Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 263 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Although I’ve only watched around a quarter of ds9’s episodes, this is the worst one by far. At least Spock’s Brain had a semblance of a sci-fi premise.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

How are Janeway and Chakotay SUPPOSED to act after they returned to Voyager?

I think they DID become a little closer after this episode. If they were on the planet a little longer, than maybe something might have developed. But they got rescued, and we'll never know. They'll never know. And after returning to the ship, maybe they would be too afraid of rejection or something.

I thought this episode was awesome. One of Voyager's best.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

The best Dr Crusher episode, and you give it 1.5 stars ???

You actually rate several terrible season 1 episodes higher than this episode. You are totally crazy!

You gave Symbiosis from Season 1 two stars, but Suspicions, which is the best Crusher centric episode of the entire series only 1.5?? It boggles the mind.

This is at least a 2.5 star or 3 star episode. At least.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Once again, you're review sucks!!!!

The Masterpiece Society is a great episode. How could you give Remember Me a higher rating? The Nth Degree a higher rating? You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating!!! Those were the WORST episodes!!!

Anyone who doesn't give Redemption the 4 stars it deserves, I can't take anything they say seriously.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Your reviews are total, absolute crap!!

You gave Nth Degree a higher rating than Redemption, which, besides Way of the Warrior, is the greatest Klingon episode of all time. You gave Remember Me a higher rating than this episode too? You gave Remember Me a higher rating than Tin Man and Legacy as well!!! Do you even watch these episodes and pay attention???

You gave Devil's Due one star ???? Why ???

All the greatest episodes of this series you gave 3 star ratings or even less: The Offspring, Tin Man, Legacy, Redemption, Clues... all 4 star episodes!

You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating then Redemption. You are totally stupid!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Bnaact
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Meh...

https://youtu.be/bZapcomLk7I?t=35
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Ooh - I’m also really glad that they clarified that Arian was an augmented human or “half-robot”.
The character has kind of annoyed me since her introduction since if they had artificial life in the 23rd century that’d make Data much less of a marvel.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Am I the only one who is sad that they killed the Andorian and Tellarite admirals?
The Andorian has quite a few scenes before and I think the Tellarite did, too.

Although I suppose I could just be being racist. Maybe it’s not the admiral we have seen previously.

Also, I agree with Robbie. I kept waiting for Burnham to check on Nhan while she was suffocating, but apparently no one cared. Although, I was also wondering why Nhan didn’t just put her EV helmet back on..... Nice to hear that she’s a Barzan. That’s cool continuity.

Great episode! Except for the upside shots.
Set Bookmark
Isaac
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Why would the Talosians want Burmans bad memories of her falling out with Spock? The Talosians (from The cage) do not like Negative emotions. Also, why did the Talosians not use the blackhole to prevent Section 31 ship from find their planet?
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

I re-watched this episode today and a thought popped into my head that I couldn't get rid of.

The Prophets say that they are "Of Bajor." I was wondering if this is literal. The Prophets are the Bajorans, from the distant future. They evolved on Bajor, eventually becoming non-corporeal somehow. Since time is meaningless to the Prophets, they could have 'been born' (for lack of a better term) in the distant future. It would explain why the Prophets care what happens to Bajor.

What do you think? I think it's kind of a cool idea, if a bit timey-wimey.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

So this fellow Eddington is a master hacker who implanted a virus that left the Defiant and the Station vulnerable to complete destruction? Wow. He’s a genius and the Federation is inept.

So there’s a toxic gas that only kills Cardassians (no other life) and it works slowly enough to allow them all to evacuate? And there also just so happens to be a toxic gas on the Defiant that only kills humans (no other life) and it works slowly enough to allow them all to evacuate?

Forget about the premise that Sisko uses WMD with no assurance that people won’t die, even though there is no ticking time bomb scenario (Eddington having repeatedly stated that he doesn’t kill innocents, and he spares Sisko more than once); the episode is an utter contrivance. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

It’s an ambitious episode, which I appreciate. But issues of war and its effect on the human psyche are very hard to get right and this episode falls well short. The word “hackneyed” is perfect for this episode. Every cliche was used and every bit of stilted pretentious dialog was spoken. M.A.S.H. did it much better and was funny too.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 4:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Matt,
The two goodbyes were Alara and Alara.
Set Bookmark
tanstaafl
Wed, Jan 9, 2019, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

Interesting comments.

I think this episode is set up to be the pragmatist vs the idealist. But usually the idealist is the protestor speaking truth to power while the pragmatist has the power. I think of the nuclear freeze advocates during the Reagan years vs Reagan. I also thing of that Jack Nicholson court scene in A Few Good Men: "You have the luxury of not knowing what I know; that Santiago's death, while tragic, probably saved lives. And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, *saves lives*. You don't want the truth because deep down in places you don't talk about at parties, you want me on that wall. You need me on that wall. "

There are two problems in this episode. First, the captain of a ship in the middle of nowhere surrounded by enemies does not have the luxury of being the idealist, and in this particular case the situation was set up so that there was zero chance that Voyager would survive the final battle. Second, a story like this needs the idealist to be the one without the power and the pragmatist to be the one with the power. Janeway has all the power and her actions here seem more like Ahab destroying his boat and crew seeking the whale. As Seven says, there is no morality in suicide, and in Janeway's case she's decided that the death of her entire crew, which she has described as a family in prior episodes, is worth defending some principal. That is not even idealism; that is lunacy.

It would have been much more interesting if Voyager had some chance of success in the battle rather than being ridiculously overmatched, and if Janeway was the one who wanted to hand over the alien and someone else on the crew objected.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

So, they’re in the nebula and Torres says the warp drive won’t be working for weeks. But the captain says they’re leaving the nebula anyway at 8AM the next day. How far can they get with impulse power? This shows Janeway has lost her mind, yet Tuvok scolds Seven for objecting? Sorry but idiocies like this disengage my suspension of disbelief.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 4:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

I really liked the episode. I’ve always liked “day in the life” stories. I agree with whomever above said it would have been ruined by a Voyager-style jeopardy of the week.

It was a bit brave to open the season with a quiet one, but I really loved it, and the expansions to the ship with the restaurant and the school made it feel more like a real place.
Set Bookmark
Whaaaaaaaat
Sat, Dec 22, 2018, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Holy hells what episode did most everyone in the comments watch? This episode in no way glorifies Alixus or her followers or that old fashioned lifestyle, the last shot of the episode should give anyone with a brain clear indication of exactly how the writers feel about that community
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Dec 21, 2018, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

I'm surprised so many hated this episode. I didn't think it was so bad and actually liked all the mutants. So many star trek characters are wooden and formulaic, but the mutants aren't.

For those interested, the main actress has an interesting background on this episode which you can read here:

https://www.wnyc.org/story/241634-hitting-high-notes/
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Dec 21, 2018, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Why didn't they use Odo as a player? As a changling...he could have been quite good. He could have stretched his arm to make a catch and turned into a fast animal when running the bases.

I liked the team name, uniforms and hats (where part of the station forms part of the baseball).
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Tue, Dec 18, 2018, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Not a perfect episode, but good enough. Star Trek is a somewhat authoritarian show in that the chain-of-command is often seen as absolute and as an end unto itself. Where is democracy in the Trek universe? Why do we never see the characters voting on anything?

This is a nice change-of-pace episode that critically examines the chain-of-command and its authoritarian tangents. The medals, the obsession with rank, the absolute commands...it was great to see a critical light cast on these story telling elements that traditionally Trek rarely challenges.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Among the worst ever DS9 episodes. I'm surprised this was written by Ron Moore as typically he is a good writer. The story's focus is focused way too much on the "internal" and not enough on the "external". Sitting around in a cave for 45 minutes listening to Dukat's psychological problems is not good television.

The other problem is Dukat's inconsistent character. The writers try to make him out to be a super villain which is boring, cliche, two-dimensional and inconsistent with occasional bouts of humanity we do see from him.

What would be much more interesting was if Dukat really WASN'T a villain of the occupation. That would be a fascinating twist and a breath of fresh air for his character. Instead we are stuck with Dukat as the 2-dimenensional villain and the bajorans as a 2-dimenensional race whose sole focus is victimhood.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

Ok, but a bit disappointing for a Moore episode who is usually better. The story had potential but was too inward focused and lacked sufficient outward focus. The plot focused on cheesy prattle and conflicts among the klingon crew inside of the ship instead of the search for the Klingon ship and dealing with the Dominion (which were much more interesting). For all the talk of battle...we don't have one battle scene in the entire 45 minute episode.

Something else that was a bit annoying was the inconsistency the writers have shown with relative ship strength. Based on other episodes one bird of prey is nowhere near as strong as one jem'hadar ship. Yet in this episode the implication was otherwise.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

Not a good episode. A story needs change of direction...unpredictability...twists... This had none...this was a basic fight/flight/survival episode that remains the same from the beginning to the end. 10 minutes of substance stretched over 45 minutes...it didn't work.
Set Bookmark
Data’s android balls
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 7:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

This episode must lose at least one star for the mere fact that I find it highly unlikely that anyone in the 24th century would choose to use a “toaster” as an analogy for Data. Perhaps a tricorder, replicator or sonic shower, but definitely not a toaster. *Tongue firmly in cheek*
Set Bookmark
Data’s android balls
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

I hate hate hate this episode, so I guess I hate TNG. As if not liking every pile of crap they’ve ever made means I’m less a fan. The only thing “outrageous” is how bad this episode is. If Teri Hatcher’s character was that easy, Okana definitely had Riker’s sloppy seconds.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.