Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Voyager

"Shattered"

**

Air date: 1/17/2001
Teleplay by Michael Taylor
Story by Mike Sussman & Michael Taylor
Directed by Terry Windell

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"With all due respect, it's a little presumptuous to think you have the right to change everyone's future."
"From what I've seen, they'll thank me!"
"All you've seen are bits and pieces. You're not getting the whole picture."

— Chakotay and Janeway

In brief: One or two good ideas surrounded by plenty of messy and/or bad ones. The Humpty Dumpty of time-travel shows.

A lot of "Shattered" plays like a flashback clip show, except the clips have been shot new instead of plundered from the film archive. We've got characters from probably half a dozen timelines popping up, with references to past shows thrown in for fun. It's like an assemblage of random episodes. Unfortunately, it doesn't serve a story so much as it serves a bland set of procedures.

It's like, hey, let's go through old scripts and throw ... this in. What's that? Why, it's a macrovirus. Do you remember the macroviruses from the episode "Macrocosm"? Unfortunately I do, but that's beside the point. There's so little actual substance here that the story spends a lot of its time borrowing material from other episodes. Meanwhile, we've got all these characters introduced from other timelines, past and future. This is bad for the forward flow of the story because every time we encounter a new set of characters we have to wait while the characters who already know what's going on stop and explain what's happening to those who don't. It grows tedious.

What's happening here is yet another take on "shattered time," something done plenty of times before in Trek, whether it was Voyager's "Relativity" or TNG's "All Good Things..." or "Timescape."

Of course, the first thing you'd better know going in is that this isn't science fiction, it's goofy science fantasy. The plot for "Shattered" does more than strain credulity; to say it pushes the envelope of believability — even for a Trek time-manipulation premise — is putting it mildly. We have the starship Voyager, which comes in contact with This Week's Random Spatial Anomaly, causing the ship to be divided into segments, where each of these segments exists in a different time frame, whether it's seven years ago, five years ago, today, or 17 years in the future.

The person at the mercy of this plot is Chakotay, who is the only crew member unaffected by the time manipulation's effects because of a "chronoton-infused serum" Doc concocted after Chakotay was zapped by the anomaly. This serum allows him to pass from section to section of the ship without his memory being affected; he simply passes through time to interact with whatever is happening in that part of the ship at that particular time.

I for one would like to know how the story accounts for location: Some of what happens takes place in the Alpha Quadrant, and the rest of it in various places scattered through the Delta Quadrant, so when Chakotay passes from one timeline to another, he also apparently moves tens of thousands of light-years. Is there some constant in time stories like this that ties location down to wherever the people involved need to be? Is Voyager here a mini-lab of timelines that exists in some finite location? I suppose the Timeline Gods have worked this all out, but never mind.

This makes no sense. Sure, when it comes down to it, no time-travel story makes any sense. This one just makes less sense than most. I'd also like to know why people who don't move through the timelines disappear when they cross from one area of the ship to another. If they're not moving through time like Chakotay, then where are they going?

Hey, I'm not asking for rock-solid science or logic here; I'm just asking that the story be entertaining. "Relativity" didn't make any sense either, but at least it broke free and won us over with its carefree lunacy. "Shattered," on the other hand, is a string of boring, only vaguely related scenes that segue uneasily into and out of one another. The plot is a flimsy excuse to move Chakotay in and out of timelines: He must move through Voyager and inject the ship's bio-neural gel packs with a dose of Doc's serum to bring the ship back to its normal temporal alignment (or whatever).

The key idea here, once the plot is fully under way, is that Chakotay recruits Janeway from the past — from just before Voyager was pulled into the Delta Quadrant — to help him put the ship back together. This means that past-Janeway will get a glimpse of bits and pieces of Voyager's fate over the next six-plus years, revealing the changes the Voyager crew has gone through since it was first pulled into the Delta Quadrant.

This isn't a bad idea at all, but it's not what the show is ultimately about, which plays more like a string of set pieces constructed around a convenient tech plot. There is, for example, an extended scene where Chakotay and Janeway end up in the "Captain Proton" holodeck program and the plot grinds to a halt. This scene isn't nearly as funny or useful as it wants to be, and plays more like a gratuitous rehash of "Bride of Chaotica!"

Other timeline events include: Seska's takeover of Voyager from "Basics, Part II"; a timeline set 17 years in the future, where Naomi Wildman and Icheb are grown adults; the present, where we witness the death of Tuvok; a period during "Caretaker" where B'Elanna blames Janeway for stranding them in the Delta Quadrant; and the time when Seven of Nine and the Borg assimilated the Voyager cargo bay in "Scorpion, Part II."

Other snippets include the aforementioned macrovirus and also a timeline where the crew is unconscious and dreaming, which Chakotay identifies as either the plot of "Waking Moments" or "Bliss." Your mission, if I hadn't already done it for you, was to identify the titles for these shows. (By the way, my usual griping about continuity doesn't mean random events thrown in to acknowledge that the writers did some homework are what make continuity worthwhile.)

The story becomes nearly as loony as "Relativity"; ultimately we have Seska trying to hijack Chakotay's efforts to bring the ship back into temporal alignment and then characters from half a dozen timelines charging in to the rescue, including a Maquis B'Elanna and a Borgified Seven of Nine.

The story makes much of the Temporal Prime Directive ("The less I know about the future, the better," says Janeway, who later presses Chakotay at every turn for more information about Voyager's fate), but it doesn't seem to make up its mind whether any of it matters. Chakotay resists telling Janeway anything about Voyager's future in the Delta Quadrant — then moments later spills some beans, and then some more beans. But then the whole plan is to avert the anomaly's effect on Voyager in the first place, such that nobody's memory from any timeline will have been affected, so I must ask what the point is actually supposed to be.

I will try to answer that question by saying that the show makes an interesting point when Janeway witnesses Tuvok's death, prompting her brief vocal determination to prevent Voyager from ever being stranded in the Delta Quadrant. Chakotay talks her down from this with a reasonable speech about not undoing what's been done; changing everyone's future frankly isn't Janeway's job.

Then again, this is all to be moot anyway, since the timelines are to be reset to normal. I suppose the scene where Chakotay convinces Janeway there's more to Voyager's fate than the bad things she sees here exists just for the sake of discussion, albeit a good one.

The initial plot goal for "Shattered" is to break Voyager up into a bunch of disjointed parts. Of course, the script for "Shattered" is the very same thing — a bunch of parts, with a strand running through it (the Janeway/Chakotay interaction) that can't break free of the illogical or arbitrary nature of tech plotting to be entirely successful. All the king's horses and all the king's men couldn't put this premise together again.

Next week: B'Elanna and Tom — expecting a baby!

Previous episode: Flesh and Blood
Next episode: Lineage

Season Index

44 comments on this review

Damien - Sat, Apr 4, 2009 - 10:43am (USA Central)
I actually didn't mind this one. Sure, the temporal jigsaw premise stretched scientific credibility, but c'mon, little of what passes as Trek science makes that kind of sense when you come right down to it.

Accepting the premise, I found Shattered to be pretty entertaining. Perhaps not one of Voyager's best, but still above average.

My main issue was with the so called temporal prime directive. I don't see why Chakotay couldn't tell Janeway what happened after the timeline was restored. Surely he'd be telling her what happened in their past, so the future could not be altered in any way.
PM - Mon, Jul 20, 2009 - 4:42pm (USA Central)
This was a really, REALLY grating episode. It's a victory lap after a resounding defeat. It counts on viewers to remember a bunch of random plots that mostly didn't matter in the end, some of which were boring while in progress. And, of course, since it exists in that weird time anomaly land where anything can happen and nothing matters, it carries no weight. So it's smug, confusing, and pointless. One-half star for me, Alex.
Jay - Sat, Sep 5, 2009 - 12:59am (USA Central)
This episode played almost like a clip show.
Derek - Fri, Oct 2, 2009 - 10:02am (USA Central)
"[C]hanging everyone's future frankly isn't Janeway's job." And the irony bell rings at a deafening level. Thanks, "Endgame."

Oh well, as a standalone (i.e. as your typical Voyager episode) this one wasn't half-bad, IMO. I'm a big sucker for "let's pretend it's the X season" plots though, Enterprise's TATV notwithstanding.
hivycox - Mon, Jan 25, 2010 - 4:48pm (USA Central)
for me, this episode wa great. I cannot understand your ratings. It was much more interesting and entertaining than the last episode "Flesh and Blood".
I really like episodes about time-traveling, time-anomalis and timeline changing....and this one wasn't bad. I can call it a decent show and probably one of the best episodes of Voyager's seventh season.

So thats my opinion..signing out^^
Nic - Wed, Feb 17, 2010 - 12:04pm (USA Central)
I've also always like time travel episodes (and especially time fractured episodes such as "Cause & Effect", "Timescape", "Relativity"). But I wouldn't put them all in the same basket.

Sometimes they make sense (or rather, you think they make sense when you're watching them because they are well written). Examples of this genre are "Yesterday's Enterprise", "Future's End", "Children of Time".

There are others that don't really make sense, such as "Past Tense" (since Sisko 'restored' history without the help of Kira & O'Brien, they never should have noticed any changes in the timeline) or "Before & After", but you are able to look past the proposterousness of the plot because the story and characters are compelling.

Unfortunately this episode belongs to the third category, which is that the plot has ZERO credulity, but the story and characters are bland and pointless. Unfortunately "Shattered" falls into this third category.
Paul - Thu, May 13, 2010 - 8:28am (USA Central)
I'd also like to know why people who don't move through the timelines disappear when they cross from one area of the ship to another. If they're not moving through time like Chakotay, then where are they going?

Aren't they on their ship in that time-frame? As far as they know everything is normal, it's just that Chakotay has turned up, which is weird... like when he goes on the bridge. Janeway immediately arrests him.

Regarding location....ha that is something that is glossed over by all Voyager plots. Unimatrix Zero had drones talking to each other from different sides of the galaxy in real time. This breaks numerous rules of physics...
Paul - Thu, May 13, 2010 - 12:55pm (USA Central)
Ok i've watched it again & I'm not 100% sure they are on their ship, but what must happen is that they are on it but are unable to return to that specific area as in theory 'it' has moved to the delta quadrant.

Another thing that bugs me. If Wildman & Icheb are in the future why are they wearing out of date uniforms? We already know their current ones are old style.

But from now on it's going to be tempting to keep secrets by stating 'Can't tell you. Temporal Prime Directive'.
Michael - Sat, Jul 17, 2010 - 12:26pm (USA Central)
I thought this episode was swell! The only thing that really bunched my shorts was that stupid Chaotica imbecility. They REALLY didn't need to revive THAT of all things!! Janeway "the queen of the spider people"!?! WTF?!?!?!

Sure, many things didn't make sense but the show was fast-paced, entertaining and quite exciting. I'd give it at least 3 stars, if not 3.5.
Elliott - Thu, Aug 12, 2010 - 3:24am (USA Central)
Does anyone remember "Shades of Grey," TNG's season 2 finale? That was a real clip show, designed to show everyone how "it's been a long road, getting from there to here..." This is Voyager's answer to that episode. There's an inherently awkward and plotless quality to any clip show, no getting around it. If one must do one, which one mustn't, this episode is not a bad take. What it offers that others of its type don't is precisely what Season 7's theme revolves around. Each of VOY's seasons has a theme, which I appreciate. Season 7, being the final one, demands of the characters and the plots that they answer for the choices they've made (note previous episode), culminating in the series finale answering the dilemma of the pilot (awesome). While on its own, this episode does not make for much, entertaining perhaps to those familiar with Voyager's past adventures; but, as a thematic corner stone to the season (inviting speculation about various running relationships in the series), it is a vital spawning pool of questions for the show.

Notes:
1) Chakotay: "You told me, about three years from now." This would seem to indicate a reference to the pre-finale from season 2, "Resolutions" wherein Janeway and Chakotay are stranded on a planet for a month alone.
2. Why would fluctuating environmental controls indicate a temporal anomaly?
3. This is the second time Seska's proven to be the arch-villan since she died :p
dlabtot - Sat, Oct 2, 2010 - 7:55pm (USA Central)
Best. Clip. Show. Ever.
Procyon - Sun, Oct 24, 2010 - 4:41pm (USA Central)
Not atrociously bad, but still below average.
Paul - Fri, Feb 25, 2011 - 6:17am (USA Central)
I thought it was fun - but only because I bought the essential Janeway-Chakotay interaction, and appreciated the teasing of J/C-shippers when Janeway asks exactly HOW well they get to know each other in the future.

Smarter than the average clip show - but I agree a plot that makes no sense - and I could have done without a revisit to "Macrocosm" - but I guess that was a case of "we've got this CGI model in our computers already and it won't cost us anything to use it"
Cloudane - Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 4:58pm (USA Central)
Hahahaha who left Can't-get-a-lock in charge? Let's fly head-first into an "I don't know" - great work there, Harry :)

It looks like you either love this episode or hate it, pretty much. I loved it, for a few primary reasons:

* I'm a sucker for "wibbly wobbly timey wimey" episodes. Sometimes the time travel stuff can suck, but it's very rare - it's usually a hit with me and this is no exception.

* It made me smile very frequently. There were just a lot of parts, particularly exchanges between Chakotay and Season 0 Janeway, which did this for various reasons: whether simply pleasant, nostalgic, comical or just plain ironic (I love how she reacts to all the chaos to come. Aye! They're not a friendly lot in that Delta quadrant! *grin*)

* It served as a reminder, fitting for the 7th series, of all the fun we've been through. Some of it wasn't written brilliantly, but with the benefit of hindsight it's been a fun ride. I guess this was in part the writers' way of saying "look at what we've achieved over the years" and I'll forgive them that conceit. Given all the bad rap Voyager has had (to which I have contributed my share), it's a very fair point.
- sure, a cynical way of viewing it would be as PM says "a victory lap after a resounding defeat". :) Whatever. I'm in a good mood. I enjoyed the episode.

* There was a good dose of comedy thrown in - not so much as to undermine the show in any way, but enough to keep those smiles raised and enough to point out that it's an episode not to be taken DEADLY seriously. Hence I don't really give a stuff about what we perceive as unlikely scientifically or slight plot holes or whatever.

* Come on, admit it, it was nice seeing some of those old faces like Seska and the Kazon again. Just this once.

Just on a couple of random comments, interesting to see future Naomi (I'm sure that actress has played some ensign before, possibly in an early episode?), I remember reading earlier that an adult Naomi is featured in Season 7 and must have misunderstood. I still want to know how she went from baby to... oh, 7-9 years old? in 1 year. But whatever.

And Tuvok's Spock scene.. well it was a bit blatant, but it was worth the homage.

Sure it's no "All Good Things" but even still, I found it perfectly entertaining and loved every minute, so I can only really give it 4 stars - oh alright alright it has holes so make it 3.5.



Ah nuts, 4 - I'll have to say "poopy" to the cynics and nitpickers on this occasion. YMMV. :)
Kieran - Thu, May 5, 2011 - 8:05am (USA Central)
I liked this one too, it was fun seeing all the references to half-forgotten episodes (I never expected to see Chaotica again). Plus I generally find Chakotay an entertaining central character, he's convincing in action roles and Beltran has an easy-going charisma I like. Also adult Naomi Wildman was pretty easy on the eye.

One problem I had was Seven's depiction. She seemed far too helpful for the Seven of Scorpion Part II.
Allnighter - Sun, Sep 18, 2011 - 11:32pm (USA Central)
When Janeway noted at the end that she knew where Chakotay hid the wine in the cargo bay, was she implying that her memories were intact?

If you recall it was something mentioned by future Icheb in the astrometrics lab...
Kristen - Thu, Oct 20, 2011 - 12:54pm (USA Central)
After only the first five minutes of this ep I was already heaving a sigh of frustration. But I pressed pause, got a Diet Coke, and tried to watch without assumptions. Once I got the idea of what this episode was going to be-- a new take on a clip show-- I actually started to enjoy it.

It's certainly not great. But knowing that there are only so many episodes left, it was kind of sweet getting a mini-review of where we've been before. I think that aspect, though, was less the point than just a general reminder that Janeway makes tough decisions that always ultimately serve her ship and crew. Kind of like a Janeway apology story.

Interesting note there-- this apology was helpful for me because of late I've really been disliking Janeway. The first few seasons, I was almost always in her corner. Making the tough calls, shouldering the burden, sacrificing for the higher morality, etc. But in seasons 5 and 6 she seemed more bitter, less flexible, and like she lost a bit of her moral center. I'm hoping this episode signals a return to her earlier attitude/behavior.

(Also, incidentally, I might have actually liked more of a revisiting-the-past-type clip episode. Not just revisiting Janeway's awesomeness, but everyone's. They could have picked moments that really made our characters who they were. And reminded us of how the characters have changed over time. Maybe someone's got some good fan fic out there for that one.)

There were still, of course, a few annoying things that I couldn't overlook. For one, how come no one ran into themselves in any of the other time periods? That's usually one of the best aspects of time travel eps. Seeing the inherent awkwardness of having to deal with a former version of oneself is excruciatingly fun.

For another, as others have pointed out, the Temporal Prime Directive is applied in the most bass-ackward way possible here. Chakotay tells past folks all sorts of things about the future one second, then claims TPD the next second. But still clams up about things even when he's pretty sure his plan will work and none of this will have happened (ie, it won't matter what they know). And then finally he won't tell Janeway about how he traveled back in time to a shared past that she knows all about?! Has Chakotay not actually read the Temporal Prime Directive? Do we have a secret illiteracy episode coming up next?

Overall, though, I found myself sympathetic to what this episode was trying to achieve. I hope it continues through the end of the series. (I've actually already seen the next ep, and I really liked it when I first saw it, so I have hope!)
Kristen - Thu, Oct 20, 2011 - 1:04pm (USA Central)
Oh-- how could I forget?!?! What's with the Captain and Chakotay having died 17 years ago, according to future Naomi and Icheb?!?!

Ok...so I concede that neither Naomi nor Icheb are going to age the same way "normal" human beings age. Naomi's got her weird growing-up-too-fast-cause-she's-half-Ktarian, and who knows what happens once she's grown up. And Icheb was grown in a Borg maturation cell, and released too early, so he'll all sorts of not-the-right-age-for-his-looks. So, I can't just go by how they look to decide how old they are.

But...it can't be that they're supposed to be more than, what, 35 or 40 years old. So if Icheb is around 16 in our present time, and 40 in the future scene, then 24 years have elapsed. And so the present day Captain and Chakotay die in 7 years?! WTF?! That seems too important to just toss out there like it's incidental! Why isn't Chakotay worried about THAT?!
Tim - Sat, Nov 12, 2011 - 5:09pm (USA Central)
No where near as bad as reviewed. It's a bit diversionary but is Trek (unlike some others I can think of), it's "timey wimey". It's a little nonsense, and a little fun. There are infinitely more dull and boring serious "proper" Trek episodes out there. This is not one of them.

Clip show. Not really. If it is to be defined as one, this is an enjoyable one. It doesn't feature actual clips of previous episodes in an attempt to make a filler episode on the cheap. That's what clip shows are, and they are a cop out. Referring to old episodes by staging similar events is fine. I like that kind of messing with time factor.

Nothing amazing but a good enjoyable romp. The previous two parter dragged on and wasn't a great deal of fun, not to mention highly derivative, yet you give it loads of stars vs two here!
Nathan - Sun, Nov 13, 2011 - 7:34pm (USA Central)
This was lightweight and silly but rather fun.
David H - Sat, May 12, 2012 - 11:58pm (USA Central)
Jammer doesn't really like 'Voyager,' hence his consistently low ratings. I'm with the majority on this one - very entertaining episode. 3-3.5 stars, easily, and a nice palate-cleanser after the heavier drama of the previous two-parter. It would have been fun to see Kes again, though, and hopefully give her a better send-off than her previous return.
Captain Jim - Tue, May 29, 2012 - 10:07pm (USA Central)
Cloudane said, "It served as a reminder, fitting for the 7th series, of all the fun we've been through. Some of it wasn't written brilliantly, but with the benefit of hindsight it's been a fun ride."

Pretty much this.

I'm another one who likes time travel stories, and I liked this episode a lot. At least 3 stars.
Justin - Tue, Jun 26, 2012 - 3:09pm (USA Central)
@Elliott, you give the writers WAY too much credit for having seasonal "themes" as you put it. They didn't. They simply muddled along - quite badly at times.
Jelendra - Thu, Jul 5, 2012 - 4:33am (USA Central)
I LOVED this one ! Finally an entertaining Chakotay show...maybe it was like a clip show but a really entertaining one. I would give this 3 stars easily. There seem to be so many reviewers here that dont like the show much...if so WHY WATCH IT ?
Chip - Sun, Jul 15, 2012 - 10:09pm (USA Central)
Thoroughly enjoyable episode - 4 stars! It was great to see snippets of Voyager's past (and a bit of the future). The interaction between "past" Janeway and "current" Chakotay was written, and acted, with just the right light touch.

And seeing Chaotica, again threatening to use his "Ming the Merciless" death ray, was a treat, with Janeway "adlibbing" her Queen Arachnia part as she went.
Jay - Sun, Oct 21, 2012 - 12:23pm (USA Central)
So is this like the third episode now with Chakotay and Janeway having dinner together, and the third episode in a row that tries to launch a Janeway gag by very wrongly (based on everything we've seen in every 24th century Trek show, including this one) treating a replicator like it's some kind of stove?
Destructor - Tue, Dec 11, 2012 - 10:29pm (USA Central)
I really loved this one, actually- I think it should have been the series finale. I think it not only encapsulates the Voyager missions statement (that the voyage was more important than the destination) but also shows what a profound impact Voyager had on the Delta Quadrant and vice versa. I loved Chakotay's speech about the path less traveled, I loved his passion when he argued for the merit of their journey, I loved that he finally got a great episode, I loved that it was like a clips show looking back on some of their greatest moments, I loved the end, I LOVED the Janeway/Chakotay interactions- the only way I could have loved this ep more is if Janeway and Chakotay kissed at the end. 4 stars.
Jay - Mon, Jan 14, 2013 - 10:23am (USA Central)
Chakotay's comwhen traveeling municator and rank insignia should have vanished between the disjoint parts of the ship as well as things he was carrying.

Technically, so should his clothes, but no one wants that...
Adara - Thu, May 9, 2013 - 7:22pm (USA Central)
I really liked this episode, with just one major complaint: Remember when Harry Kim went back in time to save Voyager from being destroyed? Geordi LeForge was a captain at that time and no one seemed to care about keeping his future intact. But I forgot... Voyager is the center of the universe. (minus all those poor red shirts)

Other than that, I agree the science was ridiculous and more like fantasy, but the episode kept me interested enough that I didn't care. Other ST series' have made excellent shows with similarly implausible "science," such as the transporter on TNG turning Picard and 3 others into children. When an episode is boring all I can think about are the plot holes, but this one was a lot of fun.
Tim - Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - 12:32am (USA Central)
You forgot to mention the worst part - The End

At the end, Janeway somehow knows where Chakotay hid "that bottle of Ale" from Neelix...

That is the part that made the least sense.

So essentially they are saying that Janeway already knew Chakotay before he came aboard Voyager..

...That she already knew about events before they occured

Fail!
navamske - Sun, Jul 14, 2013 - 10:00pm (USA Central)
Shouldn't Tuvok have tried to transfer his katra to someone before he croaked?
Leah - Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - 12:41am (USA Central)
I'm on the "really like it" boat. First, because it's a Chakotay episode and I really like him and felt he was horribly underused. Finally, he gets an entire episode as the main character. Someone else mentioned Beltran's easy-going charisma. I have to concur, he's a great actor and a charming guy and I would have loved to have seen more of him throughout the series than we ultimately got.

Second, because of the great interactions of Chakotay and past Janeway. Their lighter banter and heavier discussions were all great and well performed. They actually have a very good chemistry and I'm also one of those people who think a romantic relationship between them would have worked really well.

And third, I kinda liked seeing some old faces again. I actually don't think this can aptly be called a clip-show. That implies that it was a throw-together of existing material to save a buck and make a quick turn. All of these events revisited ideas but not a single clip from the corresponding episodes was used. They had to get back the actress to play Seska and the actors who portrayed Chaotica and Lonzak, do all that Borg get-up on Seven, and get a bunch of extras to fulfill the roles of past crew, random Maquis, and even an adult Naomi and Icheb (nice casting on him, btw, he really did look like a believable grown up version of Manu Intiraymi). I imagine this actually was quite the opposite of budget-saving or time-saving.

Overall, yes it made no sense but I still enjoyed it. And I'll admit it, even though the scene was sudden and a bit rushed, Tuvok's death still gave me sad-face.
Starpollo - Sun, Aug 4, 2013 - 8:14pm (USA Central)
@Destructor I agree! Love this episode so much!
But one thing... just one...
WHY THE FRAK DIDN'T CHAKOTAY KISS JANEWAY BY THE WARP CORE???????? PERFECT SET-UP FOR THE MOST ROMANTIC SCENE OF THE SHOW AND THE WRITERS BLOW IT??????
Nancy - Tue, Aug 20, 2013 - 12:55am (USA Central)
I'm with those who enjoyed this episode. Yes, there were plot holes right and left, as is always the case with time travel stories. However, I loved the way they incorporated so many past episodes in a fresh way.

Plus, Chakotay's speech to Janeway about the good they've done to counter the bad was terrific, and the chemistry between them was palpable. I don't blame Janeway for looking disappointed when Chakotay tells her "some barriers we didn't cross." Chakotay is quite tasty. Well, it's not too late, but from everyone's comments it appears they never went there. Too bad.

As for Janeway's cryptic last line, I just assumed she'd found out about it some other way. It's admittedly a weakness but overall the show was quite entertaining and so I'll give slips like that a pass.
azcats - Mon, Aug 26, 2013 - 1:45pm (USA Central)
1. janeway and the ale. um, she could ahve known about it before.
2. jammer hates time shows. and voyager. horrible review.
3. you can see most people liked this.
4. i am a sucker for time travel shows. it is why i like voyager and star trek!
5. i really like reviews from michael and destructor and David H.
azcats - Mon, Aug 26, 2013 - 1:48pm (USA Central)
i hit wrong button. i loved the show. i enjoyed all the timelines.i just saw TNGs timescape yesterday. man i love these type of shows.

maybe that is why i loved quantum leap.

4 stars!
Thomas Petersohn - Mon, Oct 7, 2013 - 4:14pm (USA Central)
No other episode made me want to cry this much. One of the best!
Jo Jo Meastro - Tue, Oct 15, 2013 - 7:47am (USA Central)
Another good episode, season 7 is turning out very nicely so far and it has rekindled some of the 'lost love' it suffered after one too many tiresome disappointments.

I found these very grin inducing fun. There is naturally little logic, but I think the writers primary concern was to give us a hugely enjoyable celebration of the show that's peppered with heartfelt moments and salted with misty eyed laughs; much like the last day of school or a well-loved colleges' leaving party.

It achieved quite a bit of that goal, it gives you hints of that comfortable warm feeling and a twinge of that sinking sadness that its all coming to an end.

I liked it a lot. While I wouldn't call it powerful, it did come with plenty of honest emotion and I believe grew from a genuine affection for Voyager which you're openly invited to join in with. I smiled a lot, through humor and through being reminded that deep down I really get a kick out of this show...much like how I felt about school on that last day!

Easily 3.5 stars.
Steinway - Fri, Feb 14, 2014 - 7:56am (USA Central)
I thought this was great fun. I am another one who really would have enjoyed a Chakotay/Janeway kiss at the end – it would've been so easy to write in! Just have Chakotay say "let's just say there are some barriers we never crossed…" And then he pauses, and adds, "But I'd be lying if I said I didn't want to..." and he kisses her! Easy!

Ah well. I thought it was funny that Icheb was wearing a red uniform and Naomi was wearing a yellow uniform – seems like it should've been the opposite, with Icheb so interested in engineering-type things and Naomi wanting to be the captain's assistant.

One thing that struck me as being so funny was at the very end was when Chakotay only had six seconds or whatever to fix everything, and he's very calmly talking to B'Elanna, like they has all the time in the world! I usually enjoy Chakotay's calm and gentle manner, but this moment really called for some urgency and action! Ha ha.
Amanda - Tue, Feb 18, 2014 - 12:09am (USA Central)
A chakotay episode that didn't put me to sleep. victory! It was fun. Not to be taken seriously kinda ep. I can deal with it this time. Maybe it was this campy time travel ep that explains why she collaborated so quickly from the beginning in Caretaker II. :-)
Nathan C - Sun, Apr 13, 2014 - 12:54am (USA Central)
So many times in Trek there is a logical or scientific approach to (in this case) temporal mechanics that allow the viewer to follow along using their brain and it makes sense. Kirk faced The Guardian of Forever. Picard in Yesterday's Enterprise, you get the picture that good credible SF can exist in Trek, but when episodes like this one come about, the writers throw everything and anything into it, that it becomes more fantasy.
Doctor Who does this shattering effect better than any. Entertaining it may be, yet when a mashup of timelines exist that would confuse even Doc Brown from Back To The Future let alone the most avid of Trekkers it destroys the premise.The reasons for criticism from those of us who are Trekkers is because we enjoy Trek, and don't feel that we should have to turn off our brain on every episode.
Credible SF is what made shows like Stargate successful. Gateheads follow the science and mechanics of Stargate just like those in Star Wars and Doctor Who. Criticism of a show like Star Trek is no different. When writers abandon what has been established as canon, then the material becomes mashed up and becomes less SF and more fantasy.
domi - Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - 12:18am (USA Central)
Although this was "like" a clip show, it was way better than an actual clip show.

This review tells me that Jammer really did not like Voyager as a series and probably should have stopped watching it.

I would have chosen this quote instead:

"It sounds like it's going to be one disaster after another on this ship."
"You're going to have the opportunity to study things no human has ever seen before."
"Including some very large germs."

It's a comical exchange but Mulgrew's delivery nails it.

Another favorite was Doc: "Tell me more about this...mobile emitter" as the door slams shut on his face.

Overall I thought the episode was great--some very touching dramatic moments as well as many hilarious ones. It was cool to see some of the old characters, as well as the current characters in the past and future. (On that note, this episode did a much better job than Fury, in which a lot of the "characters in the past" didn't look quite right.)

I do appreciate the focus being on Chakotay for a change (normally he is a cardboard cutout, but he did pretty well here), and the fact that a number of characters were utilized. Put together with the previous episodes, "Flesh and Blood" parts 1 and 2, gives me hope that Voyager finally stopped being the "7 of 9 and the Borg" show and started being Voyager again.

Probably the only scene I didn't care for was the Chaotica one. It might have been okay if it was shorter. Also, although I like Seska coming back, she is portrayed by the writers as a little too cunning which gets on my nerves.

I do have one question though. How come whenever Janeway travels between time periods, nobody ever asks her why her hair suddenly changed?

BTW I assumed she knew about the cider some other way. Chakotay said he was hiding it from Neelix, not from everybody.
Sean - Sat, Aug 2, 2014 - 4:46pm (USA Central)
I actually quite liked this one. I don't like Voyager as a show, but I did enjoy this episode. It actually was a lot of fun and had some good dramatic moments. And the focus on Chakotay, while highly unusual, was greatly appreciated. The best part, of course, is the end with all the people from the different time periods working together against Seska. It was so ridiculous that it was so much fun, especially when Seven came in as a Borg and stopped Seska directly. I'm pretty sure I cheered at that point, against my better judgement. xD

This episode really was fun though, even if it didn't really happen. Janeway didn't seem to remember it (or did she...).
Jack - Sun, Aug 17, 2014 - 7:58pm (USA Central)
When Paris and Kim were on the second level of engineering, they were still in "their" timeframe, and only after they jumped did they enter Seska's. So how is it that they could observe Seska's timeframe in engineering before jumping into it? It seems that the people innoculated with the serum can still only observe the timeframe they are in at that moment. Alternately, if they can observe "every " timeframe when innoculated, then all of the corridors should have been busy, and there should have been lots of running their own selves.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer