious career. His career mainly started with the music scores for star trek 2 and 3, which are absolutely incredible suites of music.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

An absolutely magnificent episode. Possibly the very best of any of the seven seasons worth. The flute scene at the end where Picard is in his quarters after his alternate life, both abstract and real, was so well acted and brilliantly written. A real highlight of star trek.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 5:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I think the only great plus in this instalment was the music. Some of the humour was funny. Um and urmmmm the um, eject disc button.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

When I'd seen this film a few times it was like watching a cast of actors that were acting for a pay check. It was just yawn worthy. The crew mostly trudging through to the credits and a director who was an established film editor who didn't watch star trek or it's prior canon. Patrick Stewart and Brent Spiner are more or less always excellent actors but it was just bewilderingly tedious and only marginally better than insurrection. Sort of.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, Mar 10, 2018, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I think this episode was by far the best of season 1. Intelligent, thoughtful, and insinuative to the future prime directive in latter series, chronologically speaking. John Billingsley is superb as phlox in a standout role of narrator and a main character. In the top 20, possibly, of any star trek ranking poll. Crewman cutler was a perfect foil as the love interest, she sadly passed away of heart aliments after her last enterprise appearance. Really pastoral and nice music too on this episode.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 6:55am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Jammer, when convenient, can you review this film? Curious as to your views on the installment. I've not seen the last Jedi as yet.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Dec 15, 2017, 7:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I quite enjoyed the first half of season 1. Not all of it because some episodes were a bit samey and routine in an expositionary sense. But have been some definite highlights and stand out moments throughout, thus far. Excellent but not over the top production values, special effects, and the discovery ship looks fantastically unique. Favourite characters of the crew for the actors strong character acting abilities would be, for me, cadet Tilly, saru, burnham, and sarek. The theme tune was a bout underwhelming due to no real melody hook or a grandiose enough melody of distinction. Not a patch on the late, very great, theme scores of James horner and jerry goldsmith. It'll be good tomwatch the concluding half of season, Jonathan frakes directing the episode himself. Should be hopefully intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I thought rogue one was an excellent addition to the star wars canon. An original and interesting story that seamlessly segues into a new hope. Not much I disliked in the film at all, an interesting premise for a side story and an excellently utilized exhibition of darth vader, particularly in the last few minutes. I slightly preferred it to the force awakens. Good performances throughout, generally, and only a bit slight for the lack of a cogent film score theme. Great fun throughout the film.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

I think that the force awakens is overall an engaging but often pedestrian film, as far as the star wars canon goes. As has been pointed out, it has very much a feel of A New Hope- story similarities, scenes formula, diametrically opposed sides and all. It's certainly polished in all scenes, bright and breezy, much less CGI oriented (which is a blessed relief), generally good acting, funny in places, and an always stellar score by the great john Williams. Rey's theme is a favourite piece. Slightly mediocre happenings of this installment would be the lack of chemistry of the onscreen reunion between Han and Leia, the seemingly effortless genius that Rey exhibits in being an expert at everything the script entails. Piloting the millennium falcon at breakneck speed with effortless aplomb, and despite being force sensitive, and of presumably distinctive bearing, happens to be an expert at wielding a lightsaber against kylo ren. Last few seconds with rey imploringly gazing at a jaded, aged, broken looking luke atop a grand atol on Ach To is effectively grandiose. However, I enjoyed the film, in lieu of seeing the last Jedi.
Set Bookmark
Dan B
Sun, Nov 29, 2009, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

I love Q episodes. I've always wondered why they never included Q into any of the feature films. His dialoge writes itself and hes a fantastic charactor.
Set Bookmark
Brendan B
Sat, May 9, 2009, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

This episode more than any other had my head swimming with mixed feelings, utter awe and amazement contrasted with incredulity and disappointment, wrapped in a thrilling cinematic tortilla.... I hadn't quite been able to express my overall feelings properly.... you just did! I agree with just about everything you said.

I look forward to hearing your plans on the future of this site.
Set Bookmark
Brendan B
Tue, Apr 28, 2009, 12:56am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Speaking of Caprica, any plans on reviewing it for the site? Will that depend on whether you like the pilot or judging from how busy you are lately maybe just not at all regardless?
Set Bookmark
dan b
Sat, Dec 20, 2008, 7:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

4 stars please re-rate this! This is an excellent job of production!
Set Bookmark
dan b
Fri, Dec 19, 2008, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

I really liked this episode. I have it 3.5 stars. I really liked the interaction with garak and the ending was a nice show of friendship
◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.