Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Voyager

"Imperfection"

***

Air date: 10/11/2000
Teleplay by Carleton Eastlake and Robert Doherty
Story by Andre Bormanis
Directed by David Livingston

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"So you think I need to learn to rely on other people? What about you? You've refused to rely on a single member of this crew!"— Icheb to Seven

In brief: A nicely done allegory on terminal illness, though the Borg crutch and irrelevant action scenes are growing tiresome.

"Imperfection" is said to have grown out of a story pitch based on a true experience involving a kidney transplant — from both the donating and receiving ends. I can believe that, because this episode has a ring of truth to it. The story concept is a fairly simple one, but the predicament that arises is emotional and difficult, ultimately leading to a seemingly impossible choice.

At the same time, Seven of Nine stories are getting a bit repetitive (doesn't she essentially learn the same lessons every time, unable to later apply them to similar situations?), and it seems like the production teams are breaking out the Borg sets every other week. When familiar elements are utilized this well I'm hardly in a position to complain, but do we really need three episodes of Voyager in a row about the Borg and Seven of Nine? Seven is a good character, but probably mostly because half the rest of the cast is ignored.

Still, if you're going to do a terminal illness story, Seven seems like a good choice. She's probably the character we generally think of as the least "mortal," with the possible exception of the Doctor. And, after all, since this is science fiction, a terminal illness with a sci-fi twist seems to lend itself particularly well to Seven's Borg inner-workings.

In this case, Seven begins showing symptoms of a severe problem when her cortical node — which is responsible for regulating her vital Borg implants — begins to malfunction. It cannot be repaired because it is too complex. In theory its Borg adaptability should lead it to repair itself, but it doesn't. After a brief display of believable denial, Seven realizes that it's very possible she could soon be dead.

Some options for treatment are considered. The most hopeful method is simply replacing the cortical node with a module from another drone. (Although, I wonder — in something as complex as a cortical node, I would expect there would be issues of compatibility from drone to drone; after all, you don't just get a heart transplant from anybody, let alone something that controls your important biological systems.)

This leads Janeway to track down a destroyed Borg ship nearby (how convenient!), from which they might find a dead drone with an undamaged cortical node that can serve as a replacement. Just how many times has Voyager chased after the Borg, anyway? Funny how Chakotay says, "It's not every day we go looking for the Borg." Could've fooled me.

Though competently executed, I could've done without this week's Voyager Action Insert, the gratuitous sequence that serves as an argument that no episode of Voyager is demographic-friendly without some sort of exchange of weapons and/or chase through a debris field. While aboard the damaged Borg vessel we don't run into any Borg drones looking to assimilate our crew members, but instead the stock Hard-Headed Aliens of the Week, who will not listen to two words of reason. "This is my debris field," and out come the weapons. How tired I am of this scene.

The ensuing ship chase then takes place through the Borg debris field, with the hard-headed aliens chasing the Delta Flyer. The recently destroyed Delta Flyer, you ask? Why, yes. Oh sure, there's a single-line acknowledgement that it was destroyed in "Unimatrix Zero" ("The last time you took the Delta Flyer to confront the Borg, it ended up in a couple thousand pieces," Paris says helpfully), but it's so cavalierly tossed at us and hopelessly transparent — I don't buy it. What's particularly laughable is that the line as delivered seems to imply that the Delta Flyer was salvaged rather than replaced after being blown to smithereens. (Break out the super glue and prepare for an all-nighter of reassembly, I guess.)

As usual, I find that I can take this show seriously on its given episodic standalone terms (the terminal illness story is top-drawer), but the credibility of the series as a whole is reduced to a pathetic joke. Voyager and its crew are indestructible; it can be blown up and they assimilated by Borg, and it's always just another day at the office. At least when the Defiant was destroyed on DS9 the writers waited a few episodes before replacing it, and acted as if it were actually a different ship.

But back to the main idea here (to which the episode, fortunately, is wise enough to quickly return after straying for the Action Insert). The core is a genuinely good story. It certainly has more of a heart than "Unimatrix Zero," which was essentially a wind-up action toy. There's some nicely portrayed character work in "Imperfection" that makes a lot of sense. After the initial plan to replace the node fails (any dead drone's node will prove useless, Doc learns), we get scenes where Seven's death becomes a looming possibility for the characters to consider. As I said, I liked Seven's brief bit of denial and the fact that it was kept relatively brief (Seven is the type to consider the data and then act upon the hard facts at hand); shortly afterward comes the anger, frustration, and ultimately acceptance. The idea of the usually in-control Seven not wanting others to see her in a state of vulnerability is particularly believable, and her desire to break out of sickbay I can completely understand.

What's nice in addition to the terminal illness issue is that this story manages to tackle Seven's character from a couple different perspectives. She occupies an interesting position in between Janeway, her mentor, and Icheb, her protege. The fact that Seven might be dying is good for exploring the dialog scenes. A highlight includes Seven wondering if she has lived up to the captain's hopes of becoming an individual, and an apt moment where she points out dead Voyager crew members who were individuals when she was still linked to the hive mind. Another highlight is the issue of Icheb's dependency on Seven, which cuts both ways, as the episode demonstrates that Seven is independent to a fault.

Ryan, Picardo, and Mulgrew put in their typically good performances, but the surprise here is Manu Intiraymi as Icheb, who comes up with a risky plan that might be able to save Seven — donating his own cortical node, which his research indicates he can probably survive without. The risks bring out the hard choices; Seven will not hear of Icheb risking his life, so Icheb simply forces the issue in an urgently played scene. Intiraymi adequately carries a meatier role here than he has to date, including in last season's "Child's Play." (Icheb as of now is also the last of the Borg children; at the episode's outset the three other children have said their goodbyes, having been given a new home with a passerby family.)

I also was impressed with the sincere dialog between Seven and Torres about the question of belief in an afterlife. These two characters really share a good moment here ... although the episode misses a key opportunity when it seems to completely forget B'Elanna's near-death experience a year ago in "Barge of the Dead." (A real shame, too, because this scene was perfectly appropriate for such a reference. But such references are apparently illegal on the studio lot.) There's some compelling talk of Seven fearing her death will result in total oblivion: In the collective her memories would live on through the hive mind, but that's of course no longer possible.

"Imperfection" is a solid story with some well-sold emotions and a situation that can be recognized to some degree as real life, even if not necessarily yours or mine. What "Imperfection" is not is particularly unexpected. We've been to similar places with Seven (indeed, we've been probably everywhere with Seven), and even though a Seven/Janeway or Seven/Icheb scene can still be very good, it also feels like an iteration of a Voyager staple.

Next week: Get on your marks — it's the Indy 5 Billion!

Previous episode: Unimatrix Zero, Part II
Next episode: Drive

Season Index

28 comments on this review

Jeremy Short - Mon, Jun 23, 2008 - 8:41pm (USA Central)
I wonder if Imperfection was originally to be after Drive. I could have sworn that Tom had his wedding ring on during Seven's operation. One of you're big complaints in Imperfection was a lack of explanation of how they rebuilt The Flyer. Drive at least explains that it was altogether a new ship. Still doesn't explain how they built the darn thing, but it at least acknowledges that it blew up in Unimatrix Zero with more than just a throw away line.
Jammer - Tue, Jun 24, 2008 - 10:28am (USA Central)
"Drive" and "Imperfection" were indeed flipped in the airing order. I learned this shortly after this episode aired.
navamske - Wed, Sep 3, 2008 - 7:00pm (USA Central)
"Funny how Chakotay says, 'It's not every day we go looking for the Borg.' Could've fooled me."

The funnier line was Chakotay's saying, "If we're not careful, we could all end up wearing cortical nodes."
Nic - Wed, Oct 14, 2009 - 3:08pm (USA Central)
Yes, Paris is wearing his wedding ring in the operation scene, which means "Drive" occurs (and was intended to air) BEFORE "Imperfection." This makes the episode more watchable, I think, first of all because it's not the third Borg episode in a row, and the Delta Flyer has been christened.
Ken Egervari - Fri, Dec 18, 2009 - 4:40pm (USA Central)
1 Star. Awful.

This show was the biggest string of predictable plotting I've ever seen. As soon as I knew that Seven was sick, it was so obvious that Icheb would come to rescue. Everything else after that was just padding to the episode. The writers/director telegraphed it from a mile away.

You have many other bad plot points. Janeway continues to want to do things herself. She's been this way concerning away missions time and again... it's getting a little repetitive. Instead of investigating why this is the case... and perhaps the sudden increase in solo suicide missions... the story just keeps doing it... and the series never answers for it.

Moreover, as soon as they get the cordical node... aliens have to show up and cause problems. Who are they? Why are they there? Do they have any importance or relevance to the plot? Nope. It's just typical hard-headed, cardboard alien bullies that we see on Voyager week after week. And they don't even come back into the episode once there scene has ended.

The biggest problem with this episode is that there is no satisfiable outcome. If Icheb dies, it merely get rids of a character they may want to kill off so they no longer have to worry about continuity of having rescued him in the first place. And if Icheb lives, the story has no lasting impact and the whole endevour is irrelevant. So either way, the story is screwed.

Lately, the endings of these shows has been really sappy, and this story is no exception. The writers want to give a "warm feeling" at the end, but I just cringe as I watch it. The opposite effect happens - I wish I had never seen the episode at all, as I feel I've wasted 40 minutes of my life watching the show.

This 3 star review is completely unfounded. I usually agree, but this episode was terrible.
Eduardo - Sat, Jan 23, 2010 - 11:56pm (USA Central)
I don't believe either episode was flipped in airing order. I believe UPN simply forgot to flip them, because Imperfection was actually shot before Drive. In fact, Repression and Critical Care were the flipped episodes in airing order.
Michael - Thu, Jul 15, 2010 - 9:03am (USA Central)
What: This time no drama with the kids - will they go, won't they go, should they go, can they go, must they go, boo-hoo...? Their departure is presented as a fait accompli. What, then, was the point of that saga a few episodes back with Icheb's "internal battle of emotions" or whatever psychobabble is applicable to what was happening there?

The erosion of Seven as an interesting character continues. Now she's shown hugging the kids and getting all sentimental. Next we'll have her and Torres waxing their legs at a pajama party. Oh, puh-lease. And, oh my gooooooooood, when The Doc starts yapping in that newly-developed "compassionate" arched-eyebrow manner of his with the voice to boot, I want to hurl. And Neelix and The Doctor talking about adminiring flowers? I was afright for a moment they might kiss and start giving each other foot rubs. Then Seven and Torres' "discourse" on the afterlife - that's five minutes of my life I'll never get back. Was any of this nonsense necessary in the slightest?? Was the whole angle of "Seven coming to terms with her putatively impending death and everyone else coming to terms with it and Seven weighing her consequence in this world and blah-blah-blah" necessary for that matter?? Why couldn't we have had a show about her cortical whatever malfunctioning and everyone focusing on finding a solution; you know, a show about SCIENCE-fiction? Besides, what kind of tripe is this: I won't undergo an operation to save my life if there is >any< chance of Icheb being harmed... - is that the reasoning of a logical, level-headed Borg? Then Icheb pulls his little stunt, there's a major hoopla, "Seven, you must do this," "I won't," "Yes, you will," "Why are you doing this?" "Because I'm dependent on you," "But you shouldn't be," "But YOU are," "No, I'm not"... - oh, for crying out loud, I'd have phaser-stunned both of them and done the surgery if I was Janeway.

"Persistence is furile"? *GROOOAAAN*

As far as the Delta Flier, O.K., so apparently it was rebuilt at some point between this and the previous episode. I see Paris's ridiculous 20th-century dials, levers and pads make a comeback. *exasperated sigh* Why doesn't Paris install a breaststrap on the Flier, too, and pretend he's piloting a horse-drawn buggy! Oh, I forgot, he's a TWENTIETH-century aficionado, not the sixteenth. *rolls eyes*

I liked the scene where Tuvok and Paris volunteered to go with Janeway. It demonstrates loyalty, valor and moral fiber. For Tuvok it didn't surprise me; for Paris it rather did.

Overall though, I spent far more time playing Minesweeper during this show than I did paying attention. 1 star. Maybe. A big maybe.
Jeff - Mon, Oct 25, 2010 - 4:56pm (USA Central)
Definitely "Drive" and "Imperfection" were switched in the airing order. Anyone with the DVD sets can see the production numbers and no for certain that "Drive" was filmed before "Imperfection." But it shows how either UPN or the producers didn't much care. For the most part any VOY episode is interchangeable.

But that's not what I want to write about. In some of the VOY fandom I've read there is a school of thought which theorizes Janeway fell in love Seven over the course of the series. While I don't believe it to be "canon" I do think it is an interesting concept for the show and would have been quite groundbreaking had the writers attempted it.

I think if any episode can give actual proof to the theory of Janeway loving Seven I believe it is this one. Mulgrew gives one of her best performances. Her pain and fear over Seven's illness are quite palpable and believable, but Mulgrew (intentionally or not) plays Janeway as grieving for a loved one. Granted she calls Seven her friend in the episode, but right from the beginning Janeway is more impassioned than ever to save the life of one of the crew.

Almost immediately she is telling Chakotay she'll risk the ship and everyone else to find another cortical node for Seven. She also attempts to find one on her own. I took it as Janeway wanting so desperately to be the one to be able to save her even though the EMH would actually do the surgery.

Also, when Seven and Janeway are in astrometrics after Janeway mentions farmland Seven immediately brings up a picture of Janeway's hometown and Janeway wistfully tells Seven she'd love to take her there to see it.

I know I'm reading a bit into this. Friends would react virtually the same way, but Mulgrew's performance this time around really seems to have that extra something in it. In this one episode at least I can see the case for Janeway having fallen for Seven. Too bad the writers didn't take the risk. I think it would have been well worth it.
Jeff - Mon, Oct 25, 2010 - 4:57pm (USA Central)
Also the fact that Seven tells Janeway "I don't think you'd be able to accept my death." And sure enough in "Endgame" we see Adm. Janeway altering the past in order to save the woman she loves from a premature end.
Paul - Thu, Feb 17, 2011 - 7:08pm (USA Central)
"Then Seven and Torres' "discourse" on the afterlife - that's five minutes of my life I'll never get back. Was any of this nonsense necessary in the slightest??"

Was that bit necessary? That was the whole point!

But of course you're too busy waiting for "proper sci-fi" big bangs and wanting everyone to be a drone or Data with no troublesome human emotions to understand that, aren't you?

Your tiresome opinion on every single one of Jammer's reviews is becoming increasingly annoying. Why don't you just go off and write your own website where you can hand down your opinions as if they were the word of God in splended isolation and I can ignore you completely?

"I liked the scene where Tuvok and Paris volunteered to go with Janeway. It demonstrates loyalty, valor and moral fiber. For Tuvok it didn't surprise me; for Paris it rather did."

Same again, boring, totally predictable and detachable for me. Once again, the mighty Michael completely misses the point of an episode. What a drag.
Michael - Sat, Feb 19, 2011 - 10:40am (USA Central)
Hehehehe am I getting to ya!

The last time I checked, this was AMERICA, and I have the right to say whatever the tarnation I want, so long as it is within criminal and civil law.

I think your sentiments are as much bull as you think mine are, but I'd never even think of telling you to !@#$ off. Either grow up or take it to iRan; they love your sort over there.

Oh come on, let's not fight. Let's talk about our feelings, our misplaced aggression and have a group hug. Better yet, let's video-tape it and upload it on YouTube. We'd be on to a real winner because I bet there are MILLIONS who'd watch it and give it positive reviews on Jammer's!!!

LOL!!
Jay - Mon, Mar 7, 2011 - 1:25pm (USA Central)
Don't go, Michael. Your comments are mostly hilarious, even when I disagree with 'em.
Jared - Sat, Mar 12, 2011 - 7:26pm (USA Central)
The death list Seven called up had a Commander, 2 Lt. Commanders, and two Lieutenants, so some promotion openings, and yet Harry is still an Ensign.

Poor Hogan, who died in Basics, isn't on the list...
Cloudane - Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 12:43pm (USA Central)
No sign of Samantha Wildman either, if she's dead (I have no idea).

Thanks for the spoilers for both the next episode and the final episode guys :facepalm:
It did annoy me greatly that the Flyer was apparently salvaged (after those pieces, many of them charred? Exsqueeze me?), if it was in fact rebuilt I can accept that and was already ready to.

Very heartfelt episode in places.. felt my own ocular implant beginning to malfunction once or twice. It was kind of obvious how things were going to pan out due to the reset button nature of the series, but I still found the dilemmas worthwhile. And I continue to be impressed by Jeri Ryan as an actress - "malfunctions" aside (reminds me of Data finding Spot in Generations), her emotions are still very visible whilst remaining controlled and subtle.

No complaints. I agree with the 3 star rating.

As an aside -
Jammer: "A nicely done allegory on terminal illness, though the Borg crutch and irrelevant action scenes are growing tiresome."
Michael: A nicely done action scene, though the irrelevant story stuff is growing tiresome
:)
V - Fri, Sep 2, 2011 - 12:51am (USA Central)
@Jeff:

I disagree with that interpretation of the Janeway/Seven relationship entirely. It's seemed very obvious to me that their relationship is that of a mother and daughter, and the writers and actors have invested a lot into making that a subtle, but strong and ever-present dynamic of the show.

Janeway rescued Seven and adopted her into the crew. When Seven first joined the crew, she had no knowledge of human emotion, relationships or social interactions. She was like a young child being guided in her development and growth by her adoptive mother, Janeway. She was also independent and rebellious, determined to make her own way and not be forced into a mould that didn't fit; struggling to learn who she was and how she fit into her world. Nearly all of her conflict with Janeway was about this, and these conversations/arguments paralleled the interactions of a rebellious teen and her mother.

In this episode, Seven feels remorse that she hasn't been able to live up to Janeway's expectations, that she's failed her somehow, despite Janeway's efforts to guide her in finding her individuality (growing up). Janeway responds as any good TV mother would (and as I would hope most real mothers would) with pride, saying that Seven is wrong, that she has exceeded Janeway's expectations. Many people, myself included, hit a point in their young adult lives when they've chosen their own path and they don't feel that it's what their parents would have chosen for them. This is one of those moments between adolescence and adulthood that signals a shift in the parent child relationship. It says, "I love you, and I'm proud of who you've become, regardless of whether or not it's who I first imagined you to be."

This scene signaled that Seven is moving out of her intensive learning/child stage and is becoming a fully realised individual/adult who no longer needs strong guidance, but who will continue to rely on her mother figure as an adult.

So, yes, there was definitely love and grief in that scene, and Janeway is far more likely to risk all in a less than rational way for Seven than for any other crew member. But not, as far as I can see, because of any romantic attraction. Most mothers would choose to risk their life for their child.
Jane - Thu, Dec 22, 2011 - 3:08pm (USA Central)
I just wanted to point out that the other borg children where not just given a 'new home with a passerby family' but that the Voyager crew actually succeeded in locating the homeworld of of the borg twins along with some relatives who were so happy to have the twins back alive and well that they were willing to take in the borg girl as well who presumably didnt want to be seperated from her friends.

Otherwise great review :)
Paul York - Sat, May 5, 2012 - 12:04pm (USA Central)
I thought this was a very touching and well done episode. It was a human drama of self-sacrifice and interdependence, but played through ex-Borgs who do not suffer from sentimentality, so they are perfect vehicles for the honest exploration of these issues. I agree with the comments somewhere above that equate the Janeway-Seven relationship to that of mother-daughter. Seven-Icheb is likewise that of older sister-younger brother. She is a mentor to him as Janeway is a mentor to her. The action scene was gratuitous and did not fit in, but the rest of it was well scripted and played, I thought. It reminded me a lot of "Drone" -- at least the part where Seven experiences what it means to love. These episodes reveal that she has a human heart, despite her Borg coldness.
Jelendra - Thu, Jun 21, 2012 - 3:53am (USA Central)
A great and wonderful episode, I enjoyed seeing a lot of the emotional side of the characters. Great acting by the young man playing "Icheb". The only comment I mirror Jammer on...why are we AGAIN heading off to see the Borg ? Other than that (very small point) This is one reason I watch the show, for great moments like the ones presented...
Jack - Sun, Oct 21, 2012 - 12:02pm (USA Central)
It was a nice homage that 7 of the 10 deceased crewmembers on the display screen were named after characters from "The West Wing".
Chris - Fri, Jan 11, 2013 - 9:16pm (USA Central)
Janeway, Torres, and Tuvok were recently assimilated...shouldn't each of them have a cortical node they can probably do without now? Or if they were removed after they were "restored" (it's all ridiculous, but sleeping dogs), aren't they available still in sickbay (unless Doc through them away)?

Also, they're huge! How much of Janeway and Company's (and of course Seven's) brains were removed to accomodate these things?
skadoo - Sat, Jul 13, 2013 - 4:49pm (USA Central)
@ V - exactly! Just what I thought. Janeway is Seven's adopted Mom.

I read an interview with Mulgrew that she gave a few years after the show where she'd wished that they'd given Janeway a son that had been left home. It would fuel her desire to get home because he dies before she gets there. It was something she came up in the interview off the cuff but it would also have helped to explain the maternal side of Janeway a bit more. Maybe they decided that if she had a kid at home it would have been too Ripley?
Leah - Sat, Jul 13, 2013 - 8:21pm (USA Central)
A lovely episode with well-played emotional gravitas and a meaty core. For once, the use of the reset button didn't offend. I felt it worked well as a self-contained piece because the solution felt weighty enough on its own. Full recovery is always the hope in the resolution of life-threatening medical situations so showing they would both be alright didn't feel like a cop-out but rather the desirable outcome that we wanted to see.

I have to say I'm very impressed with the young man who played Icheb. A very heartfelt performance that was pivotal to the success of the story and he pulled it off beautifully. In fact, the scenes between Seven/Icheb, Seven/Janeway, Seven/Doc, Seven/Torres, and even Seven/Neelix were all poignant and well-done.

The only scene that was grossly out of place was, indeed, the action scene. I think it would have been more effective for them to just get it done without a problem and comment that the whole thing felt far too easy only to find that the node from a dead drone wouldn't work. While being a clever nod to the absence of an excessive obligatory action scene, it would have also been a better and more subtle way to show that nothing is ever that simple. Also, is it me or did those aliens kinda have a Kazon-esque quality? Maybe it was the crazy, "I just stuck my finger in an electrical socket" hair.

In any case, loved the episode for the most part. Made me all warm and fuzzy inside.
Nancy - Mon, Aug 19, 2013 - 10:45am (USA Central)
An intense and affecting episode. I really like Ichbed and I'm so glad they've giving him things to do. I never expected to see so much of the Borg kids after their introductory episode.

The episode could have been sentimental and trite, but instead it kept me interested.
azcats - Tue, Aug 20, 2013 - 4:24pm (USA Central)
@Jeff, V and Paul York.

yes, i disagree with Jeff. Anyone who sees Seven and Janeway as lovers are immature fools. Any thoughtful person should see this as a parent/child relationship. Janeway is the reason for seven's existence. she feels responsible for her, just like anyone in her position feels. furthermore, Icheb and Seven's relationship enhances this view point. I see Seven as a mother not an older sister for Icheb. and i see icheb as wanting to save his "mother" or guardian.

i loved this episode. I thought all the conversations were riveting. and i LIKED the chase threw the borg debris. it was fun. people who dont like action are silly.

@ken Egervari. I dont understand this guys viewpoint. have you ever watched a Matlock, Columbo or Lawn&Order CI? you know WHODUNNIT. the story is not WHAT is going to happen, but how you get there.

forget continuity and plotholes. just ask..were you entertained?

4 stars!
Niall - Wed, Sep 25, 2013 - 7:22am (USA Central)
One of Voyager's best.
Jo Jo Meastro - Mon, Oct 7, 2013 - 11:41am (USA Central)
I probably would have given this 3.5 or even 4 stars.

It really was emotional and genuinely effecting stuff, and I must give credit to the absolutely flawless acting from everyone. It just goes to show that when the writers give the cast something more challenging to work with, what they deliver is nothing short of magnificent.

Knowing "Drive" was supposed to come first makes a lot of sense and I'm surprised this wasn't fixed on the DVD episode ordering. I think David Livingston deserves much praise too. He really helped the whole story come alive, even the slightly gratuitous action scene was very thrilling and impressed me.

For the emotional punch this packs and for the way everybody from writers to actors seems to be on great form is what solidifies a strong 3.5 from me.
Caine - Mon, Jan 27, 2014 - 10:56am (USA Central)
So ... all Borg drones have a cortical stimulator, right?

And they are places in the front of the brain, obviously taking up space that brain tissue normally would?

Wow ... good thing that Federation technology can apparantly repair removed parts of the brain, otherwise Picard, Janeway, Tuvok and Torres (and presumably many other droens-turned-back-into-individuals) would have to live out their lives with a Borg implant where a big chunk of their brains should be.

(Yes, this was sarcasm).
Amanda - Thu, Apr 3, 2014 - 8:06am (USA Central)
I thought the same thing, Caine. I guess our obsession with micro technology waxes and wanes in the 24th century. I expected anything in the cranium to be very small. Also, Janeway was just returned from Borg, why the writers didn't make her the one to hand over a node is surprising. (not really)

Actually, I think this episode would have made a great Tuvok/Janeway episode if one of their nodes failed and the other saves them. It would solidify to the audience this supposed friendship that was mentioned a few times in season one. Tuvok would get more air time and less seven. yay.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer