Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 51 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Sep 4, 2018, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

"devoted her life to humanitarian interests like treating AIDs and preventing poverty"

this isn;t the tragic part. you can still do the above without a political affiliation...and without going full radical.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I like this episode! It's certainly a guilty pleasure! I just appreciate all the ironic humor ("room service?" "It was a dark and stormy night----not a very good start" etc.) Plus it's got an upbeat tone to it. But most of all I do genuinely feel a good deal of suspense here. This place is purgatory, and the desire to get out, and the sense of danger, is just so wonderfully palpable.

Having said all that I know that there are flaws and that the story is pretty simple without any big morality issues etc. Nevertheless, it's a load of good fun.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

Excellent episode. But that opening scene where Riker is making eggs is just gross. I mean, watch him cracking that egg...he gets slime everywhere and on his hands. And then the end product looks so...bland...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Aug 31, 2018, 1:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Yeah, I get that's what the writers thought was the point--and that's why it's so bad. We've moved quite a long way from the philosophy and writing perspective of Gene Roddenberry at this point in the franchise when things end in such a fizzling manner. The idealism of star trek embodied by Roddenberry's hopeful vision would always infuse these situations with a deeper meaning, enriching the mythology and uplifting or at least transmitting a hopeful message to the audience. The turn away from that writing style is one of the big reasons why the franchise began to decline in popularity so precipitously.

Also, it's simply not executed properly to convey the message that your thinking. In the case of "reaffirming the value of basic human emotion." OK, that's a good idea, but the writers are going to have to manifest that much better than simply having Naomi's mom come in at the very last minute asking for Neelix to tuck her child in bed. The emotional depth and level of crisis of Neelix's faith is too deep to be believably resolved so abruptly.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Aug 28, 2018, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

I love this movie. It was the first trek thing I ever saw at 5 years old. I was hooked. I wanted to live in that time and place. This is the thing that did it, this film.

As I grew up I realized that the other movies, and many other episodes, were better written or had better effects, but my affection for this film has never diminished even one bit.

There is a humanity to this film that none of the others have...a self-depricating earnestness...a not taking itself too seriously in peripheral areas, but speaking thoughtfully on serious subjects, that make this film uniquely special.

Then there's the tone of the film. This film, out of all the star trek original crew movies, best captures the tone, tenor, and spirit of the original series. It's a lovely film if you watch it with the right perspective--which is to say you don't take the star trek universe as fact, but for what it is: a human mythology.

Also, the score of the film is BY FAR the best. Goldsmith's music here is the best score in all of star trek, from the majesty of the Yosemite opening scene to the hauntingly mysterious use of synthesizers in the scenes when they arrive at the "great barrier" the music is just fantastic.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 1:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Star Trek doesn't often do nihilism, but when it does, it does it in style.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

What the hell did I just watch?
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Aug 24, 2018, 10:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Wow! I have a whole new respect for this cast of actors after watching this episode. Wonderful performances from the entire cast. It felt like the cast really hit this one out of the park, and it reminds me that throughout the run of Voyager, the cast was very talented and willing to "go there"--if the show became mediocre in many instances it was due to the writing, certainly not the actors.

Also, this was a wonderfully directed episode. Pay attention to the scene where Neelix has a meltdown with the phaser--excellent pacing, camera angles, and lighting. There is true suspense and emotion. Lightning in a bottle.

3 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Aug 20, 2018, 1:05am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

This episode perfectly sums up voyager. It has so much potential, and it almost reaches its potential, only to fall flat.

The story is working up to something very big, very emotional, yet at the end it takes a little dump on the viewer's chest. "Life is meaningless but, hey, we need you here!" Nah man. You're going to have to give me something a lot more thoughtful and poignant after such great build up with all the great afterlife stuff, Nelix's crisis of faith, his sense of lifelessness, chakotay's spiritual advice etc. etc.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Jul 30, 2018, 10:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

@ Sarjenka's Little Brother

Man, you're just so right. Matt Frewer=annoying!!!! Can't tolerate this episode.

The only thing that (((maybe))) could have saved this is if Matt Frewer had gotten vaporized by a phasor or eaten by an alien at the end.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Jul 29, 2018, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

This episode is noteworthy for having the best line, best delivered, by Patrick Stewart in all of TNG and the movies:


Mrs. Carmichael (the innkeeper): Well, I did do a church play when I was a lass.

Picard: WELL THERE. YOU. ARE!



I've adopted this line, and the exact intonation Stewart uses, for my own personal use from time to time. It's just the perfect way to express ironic satisfaction.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Jul 27, 2018, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Oh yeah!!! Ashley Judd before she went insane. Smokin. Def. would have smashed that.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jul 26, 2018, 2:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Well said JT
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jul 26, 2018, 2:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

OK, first thing, Leah Brahms is HOT! I mean SUPER FINE HOOOOOT!

So yeah, you've got that part which is an automatic 2 stars.

Then you have some really thoughtful themes and scenes that tough deeply on humanity's relationship with technology. The "luddite" elements ("now the machines are flying us" etc.) at first appears superficial, but on deeper reflection they reveal some powerful contradictions inherent in the technological lifestyle and worldview and the thoughtful, introspective aspects of the noble TNG characters. These are some very heartfelt reflections by Geordie and Picard that portray deep and sincere concerns about the technological condition. It reflects on a certain moral vision and strength of the characters and makes them feel all the more rich and real. For this, it gets 1 star.

3 star episode.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jul 26, 2018, 2:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

This is a wonderful, beautiful, emotional and poignant episode. 3 Stars. Ugh...but it feels like it's missing just a few elements that could have easily made it in if the production schedule of the show wan't so intense. It's one of those episodes that feels like it nearly hits a home run, but not quite.

I always felt like this episode should have focused more on the medieval doctor lady and her relationship with Data. Their story arch is were I think the heart of the episode is. I would have liked a final scene with the doctor lady greeting a revived Data and saying goodbye to him as someone she has great love and respect for--he was the mentor she always needed. I really liked her performance.

Few episodes of television do the conflict between the mindset of he old world and the future, between low tech culture and super tech culture so subtly, and so elegantly. And they are able to do it in only 45 minutes....I'm always impressed by star trek.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jul 26, 2018, 2:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

What a beautiful episode! An episode that perfectly captures the greatest aspect of Star trek: the nobility of its characters. So beautifully written and so beautifully acted. I am honestly shocked that there aren't more comments here!
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Jul 24, 2018, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Devinoni Ral is one of the best characters in TNG. He's a "killer": he takes what he wants, he's brilliant and ruthless, yet he's not a villain and he's loyal to his planet.

He outwits and outclasses the Federation itself in many ways: for example, by exposing the hypocrisy of Troi's sanctimony over the use of mind-reading, he acts as a foil for the moral self-righteousness of Federation members. What an AWESOME scene.

This pretty much sums up Ral: after he has boldly gambled and yet lost everything, he stands proudly on the deck and looks Riker right in the eyes: "I take the risks Mr. Riker, and I stand by my agreements" What a BADASS.

The only mistake in this episode is that they emasculate Ral at the very end by making him want Troi to run away with him. the "I need you, etc." was too groveling and beneath the dignity of what was shaping up to be a truly EPIC character. If I had written that last part, I would have simply made it that they both realized that the affair was over, the trust broken, and their different moralities and senses of duty could never be reconciled.
Set Bookmark
Ari pAul
Sat, Jul 21, 2018, 11:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

Conflict contrived!

The main problem with this episode is that the Scientist lady's resistance to accepting the exo-comps as being conscious/alive is completely out of place. Assuming she's driven by her ego, and a life's investment in her creations, it makes little sense why she'd be so resistant to accepting that the things she created are conscious/alive. This would be an ultimate achievement and ego-fulfillment for a scientist such as her. She obviously value's Data to the extreme (as with every other scientist in the TNG universe), yet she has in a way equalled data's creator dr. sung by creating the exo-comps. So, even by HER OWN standards, creating self-aware exo-comps is a FAR more meaningful and powerful invention than any "particle fountain" or other background work.

Her reluctance throughout the episode makes no logical sense to the viewer in this light. Throughout this whole article I was just hoping and hoping that Picard would look her in the face and say "don't you get it! You've become one of the greatest scientists in the universe by creating artificial life---single handedly!!! This accomplishment, and its ramifications throughout the galaxy FAR exceed any work on your 'particle fountain'!!!! Good Lord!!!!"

But nope, this B*^%, for some god-only-knows-why reason psychologically resists this attitude. And why? because "she didn't create them to be alive, she created them to be tools" ?!?!?!?!
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Jul 4, 2018, 12:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I didn't see it. TLJ was the nail in the coffin for me. The saga died long ago.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, May 14, 2018, 1:31am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Three and a half stars for this trash!? I realize now that your judgement can't be trusted. Leaving this site for good.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

DS9 is such a great show. Nana Visitor as Kira is the best part--she holds it all together. It should have been bigger than TNG culturally, but it wan't... Wanna know why??

Because of all the ugly aliens as lead characters. It's a truism that TV audiences only want to watch good looking people. Even though the most compelling characters on DS9 are so rich and vibrant and wonderful, they're mostly ugly aliens (Quark, Odo, Garak, Worf, Nog, Rom).

Ugly people suck...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 2:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

I'm rooting for Armus.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 2:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Solid episode. The only little thing that bothered me was that the actor who played the defector had saggy man-boobs that showed through the sweater. man-boobs kinda bother me.

other than that, it was great!
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 12:24am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Leah Brahms is HOT HOT HOT! I mean, MEEEOOOW! By far the most adorable chick in the star trek universe. I don't blame Geordi for getting so excited about her arrival. It's just such a shame she had to be married...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 9:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I have to agree with you Elle.

This is one of those whimsical fluff episodes that makes TNG so charming. Sometimes, especially after serious episodes dealing with big morality issues or interstellar conflicts, its enjoyable to just to chill out and vicariously lounge around with the characters on the ship. I really can't stand shows that treat everything as if its set to a spinal tap 11 in seriousness--overtime it becomes a joyless and emotionally exhausting exercise. Episodes like this interspersed among the rest actually help TNG.

2 stars.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.