Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 51,713 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,069
Set Bookmark
Prince of Space
Wed, Jul 18, 2018, 3:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Dear Jovet:

Your comment WAY up there on June 12, 2015 is lovely. It encapsulates all that is wrong with nitpicking ST eps to the Nth degree for every little science-fiction detail... while pointing out that some nitpicking over bad writing is perfectly normal.

A seriously well-written and thoughtful comment, and much like Enterprise C I have gone into the future to give you kudos.

Since I *am* 3 years in your future, pay heed: Facebook stock. Buy LOTS of it.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Wed, Jul 18, 2018, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

@Dr. Dunc....

I've noticed that DS9, more than any of the other shows, had a noticeable tendency to put characters, especially background ones, in elaborate or ridiculous hairstyles. Since I like to count things during my re-watches (like Holodeck Toys - the number of times we see characters wearing outfits or taking props into the holodeck when they could just as easily wear holographic outfits) I decided to count this item during the reviews. The first number is the total times it has happened, the second is the number of times it happens in the given episode.

If I ever do manage to get back to my reviews I'll continue the process. For instance, things I could for VOY episodes could be Holodeck Toys again (since it's more egregious on that series) or the number of times Janeway dies (which, if I remember correctly is a surprisingly high amount of times) or how many photon torpedoes they fire with a limited supply.

The problem is that I stopped reviewing because I was getting burned out and just needed a break and then never picked it back up. And since the next episode for me to review is "Profit and Lace", that doesn't really help get me back into the swing of it. *wink*
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 11:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I enjoyed this one -- the Picard/Data interactions were great and the resolution of what happened is ticks all the boxes -- the Enterprise was under threat of destruction and Data was trying to prevent this; however the ending is a bit hokey (to try the suspended animation again and not leave clues this time). Still, it's a pretty good hour of Trek and an interesting one. The mystery slowly builds, the clues are intriguing, and Data's strange behavior gets justified.

I think humans should admire the qualities Spiner gives Data -- the calm unflappability in the face of human emotion. Picard threatens Data with a court martial but it's great (albeit frustrating) to see how Data dodges these questions. I also enjoyed Data bullshitting everybody about his theory in the senior staff meeting -- of course, nobody fell for it (it was plenty obvious) -- but it set the wheels in motion for unraveling the mystery.

Maybe the xenophobic aliens and the lengths they go to defend their world are a bit farfetched as the resolution to the mystery but I won't complain about it. The way it worked through Troi and having to deal with the challenge Data presented made for a fairly creative episode.

Whether humans love a mystery or not -- maybe the Enterprise crew does. Certainly Picard does as evidenced by his "fun" playing Dixon Hill. Thought that opener went on for way too long if only to hint at Picard's love for a mystery. But TNG has plenty of episodes trying to solve mysteries methodically and this is a decent example of one.

3 stars for "Clues" -- liked how all the unknowns were tied together (Worf's broken wrist, and how Picard gave an order to erase the memories etc. that Data tried his best to follow). Many times the resolution of an episode just isn't satisfying, is lame etc. but here it was decent -- if only the end result wasn't to have to get a 2nd chance at erasing the memories of the encounter. Great episode for Picard and Data, decent sci-fi and plays to the strengths of TNG.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I would have had Kirk voluntarily relieve himself of command before anyone else even suggested it, as he knew he was rapidly declining in ability. That would have freed him up to seek a cure along with the others affected. It would have also prevented the leaden hearing scene. In the end, though, a watchable episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 7:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Not an episode I enjoyed watching -- not because of the subject matter per se but I'm not sure what it accomplishes other than just simply being a matter of deduction/investigation by Data/Geordi and nabbing the rapist as he's about to do it for real. Mind rape is substituted for physical violence with telepathic aliens.

There is the issue of Jev being belittled by his father which plays into his antagonistic behavior -- it seems people in today's society who commit violent crimes sometimes have experienced similar emotions or rejection. Certainly doesn't condone their actions. Jev aims to get back at his father. He does. But he's already a sick "man" and makes another mistake is finally stopped.

There's not that much to this episode for me. Plenty of time doing boring investigations, watching Troi, Crusher, Riker getting memory raped, Picard trying to play nice with the Ullians.

Picard's speech at the end about putting violence behind them is BS -- this is trying to show how humans have evolved in the Trek paradigm but at least he admits the seed of violence is still there. Perhaps the proportion of criminals is down, but the whole evolution/advancement of society such that it has put violence behind it seems hollow/unrealistic/naively utopian to me.

2 stars for "Violations" -- a different take on rape, but what does this episode say about it that hasn't already been said? It actually says nothing, for me. Doesn't go into the consequences for the victim or anything. As an investigative episode, the whole thing is pretty arbitrary as the crew go through standard procedures. Jev comes back to really rape Troi and is apprehended -- as he would have been eventually. There's just not enough here to even call this a decent episode.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Love the Klingon/Romulan story arc. LOTS of great characters and moments packed into a one-hour episode.

The Sela appearance was truly shocking at the time. Not as good as BOBW, but pretty close.
Set Bookmark
john don't even reply
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Awful episode dawg. Bipolar janeway cracking the whip on tom because he took the delta flyer out late when akoosha mooya and toobok have disobeyed direct orders and got a pat on the back. kes goes and gets killed because she's dumb? better waste a whole episode saving that disobedient ocampan. Seven of nine disobeys? oh well what I am gonna do restrict her to cargo bay 2 ? lul forget about it.

Get real man, he was doing it to save the planet but janeway condemmed them with no fucks given. But when it's janeway interfering with other cultures she goes "lol captain prerogative" can do whatever the fuck she wants. Krenim? Force her way through them. Borg? Help them create a new weapon to fight a war. Smuggling telepaths. The swarm? shoot them into submission. Trabe? ally with them to help them lure the kazon.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

In the episode Haven, it was established that many Betazoids have arranged marriages.
Set Bookmark
licato
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

The episode wasn't endorsing Archer's stealing (it wasn't frowning upon it either). The Xindi slaughtered 7 million people on the basis of deliberately false prophecies about their fate, and aside from Degra, no Xindi were exactly wringing their hands over it (none that we were shown, anyway; and remember, that slaughter was merely a test run). Aliens, it seems, like humans, have a preference for the survival of their own race over that of others. Is this inherently immoral? It's hard to say, but all of us here are only having this conversation because humans, including fictional Starfleet captains, do indeed act this way. No matter what Roddenberry's auto-revisionism said.
Set Bookmark
giveawl
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 5:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

The legal saying goes, "Justice delayed is justice denied." So is Justice watched.
Set Bookmark
sternor
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

A race this stupid deserved infertility. That and because they were utterly barbaric
Set Bookmark
Elliott
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

Teaser : ***.5, 5%

Bashir escorts a young Trill, Arjin, aboard the DS9. We quickly learn that the young man is an initiate for joining and that he is extremely nervous to meet Dax, who, in its previous incarnations, has a reputation for washing initiates out of the programme. Now, the last time we saw Bashir and Dax together, he was—brace yourself—shamelessly and embarrassingly flirting with her. We haven't seen that the two have become friends, really; he's still pursuing her sexually and she puts up with him because it amuses her. So the fact that he knows exactly where she's bound to be in the middle of the night is unintentionally extremely creepy.

Where she is turns out to be Quark's (we've seen her gambling with Ferengi before). Some fun irony here: Arjin tells Bashir about the gruelling competition amongst initiates to be joined to a symbiont, mentioning that only the “best and brightest” make it that far—this would explain Barcalay-Trill's motivation in “Invasive Procedures”--only to see Jadzia whooping it up with the Ferengi and even giving flirtations ear-grabs to Quark. I guess she's forgiven him for nearly getting her killed. Jadzia is friendly and jovial with Arjin. She tries to get him to join their game of Tongo, but recognising he's nervous and tired, immediately turns it around and escorts him to his quarters, while simultaneously using the opportunity to leave the table with her winnings, which would aggravate Quark more if he weren't so clearly enamoured with Jadzia.

Overall, I like this portrayal of Jadzia, and the teaser is quite efficient in giving us the necessary back-story, establishing the character dynamics and setting the tone.

Act 1 : ***.5, 17%

The next morning, Arjin stops by Dax' quarters—as he was instructed to do—but he's a little early. So he finds that she's still not dressed and has a man in quarters with whom she requests a “rematch” the next time he's on DS9. Given what we later find out about Jadzia's relationship with Worf (erm, spoiler), they definitely fucked. She asks him to replicate a Ferengi drink (a black hole), almost certainly booze, and has all kinds of suggestions for how he might improve his life. You know, by being more like her. She clearly thinks he's lame and uninteresting, but she's being perfectly kind, albeit rather pushy with him.

Meanwhile, O'Brien and Kira are hunting in Ops—for Cardassian voles. The rodents have started disrupting station systems. Sisko orders the voles “be taken alive,” for some reason. Dax and Arjin arrive and the writers really want to play up the “Dax is has child-like curiosity” angle. Sisko confirms that Dax is infamous for being hard on initiates, but Jadzia makes it clear that that was Curzon, not her.

Later on, the two Trills take a runabout trip through the wormhole. We get some character growth out of their conversation. Arjin is over-achieving, a trait which Jadzia probably shared in spades before she was joined. She is adamant that Arjin not try to impress her. It turns out that Curzon actually recommended Jadzia be terminated from the programme. Hmmm...

The plot gods do not approve of this character interaction, so some technobabble hits the runabout hard. Some subspace goop has attached itself to the nacelle, and the chords of bad news indicate that this is probably bad news.

Act 2 : ***.5, 17%

O'Brien and Kira are starting to get desperate for a solution to their vole problem. Miles suggests driving them out with a high-pitched frequency. Quark appears, holding his dead vole prop up and threatening to leave DS9 if his landlords don't solve this infestation problem Except, didn't Sisko have to blackmail him to stay in “Emissary”? Miles turns on his sonic screw driver or whatever and it sends Quark into writhing agony, what with those big ears. At least no one strangled him this time. Oh, and for the record, Shimmerman is completely hillarious in this scene.

Jadzia and Arjin return and have the McGuffin on their nacelle transferred to a containment unit on the station. She takes him to dinner at the Klingon restaurant, which has its own fat singing Klingon waiter—playing an accordion. I'd like to object to this cultural appropriation of clichés set in Venice, but I actually find this pretty funny, too.

Arjin is totally uncomfortable. Jadzia is annoyed that he hasn't made any effort to speak up for himself, express his discomfort, or make interesting conversation. And frankly, I can't fault her. I mean, yes, we would all be nervous in Arjin's place, and might be inclined to be deferential to Dax, given that she has been tasked to judge his worthiness for joining, but she's been completely clear with him, multiple times that all she wants from him is to relax and be direct with her. Anyway, we learn that Arjin's father pushed him (and his sister) to join the programme. Essentially, his over-achieving nature is the result of having a helicopter parent. As a teacher, I can't help but empathise with Arjin, here. She sees right through him. She explains that the host's personality must be strong enough to balance that of the symbiont—implying, gently, that his may not be strong enough, given his tendency to defer to the will of his father, and now to her. He makes a genuine effort, pushing aside the Klingon food he finds so distatestful.

Dax delivers a gift to the harried Miles—the Pied Piper's pipe to help solve his vole problem. Cute. She meets with Sisko for some chess, and Sisko sees right through *her*. He recognises the disappointment he feels in Arjin as a familiar sentiment in his old friend Curzon. She lays it all out—he lacks ambition and direction. She doesn't think he's suited to joining. But, she won't be like Curzon—she won't be the reason he is dropped from the programme, although she believes he ought to be. Sisko believes that Curzon's harshness is part of what made Jadzia tough enough to make it through the programme at all—and obviously she ended up getting his symbiont. Jadzia, strangely, only seems to remember the abuse. Curzon's memories don't seem to surface.

Before the act break, a vole breaks the containment field and the McGuffin is let loose in the station.

Act 3 : **.5, 17%

Ah, now we know why Sisko ordered phasers on stun, so he change his order and tell Miles, “No more Mr Nice Guy.” This is one cliché too many for me, I'm afraid. While Dax and Arjin work on trying to fix the tech problem together, he back-pedals from the previous night at dinner, realising he screwed up in failing to outline his own goals and personality, but he still doesn't really have any. She can see he's telling her what he thinks she wants to hear. She's worried about him, she says—and I think she's being sincere. She says that performing above expectations—which has been his strategy—is no longer going to cut it.

This revelation sets Arjin off. He accuses her of living well below the standards of joined Trills—presumably for drinking booze in the morning? Getting angry and lashing out is understandable, but I think it's a little early in this arc for it. We haven't seen Arjin develop resentment towards Jadzia—he's been confused and a little frustrated, but she's been very patient with him.

Apparently, we are being denied more organic character development for the sake of Jadzia spouting reams of technobabble about the McGuffin to the senior staff. Turns out the thing they snagged on the runabout is...a universe. I...can't come up with the right words to describe how thoroughly, unforgivably stupid this is. Others have commented at length, so I'll try not to repeat their points (which I mostly agree with). At this point, though, they behave reasonably. The best option is destroying it—which they'd like to avoid, so they'll prepare for that contingency during the three hours they have to figure out another option.

Meanwhile, Arjin is drunk. Quark has some words of wisdom, “Never have sex with the boss' sister.” Heh. Actually, his point is one similar to Q's in the previous year's “Tapestry”; when presented with a big opportunity, don't play it safe.

I normally don't bug out about the bad science in Trek, but I am really amused that Jadzia can scan for “localised entropy readings” in the proto-universe. What her technobabble reveals, apparently, is that this little cosmos has life in it.

Act 4 : ***, 17%

So, because the microverse doesn't obey our universe's laws of nature, they reason that time may be moving much faster relative to us, and thus entire species may be evolving—intelligent species. You know what they should do? Probably hook the miniverse up to their car battery.

So they let the thing keep expanding, blowing a hole in the side of the station. And then, things take a nose-dive into the absurd. Kira thinks they need to destroy the miniverse lest they be destroyed, but since the miniverse might contain intelligent life, that would be committing “mass murder” as Odo calls it. Yeah, we don't actually have a word for what this would be—this isn't murder, this isn't genocide, this is...cosmocide? Omnicide? Kira compares it to stepping on ants (or killing voles).

What all this reminds me of is the discussion on the page for Enterprise's “Dear Doctor.” If I may quote myself:

“The question of the hour is about stakes—on the one hand, many seem to agree that when the extinction of a species is the inevitable outcome of inaction, any moral nuances are rightly cast out in favour of simple human compassion. It sounds alright in those terms, but only because the stakes are so high...the problem is our compassion sometimes blinds us to the larger picture. We see existing as an end unto itself, because, evolutionarily speaking, we want to exist for as long as possible. This isn't a question of correcting the injustice of an aggressive alien culture against another or aiding the victims of some isolated natural disaster, we're talking about one crew, one man taking responsibility for the ultimate fate of an entire species, and by proxy an entire civilisation. Becoming extinct by way of your own genes is not 'genocide.'

What Archer realises, finally, in this episode is that holding up human values an example is one thing, but inflicting them, even upon request, on a scale beyond the comprehension or purview of what any individual can possibly apprehend is hubristic in the extreme.

To quote the ever-wise Picard, '[t]he Prime Directive has many different functions, not the least of which is to protect us. It keeps us from allowing our emotions to overrule our judgment.'



[R]esponding with compassion is something a person can do to another person, but when it gets to this scale, responding emotionally to the plight or fate of an entire civilisation, the nature of the situation has changed. Societies don't feel pain or comfort, people do. Archer demonstrates larger thinking here in not indulging his smaller, humanitarian impulses. It is a decision which requires emotional detachment. And that's why the arguments against his choice stem from emotional reactions like empathy with the doomed Valakians.”

In my view, the same reasoning applies, here. The scale is simply too distant for humans (or Bajorans or whatever) to comprehend and apply human ethics to. The miniverse is going to destroy the station (and our entire universe, but we don't really need to even discuss that), so it must be destroyed.

Sisko decides to take an hour to decide what to do. He thinks that destroying the miniverse to save the universe is akin to how the Bord assimilate entire species. It is true that the Borg operate on a different level of consciousness and, right or wrong, believe that their conquests are for the greater good. That's exactly why Arturis' description in Voyager's “Hope and Fear” of the Borg as a “force of nature” is so apt. Dealing with the collective as though it is a civilisation is a mistake. It may be one, on some level, but on our scale of consciousness, the Borg are more like a natural disaster (like the Valakian disease) or a god. So, in a way, Sisko is not so wrong-headed here as many others seem to believe. He is playing god.

In the midst of this heavy stuff, Sisko stops in to his quarters talk to Jake, who is so divorced from the drama that all he can think about is his crush on a Dabbo girl. Sisko is mad, which is more 90s Dad DBI meh. Anyway, his decision to have Jake invite her to dinner “soon” lets us know that he has made up his mind to destroy the miniverse. Good.

Jadzia uses her hour to confront Arjin. She confirms that pre-Dax Jadzia was a lot like Arjin himself, and Curzon was a lot like Jadzia Dax has been. Jadzia's initial failure ended up giving her the motivation and lessons she needed to eventually succeed, and Curzon's dark sense of humour meant that Jadzia got to become the new Dax. This is a pretty good resolution to the dynamic here, but it does run counter to the lesson Quark had for us in the last scene. Apparently, you DO get second chances. And so the episode is over, right? Sisko is going to destroy the miniverse, Arjin gets his second chance and maybe keeps a vole as a pet?

Alas..Sisko actually orders Jadzia (and Arjin) to a runabout for a trip through the wormhole. Uh-oh.

Act 5 : zero stars, 17%

So, I guess they're taking the miniverse back to the GQ. There's some padding with the transporter not working and phasing, and ace-pilot Arjin avoiding bumper cars in the wormhole, taking the dampers offline so we can have shaky cam, etc. etc....ugh. So the little universe is frizzing and sparking—I bet that's really good for the billions of civilisations inside. They put it back “where it belongs” which, I guess solves the problem? Huh?

This is all handled off-screen anyway. Jadzia wishes Arjin good luck on...whatever it is he has to do, and...wait what about the voles? THE VOLES????!! NOOOOOOOOOOoooooo

Episode as Functionary : **, 10%

Man this is frustrating. If this story had stopped after Act IV, it would have been one of the best of the season, so far. But all the BS with the wormhole theatrics and anti-resolution with Arjin and Jadzia, and no resolution with the voles is so totally useless that it makes it difficult to remember all the good stuff in the episode.

Despite the ridiculousness of the miniverse, the ethical dilemma it set up worked for me, just like in other Prime Directive stories. True, it came out of no where for Sisko, but it was a good opportunity for the character, nonetheless. But he doesn't make a choice in the end. He just sends it back to the GQ and the problem is erased.

The main plot is pretty great until the end. Dax finally has a vehicle that allows her to take agency, unlike in “Dax” and “Invasive Procedures.” Her mixed feelings about Arjin are understandable and well-portrayed. Arjin himself has a reasonable arc. The resolution to their dynamic makes sense, but is rushed to make room for the totally pointless final act, which I have to assume a producer insisted needed to be there to fill out the action quotient. It's so ham-fisted and useless that I genuinely feel like it's part of a different, far inferior episode.

The good that we're left with is some insight into Jadzia and Curzon's relationship that we didn't quite understand before, a good performance from Terry Ferrel, and some memorable comedy from Quark. I honestly recommend skipping the final act. It's a much better episode that way.

Final Score : **.5
Set Bookmark
Leif
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Coming in a bit late to this franchise, I know. But main problems with this episode is the concept of 'boomers' this far out and away from earth. Come on, this is even before Kirk & co. It's supposed to be the first humans exploring the new frontiers of space. They even got excited finding some off-earth algea when they started the mission.

And here they run in to a human freighter ship that seems to have been in traffic beyond even where the Enterprise has been, and for a long time. Battling away with aliens.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 4:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I hope it's infomercials. Or Black Mirror.
Set Bookmark
Prince of Space
Tue, Jul 17, 2018, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Reading ALL these comments has convinced me of 2 things:

1) I really shoulda just had that lobotomy

2) The mental gymnastics some people willingly go through to defend idiotic premises assures me that my not doing #1 means I must be constantly forced to acknowledge the fact that there is little to no hope for the future of the human race.

Star Trek’s world-view ain’t the future at this rate... people fighting over which way to get out of a paper bag seems FAR more likely. haha

But then again, I tend towards the sardonic. YMMV.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

This is the only episode of "Next Gen" I had never seen before. And I wasn't missing much.

The death of that one crew member is rather disturbing. What a horrible way to go -- to fall halfway through a floor and then have it become solid again.

It's in the same category for me as the woman destroyed by the disruptor in "The Most Toys," the yeoman reduced to a cube and crushed by the Kelvans in the Original Series and the transporter malfunction in the Motion Picture.

Very disturbing ways to go. Can't quite shake the images.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 7:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

Nolan Campbell, get well soon!!

At least you have a bunch of trek to keep you busy. :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Peter,

"when it suits him"? .... circumstances didn't have anything to do with his decisions here?

Good lord.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Elliot,

Sometimes I think you just completely miss what an episode is about.

Everything doesn't need to be 'Visitor' or ITPM.

1.5 stars? .... Come on man... I'm hoping there's a heart in there somewhere.
Set Bookmark
William B
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

@Elliott, I'm really looking forward to read you on Playing God.

I think you were being sarcastic about the spinning top, but still, it is pretty neat, a toy which teaches about conservation of angular momentum and its relationship to rotational symmetry. It's a hop, skip and a jump away to Noether's theorem.

Literal lol at the "awww" of one of the villagers when they're told they'll cease to exist.
Set Bookmark
Dr. Dunc
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 3:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

Ok Luke, having read and enjoyed many of your comments (along with those of everyone else, on this magnificent accomplishment of a site by Jammer), I’m finally going to bite: wtf is ‘WTF HAIR’ and what do each of the subsequent two numbers signify? Thank you!
Set Bookmark
jeff H
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

I saw this episode as a kid, and thought it was eye-opening for the subject matter and especially what was going on in the 1960s with the race riots in the USA.

Seeing the National Guard on my city streets was quite scary, Bobby and Martin had been killed - and this episode shined a light right on the same subject matter making illuminating the stupidity of the whole thing.

Yes, it may have been preachy, but to me it showed how mind-fumblingly stupid the human race can be.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

“Then of course Picard and Data acting out of character. Picard is bemusingly insistent on leaving it all behind and not wasting more time investigating the incident, and Data of course attempting to murder an unarmed man (and then lying about it).”

It seems like you’re throwing out details just to prove your point. Picard only left soon after Data’s disappearance because he needed to decontaminate the water supply of the colony Fajo sabotaged. As for Data, he was forced into a situation where he had to kill to stop Fajo. Defending yourself from kidnap is one of the few you times you can legally use lethal force, and self-defense is a far cry from murder.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Loved this episode. Thankfully, I seem to have missed the "Dr. Crusher disappearing" hint in the beginning the first time. Found it excitingly mysterious and creepy before getting an idea of wtf was going on. Those conversations about people that never existed were chilling.

Watching it again, I dislike the oh-so-deep Traveller BS. But still a great episode.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 10:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

Friggin' A'. The flagship of the Federation has a barber shop. Good grief.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,069
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.