Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 6,094 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 244
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I enjoyed it more than last week's episode, but it still wasn't great...merely average.

What I enjoyed -

By far the best aspect of this episode is seeing the shipboard interactions between the Discovery crew. We get to "check in" with everyone who is still remaining on a ship, right down to characters like Bryce which were barely bridge furniture even in Season 2. Indeed, I feel like the episode peaked kinda early because the opening scenes of the crash and recovery were so strong, because we got to see a Starfleet crew working together to solve problems collectively. I wish we had a whole episode of that TBH.

Because so many characters were re-introduced - from Nhan to Linus to Detmer) - we really didn't get the chance to have a cohesive B plot this week. But Stamets got a nice mini-story regarding not being able to accept his medical limitations during his recovery.

What I hated -

Georgiou is just awful and nearly ruined the episode. Her hamminess as a character is just completely tonally off here compared to...everything else which is going on. Her early scenes were reminiscent of someone farting audibly in a large conference room - just embarrassing. This isn't of course because they're badly acted, but they just do not belong in this episode as scripted/portrayed, and result in a massive inability to suspend disbelief on my part. The worst part by far though was her explanation of why she came to the future. She didn't want to stay behind because they'd make her head of Section 31, and she hated bureaucracy??? She was the friggin Empress, she would do anything to get more power. Presumably this is a cover story because she doesn't want to admit it was due to her (weird) feelings for Michael, but it rang so hollow.

Star Trek has always been far from scientifically rigorous, but I never thought we'd see an exploded planet with a large chunk taken out of it...which somehow has not transformed into a molten ball and still has a breathable atmosphere. At least Tilly recognized how weird it was - presumably some future tech is involved. Again though, it kinda took me out of just "enjoying the show" early on and put me into nitpick mode.

Mixed feelings -

The bog standard western plot (complete with saloon doors and a bad guy wearing spurs) was...bog standard. It was a strange choice tonally considering this is supposed to be The Future and presumably the writers want us to think it's an alien place. But it did the job more or less.

Not sure how I feel about the "parasitic ice" thing. Trek has had worse science in the past, and I'd like a bit more technobabble to explain what the hell was going on, but I can live with it I suppose.

Finally, the baddie explicitly mentioned "V'Draysh" twice, which is presumably the word for Federation in the pidgin language he mentioned. This is the term that Craft used in Calypso, which means they are going to tie that Short Trek into continuity. My heart dropped a bit at that, because I've really not wanted that sweet standalone story ever really explained (and it has logistical issues which would require an episode of setup). On the other hand, if the uptime Federation is the V'Draysh, that at least means that Craft was really a "bad guy" - which I am happy about, because the idea that we had to make the Federation evil just because Craft was a good person was box of hammers stupid.

I'd still rate it - despite the slight improvement - 2.5 stars under Jammer's model. Not enough of an improvement for a three star episode IMHO.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 4:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

2 stars

A step down from the Premiere which was pretty meh itself. Just spun its wheels for an hour. The DIS crew I could care less about except Saru. This felt like filler. Amazing TNG had twenty six episodes a season and rarely did I feel like writers didn’t have a narrative urgency and point in the episodes they filmed. Yet with half as many episodes and a supposed serialized format the writers strain to tell interesting, intriguing, fresh and compelling stories. This was just taking up airspace. Nothing more. Worse yet it felt recycled. Been there. Been there done that better
Set Bookmark
gozar
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

There's a website dedicated to the stillborn series:
https://www.assignmentearth.ca
Set Bookmark
Array
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

I honestly loved the technobabble in the B-plot. The conceit of holding open the doors had the feel of a classic TOS episode, with the “shoot from the hip” mentality. Really enjoyed watching how everybody interacted in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

@PeterG,

Thanks for the explanation regarding Worf. I didn’t think of that. I did understand that his sense of honor wasn’t shared by all the members of the High Council, and that his self-taught outsider status made him a purist who held himself to the highest standards (similar to Brienne of Tarth in GOT). I just had never related that to Klingon sexual mores. But it makes perfect t sense.

I am going to disagree with you about pregnancy. Throughout human history - and still today in most of the world - women do not have the luxury of taking to their beds or quitting their usual duties for months at a time, every couple years. Women are the people who do most of the grunt work of subsistence farming, lugging the water and last year’s baby on their backs, scrubbing the wash and cooking the meals, and they keep it up until the baby comes. The human race would not have evolved pregnancy as an incapacitating condition, since this would have been terrible for the species’ survival. The same is true for animals: Zebras and cheetahs can’t lie down and moan just because they’re gestating. They have to run for their lives. Other animals have no chivalry toward their delicate condition.

In the 24th century - when medicine is incredibly advanced and a hypospray is all it takes to cure pain - I don’t buy Kira’s situation. I understand she would avoid military action because she doesn’t want Keiko’s fetus to get phasered - but other than that, there should be much less fuss. I could be charitable, I guess, and assume the Kira actor was having problems with her actual pregnancy and asked to be put out of commission for a while and that the writers saw this as an opportunity to display a different side of her. Still, I can’t help gagging a little. Maybe that’s just me.

(On a personal note: I had to work 36- hour days and an eighty-hour week throughout my first pregnancy, mostly on my feet, despite vomiting literally ten times a day and sometimes needing IV fluids to keep me on my feet at work. I kept this up until the day Ibwas induced. Can’t say I enjoyed it -actually it was miserable and exhausting, especially the last couple weeks - but it was my job and I had no choice and I did it. No one ever suggested it was dangerous or too hard for me or that I should be excused. Guess what my position was? I was a medical resident — in OB-GYN..)

Question for everyone: Pregnant women - doctors, nurses, teachers, and I assume soldiers and plumbers too - don’t typically get excused from work or put on light duty prior to delivery, do they? I’ve never worked anywhere but the medical field so perhaps I’m wrong, but I’ve never heard of this being a thing in the modern age, among any of my working female friends.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 1:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

A funny episode, with good Quark material.

Given all the sexism discussion above, I’ll weigh in with my own opinion.

ST made a questionable decision to cast females as submissive sidekicks in many races (Klingon, Ferengi, the “Suddenly Human” race), whereas it depicts males in that role never - except “Angel One,”
where male submission was the focus of horror and disgust from not only the characters but the viewers. Perhaps just as bad, ST depicts many women in traditional roles that it refuses to show men in: the self-sacrificing spouse of a Great Person ; the prostitute;; the d’abo girl/dancer, the caring counselor, the parent cradling an infant. So it was refreshing to see a Klingon woman acting, well, very Klingon, and very much her own person. It’s a bit of a salve for the crude use of Klingon women elsewhere, as fodder for bro jokes among male characters.

Regarding Elliot’s comments: I didn’t see any sexism in Miles’ attempts to make his wife happier. I though career-man Julian came off especially well, when he recognized that Keiko had a scientist’s passion just like his own, and matter-of-factly pointed this out.

The final decision of what to do with Mollie did grate. The problem is not that she ended up going with her mother, but that Miles had unilaterally decided to ship her off with Keiko *before asking Keiko.*. Why didn’t the writers see fit to have him say, “She could stay with me or go with you. She could even go back and forth every month or so, depending on your duties and mine. We can make it work.” (I mean, surely there are some people on the station happy to help out or make extra money. Garak in particular strikes me as a fun ‘uncle’ for Mollie. And am I the only one who thinks a botany expedition would be a much trickier place to be raising a child than a space station? She’s going to be literally bushwhacking in the wilderness with a small group of busy scientists on the move and exposed to the elements. Will she lug Mollie on her back?)

Bottom line: No woman would ever dream of informing her husband, “Here - I’ve unilaterally decided you should take care of the baby around the clock for the next six months. I’ll be far away, not helping at all.” When Keiko tells Miles “I couldn’t leave you and Mollie”, the implication is that she couldn’t put all the work of baby-care on Miles. The fact that Miles has no such qualms and doesn’t seem to know how much work a baby is, is crazy. That he presents his plan as not just the obvious (and only) solution, but also as an unmitigated good that isn’t selfish and won’t burden her at all, is jaw-dropping.

(If the show were different and darker, I would suspect Miles was trying to punish and sabotage her. “You’re not happy being a military wife and mother? Fine: see how you like balancing work and motherhood put in the wilds with no Miles O’Brien around. In six months, you’ll come back begging to be a stay-at-home wife.”)
Set Bookmark
Tara
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

I’m so glad I rewatched this one. I agree with Jammer for the most part. Quark was funny and refreshing. He had a chance to be sincere and sympathetic (and brave - he could have bailed on Grilka as soon as his life was threatened), as he had been in “House of Quark.” Good character work, and lots of laughs.

I thought Worf’s motivation for helping Quark was more than just a straightforward effort to prove he had the right stuff to win a Klingon woman. There was an element of masochism in it. Worf, the most honorable of men, lives with the shame of public disgrace, and as apparently feels it is his Klingon place to submit to this and even wallow in it (we’ve seen him insulted by Klingons in a number of scenes; he never defends himself). To help a (to him) worthless and craven Ferengi win the heart of a noblewoman he desires is an extension of his chronic self-flagellation. He’s intent on embracing his sorry lot, and believing himself the most disgraced of all disgraced Klingons in the history of Q’onos.

I liked Dax’s pointed comments to Worf, but I got whiplash from Worf’s sudden about-face. One moment he was wracked with pain as Quark walkEd away with Grilka,; the next he was helplessly responding to Dax’s charms. The scene did imply pretty heavily that Worf’s response to Dax was instinctive and sexual, which (among humans at least) is very different from being in love. I was expecting an awkward morning-after scene (as I think Worf had with Kaylahr) and was relieved that they were still together and still on speaking terms when they arrived in Sick Bay.

This is where I’m going to be a spoilsport and count up the number of retcons we’ve seen to Klingon mating and marriage rules. In TNG season one, we saw a fantasy Klingon woman appear in the bridge on all fours (wearing a fetish outfit as I remember), savage and submissive and snarling like a cat. In “Emissary,” it was implied that after a male and female have sex, tradition demands that they “take the oath” - apparently indicating commitment so intense that Keylahr wanted more part of. In “House of Quark,” we learned that Klingon marriage and divorce can be accomplished at the drop of a hat. All of which leaves me puzzled at the end of this episode. Did Quark win himself a wife or a one-night stand? Will Worf insist Dax take the oath? Well, I won’t think too hard or complain too much. It was a great comedy with warm characterizations, from a series that rarely gets comedy right.

The B story is more problematic. Here’s what’s good: I like that Keiko, a 24th-century spouse, has apparently evolved beyond jealousy and suspicion. (Roddenberry would be proud.). I like Miles and Kira developing feelings for each other in a believable, mildly funny way. And I was relieved that the ending didn’t descend into soapy adultery and marital drama.

Now here’s the bad: Doctor Bashir made prurient bro-talk with Miles about a woman who is, among other things, his own patient. I cringed when Miles gave Kira an all-over massage (yes, I know this is more evidence of 24th century liberation so I should like it for that, but I have 21st-century eyes..).

But what bothers me most is the overarching plot of Kira handicapped by pregnancy and unable to travel, function normally, or even live in her own quarters. Maybe I missed something - maybe this is at some point explained as ‘Kira being extra sick and fragile because her fetus is an alien’, and maybe I would mind it less if this point were given more attention. But what comes across is that a formerly tough-minded female character has been reduced to a state of aches and pains and dependency by the vagaries of her female body. If a tough male character were watered down like this, made needy and unfit for duty, I might use the word “neutered” to describe what the show has done to him. Interestingly, since Kira is female, the word doesn’t apply, I would say instead that she has been “feminized” - and while this shouldn’t be an insult, it is one, precisely because the Hollywood trope makes it one. To be feminized is to be made passive, sexual, demoted to the background, and given lightweight relationship stories rather than important action. I miss the old Kira. I hope she has the damn baby soon.

Final note: Thanks to a comment above, I’ve just realized that the Grilka actor is the same woman who played the replacement Na’Toth on Babylon 5. Strange: she was strong and noble as Grilka, but weak as Na’Toth and seemed unable to match the fierce Narn presence of the previous actor. Am I alone in thinking that?
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 4:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Oh and this episode feels a lot like the third season premiere of ENT. Promised a revamp but more of the same. Average or so. Stock action with a filler plot on a trading post. Interesting teaser at the end that’s more interesting than the entirety of the episode itself

But unlike discovery the writers managed to later capitalize on the xindi arc to great affect

I don’t have Faith these writers can based on picard play-off , the klingon war arc and the red angel mysteey

What will happen is viewers will come up with more interesting story developments and sadly see more in the writers ideas than the writers do.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 4:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

The sad truth is writers aren’t very good anymore. At least that’s my opinion. I’ve watched a lot of tv and despite protestations that this is the Golden Age for tv I disagree

Sure there are tons of shows to watch nowadays. Too many. Nobody can keep up. Sure they are more serialized than was the norm.....maybe. Because in the 80-90s soaps and primetime dramas on networks DID tell serialized season long arcs. And I’d argue they did them better because the serialized format they used wasn’t based on epic mystery boxes and playing games with the audience by limiting points of view or only showing a few cards they were holding

Writers nowadays are no good. They haven’t lived or lived very protected shallow lives and done no self reflection or deep thinking. So they have nothing to bring to the table when it comes to writing. Instead they rely on a relentless pacing and being propped up by ridiculously large VFX and production budgets

Gone are the days writers told a well crafted entertaining story. Trek was mostly entertaining. Not always deep that’s ok. As long as you were Entertained. But these new trek programs can’t even do that. The storytelling is so convoluted and payoffs so underwhelming you are left scratching your head why you even watched it

I’ve been rewatching 90s trek especially TNG and the dialog. The character moments. The vocabulary The discussions. The ideas are fantastic. You could tell Michael Piller or Melinda Snodgrass or Michael Wagner or Mauruce Hurley lived and were thinkers. It showed in their scripts. There was imagination. There was reflection at times.

Now shows don’t bother. You won’t find that here these days. Oh you might see lot of pretentious ideas or chatter but scratch or peel the surface and it’s a whole lotta nothing

I’m not saying bringing back writers like Melinda snodgrass or ira Behr or ron moore or brannon braga is necessarily the answer. I believe artistic ability peaks. You hit your high then it’s down hill from There. You can’t be as good a writers as when you were on fire in TNG or ds9. So I don’t think they could do that. But maybe spark something or guide the writers working on trek these days. Provide some sage advice. Give pointers on how to improve their scripts
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

As far as rewatchabilty I find all five trek series rewatchable. I’ve seen most episodes 40-50 times.

I actually like the episodic format. The way it treats the viewer to a new story. You never knew what each episode was going to be about as opposed to an ongoing arc. It also allowed viewers to see how the episode would take shape and it forced the writers to provide a payoff rather than dragging it out which I think made for better payoffs in the episodic shows than the modern mystery box programs like lost, bsg and discovery/Picard
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I think DS9 is hard to get into because it jettisons for the most part the action adventure and high concept sci fi.

It is more dense and political a series. I enjoy DS9 but it’s increased reliance on romance and comedy hurts it. I don’t tune in to trek for episodes like Family business , Fascination, meridian, let he, change of heart, crossfire, Melora, second sight, looking for parmach in all the wrong places or Dax/Worf, Kira/Bareil, kira/shakaar, Rom/Leeta, moogie/Zek

Also some of the main cast is weak like dax and bashir. The more interesting characters on the show weren’t main players and only came along halfway through the series. Then when the series hit it stride with the dominion war it spun its wheels after occupation arc til
The the start of the final Season
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

I'm in the minority who like this one, despite some technical and story flaws. If you're thoroughly devoted to hating Wesley, then you don't get Eugene Wesley Roddenberry's reason for creating him in the first place. Others in the trekiverse have shifted planes, so that's okay too. And hey, he dated Ensign Lefler, so I'm jealous!

My big letdown here is Wesley's trite "thanks for everything" to Picard. Yeah, 47 minutes and all that jazz, but they could have carved out another 30 seconds for someone who is capable of evolving to really thank the one man mostly responsible for his opportunity to do that, and who essentially his surrogate father. THat was the weakest part.
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

Season 7 is about closing out everyone's stories, and I was really happy that they included James Sloyan in that mission. He is one of the most sympathetic and enjoyable guest actors in every role over three series. No prosthetics can hide his distinctive voice, much the way we recently enjoyed J.G. Hertzler in BD. If he'd started his tv career before 1970, I'd hope he would have been in TOS as well.
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

I'm in the minority who like this one, despite some technical and story flaws. If you're thoroughly devoted to hating Wesley, then you don't get Eugene Wesley Roddenberry's reason for creating him in the first place. Others in the trekiverse have shifted planes, so that's okay too.

My big letdown here is Wesley's trite "thanks for everything" to Picard. Yeah, 47 minutes and all that jazz, but they could have carved out another 30 seconds for someone who is capable of evolving to really thank the one man mostly responsible for his opportunity to do that, and who essentially his surrogate father. THat was the weakest part.
Set Bookmark
Carly
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

The opening was intriguing but quickly became gross and dumb, with Worf belching crudely over his heaped plate of animal parts.

I don’t mind the wacky DNA science. I mostly mind the tedious expository device of Data and Picard walking slowly from room to room, pointing, describing, and painstakingly explaining the plot to each other and the unfortunate audience.
Set Bookmark
Lodged Warpedo
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Although too Star Warsy, this episode will always hold a very special place in my heart. Having been to a few of the locations (the crater in Myvatn MB lands on, the waterfall she fights from behind, & the Blue Lagoon where she gets healed) on Heim (Heimaey = Iceland), how could it not? I’m passionate about Iceland and passionate about Star Trek, & they managed to merge them into a beautiful premiere. And the emotions during the last scene was the cherry on top!

Yet I would be remiss on Jammer’s site to not be on blast about some things: 1,000 years is way too far into the future, hitting Book’s ship is ridiculous, the bug eating the prettier bug was right out of Return of the Jedi outside Jabba’s Palace, the non-stop fighting is too gratuitous (Michael punched Book for revenge no less than 3 times!), the worm engulfing Michael was too unnecessary and silly, and now that someone mentioned Mega Man blasters, that’s all I’ll ever see. Hate the Andorian prosthetics. I could go on.

But overall even though the writing is always the most lacking of all the critical components, episode 301 of DSC will always hold a very special place in my heart. I enjoyed the acting, the cinematography, the music (especially at the end), and I have hope for a decent season. But yeah to bring this full circle, the endless blasting, violence, Book being Force sensitive, and even the title of the episode “You Are That Hope” all feel way too much like SW for my ***ST***🖖

But
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 5:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

To each their own.

I thought tos TNG and Ent had the most consistent and best first seasons. All three did a great job introducing their respective century and setting and introducing new races. The casts immediately clicked with me

Tos is a solid season but it is a tad uneven. Some good episodes and some not so good episodes

I like TNG best cause I enjoyed more episodes, the sense of awe and wonder, the action adventure mixed with high concept sci fi

I enjoyed Naked Now, Datalore , when the bough breaks, last outpost, where no one has gone before, the neutral zone, conspiracy, heart of glory, coming of age, 1100101. Even the lesser episodes I find watchable even code of honor. The only true weak episodes I thought there were big goodbye and we will always have paris bI won’t go into why I like these episodes. I commented in detail why in their respective episode threads

For all the bashing ENT takes I find it had the right idea and tone in season one. And more of a confidence in what it was doing than voyager or DS9 or Kurtzman “trek”. It told simple standalone stories from the perspective of a novice crew experiencing what other crews saw as commonplace. The stories were simple. Some recycled. But held my attention and were entertaining—broken bow, fight or flight, Andorian incident, civilization, breaking the ice, cold fromt, fortunate son, dear doctor, shuttlepod one, detained, acquisition, fallen hero. I appreciated that things were small and intimate. The most epic it got was with the Temporal Cold War. While TcW would lose its center here it was at its most eerie and intriguing. I think of they kept doing this in season two but punched up the plot and introduced more ToS aliens even as just aliens of the week like on TNG it wouldn’t have gone off the rails as it did

Up until discovery and PIC I thought ds9 was worst freshman season Ds9 relied way too much on TNG speaking as a TNG fan. A lot of stories were awful and could barely sit through—the storyteller, the forsaken, battle lines, of wishes were horses, q-less, move along home, personae etc

I do finding myself enjoying it more now than originally and in retrospective its first season truly felt faithful to the idea of an outpost on the unexplored wild frontier. After the first season it felt like Ds9 was in the middle of well explored space surrounded by well knowns. It did have some good standalones in the vein of TNG—the passengee, Babel, a man alone, past prologue, dax, vortex, and its season finale was strong and made the bajorans and prophets very mysterious and alien. Sadly as the series went on that mystique was lost which was a disappointment

Voyager was mediocre. It had an excellent pilot. One of the best trek episodes ever. But then that sense of wonder and strangeness was rarely experienced rest of the season. Lot of mediocre episodes like the cloud, Jetrel, learning curve to name a few. I will say the ensemble and the characters were at their best here before everyone but janeway seven and the Doctor had their characters assassinated or reduce to cyphers

There were some good episodes like the phage, time and again, state of flux,, faces. And I thought the Vidiians was one of the best new trek races conceived. But in season ones favor, due to Michael
Piller being involved it and season two felt the most trek like of voyagers seasons which was a good thing even of writing hit or miss

Discovery was just a hot mess. Unlikeable characters, convoluted storyline, dramatically flaccid klingon war. Mediocre payoff

Picard started out with some promise but by the end all the good elements introduced in the beginning were squandered in such a criminal fashion, the Borg, a possible tie between Borg origin and Romulans, Seven of Nine. Hugh treated like a plot device unceremoniously killed off by the demands of needing a shocking demise. An abrupt and underwhelming season finale which couldn’t make up its mind whether it wanted to say something about the essential ness of mortality and dying via Data’s death scene only to be undermined by a most un Picard like decision to chest death in an artificial body. Totally gutting whatever point the writers were trying to make as well as wasting what could have been a series spanning arc surrounding Picard’s final days years and saying goodbye to those in his life along the way ievTNG cameos
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

You know, a few Holodeck-based episodes here and there on lone Federation ship trapped in the Delta Quadran isn't a bad idea. In fact, it's a GOOD idea.

It makes total sense they'd want to use their technology to create a familiar, ongoing Earth-like environment. Even a place in "simpler" times would have an understandable appeal. Such an ongoing use of the deck could have provided fascinating character studies and insights, like Reginald Barkley's holo-addiction. God knows here in October 2020, if there were holodecks, I'd be in them all the time.

BUT ... Lord have mercy on all our souls. The Irish town cliche? And the malfunction / safety protocols off cliche? THAT IS NOT where they should have been going with these.

They were on track with Tom's Marseilles bar. A French village. Or since they love their Academy days so much, a romantic San Francisco from the 1950s. But no malfunctions. The drama is their loneliness and reactions to an ongoing program from home.

Half a star for "Spirit Folks."
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Overall, I liked this episode.

The good:
- I loved the bird alarm clock, I want one.
- Book and I think he will definitely add value to the series.
- The new hope for the Federation.
- Overall story theme, l liked it.

The bad:
- A Lurian as a bad guy. Morn would be disappointed.
- The fight scenes with Michael and Book. Kind of bizarre and not needed.
- The weapons. They sure shot them a lot but never hit anything. I would assume aiming technology would have been solved 1000 years into the future.
- No crew? Where is Suru, Tilly and the gang? This was my biggest disappointment of the show. I am sure that will be explained next week but I have been wanting to see them back.

3 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

This isn’t Star Trek, but it’s not even good “generic” sci-fi either. It reminds of a 1950s sci-fi pulp novel: It’s cheesy, with little story, nothing but action, a random monster attack, etc. All it needs is needless cleavage and a $0.99 price sticker on the cover.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Michael remains a frustrating protagonist. She wins every fight, solves every problem, knows every detail, convinces every skeptic. It’s all so tiresome and boring.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

My problem---admittedly, after only one episode---is that the fundamental problem I have with the show hasn't improved: It's still just dumb schlock. TNG turned the corner because the writing improved. Michael Pillar became the showrunner and said: "This show is about our characters. Every plot is about how it relates to what our characters are going through that week." That internal focus on the half-dozen characters at the heart of the show is what turned so many good "sci-fi ideas" into great "Star Trek episodes."

Discovery hasn't done that. Instead, they're trying to fix the show's fundamental problems by putting band-aids on the bleeding gashes.

Going to the future doesn't change the writing. Adding another side-character doesn't change the writing. Splitting up the crew doesn't change the writing. If anything, the changes that began in season three are only going to exacerbate the core problems I have with the show. Going to the future is a catch-22 problem that will haunt the show from here on out (or until the writers change their minds again and take them back to the past)...

Moving the show to the future is very different from the time jump done in TNG. That was a two-generation leap. Dr. McCoy was in the first episode for crying out loud. Spock showed up for a big two-parter. This isn't a couple generations; Discovery has jumped forward over seven-hundred years. TNG's small jump meant they were able to reset a lot of TOS norms and show off some new tech without everything looking too different.

Discovery's third season is so far ahead in the future, the show is stuck in a catch-22...

Everything is either SO advanced that nothing looks or feels like Star Trek. Do that, and you might as well be a different sci-fi franchise.

OR

Everything is still more or less the Star Trek tech as we've known it, but for a few cosmetic changes, in which case the time jump is pointless.

Discovery seems to be hoping to try a third option: The setting might as well be a different sci-fi universe, but the tech isn't all that different from what we're used to in the old shows. How can that be? Well they're explaining it away by saying there was a galactic-wide apocalyptic event. So that's what Star Trek is now: Mad Max in space. And with that comes the big revelation in episode one: The Federation is basically gone.

And there it is, the evidence I need to know that nuTrek has not learned it's lesson about what makes Star Trek (when done right) so special:

The fundamental notion of Star Trek is that the future is bright. Its aspirational. That's the point. Take that away and you're left with a ship without a rudder. That's why these new shows all feel so aimless. Their cynical, and when they're not cyncial their confused about why they're supposed to be optimistic. It's like building a house without a foundation. You can raise the walls and put a roof on top; from a distance it looks like a house, but all it takes is a stiff breeze and the whole thing collapses.
Set Bookmark
Warren
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Jammer, I’m waiting for all parts of this episode to come out before I watch it. Are you, too?
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 7:34am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Best to worst
TNG
TOS
ENT
VOY
DS9



PIC
DIS
Set Bookmark
Marco
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

The entire premise of the show (a prequel) had always been problematic for me. Things have to make sense, given that we KNOW what is supposed to come later.

I watched Season 1 and 2. Episodes were messy, not traditional Trek and at times plainly ridiculous. Saved, every 2-3 episodes, by story lines well put together.

Say what you will, but the ending of season 2, over two episodes, was satisfying enough, tied up loose ends and finally moved forward.

This beginning episode is no masterpiece, but it is a solid introduction to a "whole new ballgame". And Burnham is a little less mopey. And, given the current times, I too want to be hit in the face by whatever the Andorian shot her with...
:)
Next ►Page 1 of 244
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.