Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 84,657 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 3,387
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

I tried to rewatch this, but I just can't get into it. Yes, the script built an interwoven theme well. But now I remember, this early Dax stuff just never worked for me.

I don't know if it's the actress's ability or weakness in the scripts, but whenever Jadzia would have serious stuff related to Dax, she always switched into sort of a Proud Honorable Serious mode. That one with the Klingons and the albino is a whole episode of it, and it makes it quite a chore to watch, for me anyway.

When I see Terry Farrell acting, it doesn't seem fake or bad, but I wonder if she just didn't have the breadth of skill to bring that part of the character alive. Because, for Cobra Kai watchers, this mode distinctly reminds me of the Robbie character when he gets into super serious mode. Basically, tersely say a word or line and stare.

But partly I couldn't care less for Dax's history. Sisko calling her "old man" and a line here or there were plenty for me. The Blood Oath was a decent story at least, though flawed, but that's for that page.

I just find this episode unpleasant. The guest actor seemed to play his part well, but it was a whiny character that I didn't really want to watch. Also, I had forgotten, but this script pushed Jadzia way way way into the hell raising, gambling, sleeping with anybody. Far more than before, so it wasn't just retooling the character, this particular script took it all to 11 just to shock the upright initiate. I'm hardly a prude, but I wouldn't want anything to do with this Jadzia.

Some bits here were good, like Quark thinking the initiate is in love with Jadzia then realizing and dismissively saying "oh, this is about the worm?"
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 7:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

So unless something directly affects me personally, I can't talk about it?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

That Ellen DeGeneres has picked up some mad surgical skills by the 24th C!
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

"Kai Winn(makes me shudder to call her Kai)..."

Just call her Nurse Ratched.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

"Things I learned today: Avery Brooks wasn’t acting when he broke down."

I re-watched the "What We Left Behind" documentary over the weekend (which incidentally is freely available on YouTube now https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yHixW9PLsAc ) and that's where it was mentioned that Brooks went all-in on that breakdown. There was also some discussion about whether he should direct or not, because usually they don't like to do that, but in this case it made sense.

From Memory-Alpha, quoting "What We Left Behind":

First Assistant Director Lou Race recalled shooting the scene; "He falls to the floor, and I'm saying, 'Well, I gotta say cut. But how long should I let this go on?'" Nana Visitor related, "They called cut, and he's… not coming out, and I know what that feels like as an actor. You're gone, and he was… he was gone." Added Lou Race, "If I'd stood there for half an hour, I think he would have kept on. He was very committed to that part and very committed to that scene."
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

I'm not sure what the issue is here. Surely two humpback whales, plus however much cubic whatever of sea water, make for a bigger beamout than a shuttlecraft, and that was done much earlier.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Luke

England. So Brexit is relevant to me, and affects me.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

@Booming @Peter G

Yet they also have a tractor beam - why stretch our credibility with the transporter?
Set Bookmark
Vivekwhu
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

As I continue the search to the purpse of life and love, being battered along the way with false dawns, but remaining incurably optimistic as a Star Trek fan, my comments:
This is the most romantic ending to a Star Trek episode ever, with perhaps only Metamorphosis coming close. I am sure there many holes in the plot, with even the concept of binary sex being challenged. But look beyond our current limitations and marvel at the idea of love being presented here.
After refusing her own temptations of power, Thalassa and Sargon choose to be together for oblivion, together. Imagine that, when current realtionships are so fragile.
Imagine CHOOSING to be with one person for oblivion, having already spent half a milliion years as energy trapped in a ball.
Takes your breath away.
Meanwhile, back on Earth, there is still huge danger that the pursuit of total power may get us all killed, facing the same problems as Sargon and his band. Who would we choose to survive the extinction of mankind?
A most thought provoking and romantic episode of Star Trek.
I like it even more every time I watch it, being jealous of those who have never had the pleasure.
TOP MARKS!
Set Bookmark
KP
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Things I learned today: Avery Brooks wasn’t acting when he broke down.

Well, then. Paints everything in an even stronger light.
Set Bookmark
KP
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@PB

Precisely. Nervous breakdowns look exactly like how Brooks acted it, actually
Set Bookmark
KP
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

So I stumbled on these reviews from Jammer because I like reading reviews and recaps of my favorite shows. I like hearing what other people have to say and how they think about my favorites. To that end, Jammer, if you read this - your recaps are amazing and I love them.

Now, having said that. This episode has always been one of my all time favorites of the DS9 series, and it is in part because it merges sci-fi and reality so effortlessly. Yes, it was great to see all of my favorites out of uniform and makeup, and yes, it was an amazing look at what life was like for African Americans and women in the 50s - but the one thing that I noticed that people commented on was Avery Brooks’ mental breakdown, and how it was “too much”.

To which I say: was it?

It was hard to watch, wasn’t it? Painful, almost, because it was SOOOOOO dramatic, right? And I think that’s exactly
WHY he did it, and why he overacted it. It’s very easy to look away when a problem doesn’t affect you. Brooks’ portrayal of Russell’s breakdown was uncomfortable to watch, but for all of the reasons that it SHOULD have been: he’s a person. A real person, with dreams, that deserve to be realized. And when you look at us, in 2021, 23 plus years after this episode was originally aired, still struggling to see people of color as real people, with real dreams, that deserve to be realized…kinda makes you wonder if he overacted that scene after all, doesn’t it?

This episode was a classic. DS9 remains one of my favorite in the Star Trek franchise, and I hope that maybe, by the time we reach the 24th century…that we’ll have the kind of racial harmony that we see throughout DS9, in real life.
Set Bookmark
Sykosomatik
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I loved the politics in this episode. Vedek Bareil's redeeming twist at the end made me respect his character even more.

Also, I don't see this as tarnishing Kai Opaka's reputation.. she clearly made a difficult choice in order to save more lives. There's no way it was easy for her to sacrifice the life of her own son.

Kai Winn(makes me shudder to call her Kai) continues to make me hate her with every fiber of my being... she's such a devious character that couldn't have been acted any better.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 8:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

What country do you live in?
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

I assume they would need a larger transporter pad to beam a shuttle aboard, probably one in a cargo bay.
Set Bookmark
Sykosomatik
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 7:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

Quark "out-logicing" a Vulcan using the Rules of Acquisition was genius and gave me a new respect for him. It was my favorite part of this episode.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

my kingdom for an edit function...
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 4:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

The transporter is like the universal translator. Better not to think about it too much. What is a transporter essentially? A replicator. Your entire physical form is broken down into an energy pattern and that pattern is then transferred into the physical form again.
The transporter is a plot device to gets people from a to b quickly. In TNG they already pushed it to the brink with Thomas Riker and other things.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 2:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

Apart from the lame ending, this episode is great fun, and has some of the funniest lines in all of TNG.

Q: “Oh very funny Worf. Eat any good books lately?”

Q: (to Worf) “I can’t disappear! Any more than you could win a beauty contest.”

Q: “…like the boy who cried Worf “

Q: (to Data) “It’s an irony that you make a better human than I do.”

John de Lancie is his normal self - I.e. he delivers his lines with perfect timing. I’m not a huge fan of Q episodes, but this and Q Who? are two of the best, albeit for entirely different reasons.

(The transporter can beam a whole shuttle craft? Uh….?)

3.5 stars seems fair.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Luke

If you wish to talk about Brexit (I don’t, particularly) then - oh, it matters.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

One of the things that 8472 got wrong was the number of Ferangi star fleet officers. I saw at least 3 of them when in reality Nog was the first and only Ferangi to join star fleet.
Set Bookmark
Flying Ox
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

This episode strikes me as a little weird in light of the overall continuity. Do we ever see Kahless again? Gowron says Worf's word carries weight in the empire - have we ever seen this in effect? Speaking of Gowron, never again will we see him this intelligent.

I see arguments that Gowron was always manipulative and selfish, but even if that is the case, in DS9 I would never guess that Gowron would be able to understanding the finer details of politics that he displays here. Gowron in this episode at least seems to be concerned with keeping the Empire intact, citing already forming divisions, whereas in DS9 he's perfectly happy throwing the entire Alpha Quadrant down the gutter for his own ego and not being able to see the big picture at all even when so much Klingon deaths on his own hands.

I don't mind Gowron turning more corrupt, but turning more stupid to become a mere strawman to be taken down is pretty disappointing.
Set Bookmark
GG
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Reg said Voyager so much in this episode I realized the name of the ship is always referred to as simply, Voyager. As opposed to calling ships and adding, "the" beforehand like, The Enterprise, The Pegasus, The Bozeman, etc. I guess saying, The Voyager just doesn't sound right.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 9:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

Loved this episode as a teen. I always wondered, though: In the beginning of this episode, how would the Gorn have been able to send a message in the voice of Commodore Travers in order to trick the Enterprise into sending down their tactical people?
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Q turning Beverly into a red haired barking dog was pretty funny, and I wonder if that would have been cut if this show had been subject to network censors of the era.

I agree with Top Hat, this girl character could have been detestable with a less charming actress.

It's true that Q is explicitly working for the continuum in this episode. That makes its place in the continuity a bit weird. That said, Q is not limited by time and thus his appearances in TNG aren't necessarily in the same order from his point of view.

I don't think they exactly made Qs mortal-- that is, they won't grow old and die. They do, however, have the ability to execute other Q.

Having Qs being on Earth before Farpoint isn't a problem. (Voyager has them on Earth for Woodstock, etc.). If we completely take Q's statements in Farpoint as factual, they are objecting to how far outward humans have gone and are going.


As for Voyager and how Q reproduce-- that was years later and arguably a retcon, but Voyager's work with Q was pretty lousy anyway.

Though I do think Q's weird desire to somehow mate with Janeway could fit into what we see here. Clearly the Q can't know everything about other Q, and apparently don't know entirely how this girl came into being, and they might well be worried the girl's parents did some weird things with actual humans to make it happen. They're explicitly worried she's some bizarre hybrid.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 3,387
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.