Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 103 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
BZ
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 8:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

It is a well-known fact that despite Gene Roddenberry's legendary vision for a future utopia, he was hellbent on sticking in titillating women for our heroes to ogle / hook up with in every episode he could, to the point that the studio / others working on the show had to step in and veto his ideas.

In addition, TOS was essentially an anthology show with the same main cast, but little to no continuity. Oh, sure, there was a handful of follow ups and recurring characters/races, but it wasn't really until the TOS movies that a coherent narrative began to develop and the Trek universe as we know it began to take shape. It's one reason why prequels can work in this universe, and that a well-written reboot of the TOS time-frame is not as unpalatable as it might have been.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 3:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Chrome,
None of those deal with the prime directive. In Prime Factors, it was a matter of breaking the aliens' laws (not the Federation's). In Endgame the choice was go home or destroy the Borg conduits, no prime directive. In Death Wish, a "bribe" from Q to rule in his favor, again no prime directive.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 2:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Dom,
Even Tuvok? Tuvok was one of my favorite Voyager characters (along with The Doctor and Seven of Nine). He's easily as good as Spock and playing a Vulcan. Sure, he was underused, but when he was used he was a great character.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 8:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

I don't think Archer was terrible, but he was definitely unevenly written (not as bad as Janeway, but close). I would have said bad acting played a part too, but I know Bacula can act. I loved Quantum Leap and he basically played a different character every week in that show, and did it superbly, so I have to kick it to writing and directing, especially since he improved significantly (though not enough) in seasons 3-4. This makes it hard to make the leap to what he was made out to be in universe (the mediator between Vulcans and Andorians, the driving force behind the founding of the Federation, a celebrated great captain, etc)
Set Bookmark
BZ
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Chrome,
Yes, I see your point, though to what extent this change was inspired by Babylon 5 (which I have not seen) is debatable. The Dominion was first mentioned in season 2, though this does not mean the war plot was already envisioned. Official sources only say that the direction the war would take was shaped in "The Die is cast" ("After today the only real threat to us from the Alpha Quadrant are the Klingons and the Federation. And I doubt that either of them will be a threat for much longer.")

As a side note, I'm of two minds about the finale. I like that the characters are given time to say goodbye and move on (which was only sort of done in TNG and Voyager, both of which show an alternate future that didn't come to pass in the end), but I don't like the clip show that part 2 has become. And let's not get into the Sisko/Dukat/Winn plot resolution.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 12:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Chrome,
"to compete with Babylon 5 and Battlestar Galactica, which were doing similar war stories at the time."

There was no Battlestar Galactica on during DS9. The last Battlestar Galactica-related work ended in 1980. The next one started in 2003. DS9 was on 1993-1999.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 11:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@Peter G,
This all depends greatly on how, when, and why Lorca entered the PU, and when Burnham became part of his plan (or even when he formed his plan).

My take as of now is that he entered the PU (somehow) sometime before the battle of binary stars, simply to run away from the MU and regroup. He found his PU counterpart, and, when the ship was lost with all hands, faked being the only survivor. He found out about Discovery and its mission, and only then formulated a plan to request command of Discovery, get Michael (who was already imprisoned by then), and use Discovery Tech and Michael to get home and try to get back at the Emperor again.

Before knowing that Lorca was from the MU, I assumed the shuttle pilot was rescued off screen, and this may still be the case. Since the somewhat questionable practices aboard Discovery were known to Starfleet Command and condoned (presumable because "we are at war", it's not surprising (to them) that Lorca would put Michael, someone with no other choice but life in prison, to take a post that a normal officer would find unpalatable. Then he just tried to act the way he thought teh PU Lorca would act until he had enough data to return to the MU.

I think that covers everything
Set Bookmark
BZ
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 10:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

I can't really rate Lorca yet. There's just not enough there, so my captain list (based on writing, not acting)

1. Picard
2. Sisko
3. Kirk
4. Archer
5. Janeway

By acting ability:
6) Sisko/Brooks
5) Archer/Bakula
Shatner, Isaacs, Mulgrew about tied
1) Picard/Stewart
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 1:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Gee,
Michael got access to the Defiant files as the captain of the Shenzhou, so clearly it is not just the emperor who has it. Mirror Michael already held this position when presumed killed by mirror (our?) Lorca. Lorca was also attempting to assassinate the emperor. Clearly he held a high enough position in the empire to attempt this and have a captain chase after him.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 11:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Gee
If Lorca is from the MU, he may have had access to the Defiant files, and studied how humans in the PU behave. If his escape to the PU was planned (unlike the transporter accident that swapped the TOS away teams) he would certainly have had time to prepare and practice. There is also the possibility someone mentioned earlier that he's a "good guy" from the MU's perspective, which would mean he's not a 100% evil "barbarian" like some of the other MU characters.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 9:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

No, she's trained to not show emotion when having to kill someone. Not just because she was raised on Vulcan, but because she's a (now former) first officer. How many times has Riker shown emotion when killing a random mook?
Set Bookmark
BZ
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 9:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

So let me get this straight. Unexpected twists are for "shock value" and foreshadowed twists are "predictable"?

Death has always been a problem in Trek. Most of trek pre-Enterprise was of the "redshirts die to show how dangerous everything is" variety. Enterprise, meanwhile started off with "nobody ever dies", and kept that up most of the time. Discovery, meanwhile, killed off three seemingly main characters by now. I think that's the best approach we've had in Trek.

Somebody mentioned how Burnham is all shocked after having to kill someone despite killing multiple times before. I read this as her recognizing the victim as someone she served with and respected in the prime universe.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Re: Terran Empire and Vulcans: What we see in ENT is Vulcans being subjugated by humans. Nevertheless T'Pol is in a fairly high position. What I see happening is that the species subjugated by humans are still represented on starships (after suitably demonstrating loyalty) which allows Spock to gain his high position as well. That we see Vulcan rebels in this episode is not a counterargument. After all, DS9 gave us human rebels despite Earth being subjugated by the Alliance. It also gave us select humans serving on Terok Nor and even piloting runabouts (Smiley before defecting)
Set Bookmark
BZ
Wed, Dec 27, 2017, 11:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

You do realize that at one point people read novels in installments in magazines. Isn't it horrible that kids these days can buy a book and read it in a few days? Anyway, I personally haven't watched much TV regularly since forever (I'm currently watching Discovery and Doctor Who weekly when they're on, but that's it). I don't binge seasons in then traditional sense either. The closest I've ever come to that is watching all of DS9 1-2 episodes a day, but that still took months. I just don't have the time. I don't begrudge others their watching habits, though.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 5:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

But Vulcans tend to believe they are superior to humans, and, at least in TOS are actually presented as superior. Spock and Tuvok do not aspire to be more human like Data and (to a lesser extent) The Doctor do. While Vulcan medication techniques may be somewhat useful to humans, it is implied that Vulcan biology is in part responsible for their ability to suppress emotions and embrace logic. So I suppose you could say that they *are* more evolved than humans. I actually have no problem any of these things. It is in fact a breath of fresh air in Trek when humans are not shown as the most superior of species. That was one of the things I actually liked about Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Dec 7, 2017, 9:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Sarek has an ... illogical track record when it comes to humans. He marries two humans and adopts a human child, yet seems to hold Vulcan ideals in very high regard. I suppose it's a metaphor for Americans adopting (or marrying?) people from disadvantaged countries to improve their lives. Guess the creators are against this idea.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 3:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

I loved this episode when it first aired, but when I re-watched it yesterday, I found myself asking "that's it?" We even have this bit of dialog between Quarren and another Kyrian to the effect that it doesn't matter who fired the weapon since they were on Voyager at the time.

There would be a debate. The Doctor might be put on trial. There would be a racial divide about whether to believe the Doctor. More riots for sure.

And then, let's say the Doctor won and was believed. So the currently oppressed race is (apparently) proven beyond doubt to be the aggressor in the war. Wouldn't it be reasonable for Kyrians to be even more oppressed now?

I'm not saying these issues cannot be resolved, but "Let's go find that tricorder" is a terrible way to end the episode, because nothing is resolved.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 12:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

The Borg have definitely been retconned several times. Remember, in "Q Who" the Borg only care about technology, not individuals. In "Best of Both Worlds" it is even commented on how the Borg have changed. By the time we explore Seven of Nine's backstory, the Borg already assimilate individuals when the Raven is hunting for them, when the Borg are just a rumor (probably before "Q Who"). The queen is presumed to exist during that episode too.

The queen is also presented inconsistently. In "First Contact" she scoffs at Data's question about whether she controls drones. By the end of Voyager, she is shown doing exactly that many times.

Of course one can rationalize away most of this stuff, but then most inconsistencies are like this.

@Ed,
I would have preferred that we did *not* see any inner workings of the Borg. I'm mostly fine with "First Contact's" depiction of the queen, but would rather not see what Voyager did with them. The Borg are best as the ominous, unstoppable, not-understandable collective force, capable of destroying or assimilating whole planets with a single cube, which you cannot reason with because they believe assimilation is good for you.

Of course, if you *must* accept Voyager's emasculation of the Borg, your suggestions might be the best way to contain the problem and make it interesting, but if we're retconning so much anyway, I'd rather retcon most of Voyager's changes out somehow. Better yet, let's not use the Borg. They were good in TNG in part because we saw them in small doses.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@karatasiospa,
From what I can tell from my research, we don't really know what black holes look like, but the current best guess is that there is a crescent-shaped accretion disk. With a totally black area representing the event horizon in the middle (invisible, but not transparent, like I said)
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 8:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Black holes are not "invisible" anyway. Aside from the accretion disk, they are literally black (as in they block any light sources behind them). Whatever cloaks do, they have to bend light in such a way that they are "transparent", that is, you can see whatever is behind the ship they're cloaking. Since gravity can bend light, it's a reasonable starting point for any technobabble the cloaks use.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Wasn't the original pitch an anthology show with every season (or even few episodes) following a different crew in a different time period in the Star Trek universe? The Discovery would not have been in all of them.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

My guess is they went through the Panama Wormhole. Anyway, isn't the MU spatially the same as the prime universe? Shouldn't they know where they are using astronomical observations if they are in the MU? Also, do we know anything about MU Klingons prior to the Klingon-Cardassian Alliance?

My experience with the CBSAA app (on Windows 10) is perfect streaming of the episode, but some stuttering and pauses on the ads. I had to restart the first episode I watched on CBSAA once because the ad completely froze, but it hasn't been that bad since that.
Set Bookmark
BZ
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 10:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

You don't need to watch all of trek these days to maintain continuity. You go to Memory Alpha and type in "Sarek" or "Mudd". Watch those episodes (there are maybe 7 of them between the two). But then, they probably *did* do that. Maybe their extrapolations don't match other people's. Sarek is an emotional basket case because he's near death. Mudd is different because they are using him for drama instead of comedy. Remember how much the Ferengi changed when the reverse was done (of course, I'd rather they got rid of the Ferengi altogether, but that's just me)? Or the Trill when they decided to actually explore the species in DS9? Heck, we meet some TOS era Klingons (as in the same individuals) in TNG and DS9, and they act more or less like the new (TNG+) Klingons, with glory, honor, etc, not like TOS Klingons (generic warlike bad guys).
Set Bookmark
BZ
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 8:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Steve,
That's an odd comment to make on a thread discussing an episode where we find an utterly alien planet that has nothing to do with Earth (except being M-Class I guess) where the only person able to communicate with the life-form is an alien.

As for the mushroom network and the Tardigrade, what makes you think earth had them first? Maybe the universe-spanning network came first and then came in contact with various planets including Earth. We don't know that humans are the *only* species to share DNA with them. In fact, was such a thing ever stated on the show?
Set Bookmark
BZ
Mon, Nov 6, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I don't think that's lazy at all. They've explained it enough that it sort of makes sense, but not enough to poke holes through the science. The problem (that some people have, not so much me) with the spore drive is that it's explained too much to the point that we know it can't work that way.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.