Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 122 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 11:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I would also like to point out that the actor playing Gray
is terrible. He strikes me as some YouTuber who makes reaction videos and acts like a teenager way past his prime. It’s hard to watch and hard to listen to.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 8:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Eric Jensen
“ Reno is under utilised. Just to make one comment? There had better be more next episode. Could there be a mole on Discovery?”

I heard Tig Notaro’s interview on Star Trek: The Pod Directive podcast (it’s co-hosted Paul F. Tomkins, one of my all time faves), and she said that Kurtzman was a personal friend and fan who said basically “whatever you can do for us in for, we’ll take it.” She’s busy with her own stuff and Just pops in for a few lines when she’s available. All in all, not a bad gig.

As far as the episode, I actually quite enjoyed it. I think Peter G. is correct and it is like battered-wife syndrome, the analogy actually fits. Discovery always promises me it’s learned it’s lesson and it’ll be better this time. Then it goes right back and does the same thing. But you know what other show made me feel like that? Voyager. And there are many things about Voyager I look back fondly on. But man was it frustrating watching it the first time.

I’d give this episode 3, maybe even 3.5 stars. Burnham didn’t cry, the ship is in legitimate danger, Doug Jones acting was off the charts, and it advanced the plot, albeit towards a semi-ridiculous conclusion. BTW Vance is in on it. He’s gotta be. He’s tried to separate Discovery from her crew from day one, and Osyrra just so happens to track them down when only Vance and the crew know the captain will be off the ship. And I’m sure they’re monitoring for outgoing signals, so who does that leave? Vance. He probably gave her Tilly’s Starfleet record.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 12:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Yanks
“I wish Boba would have planted Mercedes on her ass. What was all that attitude about?”

So once Boba began speaking, she knew he was a clone, albeit not in the same vein as the rest of the clone army. And since Jango was not technically a true Mandalorian, he was apparently held in pretty low regard by Mandalorians, and I assume his clones would be regarded as even poorer copies of a pretender.

I really enjoyed this episode. And yes, storm troopers did what storm troopers do, namely get shot in the face and scream, but that’s literally been all of Star Wars. You can’t blame them for staying true to form. I give this 4/4 stars, but I do feel bringing in Luke was maybe a mistake. I enjoyed this taking place outside of the Skywalker saga, and to have him brought in as Jedi Ex Machina seems like a genie you can’t put back in the bottle. But I can’t say this enough: just masterful. Respecting all the source material, representation in a way that doesn’t beat you over the head, great characters... heroes, anti-heroes, villains.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 6:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Yanks
“Discovery through the end of Season 2 has had 29 episodes. For argument purposes, let's equate that to the first season of any of the Star Trek spin-offs.”

I will say I have higher expectations from a season that is half as long. When you’re cranking out 26 episode seasons there’s gonna be some filler in there, but with a shorter season, every episode counts that much more. Maybe Stranger Things and The Mandalorian have me spoiled, but they managed to have very few clunkers, with Stranger Things being highly serialized, and Mandalorian being highly episodic. Discovery aims for both, but achieves neither. The beginning of Season 3 was actually a big improvement, but all the cliches and predictable tropes have really left me wondering what the showrunners are thinking. I will say this much: after this season I will almost assuredly be canceling my CBSAA subscription. I’m not saying I’ll stop watching forever, but I certainly don’t think Disco or Picard are particularly worth paying money for.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 6:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

As with most episodes, Saru was the best part. Unfortunately, just as I said a few episodes back, now we’ve set up this season-long big bad problem, and we’re cramming a resolution into the last 2 or 3 episodes. Forgive me for not being excited about the end of this season. This wasn’t by any means a bad episode, I’d say maybe 2.5-3 stars, but as another commentator put it nicely, Georgiou’s send off just wasn’t earned. And I was also hoping to get through more than 2 episodes without Burnham crying. Jeez, can you imagine Janeway or Torres being so emotional all the time? But, the GOF was a great idea, and he played it great in both episodes. Carl’s a great name for him lol.



Side note, any guesses on when the PU and MU split? I’ve heard theories that it was WWII, but during WWIII would strike me as more likely. If they did a spin-off, I would enjoy seeing the universes split during the Eugenic wars. But we’ve already seen how current Trek handles Khan, so maybe I should be careful what I wish for.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 10:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

I’d give this episode 3 stars, possibly 3.5. It was still very good, but not the same caliber as the previous 3, all of which were 4 stars in my opinion. The pirates scene in particular was ok, but not great. One thing I did like about it was when Mando got hit, he was like “Ouch. This stormtrooper armor really sucks compared to my armor.” Maybe they’ll explore this later in an Iron Man “does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man” type of story.

The shot of the villagers as a Vietnam allegory was a nice touch, adding some humanity to a universe where entire planets can get kablooied in the blink of an eye. I also enjoyed the Magnificent 7 vibes. One question though, if Mando never takes his helmet off in front of other people (and I think the loophole here is that he’s not taking HIS helmet off), then why does he bother trimming a mustache? It’s more work.

@CaptainMercer: “ I watched it again.. Burr is so damn good. Like I know almost nothing about him, but his timing, his delivery.. it's really good. And his facial expressions throughout the mess hall scene.. just so damn good”

Bill Burr prior to this, is one of my favorite comedians. Blue, but not offensively so. If you think his acting timing is great, his comedic timing is amazing. Like you though, I had no idea about his acting chops. He was fantastic in this episode and the previous one he was in.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 5:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Plot: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Discovery. Its 800-year mission: to cry upon sparsely populated worlds. To revisit old stories and seek out woke civilizations. To them them they where no them has every they’d before.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 2:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

This was another 4 star outing for me. I’m not anti-fan service, in fact I welcome it. A little bit of fan service would have done wonders for “The Last Jedi” instead of them doubling down in the subvert-all-expectations nonsense they were going for.

To get the original actor who played Jango was pretty awesome, and again, this series continues to amaze me by building a universe around a random Mandalorian to bridge the gap between the original trilogy (the good), the prequels (the bad), and the sequels (the ugly). To maneuver within these parameters and still tell a meaningful story while also incorporating Legends and Animated content is insane to me.

I do agree with those of you that feel that the small scale stories of season 1 are regrettably turning into larger, galaxy-impacting narratives. But it was bound to happen. The Avengers morphed from a rich guy kidnapped by terrorist to the savior of half the life in the universe. (I also didn’t mind the fan service in that movie fwiw)
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 12:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Miles I respectfully disagree. I have no qualms with representation of gender and sexuality. But this is blatant misrepresentation. It’s estimated that throughout history, about up to 5% of our population has been LBGTQ (more conservative estimates put it at about 2%). The writers of Discovery would have you believe it’s about 1/3. BUT if you look at the crew members this season that we actually know their sexual preferences we have: Burnham (straight), Booker (straight), Tilly (straight, *I assume) Stamets (gay), Culber (gay), Adira (non-binary), Reno (lesbian), Georgiou (bi). Detmer, Owsekun, Dr. Pollard, Rhys and Bryce have all not been addressed, and Linus and Saru presumably have alien physiology.

In short, in season 3, a whopping 70% of crew members that have had their gender/sexuality addressed are not straight. This is not “representation” as you say. This is either
A. The writers having an agenda of some sort, or
B. The writers arbitrarily ticking off boxes in the name of being “inclusive” or “progressive” or “woke” or what have you.

This misrepresentation in the name of diversity I believe is what leaves a bad taste in peoples’ mouths. The problem I believe is in the writing, not in our reaction.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

This was a 2/2 episode if I’ve ever seen one. It’s not bad or offensive, but it’s also not good or interesting either. The A plot was pure filler. I can’t say I’ve really cared less about a planet, and the arrival of Osyraa felt contrived. I think for her to be as menacing as they make her out to be, they probably could have shown her misdeeds a little more in the weeks running up to this episode, rather than a mustache-twirling “feed my nephew to worms” prologue.

I liked the Tilly/Saru moments. I would love him to say “pedal to the metal”, but that’s just me. As far as Georgiou, I do agree with previous posters who tire of this one-liner factory, but I think they did enough to keep me interested and flesh out how people are really trying to help her even as she pushes them away.

Adira and Stammets probably have the best acting chemistry on the show. However, and I’m sure this is going to be an unpopular view, this whole “she/them” issue just reeks of the writers saying, “Look how progressive we are! We don’t just have the L, B, and G, but now we got the T, Q, and I !!!” Its hard not to see this and feel like they’re just pandering.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 9:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

Fantastic episode. Completely different from the last episode where the action was jam packed from start to finish to a point where it allllmost felt rushed. But this episode took its time to breathe, some real long pauses while Ahsoka pondered over Grogu.

This is two 4/4 episodes in a row for me. The 1-on-1 fight at the end was great, especially when she flipped her lightsaber around! I turned to my wife and said “oh, she dead.” Grogu’s name was.... eh? But it definitely sounds like it could come from the same place as someone named “Yoda.”

Any theories as to who the previous owner of the second lightsaber was? It couldn’t be Anakin’s could it? I never finished the cartoon.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 7:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 12: The Siege

This is a 4/4 episode for me. Not only are the action sequences amazing, Horatio Sans was hilarious (“There’s no guard rail on this”). But aside from that, the way this ties into the original trilogy by dealing with a post-Empire society is great. Then, it bridges the gap to the sequel trilogy by showing hints of how the First Order came into existence, and maybe explaining Snoke. AND it explains why the Proto-First Order wanted The Child, a question that hasn’t been fully explained since episode 1. AND it even ties into the prequel trilogy by referencing how high of an M-Count (midi-chlorian) The Child had. I mean, it’s masterful, and it does more to explain the sequel trilogy in 40 minutes than even the trilogy itself did throughout all 3 movies. Best episode yet if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 7:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 11: The Heiress

I like how well Pascal emoted through a helmet and armor, when he learned maybe there was more to being a Mandalorian than “The Way”. It’s actually pretty deep, this idea of knowing your belief is right your whole life, and someone can come along with one small seed of doubt (such as taking their helmet off), and totally wreck what you were taught.
3.5/4 stars for me
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 4:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 10: The Passenger

@Booming My comments weren’t directed towards anyone on this board. I was merely expressing my frustration with how that’s even a thing, much less something that keeps popping up in my Google feed. I don’t want anyone to take what I said personally, and honestly I think nearly everyone on this site are very intelligent and understand dark humor.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 4:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Quincy ENT has established Vulcan women do go into Pon Farr. Lucky Saru!

@Booming covered my biggest gripe with this series. TOO. MANY. BURNHAM. TEARS. Dear Lord, can someone do a CBC (Crying Burnham Count) this season, I think she’s broken down into tears in just about every episode. It’s lazy writing to try and make you empathize with a poorly written character.

I did like the courtroom drama (ST has been long overdo for some), but unlike the all time greats i.e. TNG’s The Drumhead or VOY’s Death Wish, it just didn’t challenge me intellectually. And the more I watch PIC and DIS I realize they aren’t trying to challenge me intellectually, only viscerally. So I guess I’m the one that needs to change with the times, instead of insisting that Trek gotta be Trek. But we saw what we don’t really see often in most courtroom dramas, which is our protagonist actually loses the argument. Good job not taking the easy out.

Re: Burnham’s mother.... Why? I mean really for what purpose at this juncture? Introducing Nimoy’s Spock and the Qowat Milat was a great idea to effectively bridge DIS thru TOS, into TNG and straight out to PIC, why do you have to cram her mother into it? It’s worse than (SPOILERS)making Rey a Palpatine.

Re: Tilly... Why are everyone’s panties in a twist? It’s *acting* No. 1 until he finds an adequate substitute. I see no problem with having someone you trust hold that spot until you make you’re final decision. If she fails, you’re not fight Klingons and universe-ending AI, so it’s not too critical. And if she thrives, well you already have the crew behind her. I see this as a non-issue. In the realm of Discovery’s bad ideas, this is definitely not near the top of my list.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 11:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 10: The Passenger

This was a nice horror episode of you hate spiders, my wife and daughter felt like things were crawling on them, so mission accomplished. Plot-wise though, it was the weakest episode of the series. No revelations, no plot advancement, no character growth, just spiders, eggs, and filler.

For anyone who legitimately had an issue with The Child’s egg eating, give me a break. You’re mad because a fictitious alien baby is eating the unfertilized eggs of yet another fictitious rando? If they’re upset or triggered by this kind of dark humor, stick with the other crap they offer on Disney+. Might I suggest Hannah Montana or Jessie?

If people are upset about this, imagine if they saw Futurama’s “The Problem With Popplers” in which humanity gets hooked on a tasty snack food, only to find out that it’s the young of an alien race, and even when they find out about it, they’re too delicious to stop eating. Here’s some dialogue:

Zapp: These would be great with guack-a-mole.
Lrrr: Stop eating our young! And it's pronounced guacamole!

This was way worse and aired 20 years ago, and was super funny. The only problem is that social media was way different back then, and now, anyone who can rub 2 brain cells together can write an angry tweet virtue signaling that eating a sentient being’s offspring is bad and we need to cancel this or cancel him or cancel her. Secondly, this baby may look like Yoda, but it isn’t Yoda. And for us to assume just because it looks like Yoda, it must be good, is equivalent to saying just because Senator Palpatine is humanoid like Obi-Wan they must both be good.

I’ll get off my soapbox for now.... 2/4 cool visuals. Also made me want an omelet.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@grey cat
But.... Megaman tho :(
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Also re: the Burn. I hate how predictable this “introduce a problem in episode 1, spend episodes 2-12 giving no information/misleading information, and then cram the resolution into the last 2-3 episodes” formula is. But a few thoughts...

I don’t think Burnham is the cause of the Burn....um? If they wanted to play this smart, I’d say make it the Q Continuum. The Q could have been threatened/annoyed at how fast humanity was evolving and decided to push the reset button. Biblically it’s like the Tower of Babel, but instead of stopping the dangerous accelerated cooperation of a society by confusing their languages, it’s stopping them by essentially putting them all in time out in their limited warp-free bubbles.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 6:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Spore Driver wrote: “After nearly three years, I don’t see how they can rehabilitate this deeply flawed character enough to build a series around her.” I think that’s exactly what they’re trying to do. MU Georgiou seems to be having flashbacks of PU Georgiou’s death. With her hesitation to take the kill shot, I think the PU and MU Georgious are going to somehow merge.
I enjoyed the chewing out that Burnham gets, but she really should have been dishonorably discharged from Starfleet and/or thrown in the brig. Taking away a title she didn’t want in the first place is hardly punishment for disobeying a direct order, putting her whole crew at risk, and what’s more, this is a pattern of selfish, dangerous and insubordinate behavior that (according to the show) already led the Federation into a war.
Also, does Burnham really have to cry in nearly every episode? No other woman in Trek has been portrayed as this hyper-emotional crybaby. Troy was the most empathic member of Starfleet and hardly ever cried. If you haven’t guessed, this series has really made me hate the Burnham character. She’s poorly written, overacted, and hypocritical.
BUT, the saving grace of this show is the rest of the cast. Saru’s grappling with his newfound command has been my favorite part of this season. Tully’s scenes are great in this episode, as is the Stamets/Culber talk. The slow world building of the Federations is intriguing. The Gray Tal portions, however, don’t really need to be included though. Ian Alexander is not a great actor, and the continuation of this weak plot line strikes me as Discovery writers proving how woke they are.
2/4 from me. I was going to say 1.5, but I really liked the Megaman style arm buster cannons.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 12:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

“Nhan. Security officer, USS Discovery. SFB534-0679. Edgy Catchphrase: ‘Yum Yum’”

“That’s... not that really edgy. I guess if...”

“Nhan. Security officer, USS Discovery. SFB534-0679. Edgy Catchphrase: ‘Yum Yum’”

“I mean, was there a chocolate fountain nearby or...”

“ Nhan. Security officer...”
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Nov 23, 2020, 7:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

A good 3 star outing for me. I think a better episode would involve some revenge and instead of Saru having Georgiou for dinner, Saru would have Georgiou FOR dinner. I didn’t buy the romance between the boy who identifies as a girl with the girl who identifies as a them, but maybe that says more about me than the writers? Or maybe the acting just wasn’t that good? At any rate, the story was nice, and to answer a question posed by a commentator earlier: I don’t think we’ll be seeing a Trill Burnham any time soon. Remember the Symbiotes have to choose their host. I don’t foresee an intelligent creature choosing a constant sacrificial lamb as their host.

I brought out in a previous episode posting how this season reminded me of the fall of the Roman Empire. I think maybe that’s the source material for a lot of this season. We’re seeing the former territories of the Federation, which here is portrayed like a utopian hegemony, and what they’re like post collapse. Some turn toward strict spiritual beliefs like the Trills, and some turn toward an isolationist militarism like Earth. It’s a nice retelling of history imho. Best season yet so far. Still not great, but still the best one yet.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 6:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I enjoyed the use of a pidgin language here, implying universal translators aren’t so universal anymore. I assume after the Federation collapses, there’s a technological and economic vacuum similar to Britain after the fall of Rome. Roman British had cities with centralized heating way back in 100CE or so, but after the Roman Empire fell, everyone abandoned cities for the country life again and centralized heating wouldn’t come back to the island until about the 18th-19th century. Clearly, the fall of the Federation has set society back some, but not so far back that everyone can still get their personal transporter.

But back to pidgin... very neat idea calling the Federation “V’draysh”. Like a slurred version of “Federash”. Someone put some thought into that.... granted it’s not like inventing an entire language, but who would do that just for Star Trek? *wink wink nudge nudge*
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 5:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I will also say I liked the fight in crazy gravity sequence. Kind of like Jamiroquai meets the Matrix.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 4:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

SlackerInc wrote:
“I did roll my eyes, though, at Burnham saying “that’s impossible” when she heard the Federation was defunct. It was only, what, 150 years old in her time? But she cannot conceive of its failing to last over a thousand years? “

Ditto, that hit me as overplayed too. If I was transported hundreds of years in the future and someone told me America didn’t exist anymore, I would be intrigued but wouldn’t think it impossible. If I was transported 20 years into the future, I still probably wouldn’t find it as impossible as she did.

That being said, I loved the visuals and I’m intrigued by the story, but I am weary. Hearing a lot of you talk about it sounds like you’re talking about an abusive ex-boyfriend. “Sure it looks great now, but Discovery is just gonna hurt me again. It always says ‘I’m gonna be better this time,’ but it never changes.” I really hope we can move on from Burnham being the center of the galaxy, but now with her being hailed (by that one guy) as the savior of the collapsed Federation... let’s just say this is not the a promising ending to the first epdisode of the season.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 1:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I’d give this a solid 2.5 stars. It’s funny how similar my opinions are to many of you: beautiful visuals, bad writing, too Burnham-focused, but in the end rights many of its wrongs by actually launching Disco to the future. It’s entertaining, but if that’s how CBS is going to handle Star Trek going forward, perhaps the SUBscription could come with a PREscription for some Ritalin, because this was a headache to watch, albeit with a good dose of adrenaline.

Kurtzman is the problem. It reeks of what happened to the Tranformers franchise, and reinforces why his entrance marked the death of The Amazing Spider-Man. And that’s targeted at wide audience. I would hope something with Trek on the name would be a little more on brand, but it’s obvious the goal was to go *pew pew kaboom* instead of making you think. Which is ok I guess. If you liked Rise of Skywalker. History will usually sort these things out, I’m happy to have more Trek on TV, even it’s more influence by Star Wars.

It seems like they might be trying a reboot after each season finale, so maybe they’ll get it right one of these times.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.