Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 6,045 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Polaris
Wed, Sep 9, 2020, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

No thanks. I know some people love when Starfleet leaders are secretly awful, but dark, space horror is not what I want in Star Trek. Glad they didn’t continue this storyline.
Set Bookmark
Hotel bastardos
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Christ almighty- is there nothing that man won't bang? And Frasier's ex wife no less. And there's something well dodgy about the fact she's of a different species... I'd say if it's got a pulse he'll fuck it, but then again he's even shagged a bloody hologram. And it's woefully patronising the way the whole first contact business is handled. Surely having spies mooching about for years is some sort of prime directive violation?
Set Bookmark
Tim from Tarsus 4
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Why couldn't a multitronic type computer be integrated with a starship, with a captain in control? For example, when the composition of the landing party is discussed, Kirk could accept M5's recommendation for Carstairs and add him to the party of Kirk, McCoy, Rawlins and Phillips. The ensign could gain experience in surveying a planet, while providing the party with information about Alpha Carinae II. A (more sophisticated) computer could provide the captain with useful feedback.

There are moments in the series where an automated backup system could be useful. When the entire crew is incapacitated or when some powerful beings are running amok the ship?

There seems to be a false dichitomy here between man and machine.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

"Mr Worf I ORDER you to relax!!!'
After Picard ordered Worf to spend time with someone he is clearly uncomfortable with.
Picard and Riker seem like bullies here, as if they're trying to think of ways to tweak and prod Worf because they're bored. Lame
Set Bookmark
Hotel bastardos
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Awfully reminiscent off the boys from the dwarf.....
Set Bookmark
Earl
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 4:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

@Jay I knew it! You always play it off like you don't know Star Trek on RLM....
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 4:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Jammer has a problem with Tuvix because he was too adamant about living, and didn't see the logic in sacrificing himself to save two other people. And then other people in the comment section are offended by the show because Janeway would even consider killing Tuvix to bring Tuvok and Neelix back. The fact that both sides think the morality of the show is a big flaw is actually what proves the show's worth. Because it presented a moral issue so thorny that people can debate it with such strong feelings. I think that was the point. And at the end of the show, Janeway looked devastated. I think she was as torn as the audience.
Set Bookmark
Earl
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 4:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

I understand all of the issues that people are arguing in the comments. I'm surprised to see more understanding and thoughtful reflection in the comments, than in the review itself. Mostly because this isn't a mainstream review, it's a regular guy's blog. It wouldn't surprise me if it was a rotten tomatoes critic review.

That out of the way, my biggest gripe is with Beverly. I don't buy her "using untested treatments is wrong" stance, because that's what we've seen her do for four and a half seasons. Every Star Trek episode, that has anything at all to do with medical issues, has the chief medical officer coming up with untested treatments on the fly. She may as well be calling McCoy, Polanski and herself "bad doctors" for saving their crews from unknown alien parasites. From the TNG references to TOS in "Naked Now", it sounds like the federation doesn't put treatments through a lot of testing anyway. Dr McCoy's treatment from "Naked Time" is just accepted despite it only being used that one time. Granted 400+ test subjects is more than any vaccine gets in modern times before approval.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Very weird episode. You can tell they ran out of money from Q Who. Reusing sets constantly and storylines that require absolutely no special effects other than one washed up rock star in a costume they probably had since TOS but always thought it was too stupid looking to use
Set Bookmark
Dreubarik
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 7:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

I agree with the comment above and I think people like Elliott are missing the point. On rewatch, it is a stronger episode than I remembered it to be, even though the B-plot (while not bad) absorbs needed time to make the A-story even stronger.

This is a story about how the Federation, which is in essence a socialist utopia, deals with libertarianism (using both the maquis in general as represented by Eddington and the Sisko-Yates relationship more specifically), and how there is value to personal freedom even after all your material needs have been met. Reducing it to "the maquis are adolescent idiots because everything would be provided for them in the Federation" makes the common mistake of seeing people as "homo economicus", rather than recognizing that some people legitimately search for meaning outside of societal rules, even when those rules are close to the ideal.

Of course, DS9 ultimately sides with the Federation: Warmongering is indeed a step too far for the defense of those values. But highlighting the imperialist tension that comes with an imposition of "modernity," even when that modernity is an idealized roddenberrian paradise, is a great thing for Star Trek to do.

The episode (and generally the maquis plot) should make the point about economic needs having already been met more explictly. But I think this is more a case of Star Trek writers in the 1990s assuming that it was already very implicit in how the Federation is presented than a result of them not having it in mind.
Set Bookmark
Gozar
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

The Tuvok roast in the beginning was a wee bit cringey.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Janeway risked the doctor's existence by returning his lost memories to him. She also risked the whole ship, since they had no other doctor available.

Better alternatives would have been:
1. Make the doctor aware of what occurred, but without restoring the actual memory. As a trained physician, he should understand it as equivalent to amputation of a gangrenous limb: sacrifice a part to save the whole.
2. Agree to return the memory upon the return to the alpha quadrant. The doc is no longer needed at that point, and if he implodes, no one else suffers.
3. Rewrite his program to allow for "no clear right call" decisions of this nature. Had he not liked Harry Kim, he might have frozen up, losing both patients.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Interesting how polarizing this one was. Though I think that if people can dislike the masterpiece that is "The Visitor" and enjoy the abomination that is "Threshold" (and both happened), anything can go that way.

Regarding the lack of holodeck tech, that's easily explained. I used to listen to Sesame Street on vinyl records. If I heard a kid listening to it on a CD, I would still say "I used to listen to that". Maybe Samantha and the captain enjoyed Flotter on an older medium.

This one had its ups and downs for me, but I think that it is carried by Naomi's relentless cuteness, Neelix's very relatable dilemma, and the fact that I was genuinely worried for Ensign Wildman (another character overdue for promotion). I'd give it 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Carly
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Side note: I would have eagerly donated my genetic material to the colonists. Am I really the only one who thinks it would be fascinating and fun to have a thousand clones of myself running around on a distant planet?
Set Bookmark
Carly
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Most irritating part of the episode was the portrayal of the put-upon woman (Brenna) who does all the work and organizing and thinking - ie, the actual leading - while the men who call themselves leaders act like (drunken) little boys. Why isn’t she the leader, and why does she dutifully clean up after the idiots rather than deposing them? The fact that she keeps spelling out her disdain for the men while continuing to serve and placate them, doesn’t make her lot any more palatable.

Picard’s polygamy solution was fine until Brenna - unable to envision a society that granted her freedom and equality - reinterpreted his meaning as “three husbands, you say?” and turned her gold-digger gaze on the lead clone. I’m pretty sure Picard just meant to encourage casual or transient partnerships among the colonists. This would be a far more pleasant and flexible way to shake up the genetic pool than shackling everyone in triple-matrimony.

(Assuming that males and females are roughly equal in numbers, the only way to give each woman three husbands would be to form 6-person marriage units of 3 men and 3 women. Emotionally arduous, and genetically confining.)
Set Bookmark
Carly
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Addendum: Better yet, it would have been interesting to see Harry go from delight at his good fortune to a gradual realization that the ‘perfect girl, perfect life back home’ that’ he’s been missing while on Voyager... no longer suit him. He finds Libby seems a bit saccharin, the admirals grate on him, and his parents baby him in a way he used to like but now finds irksome. He chooses Voyager, falsely telling Libby that leaving her breaks his heart - and on his return he wonders whether he’s fit for an Earth life anymore, and whether he even cares if Voyager ever reaches home.
Set Bookmark
Carly
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

The opener was gripping, the middle decent, but the explanation and resolution were shrugworthy.

I would have liked it better as a character episode in which Harry figures out the way back, but is torn over whether to leave paradise. It was strange that he never seemed at all tempted to embrace his situation and leave poor baffled Danny Byrd in his place.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Speaking of Ashley Judd in Star Trek:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghVSZNYPXtw
Set Bookmark
Gozar
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Too Short a Season

Kind of disappointing, I was hoping the Admiral would regress to a baby, then an embryo.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

People should give Voyager a break. When Voyager does something derivative, people criticize it for being unoriginal. When Voyager does something weird, people complain it's too weird. If Twilight Zone or TOS had done something like this back in the psychedelic late '60s, people would have loved it. And this episode was kind of like a Twilight Zone episode. And it came out years before the Matrix, which has the same basic idea. It was a weird and stagy show, but interesting.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Maybe you have to be a parent to appreciate this one. The boring "cute" stuff may not have been hilarious or dramatic, I don't think it was meant to be. But parents everywhere were probably nodding their heads. It's nice to see TV children actually acting like real children. The show was about Tuvok missing his own children and bonding with Tressa. And the show's twist made an interesting point, when people age and become confused they do regain some of their childlike qualities. But regardless, family ties remain strong. Tuvok suddenly realizing that his role as caretaker was for an aging woman did not diminish his sense of responsibility to her. A solid episode, disagree.
Set Bookmark
Gozar
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

I had forgotten how in in these early TNGs how Picard was kind of a jerk. I think I like him better this way.
Set Bookmark
Hotel bastardos
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Considering Maxwell had murdered all those people without provocation (whether they were up to no good or not), he got a helluva chummy welcome from Riker and O'Brien when he came aboard....
Set Bookmark
Hotel bastardos
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Bloody good stuff- lots of ambiguity and a study in the psychological aftermath of war on both sides. Still, those reptilian kardashians are almost as shifty and dubious as the other reptilian and dodgy kardashians in this here reality. Not as utterly pointless though....
Set Bookmark
Hotel bastardos
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Like The Man says- she can dish out the condescending platitudes but she sure as shit can't take 'em. Rather, she flounces off in a tantrum every time....
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.