Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,438 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 58
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I love the surrealist aspect of this episode. It's really unique in the franchise. Surreal imagery, surreal staging, surreal dialogue. Yet somehow it works and it's captivating.

This episode captures why I really like the 2nd season. You could tell the writers were really trying to do all sorts of different things, taking risks, to make the series unique and pull it away from the original series 2.0 that the 1st season was shaping out to be. A lot of people talk about the third season as being the first real season when things come together and become the TNG we all love. But for me it's really the 2nd season when this happens....albeit still with those spandexy uniforms...
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sun, May 30, 2021, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

It must be so dispiriting working for Janeway. It Disney matter if she sets up her own mini Think Tank, it’ll be her who has the solution... the others must think ‘why bother?’

And if Seven is such a genius why didn’t she have a solution?

I think Janeway is a poor leader, never seeks to allow her crew to solve problems. I think Picard, in contrast, would actually know the solution but he would let his crew tell him, allowing them to think they came up with it.

That’s real leadership.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, May 26, 2021, 5:59am (UTC -5)
Re: On a Tragic Tuesday Morning

I wonder if 20 years on you still feel that America will recover? Incredibly you've still not left Afghanistan. I would say that it hasn't recovered from it and never will.

Yes they were very innocent times. A few of the films released at the time were about how humdrum everyday life was - the Matrix, Office Space, Fight Club... and how people wished for something more. They got what they wanted unfortunately.

In retrospect, this was not an act of war but a terrorist attack which was successful in that it indeed stoked terror into the hearts of many and continues to do so. In Europe we have been undergoing terrorist attacks for decades.

Politically, I don't see how or why the US could invoke Article 5 and get NATO involved... I don't think this was the correct response. Far more lives were lost after the attack itself in Afghanistan and all for nothing, really.

Looking at your so-called former President Trump and his tendency to sow fear in to citizens (except about pandemics, where everything was fine), the US has probably never been weaker on the global stage and Russia holds it in contempt. The 'death...unimaginable' is actually the scariest part. Trump's fiddling was killing 1000s a day through inaction. Yet some Americans still voted for him and still believe the election was rigged (who claims this? let's see, oh, Trump... he can always be relied upon - good as his word, that guy).

This is just how things appear to me from Europe and following US news for the last few years.

I remember seeing the 2nd plane hit live on television and felt a chill up the spine that not only was this a terrorist attack like something from a film, the Pentagon attack demonstrated its scale and planning. Someone has taken the time to update home made videos of the twin towers from SD to HD and you can see people jumping very clearly. All on YouTube.

The polarisation of America in the last few decades has caused a lot of your problems where one group will not co-operate with the other no matter how reasonable it seems to do so. People misuse the word 'freedom' to mean they can do anything they like... for example, risk spreading Covid by not wearing a mask. It's actually quite painful to watch such stupidity from such a great nation.

The US is heading towards a dystopia.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, May 26, 2021, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Trek or Wars, Different Bob

Yes, no mention anywhere as far as I can tell and something that confused me. 39 years stuck, gets himself out. Goes right back in. Why? I feel like I'm missing something obvious here...

Apart from that, it was ok.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, May 23, 2021, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

The only problem I have with this episode is a pretty big one in my mind:

The connection between the parasite little brother storyline and Data's storyline. The needed to be connected in the sense that Data (and his father) SHOULD NOT ALLOW ANY RISK OF LIFE to happen to the little parasite brother boy in sickbay. Soong should have informed Data that there was no risk to the boy, since he has scheduled the Enterprise to divert in time. Or, even better, Soong could know--through Data--what the little boy was suffering from and give him an antidote when Data first arrived on Soong's planet ("Oh, but here's an antidote just in case you don't reach that staircase of yours in time my boy..."). You could make it one step better by having Lore not care about Data returning to the Enterprise--wanting him to stay for his own emotional reasons, or Lore could even smash the antidote in a fit of rage.

Whatever...

The only thing I'm driving at is that Data (and Soong) seem to be quite callous at not considering the child's life being endangered by the diversion of the Enterprise. There is simply no mention of it. The writers could have used the opportunity to nicely tie in the Data/Lore storyline and keep Soong and Data sympathetic to the child's life.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, May 20, 2021, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Apart from the 0700 thing there was a mistake in his dream of when he was a boy... Janeway says 30 years, not days.

Also ‘Eugene’ is obviously a reference to Gene Roddenberry who himself gave Wesley Crusher the middle name Eugene.

But no doubt you already know that.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, May 17, 2021, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

An obvious question that Janeway didn’t ask - where did 8472 get their intelligence? The answer to that could have been so interesting. How did they know who Boothby was and know so many exact details? Missed a trick there.

Next up - wherever they got their information from, it was out of date. Those uniforms were wrong.

Bugged me.
Set Bookmark
Paul F
Sat, May 15, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer really loves the word “arbitrary” just a little too much. Every time he uses the word in a review I’m going to down a shot of gin from now on.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

The look Janeway gives Chakotay when the Doc is answering her questions... laugh out loud moment.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Before watching checked Jammers score - assumed it must be really good for 3.5 stars!

Snooze fest that was laughable and not believable in many places.

Already forgotten it.

None of it made sense and worse, I wasn’t made to care.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Mar 27, 2021, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

Interesting review Elliott and bizarre ending on about Biden.

The main thing is he’s not Trump who is about as antithetical to Star Trek as Dawson’s Creek. The guy only lies, has no shame, takes no responsibility yet seeks credit, bullies, abuses, is corrupt and lacks empathy. Other than that he makes a great leader.

Even after the election he incited a crowd to attack your Capitol because he didn’t like the result, insisting it must have been a fraudulent election. He still is playing that card now.

His past is riddled with scandal. He likely collided with foreign governments, he was happy to see bounties placed on US soldiers’ heads, he didn’t attend a memorial to war dead because it was raining... the list goes on. How he has any support is beyond my understanding.

Good luck.

Regarding the actual episode: best quote by the Doc was him describing Zimmerman as arrogant and condescending and how could anyone be like that?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 4:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Peter. Actually some continuity here - look out for Naomi Wildman. Not a coincidence we’ve just met a new officer.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I love what you do Jammer and I have immmmmmense respect for your work. So I mean this in the best possible spirit. It’s hard to come across a rating and review like this one and not feel you have a bias against TNG. Considering the quality of this episode - and how much my kids loved it the other day - but especially considering the quality of this episode as compared to the vast majority of Discovery episodes, it’s hard to square the consistently generous ratings you’ve given to Discovery. Sure the special effects are nice, but the writing is consistently terrible (my opinion, I’ll grant) and nowhere near the standard of TNG. Leaving the other series aside, comparing these two on your site feels weird. If this is 1.5 then there should be a whole lot more disco episodes with a similar or lower rating. IMHO of course!
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Mar 4, 2021, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

Ok a few issues here but overall interesting episode and some great acting and character building.

No 1 has got to be how Sulan knew what a Klingon was and that Torres was a mixture of human and Klingon. How could he even know the name of the species?

Oh a Talaxian... he has Neelix to blame for not being rescued. Clearly they could only face having one on board at any one time.

Paris’s comment ‘you’ve got what you’ve wished for’ must be the least emotionally intelligent comment in the history of star fleet.

But apart from these bum notes the episode is dragged up in quality by the squabble between two sides of a character. This is quite watchable as both versions of Torres are very watchable, human T being gorgeous and feminine and Klingon T being courageous, impatient and confident in herself and her abilities.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

What? Lungs? Is this a joke?

Some amusing moments but mostly painful to watch. What’s going on with the Maquis? Aren’t there tensions? Would discipline remain on a ship 75 years from port?

This and Time & Again are tng fayre (and bad at that).

What would be really useful is a bigger picture of where they are and how far they have to go...

This is poor.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Yes Bob, you will fit just fine, better thsn than most actually.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

No of TNG episodes: 178

No directed by women? 2.

Although the ST message of equality for all is within all episodes, it didn’t seem to reach the production staff who were male dominated and wrote women in a weak way. An early episode shows an alien who’s surprised that a woman is chief of security... yet he might have asked, ‘a woman, as a director?’

Plus it says something that only 2 female directors were ever invited... one of whom was this episode’s director: Gates McFadden, a MEMBER OF THE CAST. Who was also fired in S1 for speaking up about her character too often. Gates was already an experienced director & choreographer, with academic qualifications and a theatre background. Yet she was only given ONE opportunity to direct in 178.

Unfortunately she wasn’t given a lot to work with, but from this point of view I think she did a good job. She also wasn’t mentored - just left on her own. The episode is ok. Far from great, but ok, and there are some noticeable differences in feel and touch. The busy sick bay and use of the red & blue jars... great make up, and a couple of comedy moments - Data interrupted when laying out what he’s going to do when he finds out who the father is...and how.

Great side view on the bridge of Picard and notice he appears behind Worf. He’s also pretty scathing of Worf.

Enjoyable for me.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

It's interesting... I am having real trouble letting go of this Carano situation. I am a life-long leftie of the social-democratic variety, with certain views that would probably be considered far-left, especially in the US. I have never been a particularly big Star Wars fan. The Mandalorian is the first thing I've seen Gina in. I disagree with her on most of her policy positions, especially the election nonsense. But for whatever reason it really bothers me the way Disney treated her. Her posts weren't particularly provocative or offensive (unless you're looking to get offended by every silly over-the-top internet analogy) and her policy beliefs are hardly outside widespread conservative consensus, the main difference being she's vocal and ready to get in a fight, which incidentally I respect in people. The more I think about it, the more outrageous I find the whole situation. To fire a person because she publicly voiced some unpopular - and truth be told not that unpopular - opinions... I find that not only extremely problematic legally speaking, I am foremost disgusted by it as a human being, by this odious need to censor, punish, and revile people just because you disagree with them, instead of doing the decent thing, reaching out and trying to understand the other side. Let us communicate as adults, empathize with each other, understand where we come from and why we think the way we do and not engage in witch hunts and mob justice, no matter how righteous we feel. This is a story of our common defeat, I find, and that makes me very sad.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Not only does Riker go and exterminate some living beings, he doesn't even bother to run it past Picard first and even mention that he's going down to the planet, and while there, will be exterminating living beings. He immediately sets himself up as judge, jury and, literally, executioner, which is contrary to ST ideals. The doctor nodding agreement and her almost fury at the existence of clones is also at odds with her character. And how does she know to check what they are immediately on arrival, and how can she tell they're clones from a flashing red light? Plus, why does she burst out with it without telling Riker first..?

This episode is deeply flawed.

I was actually living in Ireland when I saw this episode (when it originally aired there) and I can tell you that no-one there is remotely like that... but you probably won't be surprised to know that. And yes, Riker's 'well... hello there' is a bit much, even for him. 'Excuse me Cap'n, if you don't mind I'll stay here, to, er, help, yeah, that's it, help...by giving that lady some of my DNA. And after that I will be exterminating clones, who I didn't give DNA to.'

Awful.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 4:16am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Dave in MN,

By "going overboard" I meant that many human rights have their limits, but there are constitutions and laws to set those limits and courts to implement them. It is horrendous to me to see that over the pond it's enough to express unpopular, or even outright wrong, views to get fired. This is not about Gina Carano. I have no doubt she'll be fine. This is about the slippery slope to all-pervasive censorship that's been getting ever more slippery. Distinguished journalists have been fired because they weren't advancing the positions of mainstream concensus, lecturers and professors have been sacked because they dared to publically oppose occupation of Palestine or call for BDS, and the list goes on and on. We on this site at least should be aware of Picard's message in Drumhead.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

As someone who is not American, I must say that I think that cancel culture over there is reaching horrendous levels. Surrendering your basic human rights - and the right to work is a basic human right - to unaccountable corporations is downright scary.

I don't agree with Gina Carano's views or her political positions or the way she expresses them, but I do believe in freedom of speech and that if someone goes overboard in practicing that freedom there should be clear rules to establish that, not some facelees mook in a corporate boardroom somewhere.

The scariest thing, to me, is how seemingly willing people are to hand away their freedoms. Interested in reactions of fans, I went to Mandalorian reddit and was amazed by what I found there. They were all cheeeing! This is McCarthyism come again.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

The scenes with keiko and O'Brien were pretty hot. otherwise this one's a dud.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

"I'd really, really like to see actual numbers, given Anne Applebaum's profound insight that the gulag was the backbone of the Soviet economy. If Coatsworth is right, it's because he's cherry picking the years of measurement, starting in 1960."

I have no intention of defending communism, but that Coatsworth guy is absolutely correct. Eastern European communism after Stalin's death killed, imprisoned, and persecuted a lot of people, but it's nowhere near the level of organized mass killings and torture that various Latin American military juntas and paramilitary forces engaged in with full US support.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Sure, they "chose" to stop at six seasons because after negotiations and consultations and what not they knew they couldn't get more. Therefore they planned seasons 5 and 6 with that in mind, and are hopefully able to provide a satisfying conclusion to the story. Were they hoping for a chance to adapt the whole damn thing? Of course they were! There are still three books worth of story to tell after Season/Book 6. Naren Shankar, the showrunner, and his team are outright saying that they hope that The Expanse will continue in some form or fashion. Talking about that possibility, Shankar said in an interview: "You know, honestly, that would be more of a question for our studio, for Alcon, they control the property. What I will say is that there's definitely more to tell and I'm sure Ty and Daniel would say exactly the same thing. But yeah, that's probably about as much as I can say at this point."

So yeah, depends on how you define "cancelled".
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Well, The Expanse was and it wasn't cancelled. It wasn't in the sense that the writing team, which includes the writers of the novel series, was operating for a while now on the assumption that six seasons is all they get...




SPOILERS: There is a pretty massive time jump after Book 6 which makes for a pretty convenient place to wrap it up in a somewhat logical and natural fashion. END SPOILERS


It *is* cancelled in the sense that the guys surely hoped to be able to adapt the entire 9-book-long series and, as it seems, they won't have the opportunity. I am still not exactly clear why Amazon and Alcon Entertainment didn't reach the deal to continue producing the show. The Expanse is allegedly in the TOP10 streamed show in the US in 2019/20.
Next ►Page 1 of 58
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.