Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 264 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Yes, this was bland, most definitely ... but IMO the acting of the children was FAR better than the performance of the two adult guest actors in "Too short a season".
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 4:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I completeley agree with Jammer's Review.

Overall, this episode's story is very TNGish, combined with the simplicity and predictability of bad TOS episodes.

I'm still quite disappointed about the path The Orville/Seth McFarlane decided to follow. (I don't want to repeat my banter on "Home" - just a few words:)

Quite many people were complaining about the first season not finding its own rhythm or style. - After having watched five dull, not very funny, but very predictable episodes of season 2, I'm absolutely sure:

In season 1, they HAD found their style and their place in SciFi TV. Everything was possible, anything could happen, every show was a surprise, every show was funny (yes, sometimes goofy or gross) - but always kinda ... fresh.

Now they found their routine - and it bores me, because it's a mix of bad TOS combined with bad TNG. What a shame.
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 5:22am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I don‘t know. After having watched 3 episodes of season 2, I‘m quite disappointed about the result of the series' search for its own course.

In fact, I think the roller coaster-like season 1 showed already what this show is capable of: Anything.

You never knew what kind of style would be the next episode. Screwball comedy (Cupid‘s Dagger)? Adventure (Into the Fold)? Moral discussion (About a Girl)? And it was always enjoyable, often funny, sometimes hilarious and/or goofy, mostly interesting. When I was watching this season 1, I often asked myself: What do they really want to be? Amongst all these extremes, where will they settle?

And, well, now I‘m thinking they should have settled where they were in season 1 – anywhere. They were able to do anything – and it was entertaining. In retrospect, it was very cool to be surprised by every single episode. Everything felt fresh. The plots were often quite simple, but saved by fun and surprising elements.

Now, after having watched „Home“, I have to say that most things that once felt fresh are quite stale now, not to say dull.

First of all: Why did they decide to broadcast three crew-centered episodes in a row? Why did Seth McFarlane destroy half of Bortus‘ character in the two first episodes of season 2? His „Pee Pon Farr“ at the end of the episode was staged in a quite boring and disappointing way. The TOS allusion (lighting, landscape … and being ep 1 of season 2) was nothing more than an allusion that went nowhere but down the canyon together with Bortus‘ urine.

An then poor Bortus had to be turned into an insincere, treacherous cybersex addict. Sorry, Seth. Porn addiction being a serious issue for many people, granted, it‘s quite stupid to transform the most faithful, and thus unintentionally most hilarious character into a being rather not to be trusted or loved, despite all his good intentions and him apparently being as punctual as before ep 2 in ep 3.

But his „I will not fail you, captain“ will never make me laugh.

And the second (and last) character taking seriously her job on the bridge has left us now in episode 3. Great.

While I‘m writing this, I do not know yet Alara‘s successor, but the DVD cover is quite revealing, though.

So, well, there seems to be a little chance that the bridge and the audience are not completely left alone with „dude-bro“-type crew members. - Well, yeah, the dude-bro-talk IS quite hilarious from time to time – but it‘s no great fun to watch them act and talk without counterparts. Already now, LaMarr‘s ¼ liner „Boom“ ain‘t very funny any more. The appearance of new freaky minor characters saying and doing stupid things neither.

So, to resume my first thought: It seems that The Orville has found now its pace. A lot of comments here at Jammer‘s seem to have wished exactly this. And they seem to like the results.

I don't.
Unfortunately it‘s a quite TOS-like mood what they chose to be their credo, including lowered speed, quite predictable plots, gags and punch lines - and less fun. Not really my cup of tea anymore.
Set Bookmark
Scarmoc
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@OTDP
Is it fair for someone to demand that other posters “talk about Star Trek” while that person has not actually watched it himself or herself? This is a attempt at thought suppression, a la “Random Thoughts.” “Sure, we can talk about Star Trek, but only if we do so on my arbitrary, goal-post changing terms.” That is what you want.

As someone once said, one person should not be allowed to fight freestyle while requiring his opponent to abide by Marquis of Queensberry Rules. (Boxing figured in VOY’s “The Fight,” so I am talking about Star Trek).

Whenever someone had a non-OTDP thought and expresses it, that person is “ attacking you.”

As Q said in Q-Who, “the arrogance.” Your need to belittle posters who neither mention you, nor what you are talking about, makes me uncomfortable posting here.

The last word is yours, as always.
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

In case I wasn't clear, my comment was about the lack of subtitles, which means the webpisodes are also not accessible to the deaf or hearing-impaired communities
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

In case I wasn't clear, my comment was about the lack of subtitles, which means the webpisodes are also not accessible to the deaf or hearing-impaired communities
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

I'm sad to see they are not part of the Amazon Prime experience, and I had to youtube them. Since English is not my first language, and my hearing is not as it used to be, I lost a lot of dialogue. With that in mind, the webpisodes are not par to what I've come to expect of BSG. The are a bit bland, aren't they?
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

There's only one good thing to say about this cringeworthy episode:

This time, Kirk did not kiss the female alien (usually it happens in minute 35:00 of an average show) , as he does in two out of three episodes of season 2 - in order to save his crew, mankind, script or whatever there is to save.
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 12:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Well, judging by ST:E latests episodes, I'm clearly not in the supposed "demographics", and neither are most of the ppl commenting here
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Fri, Apr 17, 2020, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

The most amusing part of this episode was trying to figure out what was Neelix doing disguising as a Ferengi. The least amusing part of this episode was seeing he wasn't
Set Bookmark
SC
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 8:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

If that's the case then Stewart was wrong. You should go and watch The Critical Drinker's video on why Picard failed. Everything he says makes sense.
Set Bookmark
SC
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 7:34am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming

"Patrick Stewart demanded that every aspect of Star Trek had to be changed or he wouldn't come back (So yeah it is Star Trek, just completely changed) and apparently Chabon wanted to do something else entirely but had to do a doomsday plot. Never good to force a highly talented artist to do stupid. No wonder Chabon left after season 1."

Where is the proof of this? Because according to The Critical Drinker on YouTube it went quite differently, with the writers shoehorning Stewart in to an already existing plot, to sell the Trek idea they already had.
Set Bookmark
SC
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Check out The Critical Drinker's YouTube video about why Star Trek Picard failed. I often find him overcritical but he makes a lot of good points. I can't deny anything he's saying and it shows why this show pales in comparison to TNG.
Set Bookmark
SC
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@skye francis-maidstone

Well, of course, because it's just an opinion. You deciding his review wasn't well written is just your opinion. I think it was very well written.
Set Bookmark
SC
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 6:52am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@skye francis-maidstone You're still upset about Jammer's review from last week and because he doesn't agree with you, you're saying it was badly written. It wasn't and he was right. Picard isn't terrible by any means but it's largely, mediocre and forgettable television, after the first watch.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

It was all right. It wrapped everything up but it wasn't anything special. No one will be talking about it, on mass, in a week from now. Yet, everyone is still after that Pike / Spock spin-off show.

Couldn't they have put Data's consciousness into a synthetic body?
Set Bookmark
Wainscoting
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 4:32am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Startrekwatcher Just as with Discovery, the writers spend their time layering mystery boxes upon an already creaking foundation of mystery boxes and then with a few minutes left, elect to tear them all open at once. A lone, random box in the pile will contain a flashbang grenade that blinds you and leaves your brain smarting in a concerted effort to distract you from the fact that the rest of the boxes were either empty or at best released a small asthmatic wheeze.

I recall one of The Expanse S4 B-plots which stretched over quite literally half that season, and consisted of *MINOR SPOILER* a portion of the crew of the Rocinante solving the problem of a decaying orbit in order to attempt a rescue of 3 people. That's it. All the high-concept sci-fi stuff was left to the A-plot and it WORKED. It was focused, meaningful and entertained us without damaging that world.

In Picard, there came that moment when Kurtzman and co. realised they didn't have any ideas about how to manage the hundreds/thousands of Borg on the cube awaiting reclamation; so their solution? Jettison them all into space! (presumably to slowly and painfully deteriorate as we know Borg can survive in a vacuum). They seem to expect us to marvel at this scene of countless living beings being tossed away as refuse, when a little while earlier we were invited to empathise with them as victims of a great crime, now being righted. "NOO" yells Seven in her super awesome, distorted Borg Queen voice. Cognitive dissonance for mine.

I didn't love everything Chabon said in that Variety interview and I'm by no means convinced he is built for TV writing, but one of his answers made me wish he had full creative control from the outset of this show.

"You know, personally speaking, my own tastes and inclination, I always said when we were in the earliest versions of the room for this show, if we could have just done a whole show about Picard and the dog on the vineyard in France, with no starships, no phasers, the only Romulans would be those two Romulans who work for him on the vineyard, and no politics — just, like, there’s a funfair down in the village and they all go, and maybe Picard solves a very low stakes mystery in the village, like, someone has stolen the antique bell out of the bell tower, or something like that? I would have loved to write that show."

I think I would have been into that, actually. As it is this is where I'll completely sign off from Trek, at least while it's in the hands of Kurtzman. Should have done so earlier, but it's hard to tear yourself away from something culturally significant to you I guess.

Stay safe everyone!
Set Bookmark
SC
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 6:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@skye francis-maidstone

Jammer doesn't agree with you, and so you don't like his reviews any more, go figure! Jammer is actually right. I'm glad you like the show and that you get enjoyment from it at this troubled time, but if you critic it, it isn't very good.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

"My review got lost in the posting so I will try and remember. I think this was a 4/10. The only value was the Geordie conversation about a society pre judging someone's value. "

This was my only problem with it. The idea that destroying some cells with a genetic defect is pre-judging people isn't right to me. It seems more correct to say in their society that Geordie would be born without those and other defects.


>Troi feeling shame for having sex? I guess Riker's one night stands were never with other societies as part of his away missions? Troi didn't breach the Prime Directive and only professionalism.

Riker's sex usually wouldn't potentially undermine their entire society and growth. The only time I can think that was a problem is that odd scene where he pretty much got blackmailed into being raped by alien doctor in the First Contact episode. The society in this episode requires isolation. They were already disturbing that isolation, but out of pure necessity. Troy went way too far past that. It's only not a Prime Directive failure because of the technicality that they are human.

"After all in the next episode he has sex with Ro, a fellow crew member, who reported to him?? Didn't they know their ranks at that time? "

One of the areas were TNG shows its age. Sex with crew members down the chain of command wasn't frowned upon as it should have been.

"The so called Masterpiece society was lame : a few people leave and 1000s are at risk? Haven't they heard of redundancy? "

They address this in the episode. The society is perfectly planned. They do have the redundancy to handle a few unexpected accidental deaths but many more than a few were intrigued by the outsiders with more advanced technology that were different and wanted to leave.

Honestly I think this is a great episode that makes one think about these values. Would you rather a tightly controlled society where everyone's needs are met and everyone has a purpose to fill to help the greater good (probably a not so subtle allegory to communism) or would you rather have a life where things are far more uncertain, where people have far more direction and certainty in life and have to compete with each other, but where that leads to faster growth and advancement at the expense of many not having a fulfilling life? Personally, give me the former.
Set Bookmark
SC
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

The show is watchable but nothing more. It's not something I'd ever want to re-watch as it feels incredibly drawn out. It's a sad state of affairs when the character Picard is back and it's all kinda forgettable. Stewart seems to be playing second fiddle in his own show.

They showed in this episode how human consciousness can be added to a synthetic body. They could do this with Picard to keep the show going. It would be foolish and it would undoubtedly fail, but they could.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

ffs, I hate the fact that Picard is dying! Couldn't he be healthy in his old age? Have to say, I'm not a huge fan of the show. It has a way of telling rather than showing, there is a lot of exposition. It was fun seeing Brent again but this is no TNG. Compare this to the first season of Firefly and it's like night and day.

I really hope they don't transfer Picard's consciousness into a new synthetic body.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Picard took the conn on two occasions that I can remember - 11001001 which was mentioned above, and then Booby Trap when he relieved Wesley and piloted the Enterprise out of the asteroid field

Riker did something similar when he relieved the helmsman in ST: Insurrection.
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Tue, Mar 17, 2020, 12:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

@ Soji

You got the point. That's what I meant when I said that I always smile watching the scene: We all love Star Trek for so many reasons, but this stupid 60's miniskirt machismo of TOS is undoubtedly part of the Saga, too.

I hope there's no need to seriously discuss about it any more - I consider scenes like these simply as unintentionally funny.
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Mon, Mar 16, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

I wonder why nobody here has mentioned yet one of the most beautiful Kirk-esque phrases of the whole Star Trek Universe that happens to be spoken out in this episode:

"Worlds may change, galaxies disintegrate, but a woman always remains a woman."

It makes me always smile when I rewatch it.
Set Bookmark
SC
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Easily the worst episode so far. It was tedious. It was boring. They basically spent an hour telling us what we already know, again, with some hologram shenanigans along the way (which showed that Rios can act, but still...) This whole series could have been done in like 3 hours. I won't be re-watching the series.

Plus the swearing, uh! Telling Picard to shut the f**k up feels so wrong!

2/5
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.