Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 61,788 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,472
Set Bookmark
Springy
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

Pretty good concept, though the spoon-feeding exposition dialogue from Kirk was a bit over-the-top.

A lot of it was over-the-top: Apollo's lonely angst and complete inability to reason, Carolyn's instant great love for Apollo, Scotty acting like Carolyn was his woman (after she agreed to a cup of coffee with him) . . .

Sort of silly. Average ep overall - maybe slightly below.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

Well, at first I found it both funny and remarkable that Spock could overcome his urge to mate by tussling a bit with Kirk.

Watching it again, I see that it isn't so much the tussle, as the belief that he had killed Kirk, that seemed to knock the libido right out of Spock. It's still pretty odd, given how crazy-gone he was.

Nimoy does a truly great job. He and Shatner are good together as Kirk teases the facts out of Spock. Some funny lines as well as serious, and nicely played.

I love that they were all so in awe of T-Pau. Again, despite the rampant sexism in the show, it was still ahead of it's time. They were trying.

The whole idea of the Ponn Fahr is kinda nutty, and sort of burdened the series when it came to Vulcan portrayal, but nicely alien.

An above average offering, I'd say.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

This is the completely disposable set up for Picard's interrogation by David Warner in Part 2-as I recall a pretty decent episode.
Picard,Crusher and Worf cut ridiculous figures as high tech ninjas cavorting around in caves and tunnels.
Ronny Cox ( can't quite seperate him from his character in Robocop) is fine as Jellico right up until he seems to lose it with the Cardassians ( for real or mind games) and I felt every sympathy with him having to deal with whiny Riker who should have been put on report for failing to carry out his rota shift change order.

None of this episode really matters though as previously noted.

Oh, and although Picard's interrogation in part 2 was good, in my view Babylon 5 did this much better when Sheridan was captured by President Clarke's forces ,tortured and quizzed in a B5 episode made a few years later.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Tuvix *is* a fully-realized (not even embryonic) living being, standing before us -- sentient and conscious and with an interest in self-preservation. That the circumstances of his birth into the world were unusual, even unfortunate, cannot be a reason to kill him. Not holding to this most-fundamental precept opens the door for all kinds of abuses.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

7/10

ironically a cluttered episode or dull in some aspects. Even Spock couldn't raise the bar on this one.

Riker was good in it though. He showed independent leadership and why he could be his own captain. And I don't even like Riker. By the way have you checked out the Twitter account "Riker Googles". It is very funny.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@ Jackson,

If the episode had been about determining whether Tuvix was of sound mind then at least that debate would have been on the table. It would be something, and points could be raised on both sides of it.

Not sure why it's so important to create reasons why Tuvix either (a) isn't a real person, or (b) is insane or mentally incompetent, or (c) never 'really' existed. All of these seem to be refuted by the fact that Janway let this person conduct the duties of the Starfleet officer. If she let someone mentally incompetent do that then she would have to be even more incompetent!
Set Bookmark
Jackson
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

And we're not even getting into whether a fused being can be said to be "of sound mind".

If a human and a targ were fused, I don't think Targman should be speaking for the human half of his being.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I wonder why this episode was rated up at the season end. I’m watching through ENT for the first time and really did not find much enjoyment out of this one - but I wonder if, in hind sight, this one gets a better rating, in the same way many of the early Bashir/O’Brien eps from DS9 did, for being the beginning of what would become a more active friendship?

I’m reminded of Quark and Odo nearly freezing to death on the top of a mountain sometime early on in DS9, although I find their banter much more amusing - Trip here is especially annoying in the first half of the episode, although I find the things that bug me about him to be relatively consistent with his character so far.
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 12:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

"Why are we having a political discussion that has absolutely nothing to do with the episode?"

Thread drift, waiting for Jammer to chip in with his review - and of course, the next episode.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@Jackson

That's why I think this could be seen as an abortion analogy. A fetus cannot argue for its self-preservation either.

The real question around "Tuvi"x is why doesn't Starfleet doesn't have protocols for weird transporter accidents by this point?!

In the transporter, you can be twinned, de-aged, blended with another, assaulted in the matter stream, melted, transformed into a being of pure energy, be cured of disease, be sent to a mirror universe, contract psychosis etc. etc..

Why would this even be up for debate? There should be rules set in place for easily imagined eventualities.

Also, I must say that the idea of Tuvorchid just makes me laugh.
Set Bookmark
Jackson
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Your idea of whose rights triumph seem to be based entirely on possession in a moment in time.

Basically, Tuvix wins the day because he's standing before you and the other petitioners aren't able to present their case.

This is like saying that if squatters break into your house while you're on vacation and refuse to vacate when you return, they get to keep your house because they're the ones in it.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 11:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

This honestly felt like a season 2 Voyager episode - pretty good premise with some good scenes and aspects, but overall just doesn't come together in a compelling way. Weird pacing, scene progression feels off, and in the end nothing of consequence happens. Almost felt a little bit like that horrible Ferengi episode Voyager did, although not quite as terrible.

Although I will agree with a lot of people and say that Faux-Tuvok was pretty hilarious and endearing. Loved seeing him meet his idol and not quite measure up.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 11:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@ Jackson,

While we can easily reconize that this episode generates a lot of debate and disagreement (which is neat), I would personally suggest you think for a long time about the example you just proposed of Tuvorchid. What is a new life form? Should a unique and never-before-seen strange thing be given respect? TNG dealt with issues like this all the time, and that's where I think we need to look regarding an issue like this.

There's no question that choosing to not get Neelix and Tuvok back would be a big deal, and would require careful consideration. And that would have to be weighed against what the nature is of this new creature; what it's like, what it wants and needs, whether it's a unique new life form or species (Talaxian/Vulcan hybrid would indeed be a new species), and all the other questions. Think a lot about Tuvorchid, and about how to determine whether it/he has rights.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I think Alan Roi would be a little sceptical of answering the question because if he gives us an example "A" of great plotting, some of us may not think it is great plotting. I believe he also thinks that some of us will argue in bad faith, i.e. any A he points out, some of us will say it is bad plotting regardless of what we would have neutrally believed. This is why he refuses to engage.

I, for one, even though lukewarm about Discovery, would really like to hear these examples of great plotting from Alan Roi, because he is one of the most careful viewers of the show. It would be educational, and it may help me enjoy the show better.

(I am not saying that anybody on this board actually argues in bad faith, I am not pointing any fingers, and do not mean to.)
Set Bookmark
Jackson
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I wonder if the people championing the rights of the freak of nature would still be doing so if it truly was a freak of nature, like say if Tuvok had fused with the orchid itself, and Tuvorchid wanted to stay Tuvorchid.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

8/10

This one had a suspenseful story with the humourous depot boss. It's good to poke fun at the self important isn't it?


Actually , it is only the trip to Romulus and the inclusion of Spock and Sarek that bumps this up. I found my attention drifting while watching this which isn't great...
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

'Every revolution begins with one man trying to make a difference"

Remember folks? The original Mirror Mirror? Is there anything like that here?

A character dies and is brought back to life but dies again maybe and lives again and who cares?

A character is good in one episode and bad another with apparently the only purpose to defy expectations that the writers begin with originally. Aren't they so clever?

How did the Klingons lead the resistance? Oh by leading? How profound.

Isn't it cool? All the explosions in the flashing lights and the blinking lights and the fight scenes and the phasers?

And hey, this character in the Prime universe now is different in the Mirror universe! Can you imagine it? Isn't it cool?
Set Bookmark
James B
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

@Springy,

I too thought it was Garak's holosuite program. He tells Julian 'Happy Birthday' at the end of the show when Bashir states he's glad he's not 100, which relates to his comment during their parallel discussion at the beginning of the episode about how he feels old he's turning 30, i.e. Garak giving Bashir an appreciation for his youth through the holoprogram is Garak's birthday gift to him.

Furthermore, while Garak played the Lethian and gave Bashir the opportunity to 'accuse' him in the ops centre, Bashir missed this and told him that he's actually the Lethian (when it is in fact vice versa). While both are villains, it is Garak who is the real 'villain', and this ties into Garak's comment about Cardassian detective holosuite programs, whereby everyone's guilty, but the challenge is finding who's the most guilty (or something to that effect). This, plus Garak being Garak with his Garakisms in the closing scene, makes me quite convinced it was all part of Garak's unique birthday gift to Bashir.

Regardless, it's still quite ambiguous, and for this reason I still like it a lot, despite how boring and heavy-handed the metaphors were in the brain-damaged sequences (perhaps purposely put there so we ourselves are tricked and deluded into that thoughtline, as Bashir himself was by Garak's holoprogram).
Set Bookmark
Yair
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi,

Ouch you're right (didn't see your post before I hit submit). I'll cut it out.
Set Bookmark
Yair
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@Booming,

Well, all these terms do shift a lot. I still don't quiet understand what 'neoliberal' means. Everyone seem to be using it with a different meaning. At the moment, my working assumption is that 'neoliberal' means just about everything ever, simultaneously describing every country on the planet that exists or ever was. Also all of the entities ever described in Star Trek, including sentient nanobots and non-corporeal energy being. But we seem to understand one another and that's enough.

As for the EU, I described how it's sold to its own people, based on my readings of its proponents arguments (e.g. Habermas). I did neglect to mention the 'avoid WW2' argument which is also quiet common but yet another form of a security dilemma which in my opinion is not enough to hold by itself.

As for Trump and Obama - IMHO, the revival of classical realism has as much to do with China's increasing power and Russian aggressiveness as with Trump. Obama's the TPP was meant to contain another state (China) and could just as easily be interpreted as a realist play. The Iran Deal was more of a special exception for Iran, but going into details would derail the conversation here ever more than this post. The Paris deal was started by others and isn't binding enough (I'd have loved a carbon tax, national or international, the trade schemes are too complicated and too prone to bad incentives).
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Why are we having a political discussion that has absolutely nothing to do with the episode?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 6:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@Yair
If you mean the IR school of thought that Wendt created then that is one of the smaller schools, like idealism (very old) or marxist theory. It is also a little hard to grasp what constructivists want to say. As you pointed out. It is kind of the hippie theory ;)
I'm mostly familiar with the main branches of realism classical and Neorealism.
Realists, and that is one of the main problems with them, see the state as a black box. They completely ignore the inner workings of a country.

In liberal intergovermentalism or neoliberalism created in huge parts by Keohane Important are so called spillover effects and the three forms of institutions.
But this starts to sound like a seminar.

About the EU. Sure could go either way because something like it never existed before. I also kind of disagree with your opinion that the EU was created as a purely utalitarian construct. It certainly had more to do with ww2 and the wish to avoid that in the future.

Yeah Trump has really revived classical realism. Obama is for all intents and purposes a liberal intergovermentalist. He tried to create insitutions and sometimes succeeded. Even though Trump has undone most of it (Iran deal, TPP).
Strangely enough he made this new nafta deal which is almost identical to the old one.
The Republicans are a radical bunch these days and now the Democrats are starting to heat up, too...
Maybe it will all be allright. :)
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 6:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

While it's certainly true that Worf has had medical training and that modesty, therefore, should not be a problem, this episode still has the unfortunate flaw that the main characters are doing everything (except the bridge officer at the very beginning who got a console exploded in her face). Fine, Worf has medical training. But don't the rest of the Starfleet officers have it as well? Yes, there's civilians on board, but how many? I'd imagine at least 25% of everyone on board is Starfleet. And yet no one else could provide medical assistance? In fact, before her labor started, Keiko (a botanist outside of Starfleet who probably did NOT have medical training) was the one assisting with medical help!

It's understandable given how Hollywood works, but it was a bit weird. More egregious was Riker and Data attempting to get to an empty Engineering. So not ONE of Geordi's engineering crew realized that the situation was dire and tried to get there? Every main character was uninjured, but ALL of the goldshirts were and couldn't help? A bit silly. But ignoring that, it's a good episode.
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 6:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

In spite of its name it seems clear that the Federation is not imagined as being a federation so much as a Confederation. The same definitely appears to be the case with The Union in The Orville universe, and the same is true of the EU. In fact it seems likely that it would be truer to talk of the Orville's Union more as an Alliance, closer to something like Nato than to Federal states like the USA or Germany.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 6:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

No.

I'm simply asking for EVIDENCE that there is - indeed - an ingenious master plot of the kind you're claiming is afoot. An EXAMPLE of the allegedly great writing that wowed you.

You've said that this super-complex ingenious plot was set up from day 1, right? Well, we're now 28 episodes after day 1. Can you give us even one example of great plotting that was already resolved?

To everybody else:

I apologize if it seems that I'm bashing the show, because that isn't my intention. I'm simply voicing my doubt (which the vast majority of DSC fans seem to share) that super-tight ingenious plotting is one of Discovery's strong points.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,472
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.