Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 51,303 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,053
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

And I didn't even know who SF Debris was back then either, lol. So, yeah. After watching his reviews, I like the idea that the Valakians evolved into the Breen and the Menk into the Pakleds. That's my headcanon until something pops up within canon that contradicts it. XD
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

My, what eight years can do to a guy, eh? While I'm still critical of the misuse of the Prime Directive, I feel I popped off too hard and didn't offer good enough arguments a decade ago, LOL. Anyway... yeah. Sorry.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

Does anyone else find it odd that Jammer will criticize the Prime Directive here, yet praise it endlessly in something like "Dear Doctor?" Especially with its nonsensical magic masquerading as science, used to justify letting a whole race die? Feels rather inconsistent, tbh. I think SF Debris's discussions on the Prime Directive are more cohesive, make more sense, and ring truer, at least to me.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

And Trek has a long history of misogyny dating all the way back to the 1960s. This is not surprising to me. Remember how insensitively they handled the episode with Kira's mother and the topic of "comfort women" and wartime rapes during the occupation of an enemy homeland which at times in real history has stretched up to millions of women and children? This is one of the consequences of having a nearly all-male writing staff. I don't see it as terribly surprising.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Is it so odd? Human religions of various forms are full of the gods using women to conceive children as breeding stock, not people. And the Prophets are gods.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Are you blind? Sisko flat-out deduces right in front of the Prophet that they used her to get him created, then left once she had control back. The Prophet doesn't contradict this.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

When Picard mentions Pearl Harbor......is he actually insinuating the US declaration of war was wrong? I'm curious.......because if thats the case, then that line has Roddenberry to blame!
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

This episode was OK EXCEPT it made LaForge seem like a creepy guy who finds pleasure in a computer program......no nwonder he cant get a real girl....he seems to only enjoy holodeck women.
Picard, the ever-spouting amateur archaeologist, would neve have destroyed the cruiser....launching warning beacon would have sufficed.
Both creepy and confusing, but the premise was good....NOT the way it was portrayed...smh
Set Bookmark
Cetric
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 9:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

I keep wondering why Odo had that 'seizure' following his talk with Quark, one would have to assume it had to do with aftermath of the matrix infiltration as well, or is it simply a pretext for bringing him on the table of Dr Bashir?
The clock-obsessed Sisko, otherwise lazy and careless, looks as if the writers took the historical figure of Louis XVI as role model, who also liked to do a little clock working as his hobby while neglecting politics - which led to the French Revolution...
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Dreadful start to season 4. Comic book Nazis, mind-numbing action sequences, and absolutely no interesting ideas explored whatsoever. I did not become a Trek fan for this BS. No stars. The only positive is hopefully we've waved goodbye to the temporal cold war and the Suliban and we can get on with some more TNG-style exploration now.
Set Bookmark
Mallory
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

"You fight well, for a tailor."
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

@ Elliot Wilson,

I feel like you're cherry-picking the one or two lines in the conversation that support your argument. But follow it through to its conclusion: what is Sisko really concerned with here? He learns that the Prophet used Sarah Sisko to mate with Joseph, and realizes that Sarah leaving must have meant that it was *entirely* the Prophet that chose Joseph rather than Sarah's personal taste. The implication is clear: Sisko is concerned with the fact of the Prophets *choosing Joseph*, not with the fact of the Prophets abusing Sarah. The sequence of his chain of reasoning is clear:

a) You made sure Sarah married Joseph.
b) When you left Sarah she left Joseph, ergo the Prophet was the one who wanted Joseph.
c) What the Prophet is saying isn't easy to accept, because it means Sisko's birth was arranged.
d) Why did it have to be me? As in, why did you arrange my birth?

The point made about possessing Sarah fits into the argument because it demonstrates that it was the Prophets who chose Joseph in order to made Benjamin. It's hard to accept because it means his birth was arranged. At no point does he object to the possession, nor does any statement here imply that Sisko considers the act to have been immoral.

You said: "It is something he "wishes" he'd never found out, but there's not a strong enough emphasis on how he's disgusted that Sarah Sisko was used that way."

But not only isn't there a 'strong enough' emphasis on his disgust - but rather there is *no* emphasis on it. Meaning, he isn't portrayed as being disgusted.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

SARAH: The Sisko has completed his task.
SISKO: Sarah?
SARAH: The Kosst'Amojan no longer threatens us.
SISKO: You mean the Pah-wraith? It's no longer in the wormhole?
SARAH: I have cast it out.
SISKO: Is that why the Prophets sent me to Tyree? To release you from the Orb?
SARAH: The Kosst'Amojan tried to stop you with a false vision. But you did not waver. You fulfilled your destiny.
SISKO: My destiny? You talk as if my life was over.
SARAH: The Sisko must still face many tasks.
SISKO: I don't suppose you'll tell me what they are.
SARAH: The Emissary is corporeal. Linear.
SISKO: Linear or not, I need some answers.
SARAH: The Sisko is intrusive.
SISKO: Are you Sarah Sisko? Are you my mother?
SARAH: Sarah Sisko was corporeal. For a time, I shared her existence.
SISKO: You took over her body, made sure she married my father so that she'd give birth to me.
SARAH: The Sisko is necessary.
SISKO: And once you didn't need her anymore, you left her. No wonder she walked out on my father. She didn't chose him, you did.
SARAH: The Sisko would prefer different answers.
SISKO: What you're telling me isn't easy to accept. You arranged my birth. I exist because of you?
SARAH: The Sisko's path is a difficult one.
SISKO: But why me? Why did it have to be me?
SARAH: Because it could be no one else.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

This episode is mostly above average and very good, but... the basic premise just doesn't work. Species 8472 came into the show wanting to purge the galaxy of all life. This episode wants to make peace with them. That's actually a good idea that could potentially safeguard the Federation for centuries to come. But they completely fumbled the ball. That would be like presenting the Nazis or the Soviets as they are in a work of fiction, and then at the end, have them be just misunderstood. Purging the galaxy of life is a serious thing to do. If it were me, I'd have this episode be about 8472 learning that other races in the galaxy are nothing like the Borg. That's a concept that really would have worked, realizing, "Gosh, you really aren't an expansionist, imperialistic power wanting to wipe us out and absorbing us into your collective like the Borg, you're really good people." They just didn't do that. One of the reasons Voyager really wastes its potential. This idea had promise, like everything else on Voyager. They just didn't make good use of it. But I still enjoy this episode for what it is. Boothby is always a delight. XD
Set Bookmark
Gary
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Zakalwe, I think you're right, it's not a necessary interpretation of the Hippocratic Oath - although some definitely do interpret it the Oath to cover all actions of a physician, including "off duty". The Oath doesn't actually specify that "not administering poisons" is only to patients (with nobles fearing poisons, and physicians having access to them, it could have been a general stricture)... and of course there are numerous versions of the Oath, and the "Do no harm" bit is certainly not original but quite recent.

Personally I really want to think that the Doctor would not kill, and this apparent willingness bothered me too. In our Star Trek context, the doctors we've seen have been generally unwilling to kill, and certainly would not not unless there was absolutely no choice. McCoy, Crusher, Pulaski, Bashir... they generally didn't even carry weapons in away-team situations. These are not the people you would ask to hold the button while you negotiate a "do this or we all die" situation. I have no trouble believing, with that background, the EMH would be absolutely prevented from killing sentients. And with Chakotay barely staying awake, it would have made more sense to send the doctor down, and leave Chakotay ready to fire with a dead-man switch (ideally connected to a timer to allow in-dream negotiation).
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Classic. I laughed at riker putting the birthday hat thing on worfs head and also at data discussing investigating troi and worfs mating. I had fun trying to notice all the differences from “normal” reality as well. This is a top ten episode IMO
Set Bookmark
Josh
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

Great episode. Just wanted to say that the guest actress portraying the femme fatale was really good. Her vocal presence especially.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Because she left the moment she had control back. Sisko even comes to this possibility and confronts the Prophet who gave birth to him by it. It is something he "wishes" he'd never found out, but there's not a strong enough emphasis on how he's disgusted that Sarah Sisko was used that way. Seriously, look up a transcript sometime. That's how I know. Watch the episode.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

This episode just totally ignored that Julianna’s husband is being kept in the dark that his wife is an Android. I hope he finds out and sues the federation for not disclosing. He then buys his own planet and has a harem of Mudd’s women
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

First of all, I like the episode. It had a calm, reflective and intelligent approach. It picked up various aspect of the three races cultures on Enterprise.

Secondly, it is interesting to see the emotions that it rices. I am not sure that Archer to the right decision but to me it does not matter. There is a lot if strange moral considerations in Star Trek , this was one. It was presented in a good way and although I could think of arguments to take another decision in this episode it fits together.

Honestly , interpreting the prime directive in such situations must be almost impossible. And here , when a policy is lacking, what should Archer do. His derision is consistent and understandable.

Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Dom
"Or, it could just be that the writers room was apparently such a mess that the show runners got fired."

Jeez. Reminds me of all the nasty stuff that went on in the TOS and TNG writing rooms. This seems to happen on almost all of the Trek shows - verbal abuse, infighting, showrunners quitting/getting sacked, etc. I'm not excusing their behavior, just pointing out that it unfortunately seems to be very common for a Trek show.

Now I'm not super enthused about Kurtzman taking over, but Akiva Goldsman's departure should be an actual plus for the show. I kept feeling like there were way too many cooks in the kitchen during Season 1, so this news about a staff restructure strikes me as a good thing.
Set Bookmark
JPG
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

You young people! Nobody mentions the Cardassian commander is played by Linda Thorson of The Avengers tv series.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 3:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

@Elliot W

"I mean, consent cannot be given if you have no control over your body, which she did not"

How do you know she wasn't a willing vessel for the Prophets? Maybe they communicated to her that they needed her to help to save the AQ and she decided she'd let them use her on the condition she could live her life on her own after the Prophets' task was complete. It all happened off screen, so any possibility of "rape" is speculative, at best. What's more, your whole case runs contrary to the spirit of how the Prophets operate in DS9.
Set Bookmark
James04
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

That scene where Troi reveals what was on Worf’s mind, may have been there to act as a foil to the scene, also on the Enterprise, where Data vocalises the thoughts of Riva. Worf and Riva are, after all, very different characters.

The place given to Data, and to Riva’s reactions to him, show how Data is growing as a character, and proving, yet again, how versatile and important he is. Troi is clearly secondary to him in this episode. Whatever its flaws may be, some important things happen in it. The episode also provides some “personal growth” for Riva.

I think this episode is a lot better than it’s given credit for being. 3 stars out of 4 seems about right.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Yes, sorry to burst your bubble, but it is rape. I mean, consent cannot be given if you have no control over your body, which she did not due to mind control, and worse is that it's implied Sarah somehow knew she was being used against her will to produce a child. Why else would she leave without another word? If she was waking up out of a dream, she'd have just demanded to know who Joe is, which he never said had happened. I have heard the entire DS9 writing staff was male, and while this was bred a lot of great stories, they could have used a few women around there at one or two times. I mean, they would have told the boys what a bad idea this was without further fleshing out, because the implications are horrifying.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,053
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.