Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 50,894 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,036
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, May 26, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

Flawless episode with some sublime performances. I'd probably grant four stars to part two as well. I'm trying to think if there are any bad Garak episodes...
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 26, 2018, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

@Jason R.

I don’t disagree with you, but this discussion begs the question of when is an artificially constructed embryo or cell cluster considered life? With the topic of abortion you can make the argument that every step from fertilization to impregnation is biological and considered life and therefore deserves protection at all stages. It’s not quite as simple here because the scientists presumably use inorganic matter in the process of reproduction. So were the clones killed here still mostly in the inorganic stage? I don’t think we get an answer this episode so Riker’s culpability is still somewhat murky. And that’s assuming Starfleet has regulations to protect the early stages of cloning.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

This episode was going the route of a porn, "Young twink bangs MILF"
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Chrome, I find it inconceivable that any court today would arbitrarily conclude that a human clone has no rights and can be killed without consideration. Ethically, morally and legally I see no serious argument on this point. I suppose the Federation could be different, but that seems unlikely. Imcidentally, a ban on cloning hardly equates to stripping clones of their rights and permitting their murder.
Set Bookmark
LaSmelter
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

I agree with the above about the holodeck scene. It's truly frightening the way it goes from the known and safe - the holodeck on the Enterprise - to a laboratory for malevolent aliens. The leaps that the computer takes in designing a creepy table don't stand up to scrutiny, but that's a forgivable error in an otherwise flawless scene.

One aspect that I don't think has been mentioned yet is the, IMHO, very good use of Troi. She is the one who leads the investigation, from identifying the pattern of crew member's strange behavior, to heading the discussion in the conference room, to heading the scene in the holodeck. Instead of being a therapist for individuals, here we see her responsibilities to the general welfare of the crew.

Also nice, in general, is the fact that they're mapping a globular cluster. It's the kind of task that makes a very nice background, one which you would imagine a ship like the Enterprise would have in its regular rotation of duties.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

“What Riker did was murder. He passed it off as justifiable homicide. The problem with that is the clone was innocent.“

I think cloning is outlawed in the Federation so I wouldn’t be surprised if the clones have no rights here. And to be fair, our society has no laws regarding the treatment of artificially created human life. It’s really a subject beyond abortion and delves into philosophical questions about treatment of artificial life.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Welcher

Yes, when the discussions start veering into people’s posting habits I admit my eyes start to glaze over and lose attention. Hate Discovery all you want, please, but let’s keep in mind we aren’t here to discuss posting habits. There’s absolutely zero intellectual content in that type of discussion.

I hope OTDP can just drop the subject and by the same token others just leave him be. There’s a lot more interesting critical Discovery discussions coming from Peter G., Dom, and Hank who, as much as I disagree with, still sincerely enjoy reading.
Set Bookmark
James04
Sat, May 26, 2018, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

The lullaby sequence surprised me that it wasn’t “Warm Kitty, Soft Kitty” - I must be confusing The Big Bang Theory, which is always worth watchiing, with TNG, which is sometimes tedious and psycho-babbly - like this episode. TBBT is always fun, and far too many episodes of TNG, like this one, are not fun, but a chore.

I know what’s wrong with this episode: much too much of it felt, and even looked, like a consultation with a doctor. It was too obvious that the actors were people acting - disbelief went unsuspended. I think this is probably why I dislike of the holodeck scenes: they set out to destroy all possibility of suspension of disbelief. And this episode was marred by the same staginess.

Two stars seems fair: the episode is not unwatchable garbage with no redeeming features whatsoever, but it is dull and (I believe the word is) over-acted.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, May 26, 2018, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

When Picard killed his future self in Time Squared it didn't matter because it was already doomed. What Riker did was murder. He passed it off as justifiable homicide. The problem with that is the clone was innocent. I suppose you could liken it to an abortion, if you get technical about it, but I don't see a clone as being the same as a fetus. (I don't condone abortion either, but some have no problem with it.)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, May 26, 2018, 7:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Mr Potato Head and his brothers kidnap Geordi so he can make them go. Picard lies on a table so some grown ups can play Operation. (Careful, don't touch the sides.....B)
Hasbro must have paid a fortune for product placement. Their most popular toy and game took center stage.
Well, we got the Borg last time so i'll give them a pass
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I liked this episode. Luxwana Troi episodes get a lot of hate but imo only half of them deserve the hate and this isn’t one. Compare this episode to the upcoming imaginary friend episode that is rated a half star higher. Not sure how anyone could say they prefer the imaginary friend episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, May 25, 2018, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Almost as bad as "Code of Honor", this episode is full of stupid cliches, anachronistic thinking, a mess of plots -- not sure how something like this gets written and produced but it seemed to happen from time to time in Trek (the pressure to crank out episodes perhaps?) Have to be disappointed at Riker's unprofessionalism as he gets it on with the Elected One -- this is the point at which the episode *really* started to head south.

"Angel One" doesn't make any valid comment on having a female-dominated society and doesn't do a proper PD examination any justice. So much time is wasted with the virus on the ship and as far as I can tell the only need for this subplot is to delay the forced beam-up of Ramsey & co. Some cheap humor comes out of Worf's sneezes and Picard's suffering (can barely say "Engage" etc.)

So how is Ramsey some kind of heretic? He hardly acted like the type -- no bold speeches of equality etc. Seems Riker jumps to conclusions when all Ramsey has is a small band of followers (Riker says something like waves of dissent rippling through the planet). And so Ramsey doesn't want to leave, Riker gives a speech which does ring somewhat true (martyrs etc.) and voila! the execution is halted and Crusher finds a cure and the ship can get to the neutral zone! This is just too simplistic and hardly believable.

One tidbit I liked is Geordi getting to sit in Picard's chair -- Burton displays well the awe he has for the position and needs help on delegating from Worf!

1 star for "Angel One" -- too much goofiness, idiocy here. No point trying to pick it all apart -- just a very poorly thought out and structured episode. Trying to throw in all kinds of "timers" like the need to get to the neutral zone, the virus, the countdown to execution...just got silly. The episode never adequately dealt with any of the premises it presented be they the virus, the female-dominated society, or Ramsey's people.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, May 25, 2018, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

All I could think of was how it was a worse version of Three Amigos
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Fri, May 25, 2018, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

How could the core of a planet cool in only a few hundred years? Once they re-liquefied it shouldn't it have stayed molten for billions of years?
Set Bookmark
Lufferov
Fri, May 25, 2018, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

The moral dilemma is frankly absurd. You'd have to throw virtually the entirety of existing medical knowledge that we have today if you ignored anything obtained through the suffering of other patients that previous medical researchers have experimented on. You can't just refuse or ignore scientific fact because of how it was obtained. You can strive to do things better in the future, and even pursue the guilty medical professionals and bring them to justice. But to ignore their findings once that knowledge exists is simply ludicrous.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Kirby
Fri, May 25, 2018, 5:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

I guess I'm in the minority again, I found this episode to be a big snore. I kept wondering what Dr. Leah Brahms was doing impersonating a member of Starfleet intelligence? That really distracted me from the narrative and kind of broke the episode for me. Also, I don't see any family resemblance between the Sisko's, most especially Grandpa Sisko and Benjamin. I find their lack of of any resemblance to be weird and just poor attention to detail.
I'm really happy that this site is still active, and much appreciation and gratitude for the reviews, and the comments.
Set Bookmark
peet
Fri, May 25, 2018, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trek's Musical Problems

("if I can recall a single post-TOS Star Trek TV score", that is.)

The early Borg stuff... BIG exception... but I still can't recall any "riffs".
Set Bookmark
peet
Fri, May 25, 2018, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trek's Musical Problems

TOS music, though often parodied (such as the infamous "fighting music" which I think originated with "Amok Time"), is truly memorable and has stood the test of time. So have some of the movie scores. Though I'll be damned if I can recall a single Star Trek TV score. The music is just sort of "there"... incidental, barely noticable. The suspense-building chords near commercial breaks and the ending codas are the only things I really notice. In fact I'm surprised to hear anybody even talking about the music. I don't take music for granted, but the message from TNG-onward Trek is that music is usually not very important and I felt trained by the TNG very early on to simply ignore it most of the time. Unlike TOS and the films, I can't match a single character or theme to a single leitmotif... if they're there, I don't find them compelling.
Set Bookmark
peet
Fri, May 25, 2018, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

The image of the evacuation from the sinking fighter, as well as the arid landscape, seemed like a deliberate shout-out to the beginning of "Planet of the Apes". Near the end it started to feel like a classic Western. I love it when Trek shoots on location. I bet those costumes and make-up were very uncomfortable out there, though!
Set Bookmark
RedKnight
Fri, May 25, 2018, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@Jammer, your review seems to overlook many of the basic problems of the film, such as why can’t the Empire (sorry - “First Order”) just encircle the rebels by sending some ships ahead of them using hyperdrive? Similarly, why has no one else done the hyperdrive kamikaze trick before if it works so well? Is it really okay for Snoke’s identity to never really be revealed or for Rey to be just who she is because, well iust because. Your reviews usually have a much more critical and analytical approach - it’s not clear why you give this film so much slack and benefit of the doubt.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, May 25, 2018, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Voyager does "Sophie's Choice"

And did it very well. The best dramas are not the action-packed battles in which we're left wondering whether the crew will DIE (here's a spoiler: they won't) but rather putting the characters where they have to make a decision and usually a question that challenges their complacency and beliefs. This is just that kind of an episode for both the Doctor and Janeway. I'm glad they didn't pull any rabbits out of the hat and for the Doctor to grow beyond his programming, he has to resolve the conflicts that will arise between the rules that govern his medical decisions and those that he built for himself in forming friendships. And those two parts of his programming are going to come into conflict as they did for Meryl Streep's character in Sophie's Choice where she has to make an impossible decision.

So kudos. 4 - stars.

Now they just have to build upon it like Babylon 5 did when they would put their characters through the ringer. The future episodes in which the Doctor finally resolves this issue should be fascinating. Oh wait, this is Voyager ... well, it was good while it lasted.
Set Bookmark
Welcher
Fri, May 25, 2018, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Good ol' Yanks called you out on it back in November in fact. Or should I say Nostradamus-Yanks?

Yanks said:
"And you're not leaving, you will post again.... just like everyone else on the internet that announces their dramatic departure..."

Set Bookmark
Welcher
Fri, May 25, 2018, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

OTDP:

"But still, the backlash from holding true to my views was quite harsh,"

So harsh I believe you retired from posting here, in a glorified farewell speech. Yet here you are.
Set Bookmark
J Ryan
Fri, May 25, 2018, 11:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

I enjoyed this season ender. Better than several other finales from other series. But the writers missed an opportunity. Since they had already chosen slow motion Archer, slow motion explosions, and other action movie clichés, and had seeded some wise ass Archer comments during his torture scene a few episodes ago, here's what I would have loved to see ...
...Archer and Dolum fighting.
...Getting his ass kicked, Archer sticks explosive charge on Dolum's back.
...Dolum realizes this a moment before Archer presses the detonate button
...Reptilian blood spatters
...Archer looks down, "Turtle soup."
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, May 25, 2018, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Oh and for the record, please don’t take discussion here as a personal attack. Things may get heated at times, but at the end of the day we’re just discussing interpretations of fiction we enjoy. Naturally you’re free to come and go as you please.

And this wasn’t intentional but to be clear it’s “Majority Rule”.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,036
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.