Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 170 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Corey
Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

Dom, 2001's ending is brilliant! I love how Kubrick's composition of the astronaut (David Bowman) reaching out his hand mimic's Michelangelo's The Creation of Adam, if only Michelangelo painted it from another angle. That space, that gap between Bowman's outstretched hand and monolith/God/Knowledge/Truth, is the key. It's man's desire to bridge that gap, and his inability to ever do so - he is always an infant - which propells humanity in all endeavours. A profound, complex film. Kubrick was a great intellect and artist.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Thu, Nov 13, 2014, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

All throughout Interstellar I kept thinking, gee, this Kubrick lite.

The film desperately wanted to be deep, to be Kubrick, but it came across as a very fancy Spielberg movie. Loved the film's optimism, but even there, it's Star Trek lite. I hope someone makes a hard SF movie that, like Kubrick, isnt so antropomocentric and egotistical (in the sense that humans and human "selfhood" are the center of the universe).
Set Bookmark
Corey
Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Wow, surprised no one likes this one; I thought it was excellent.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Sat, Jul 12, 2014, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

A great episode. Notice how it opens with a parable about Tom and the crew jumping to conclusions based on incompete data (they believe an entire deck to be pregnant lol).
Set Bookmark
Corey
Thu, Jun 12, 2014, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

A very good episode, with action, thrills and wonderful little character bits woven together.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Sun, Jun 8, 2014, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Wow, watched this again after having watched it a few months ago. Still 4 stars Jammer! 4 stars! If any Voyager deserves your love, it's this one. Counterpoint, which precedes it, is a wonderful episode as well.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Thu, Jun 5, 2014, 5:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

Counterpoint and Latent Image are Voyager at its best IMHO.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Sat, May 31, 2014, 2:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

Hokey in places, this is nevertheless a warm, compassion look at 7's lonliness and her budding camraderie with the crew. It strikes me that Season 4 is a giant arc in which the FEDERATION essentially ASSIMILATES a BORG and replaces its ideology with Janeway's FED ETHOS. Nice.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Tue, Apr 29, 2014, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Elliot, where are you? Elliot has single handledly convinced many to watch Voyager and fall in love with it.

Anyway, onto "Mortal Coil". I found this to be a touching episode, and a strong four stars. It is also one of the most atheistic episodes, and radically political. "Duty calls," Neelix says, duty to one's fellowman revealed to be the highest spiritual ideal in the absence of God.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

As others have noted, this is a pretty great and tense episode, but the sexism displayed by the Enterprise crew is disgusting (the entire season is sex obsessed), especially in light of the episode's broader story, which is ABOUT the sexism and violence of a crazy serial killer. In essense, the good guys are portrayed as being no better than the bad guy, but we're positioned to accept this because they're only "casually sexist" and dont kill people. Oh my.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Tue, Apr 22, 2014, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I'd give this 3 and a half stars. Voyager's 4th season may be the most consistent season of Trek ever.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 9:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

I'd give this three or three and a half stars. A very touching episode, I thought.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

A touching episode.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Fri, Apr 11, 2014, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

I loved how, when they no longer had use for the Voyager, the Borg swiftly began assimilating Janeway's ship. They get what they want, and then instantly break the alliance. Very machine-like and methodical.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Fri, Apr 11, 2014, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

This is the best Voyager action 2 parter I've seen so far. Very dramatic, bombastic, some nice music and Janeway and Chakotay's little verbal spars were riveting. Superficial? Yep, but it's one of Trek's best action outtings.
Set Bookmark
Corey R
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Jack said...
Soong scanning everyone's frontal lobes on Omicron Theta and programming Data with the material seems quite the violation of privacy...
...end quote

I could have sworn there was dialog between Dr. Marr and Data about this - she asked does Data possess the colonists memories - Data said no, but he said he did possess all of their log, diary, and journal entries, or something to that effect.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Tue, Apr 1, 2014, 10:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

I'd give this four stars.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Tue, Mar 25, 2014, 7:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

lol@ Adara and Jack.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Sat, Mar 22, 2014, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Overacting? Shatner's not even acting. The guy perpetually radiates pure awesome.

As for this episode: personally, I think it's a classic, and represents the best of Original Trek. I love how the abstract tone of Original Trek lends itself well to episodes set on alien planets. DS9, TNG and Voyager struggled to create "realistic" alien cultures, whilst Original Trek simply goes for abstract, metaphor and surrealism.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Thu, Mar 20, 2014, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

The first episode was excellent, so it's all the more painful to see how poorly written and directed the second parter was. It's just a collection of badly written, awkwardly connected sequences.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Thu, Mar 20, 2014, 7:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

The Festival allows selected townsfolk to rape, dance and beat one another, getting all their bottled up emotions released.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Wed, Mar 19, 2014, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

Unlike later Treks, the Original Series always had genuinely alien looking aliens.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Wed, Mar 19, 2014, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Come on Jam Man, this is a four star episode. Absolutely gripping, a nice Man vs Machine subplot, Kirk is magnificent in the way he chews scenery, and the over the top flirting is totally funny. Not to mention that this is the bedrock of all other Trek Courtroom episodes.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Fri, Mar 14, 2014, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I thought the pacifist message was quite radical and powerful. This episode opens with the slaughter of a human outpost and then positions you to accept this as being "our fault". This is quite a brave stance. The episode positions you to side and sympathise with a group who have commited a massacre.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Fri, Mar 14, 2014, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I found this to be an excellent episode. Very grotesque, creepy and horrific, especially for 1960s TV. Note too that the episode's post apocalyptic zombie themes predate even Romero's "Night of the Living Dead".
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.