Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 248 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You

SPOILERS
I am glad quantum slipstream was mentioned, from Voyager.
And Gorn?
Omega particles and subspace?
Hopefully they will tie all this in
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jul 12, 2020, 12:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

In our current age of political polarization, I am not surprised that some people love this episode and others hate it. I loved this episode. I thought it was hilarious and was laughing all the way through.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Great show but one of my complaints here is how much the changelings can take different forms. Seriously?? Fog and fire?? How can they give off heat and light as fire without losing mass? Also in the opening scene when Lass was bigger than the shuttle or when Odo becomes as small as a bird in other episodes. They should have limited the changelings to physical sizes comparable to their volume and not be able to become “energy forms” such as fire.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Worf really got on my nerves in this one, especially in the Dr Bashir scene. Seriously, why isn’t this guy ever charged with assault and removed from Starfleet. It’s not the first time he puts his hands on a fellow officer. Everyone always tries to appease Worf and and all the Klingons. In fact, I hate the Klingons. The only one I liked was Martok, and even he got my nerves occasionally.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Lol how many time must Quark be in financial trouble. I guess he isn’t a good businessman. He doesn’t even pay rent or maintenance.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Rewatching this now and Dr. Bashir really got on my nerves here. He was being extremely rude to his father.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Correction, the Bruce Coville novel is: "My Teacher Fried my brain"
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

One thing that I always wondered about this episode... if the aliens are able to turn members of species they've never met into temporary super-geniuses, does that mean they're all even more impressive super-geniuses themselves? Just how advanced are they? Charles Stross's "Singularity Sky" and "Accelerando" comes to mind. Also Bruce Coville's "Aliens fried my brain" to a lesser extent.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, May 28, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Bleh. I always hated the Section 31 plot line. It simply doesn't make any sense and completely falls apart with the slightest bit of logical scrutiny. Putting aside how utterly at odds it is with everything the Federation is supposed to stand for, the simple fact is massive conspiracies like it never make sense.

Believing the towers were brought down by the US government is moronic, because it would require a conspiracy of thousands of people, who all manage to never get caught, no one ever lets something slip, and everyone who knows about has never said a word.

Section 31 is no different. We're expected to believe that there's this global conspiracy, that everyone in Starfleet Command "knows" about it but is in on the coverup despite how utterly antithetical it is to their ethics and ideals, that the Federation Council either condones it or has been ignorant about it for centuries, that every member world has never objected to this horrific thing, but somehow the general public is completely unaware of it. Nah. Not buying it brah.

It's, frankly, complete and utter bullshit, like most conspiracy theories. The Tal Shiar and the Obsidian Order work precisely because they DON'T rely on a giant conspiracy keeping silent about them for centuries. They make sense. Section 31 is fantasy, and bad writing.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, May 23, 2020, 12:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

Just saw the episode and I thought it was kind of boring. I think I hated the "B.C" character so much that it took away from anything this episode could have conveyed. Very obnoxious and stupid character.

I agree Sisko was shown to have more depth than usual (that isn't saying much, he still isn't the deepest character but he is really likeable and "neutral" enough to pander efficiently for Picard of DS9).

I really doubt time travel when the show tells me changes in the past project into the future in real-time. That and the fact that the Romulans never polluted the timeline with their chromaton cloak particles in the same way DS9 did is not addressed.

P.S if Sisko's face was in 2024 I would assume by the time Sisko was recognized in the then-future he would be already arrested and questioned for violating the prime directive before he ever got the Defiant. Very stupid.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Apr 25, 2020, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Geez, George Monet, all of your posts are so angry. If you hate Star Trek so much, why watch and post on it.

This was one of the greatest episodes in TNG. Everyone in my family enjoyed it. Jammer liked it. Every one of the reviews but yours is quite positive.

So I went through your post history. I am not sure there is an episode you did like. Seriously, you might spend your time watching another show if Star Trek isn't to your liking.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

No one has mentioned Professor X... wow, I went to the search function and no one mentions Professor X and transferring his mind...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Also, it is like Professor X transferring his mind to another body... very superhero-y feel
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 2:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The scene with Picard and Data did NOT actually take place. It is all in Picard's mind. It wasn't actually Data's consciousness...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

//Let's look at xenopobia. The episode at the end makes a comment about how the synth ban was lifted but we are never shown how that came about. Why? Because Soji in the last moment decided to not wipe out every organic life in the galaxy? An option the synth still have. So every organic in the galaxy now has effectively a gun to his/her/they head all the time. Does an existential threat create acceptance? These 50 synth now control the galaxy. What is the message here? If we aren't nice to what is different then these beings will murder every last one of us? Will anybody think racism is wrong after watching this?//

Remember it was Commander Oh who was the leader of the Zhat Vash (sp?) Once she was found out, they lifted the ban
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The unanswered question: who were those future-uber synths? What will happen? If those are future synths, won't the future be endangered still? I think Discovered will answer this question.

I am not happy with the lingering question of who these future synths are. The threat is still looming. If any synth still make a beacon, those future uber synths will still come.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Picard will sacrifice his life for Soji
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

*airiam
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Spoilers
Trailer for next week
Spoilers, spoilers, of the trailer... do not read... do not read if you don't want to know
So you know Discovery, that red squid/octopus thing... I saw it in the trailer for next week. Those metallic tentacles and the red hole. Control will be involved. That makes sense... when Control got hold of Miriam, and when Control took over section 31...
This is very exciting stuff
End spoilers
End trailer spoilers
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

SPOILERS

The reveal of his brain condition. Seven and Elnor team-up, yes. And his reaction to seeing Picard. The manipulative Sutra... Soji indecisiveness and we could see her conflict... Soong's antagonism (seems to me) towards Picard... We see Oh's fleet...

It feels somewhat like a detective show. Who killed Saga? Were Narek and Sutra conspiring together?

That scene with Raffi and PIcard, very tender. When is Q going to appear? So will Soji be the destroyer?

I liked it, but when Seven said she felt connected, I don't want Seven to be borg again, will she become Borg? Please no.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I do like this episode but it is mostly telling and not showing. Maybe more flashbacks? Remember there are SPOILERS of this episode and so beware. I will also be mentioning SPOILERS of the trailer
Spoilers...
I am very glad that Seven has not become a Borg queen and Elnor seemed happy he was not assimilated. The Borg depicted here are lacking in something. They don't seem like the normal Borg. I did wish that Seven could have done something more damaging to Narissa, but sadly they went out the airlock... At least Narissa has more evil work to do here. So Ramhda (spelling?) the romulan prophecy woman is the auntie of Narissa and Narek. Does Narek know about the prophecy? I liked how Soji becomes a strong person in this episode, however she did not have to forcefully pilot the ship go to her home. I mean, now that Romulans are following her. Is it a transwarp Borg conduit they went into?

The scenes between Raffi and Rios were excellent and I liked the juxtaposition between these scenes and the scenes of Agnes and Soji. It is good that Agnes feels guilty and that psychic mental block?

So the Zhat Vash is a cult that tries to get rid of synths because they saw a possible future if a certain threshold is met? I think Control will be involved.

SPOILERS from the TRAILER - So they go to Soji's home and apparently they try to disable their ship, everything goes dark...

I liked how Raffi tried to uncover the mystery of Rios and Jana, because it seemed like a Poirot-convention.

I was only slightly confused as to how Raffi knew Oh was infiltrating into Starfleet and that it was the Romulans that ordered the attack on Mars and the ban of the synths.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Some spoilers/trailer talk coming up, so please look away if you don't want to see it. Scroll away or down

Ok, so I found 2 instances of the word "sacrifice" here. I could be wrong and they do not talk about Oh and Agnes....

What Oh said in this episode, the latest one, was that Agnes must commit a sacrifice. What is that sacrifice? I do not understand this... is the sacrifice her coma? Is her sacrifice the death of Bruce Maddox? Now... should we assume the tracking device is gone? Narek seemed disappointed and angry that there was no signal. Could we say that Narek thinks Agnes knew how to disable it? Do they think Agnes is dead? Why would they kill Agnes (Narek might think)...

I think the "sacrifice" that Oh mentioned is Bruce Maddox's death. Then Agnes felt guilty because Rios think Raffi is the mole, the spy, the secret agent... so I am thinking that Agnes was not supposed to take the neuro-toxin and disable the tracking device. Does everyone agree that her sacrifice was his death?

SPOILERY TRAILERY coming next

So now that Agnes has disabled the tracking device (SPOILER ALERT COMING... from the trailers if you don't want to know or see it, please look away - Agnes is alive and well and Picard manages to speak with Agnes about "hell" and I suppose she tells Picard about the mind-meld and Picard says Hell will come again... could that mean the Borg? This is Picard's personal hell, right?

END SPOILERY TRAILERY
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Yeah, my apologies. Should have warned you about trailers/spoilers. But technically... technically... we don't actually see Seven get assimilated. So we don't really know... Let's hope not. I don't want Seven to get assimilated.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

http://epicstream.com/news/NobelleBorines/Star-Trek-Robert-Picardo-Reunites-with-Jeri-Ryan-Ahead-of-Picard-Season-2-Cameo

//It has already been revealed that Robert Picardo is going to reprise his role as the Doctor in Star Trek: Picard Season 2. However, it looks like the Star Trek: Voyager actor is too excited about his return in the new series. Picardo has just revealed that he has reunited with co-star Jeri Ryan at Star Trek The Cruise.//
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 11:59am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

//You think maybe the call the series Star Trek: Picardo??//

No... Rahul. The scenes with Robert and Jeri were the best in Star Trek Voyager.

//And yes that looks like she will be assimilated.//

More sad news, Booming
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.