Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 72,476 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,900
Set Bookmark
The_Man
Sat, May 30, 2020, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

@artymiss You're entitled to your own opinion even though it is completely wrong. Brent Spiner is a fantastic actor and he did a great job here.
Set Bookmark
James White
Sat, May 30, 2020, 7:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Anyone watch Travelers? Surprisingly entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, May 30, 2020, 6:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

@Justin,

If Seska had stayed on board, the whole Kazon conflict would have suffered greatly -- not that it was particularly enthralling to begin with. Given that the Kazon were supposed to be Voyager's principle antagonists for the 1st 2 seasons, on their own they were surprisingly underwhelming -- little more than recurring hard-headed aliens. Seska getting involved made them more interesting, not to mention giving the Chakotay character some good opportunities as she bore his child. I guess I'd say some of the Seska/Chakotay stuff got somewhat edgy, but ultimately I would say VOY did play it safe. The Seska/Chakotay plot probably could have taken a darker turn.

That being said Seska as a highly dissatisfied member of the crew would be interesting as the whole Maquis thing got papered over pretty quickly and smoothly. Hackett is a decent actress and I really liked her role in "Prime Factors" -- that kind of pushing to do things her way would create some good conflicts amongst the crew and for Janeway.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, May 30, 2020, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

I actually would have preferred if the writers had figured out a way to keep Seska on board Voyager and a member of the crew. I consider this episode of waste of Martha Hackett’s talents. Once again she was given a character that we were led to believe was going to be a recurring character of a Federation adversary (first it was the Romulan T’Rul on DS9, in charge of the Defiant’s cloaking device, now a Cardassian spy) interacting and working with the crew. Turning her into a mustache twirling villain was a cop out. At least this time she didn’t just disappear. But it would’ve been a far more interesting voyage with a full-time Cardassian on board with all sorts of opportunities for good storytelling. Oh well, such were the pitfalls of Voyager viewing. They often went with safe storytelling instead of taking risks because network TV is what it is.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sat, May 30, 2020, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

I like The Game too! I just think that the crew has to be somewhat easily subdued for the plot to work.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sat, May 30, 2020, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@ Maq

Regardless of how you end up feeling about this show, I apologize for the journey you're about to embark on. Be it due to the show itself, or the comment section.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 30, 2020, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Mr Stewart did obviously not want to retire. Glad for that.
It looks promising, I hope he also will have some influence on other things than his own character. In such can be very good.

In this episode some parts was a little slow some very fast but Stewart's acting great,

Look forward to the rest,
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, May 30, 2020, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I wouldn't call it mediocre but it is certainly not good. I will pass on the Epstein doc. Rich people being shitty + sex, that's like dog bites man.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Sat, May 30, 2020, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Nailed it.
Set Bookmark
Jean Luc
Sat, May 30, 2020, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

This could have been something. Instead, it is an utterly vacuous episode that avoids all the interesting moral issues related to its subject. It's even worse that it was aired during a massive nationwide debate about human cloning.

By the end, the clone is expected to just meekly submit to be killed and harvested for his tissues so that Trip can be revived. So what exactly is this episode saying? Sentient life forms are now expendable if it helps the cause? I know this isn't Picard, but this is out of character even for Archer.

Bad writing, implausible story, no philosophical reflection whatsoever. This isn't just "not Trek," it's the Anti-Trek. It also doesn't advance the larger story arc of this season. Totally worth skipping -- zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, May 30, 2020, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming

I saw Space Force in the just added section of Netflix. I could tell it had not funny and mediocre written all over it. I went with Uncut Gems and the Epstein docu series instead.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, May 30, 2020, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

@ Jean-Luc
It is really not a good way to portray the issue. I also find Plutarch pretty unreliable in this instance. He wrote about Solon (and Draco) 700 years later. A law code with death for almost everything and written in blood. Sure.

And the question of "would it be good to be living under such a legal system if that would lead to a near perfect society", is not compelling. In Human history we had very harsh legal codes until very recently and they did not lead to a utopian society.
So the basis for the question is nonsense.

Also why did the others not warn Wesley, even the kids playing with him. Tasha rightly says: "And who tells visitors these rules?!!" to which the Edo reply:"Duhhhh." and what an idiot is Wesley. He runs into that flowerbed like a blind person. Maybe he deserves to die.

Plus the Prime Directive applies here (as vague as it is): "Subverting or avoiding the application of a society's laws." So the Edo' stupid stupid rules apply.
Set Bookmark
Jean Luc
Sat, May 30, 2020, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

This is a bad episode, but I'm kind of surprised at how much hate the concept gets -- Jammer calls it "just plain stupid," apparently unaware of the original story underpinning it.

Draco was one of the early lawmakers of Athens. According to Plutarch, he set death as the penalty for all offenses. His reasoning was that lesser crimes deserved death, and he could think of no harsher punishment for the more serious crimes.

Like another commenter, I really did like the juxtaposition of ultra-hedonism with totally unreasonable, inflexible legal system as its ultimate guarantor. If we could have a nearly perfect society -- a pleasurable utopia in which everyone is honest and law-abiding and has unlimited time for recreation -- would it be worth it if it meant living under such an unreasonable, ludicrous legal system? IMO that's a philosophical question worthy of Star Trek.

Unfortunately, this idea doesn't get a very fair shake. The campy and over-sexually suggestive welcome. Lt. Yar saying their laws are "Fairly simple, common sense things" -- but oh, she overlooked that bit about death to all criminals. Uh...okay.

Much worse is this contrived debate over the Prime Directive, which should have nothing to do with this. The Edo literally watch these tourists from another planet beam down from a starship in starfleet uniforms and communicate with Enterprise using com-badges. There is no effort at all to conceal their alien origin or the fact that their ship is in orbit. Picard even brings one of them up to the ship.

So, in what way does the Prime Directive apply here? If it ever did, then they violated it a thousand different ways before getting to this point.

This is some new reading of it the Prime Directive that never existed in TOS. The Prime Directive often comes up as a plot device in the various Star Trek series, but this is just an abuse of it. I can understand that Wesley's transgression creates a diplomatic fiasco for the Federation and Picard, but it seems bizarre to me that the Prime Directive is brought into this story at all.

In sum, I think this episode raises a serious, challenging, philosophical quandary about law and society, then falls completely flat in trying to resolve it. 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, May 30, 2020, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

I would give this 3.5 stars minimum. I would rank it up the with “Tribbles” as far as Trek comedies go. I’m a sucker for homages, and am a fan of “The Magnificent Seven” so this was right up my alley. I had some legitimate belly laughs, and even said out loud to myself, “They’re not going to ‘Weekend at Bernies’ this are they? Oh man, they just ‘Weekend at Beenies’-d it!”

Because it was a comedy, personally I give all the plot contrivances a pass. I don’t know if Iggy Pop was doing a John Wayne impression because it was a western spoof, but I loved his performance as the Vorta. Reducing a villain to a temporary dummy for the sake of comedy is very anime like and I for one enjoyed the hour.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, May 30, 2020, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Space Force is mildly entertaining. If you got time to kill, maybe.
The show doesn't know what it wants to be. The scientists are funny sometimes especially Malkovich but Carrell's character is not well constructed. The rest is all over the place.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, May 30, 2020, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

After the opening scene, I thought I would hate this episode, with Alexander over-gesturing and knocking things over, I half-expected him to say “did I do that?” in typical Urkelian fashion. Thank goodness his role was smaller than I anticipated.

I actually rather liked this one, I would probably give it a solid 3 stars. It’s a necessary light-hearted diversion from the gritty, stressful war episodes that preceded it. Was the plot predictable? Of course. But that didn’t affect my enjoying it. There’s something nice about turning your brain off and seeing characters you like put a new spin on some familiar, if not cliched, themes. All in all, as a palate cleanser, I think it does a great job.

I also liked the scene of Odo and Kira coming out of a closet talking all night like a couple of teenagers. Great stuff imo.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, May 30, 2020, 12:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

Personally, I’d give this 1 star: 1/2 star for Nana Vistor’s always entertaining evil Kira, and 1/2 star for the scene where Bereil steals Worf’s sword. Other than that, this episode has 2 downfalls that no Trek episode should have: being boring and being forgettable.

Also, I detected nearly no chemistry between Kira and Bereil. In fact, I think Bereil was the only character who has a mirror universe doppelgänger even more boring than his original self. On top of that, everyone in Ops knew about Bereils transport from the mirror universe, but nobody detected Kira? That’s a big plot hole. Also I’m willing to give Kira bearing the crap out of Damar a couple episodes a pass since Kira has had a life of fighting and security work, but mirror Kira has led a pampered life, and I find it difficult to believe she could knock out a security guard with 2 hits. I thought 1 Star was generous, but to each his/her own I suppose.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, May 30, 2020, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

Always fun to do and I see that I didn't do it here.

Here are my VOY 4.0 episodes: (31 of them!)

Eye of the Needle
State of Flux
The 37's
Resistance
Meld
Death Wish
Lifesigns
The Thaw
Remember
Sacred Ground
Real Life
Distant Origin
Scorpion Part I
Scientific Method
Prey
Living Witness
Drone
Infinite Regress
Counterpoint
Bride of Chaotica
Dark Frontier
Course: Oblivion
Someone to Watch Over Me
Tinker, Tenor, Doctor, Spy
Pathfinder
Blink of an Eye
Child's Play
Muse
Lineage
Author, Author

My 1.0 and below episodes: (15 of these)

False Profits
Favorite Son
Mortal Coil
The Killing Game
Nothing Human
The Fight
Memorial
Unimatrix Zero I&II
Spirit Folk
Fury
Imperfection
Repression
Prophecy
Q2

A struggle for sure to limit it to my top 5, but here it is:

1. Counterpoint
2. Scorpion
3. Death Wish
4. Blink of an Eye
5. Distant Origin

My bottom 5: (not so hard)

1. The Fight
2. Fury
3. Q2
4. False Prophets
5. Favorite Son
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 30, 2020, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Ah, Carrell, Malkovich and story by Daniels? It sounds like it has a lot of potential. Alas, no Netflix subscription here so hopefully it will have a free preview somewhere.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, May 30, 2020, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Speaking of great new scifi, hope everyone is watching Space Force.

It's like the most enjoyable prequel for Star Trek/Orville we could hope for!

And Steve Carrell is fantastic. The Office in space uniform :-)
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sat, May 30, 2020, 10:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

I wish they would've somehow written in a clever trap that the Ferengi use to disable the Enterprise. It would've been nice for the Ferengi to actually demonstrate their sneaky side, and the Enterprise losing a firefight to them is simply pathetic. But there are also many other episodes where the Enterprise barely seems to be trying in these combat situations... too much yelling "Damage report" and not enough yelling "Fire all weapons!" or, for that matter, "Warp away!"
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, May 30, 2020, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Hey, I like The Game!
Set Bookmark
William B
Sat, May 30, 2020, 9:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

"I think the B plot with the Ferengi would've worked OK even if it was exactly the same plot, just not with the Ferengi. Maybe rogue Klingons (the whole mining part could be left out since that's not really their thing...ok except for Lursa and B'etor apparently), or some other species."

I'm not sure if this is the point to which you refer, but: I think the exigencies of the plot are that the enemy had to be pathetic enough to be plausibly outmatched by children (or at least adults posing as children), which causes the other side of the problem, which is that the adult crew looks much worse in falling to them. It's the same problem as in The Game, though there it's the teen/young adult Wesley and Robin who play the role.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sat, May 30, 2020, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

As much as I like the episode. It's definitely a slog to get through this one. First of all, the ceramic horse is Tang Dynasty (with sancai glaze) not Song Dynasty. It falls in the period 618-907. So even Data is wrong on this one at the get-go and all mention of the 13th century is hooey. I wish we could move ahead a couple of seasons so that Geordi could be given the line: "Wait a minute Data, I saw one of those horses when I visited Utopia Planetia once; they're usually dated to the 10th century or before!" To which Data would reply, "I will perform a diagnostic of my positronic matrix." (Stage direction: Data head tilt with android pain wince) - " you're right, Geordi, Lore must have deceived me when he gave me that intro course on Chinese sculpture."

The episode actually has an assortment of good scenes and should not be expunged from memory. One of the difficulties is that Lutan is not written as having a code of honor that anybody really respects.

The second difficulty is that once the horse thing is introduced, nothing is done with it. This is a real missed opportunity.

Why upon receiving the horse does Lutan not say something like "What is this maahvelous creature? We have nothing like it on our world. I don't understand it but as is gesture of your friendship, I will try to be worthy of it."

But all of the ideas become a muddle.

The focus should have been on the horse (linked to both masculinity and counting coup). Lutan should have been written with an honor system in which his counting coup against potential friends and allies was eventually admitted to have been a mistake. Then Lutan could return the horse to Picard at the end, poignantly and resign from over-weening pride and regain some of the honor he had lost.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Sat, May 30, 2020, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

There seem to be a few different stories and it’s been a while since I read it, but two reasons for them using the Klingon battlecruiser model for the Romulans:

- One story was that the original Bird of Prey model was lost when a building or garage burned down (!)

- The other is that the Bird of Prey designer, Wah Chang, was not fairly paid for his work for Balance of Terror, and decided to destroy the model as retribution.

It’s curious enough I’ll have to see if I can find more! But at least this gave us the most detailed interior we’d ever see in an alien ship in TOS.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,900
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.