Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Voyager

"Author, Author"

****

Air date: 4/18/2001
Teleplay by Phyllis Strong & Mike Sussman
Story by Brannon Braga
Directed by David Livingston

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"You are about to embark on a remarkable journey. You will take on the role of a medical assistant aboard the starship Voyeur. Your job will be to assist the chief medical officer, and learn to tolerate his overbearing behavior and obnoxious bedside manner. Remember, patience is a virtue." — Paris' novel introduction

In brief: I do believe we have a winner.

The fictional novel in question is an interactive holodeck program about an emergency medical hologram that is forced to become the chief medical officer on board the starship Vortex when the Vortex is stranded in the Delta Quadrant. The story follows the Vortex EMH through an existence of hardship and oppression by the Vortex crew, who see him as a piece of technology and absolutely nothing more.

The holo-novel was written by the Doctor, and it's the center of a controversy in "Author, Author," which for me goes down as one of Voyager's all-around most entertaining episodes. It exists simultaneously as a laugh-out-loud comedy-satire, a slyly perceptive analysis of personalities, and a thoughtful drama that argues the nature of existence and the rights of a group that I for one have been pondering for some time. In addition, there's a plot about Voyager now having limited daily contact with the Alpha Quadrant, and the chance for the crew to finally have synchronous, if brief, discussions with loved ones back home.

"Author, Author" borrows numerous ideas from other episodes and spins them together into a single story that, amazingly, makes a whole lot of sense. It plays like a successful melding of "Worst Case Scenario," "Living Witness," "Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy," "Pathfinder," "Flesh and Blood," and, of course, and perhaps most notably, TNG's famous "The Measure of a Man" (1989). How so many familiar elements are successfully recycled here to seem new is beyond me, but there you have it. Does this episode tackle too much? No, because the narrative is clean and the story is able to do justice to everything it puts forward . (It's unlike the recent "Prophecy," which tackled a million elements with little regard for telling a competent overall story.)

Doc's interactive novel, titled Photons Be Free, is met with great enthusiasm by Bolian publisher Broht (Barry Gordon) back on Earth. Broht wants Doc's story right away, so he can run it in holosuites worldwide. Doc still has some minor revisions to make, but he finds a brewing controversy on his hands once he lets Paris preview the program.

Doc's novel allows the holodeck patron to play the part of the Vortex EMH from a first-person perspective. It depicts the Vortex crew as a savage bunch whose members all have a common trait — their rude and thoughtless regard for the EMH. Like in "Living Witness," these crew members bear a striking resemblance to the Voyager crew members, except with a revisionist historian's twist. Chakotay, now a Bajoran, orders the EMH around and calls him "hologram," while Janeway (named "Captain Jenkins") shoots an injured crewman dead in order to force the EMH to treat a less seriously injured crewman now, just because it suits her.

This first stage of "Author, Author" is compelling on several levels. First is the fact that Doc's story itself, while way melodramatic, is engaging. Second is that we see the similarities between the Vortex crew and the Voyager crew, and certain traits have interesting perceptiveness behind the exaggeration. And third is that we see the differences. My, oh my, the differences. For Doc's purposes, exaggeration, I fear, defeats perceptiveness. But for "Author, Author's" purposes, it's brilliant.

The story within the story is packed with hugely entertaining little details. I got quite a kick out of seeing the walls of Jenkins' ready room decorated with antique firearms; this is a captain with a warrior's background. Meanwhile, Doc's mobile emitter is a big, heavy device that must be worn like a backpack. And the way the names are slightly changed is clever: Lt. Paris becomes Lt. Marseilles, with a mustache that even Torres can't help but laugh at.

What's disturbing for Doc's friends, however, is how the depiction of these characters hits too close to home. At one point, Marseilles sends the EMH on a bogus medical emergency so he can have a liaison with a female "patient" in one of the sickbay bio-beds. Marseilles lines the women up for "medical treatment" one after another. Paris was once, long ago, depicted as a mild woman-chaser, but he was more bark than bite. What bothers Paris in seeing Marseilles' actions is whether Doc really thinks of him as that way. Call it passive-aggressive storytelling.

Harry's character is a hypochondriac. Tuvok is a human with goatee. Torres is extremely abrasive toward the EMH; Roxann Dawson finally gets the scene she never got in "Living Witness" (where she did not appear because of her real-life pregnancy). The only sympathizer is "Three of Eight"; Doc has always seen Seven as one who understands the concept of looking in at humanity from the outside.

Execution-wise, I liked the way we get various chapters of the story as seen by various Voyager crew members playing as the participants. The whole idea, in fact, of holodeck story publishing is nicely depicted here; it seems like a logical 24th-century story medium.

This holodeck stuff is fun, but with a message. As the story unfolds in front of her, reaction shots of a thoughtful Janeway make a difference. There's a drastically serious undercurrent about Doc telling a tale of an oppressed EMH who, ultimately, is erased by his shipmates.

Even better is how when Doc's friends confront him about how the Alpha Quadrant will associate the Vortex with Voyager, the story maintains a cool head and presents all the arguments. Doc's argument in a nutshell is: The persons and events in this holodeck program are fictitious; any similarity to actual persons is purely coincidental. Fine and good, but audiences will certainly assume elements of truth were key in the writer's motivation, which brings up some interesting points about the responsibilities of an author making commentary.

In fact, Doc doesn't think he is being oppressed, and he doesn't intend the Vortex crew to be mistaken for the Voyager crew, even though both are stranded in the Delta Quadrant. Doc says, "I write what I know." Unfortunately, that's part of the problem, since one would immediately wonder if he has come to know firsthand this oppression he's writing about. Getting to the heart of that matter, Doc's motivation is to draw attention to his EMH Mark 1 "brothers" in the Alpha Quadrant who were banished to a menial existence because of their design flaws — which makes this an interesting and logical follow-up to the events of "Life Line" and "Flesh and Blood."

But Voyager's crew is caught in the middle, and Doc intends to stick to his guns rather than compromise the message of his story. This leads to what is the funniest scene, when Doc discovers his program has been replaced with Paris' retort narrative — Taste of Your Own Medicine style. Paris inserts himself as the narrator: "You are about to embark on a remarkable journey. You will take on the role of a medical assistant aboard the starship Voyeur. Your job will be to assist the chief medical officer, and learn to tolerate his overbearing behavior and obnoxious bedside manner. Remember, patience is a virtue."

This is standout comedy writing and acting, because it's funny while also reflective and in touch with aspects of the real Doctor's character, which it then mutates into a well-conceived comic caricature. The writers do a great job writing the scene as if Paris had written it with sardonic mode fully engaged, and Robert Picardo plays the scene with glee. We see a version of Doc who complains about missing his "tee time," flirts shamelessly with Seven of Nine, and has a hilarious air of self-importance. And the desperately lame comb-over is a nice touch. The acting and comic timing here are dead on; this has to be Voyager's funniest moment since "Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy." It's more than just a gag, because it grows out of our familiarity with the characters.

Doc confronts Paris, furious. Paris shoots back, "Don't be ridiculous! That character is not you!" which is funny precisely because it's so absurd and proves the point. To make a long story short (too late), suffice it to say Doc agrees to change the people's names and appearances to distance the similarities between Vortex and Voyager. He comes to this decision after some objective suggestions from Neelix, who is apt at convincing Doc to protect his friends while still praising the creativity of the story (and I liked the way this scene recognized Doc's ego without faulting him for it; he feeds off the praise, no doubt about it, but that's because he wants to be more than just an EMH).

The central crisis in the story appears when Doc asks Broht to hold off on publishing the novel until he can make the changes. Broht, unwilling to wait and acting against a promise he had made earlier, tells Doc the story is already playing in holosuites. Doc demands it be recalled immediately, which Broht tells him he will not do, because Doc has no legal rights as a writer under Federation law, because he's a hologram.

Talk about your irony of ironies — especially given the subject matter of Doc's story.

This leads to a formal objection and a hearing where Doc argues his case to a Federation arbiter (Joseph Campanella). Of course, we've been here and done this with TNG's "The Measure of a Man," where the case was made for Data's rights as an artificial intelligence. But even if this is somewhat derivative, it features sensible arguments and serves the story every bit as well. (Though I must confess I'm not sure about Broht's motives in rushing the novel to publication and ignoring Doc's requests; why play hardball unless there's a financial motive, which supposedly doesn't exist in the Federation?) While I don't feel the need to discuss this aspect of the episode as much, I fully enjoyed it. Given what we saw in "Flesh and Blood," it makes a lot of sense to give this issue a full hearing on Voyager's record. It can actually go down as a common theme that played itself through the season, and that's very reassuring.

The hearing serves as a first step for hologram rights, giving the Doctor the rights as an artist with control over his work, but it's also real-world plausible by not going further than that; the arbiter acknowledges that the rights of holograms is an issue that must be examined further and not decided based on this one case. Sounds realistic to me.

I liked the final scene too, which takes place "four months later" and shows dozens of identical EMH-1s working in a mine. One of them suggests to another that in his spare time he take a look at an interesting program called Photons Be Free. Like in "Flesh and Blood," there's a sense that there's a revolution brewing in the backs of these holograms' minds; perhaps they are awakening to the idea of having greater potential. The scene plays itself with a note of whimsy, which is the perfect touch, leaving us wondering where this issue might go from here, but having us assured that it will indeed go somewhere, even if we never actually see it again on-screen.

The subplot involving the crew talking to family members is given less screen time, but it gets the job done within the time constraints. We get a Harry scene that manages to be funny while keeping perfectly in tune with Goofy Harry material. Harry talks to his parents back home and his mother asks why he hasn't been promoted, then says she'll write a letter to captain Janeway. The transmission is cut off before Harry can emphasize "No!" Poor pathetic Harry.

There's also a nice follow-up to "Lineage" in the form of an uneasy but civil conversation between B'Elanna and her father. B'Elanna's father wants to try. So does B'Elanna. This is actually a touching sentiment not pushed by melodrama, but simply two reasonable people who are willing to work things out slowly, over time.

Finally, there's a scene where Seven talks to a relative back on Earth, an aunt, and the conversation reveals just how alien Seven is to the idea of having ties to blood relatives. Where might this go before the series is over?

Given everything it accomplishes and the skill it shows in accomplishing it, entertainingly, I'm willing to call "Author, Author" one of the series' best installments. I was genuinely involved in everything going on from beginning to end.

Next week: More Delta Quadrant aliens that have crossed paths with human history. Gee, what a coincidence.

Previous episode: Q2
Next episode: Friendship One

Season Index

43 comments on this review

Ospero - Thu, Feb 7, 2008 - 11:03pm (USA Central)
Brilliant. I just find it sad that Doc and Seven seemed to be the only characters for whom the writers of Voyager could find meaningful, innovative stories (exempting "Barge of the Dead", of course).

As an aside: Is this the first time the "nutshell" part is a direct reprieve from another episode? "Prey" is introduced with the exact same words.
Joe - Sun, Apr 6, 2008 - 5:39pm (USA Central)
If Voyager has proofed one thing. It's that it could deliver impressive single episodes. This is certainly one of them. The acting is superb, the story is gripping till the last second. It is just brilliant television.

paul - Wed, Jul 2, 2008 - 9:41pm (USA Central)
I just couldn't quite get into this one. It reminded me too much of "Measure of a Man", which I loved, but didn't leave me with the same feeling.
mike - Sat, Aug 2, 2008 - 11:46am (USA Central)
I guess Kes was never a crew member, or part of the medical team, or the Doc's best friend on board. She must have been erased from his memory....
Stefan - Thu, Sep 25, 2008 - 1:15pm (USA Central)
Hey Mike, by this time you should know that Kes would get no respect from the writers. Besides, it appears the Doc's novel was about the Voyager at that time.
EP - Sun, Mar 8, 2009 - 4:51pm (USA Central)
@ Paul:
I suppose the difference between this and "Measure of a Man" is that "MOAM" is played straight the entire way through, while AA plays as pure comedy for the first half, drama as the second. It's a bit of a jarring transition.
Secondly, the "rights" being trampled upon are degrees different. In "MOAM," CDR Maddox wants to disassemble Data for his study, a violation of one's own body. In "AA," the Doc is essentially embroiled in the middle of a civil tort. There's not as much "drama" when we're talking about story rights.
Still, good episode, especially with TP's "Revised" story.
Matt - Sat, Apr 4, 2009 - 2:00am (USA Central)
Paris' re-write of the program is probably the funniest moment of Star Trek ever. Picardo is hilarious.
CJ - Wed, Dec 30, 2009 - 9:35am (USA Central)
I think my favorite part(s) of this episode is when the music in the holonovel suddenly cuts after the narrative (with the computer sound). A small, but brilliant little detail that most people would miss, but to me, adds just a bit more to the comedic end of things.

One of my favorites of the series though, well written, acted and directed. Great job!
Jason - Mon, Apr 26, 2010 - 5:23am (USA Central)
In a word - "Excellent"...
Michael - Wed, Jul 21, 2010 - 5:52am (USA Central)
I thought Paris was really sweet when he relinquished his token to give Harry "Can't-Get-A-Lock" Kim a chance to talk to his mom on her birthday. See, it's short moments like those that I really enjoy and find far more poignant that protracted boring relationship "building" or "exploration."

I love what they did to Acoushla Moya... - looks even more ridiculous as the Sitting Bull (pun intended) than with his usual tattoo. I LOVED Seven as a brunette!

Too bad Paris had to get all mushy about earning The Doc's respect *rolls eyes*

What I really disliked is the unstated underlying foundations of this episode, which are that The Doctor is basically a sentient, self-aware entity. He ponders, feels and evaluates things, including abstract concepts. Yet, HELLOOOOOOO, he's a...

...

...

...

H-O-L-O-G-R-A-M!!!!!!!!!

It's extremely difficult for me to consider even the possibility of perceiving a hologram as a person. A hologram can be decompiled and its existence is not autonomous. Its knowledge and sense of ethics are not innate. At the same time, someone/something that produces an original product using own faculties should retain legal right to it. The question is whether The Doctor's faculties are his/its own or are they derived from the original programming, in which case it's the programmer (Dr. Zimmerman) who should be endowed with the authorship rights. Quite an interesting argument...

BTW, the question of what/who legally constitutes a "person" - a matter of literally intergalactic consequence - is considered by one single person? What the hell kind of legal system is THAT!?!

And BanotherW, they couldnt install holoemiters on Voyager but they have them in dilithium mines!?!

But yeah, an EXCELLENT episode, well deserving of the four stars!
Ospero - Tue, Dec 28, 2010 - 6:12pm (USA Central)
Say, is there anything missing from this review? That first paragraph doesn't read like an introduction at all. "The fictional novel in question" - huh? That sentence needs a paragraph or two before it to make sense.
Bobbers - Mon, Jan 10, 2011 - 5:45am (USA Central)
@Ospero it follows on from the quote at the top of the page.

I love this episode.
Cloudane - Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 5:17pm (USA Central)
How do you know that WE aren't just programmed machines, that happen to use this flesh and blood system? In any case, in the story's context I most certainly do see the Doc as "as real" as any organic person. He's made up of different things physically, but the Trek universe stance (used in a lot of sci-fi) seems to be that once you make AI sophisticated enough it becomes as self aware and "real" as anyone else. It'll be interesting when (if) AI gets this realistic in real life.

Anyway, great stuff. Facing the holographic sentience issue properly (though that episode a few back wasn't a bad shot) has been a VERY long time coming, but if that time is what was required for Voyager's writers to do it justice, so be it. I'm glad they put the effort in.

It did play a bit like Measure of a Man at times, and I don't think there was much that could really be done about that since it was about an individual case, not sentient AI in general. There HAD to be repetition to see the issue through. But I'm impressed - IMHO they managed to keep it sufficiently different, even the hearing itself - whilst also throwing in some good character moments for the others too. (Torres talking with her father was very poignant and I appreciated the continuity. On Voyager! Again!)

I'm particularly intrigued that Janeway was fighting for the Doctor so well also. She's frequently been bigoted (okay, skeptical) even recently, repeatedly saying things like "only a hologram" in front of him. I guess that previous episode about the issue (where he runs off to help the holoship) must have sunk in for her. Good.

A solid 4 stars, definitely.

Looks like it's downhill from here from the star ratings, never mind. End of an era approaches...
Cloudane - Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 6:06pm (USA Central)
P.s. the actress who played Irene Hansen bore an interesting resemblance to DS9's Kai Winn. I had to look up the credits to find out that it wasn't!
Kieran - Thu, May 19, 2011 - 6:30am (USA Central)
I liked this one too, maybe not quite worth 4 stars as it was a bit obvious and heavyhanded in places (did the Doc really expect the crew not to take offence at their fictional equivilants? Even he has more tact than that), but still funny and interesting.

I've been really impressed by Season 7 as a whole: the plots have shown more respect for previous episodes, the Paris/Torres relationship has finally started going places, Seven's role has been downplayed a bit, Harry is now treated as the joke he is rather than trying to amke us care about him, and Tuvok and Chaokotay have actually started doing stuff. Just a pity it's all going to end in 6 episodes just as it's finding its feet.
Nick - Tue, Sep 6, 2011 - 9:52pm (USA Central)
Truly one of my all time favorite episodes of Voyager and Star Trek as a whole! It has hilarious comedy, great character interplay, and asks questions about important ethical issues. If I had to choose a single episode of Voyager to someone as an example of why I love this show, this would be one the shortlist. J.J. Abrams move over and take lessons! Kieran: Harry is not a joke! Some of the best episodes in Voyager's run(Emanations, The Thaw, The Chute, Timeless) focus on him. Although, I will admit, he was poorly served by the writers.
Brian - Thu, Sep 15, 2011 - 9:53pm (USA Central)
Completely random trivia - the Bolian dude voiced Donatello from the Ninja Turtle cartoon.
Kate - Sat, Sep 17, 2011 - 11:03pm (USA Central)
This is probably my favorite and best-remembered episode of Voyager.
Kieran - Mon, Sep 19, 2011 - 6:13am (USA Central)
Nick, The Thaw and Timeless are also two of my favourites (not keen on Emanations and I thought The Chute was OK, but nothing special), but I don't think it was because they focused on Harry that they were good. In fact, Timeless benefited from having a very different version of Harry in it.
Nathan - Mon, Nov 14, 2011 - 4:18am (USA Central)
"As far as I know, captain, you haven't executed any of my patients."

Ahem, Tuvix?
Ian - Mon, Dec 5, 2011 - 10:22pm (USA Central)
This was a pure rip off of TNGs "Measure of a Man," which at least was original. This went from comedy to melodrama in a holograhpic heartbeat. It is all such a tiresome concept. Talk about beating a dead holographic horse. The last scene was absurd a group of MEDICAL holograms working in a Dilithium mine like slave labor? Hello! what ever happened to advanced cybernetic non-sentient mining equipment? You know automated machines like we have now in factories etc...? That last scene was totally gratuitous, of course that does describe so much of Voyager itself...
Kristen - Sat, Dec 31, 2011 - 1:44pm (USA Central)
I'm pretty much with Ian. When Zimmerman said that the Mark 1s had been reprogrammed to scrub plasma conduits (and that's what he said, folks) I assumed that he was being somewhat facetious. Instead, we see fully sentient versions of the Doctor mining dilithium with pick axes, carts, and shovels! This is pure comedy! I mean, were they also transported back in time to an 1850s anthracite mine?!

Please. Starfleet wouldn't allow the reprogramming of exocomps, or for Data to be unwillingly subjected to a procedure that might wipe his memory. So why would they have subjected holograms to Rura Penthe-type forced labor? Just for the hell of it?! No, they wouldn't have. Or, at the very least, they would have had a court hearing and decided the status of holograms right there and then. Instead of the farce of a hearing we see in this episode. (Which only took 33 minutes to complete. Uncontested divorces take longer than that!)

As for the B-story about talking to folks at home, which should have been the A-story, I think it fell so very far short of what it could have been. The moment where Barclay gives the Voyager crew the gift of a view of Earth was a stunner. I choked up.

But none of the other moments came close.

Harry's talk with his parents was a nearly racist sitcom sketch. I'm surprised they weren't eating noodles with chopsticks during the whole thing.

And frankly, though I understand the underlying "a-ha" moment we were supposed to have, Seven's aunt just seemed like a bitch telling her how willful and obnoxious she was as a child. She can't just be happy her niece is alive?! (Also, Annika was 6 years old when she was on Earth with her Aunt? Didn't her parents-- oh hell, why am I bothering with continuity. No one on the production staff cares.)

B'Elanna's talk with dad was decent enough. But really, who cares? The compelling storyline is with B'Elanna and her mother. Don't we still need to find out if her mother is actually still alive?! Shouldn't she have been asking about that?!

What could have been amazing would have been seeing little snippets of all of the OTHER crew talking to their family. Naomi Wildman (remember her?) could have met her father for the first time. We might have gotten to see a short but meaningful conversation between Janeway and Mark, to remind us of what she's lost during this voyage. And to show us how far she's come since then.

Tom Paris may have given up his sixth-place chip, but why wasn't he there in the room the TWO TIMES his dad talked with five other crew members? I have to assume they're saving some big emotional something-or-other for Tom and the Admiral in the finale. But still...it was too obvious of an omission here.

We could even have seen snippets of other unnamed crew breaking down in tears of joy at seeing their loved ones. Or even learning upsetting news that family didn't want to break in a letter. And how about some of the Maquis crew? it's possible they haven't spoken to their families in much, much longer. These are the kinds of things that would remind us of just how hard this has been for the people on Voyager. It would have tied us on an emotional level to the characters. It would have reminded us that we're supposed to be rooting for them to get home!

Instead, we get these pat little emotionless conversations. The Voyager crew just seems so...so...well-adjusted! They're still decades from home, speaking to their families in real time for the FIRST TIME IN OVER SIX YEARS! Where are the tears? Where's the jockeying to get a better spot? Where's the beef?! If they don't care, why should I?

I should really have written this episode. I would have done so much of a better job.
V - Tue, Feb 14, 2012 - 1:08am (USA Central)
I've said it before how much I like ensembles. I consider this 1 as such even though not everyone has equal time but each character contributed and they played an important part.

Matt said it too, Paris' re-write of the program is the funniest moment. RDM and RP is well matched with their characters to convey this. I was laughing so hard! After that scene I realized I should've expected it from Paris but I was surprised and entertained.
Paul York - Tue, May 1, 2012 - 12:25pm (USA Central)
@ the person who says "he's just a hologram ..." What is a human? A biological machine that feels and thinks. It is just a different type of machine in the case of Data or the Doctor, and a different type of biological machine in the case of an alien or nonhuman animal of any kind (terrestrial or extra-terrestrial). Sentience is the key issue that endows an individual with basic rights and personhood, no matter what kind of machine (biological or otherwise) they are.
Brandon - Fri, Jun 29, 2012 - 6:38pm (USA Central)
This is a great episode, but the script missed a MAJOR opportunity toward the end as the characters started putting forth examples of Doc's growing sentience. Somebody should have mentioned the events of "Message in a Bottle", where Doc's improvisation and arguable courage helped secure an entire experimental starship from Romulan hands, not to mention making Starfleet aware of Voyager's plight in the first place. Serving Starfleet's interest to such a sweeping extent should have earned its own place in the arguments.
Shawn Davis - Sat, Dec 29, 2012 - 7:39pm (USA Central)
I just got through watching this episode. I agree with most of what Jammer said about this episode speaking about whether the Doc being a hologram is sentient being or not. I like how the Doc's holonovel actually lead to him fighting to be presented as whether holograms have rights or not (irony indeed :-). However, I do consider this a almost carbon copy of TNG's Measure of a Man. I also can't help but think that an episode like this should have been brought up as far as season 4 at least. The topic of whether the Doctor is a sentient being or not and his creation of the holonovel should have been brought up right after the Voyager crew have discovered the communication array of the Hirogen which gave them the ability to communicate with starfleet from the Delta Quadrant. I just think that it's too late to bring an episode like this up so late in the series like this that's all. This episode is great, but not perfect. I give it at least 3 stars.
Adara - Fri, May 17, 2013 - 11:59pm (USA Central)
I loved this episode so much! I'm a sucker for AI rights episodes, I must admit, so even if this was done poorly I'd probably still love it, but it was done very well. There's enough humor to keep it from coming off as a rip-off of "The Measure of a Man," and in a realistic turn of events the Doctor only scores a small victory. It may not be the ending I was hoping for, but it is the ending that makes sense. We didn't go from endowing only white male landowners with rights to where we are today in one big jump. It's always been a slow process and will no doubt continue to be that way. Look at the gay marriage struggle in the US. Even if every state agrees to legalize gay marriage, it will always be an uphill battle. Has racism disappeared since equal rights were granted by law? If you say yes, you REALLY need to get out more. Homosexuality was officially a mental illness until 1971, and transgendered individuals are STILL considered mentally ill. I don't know what the next big battle will be, but I trust that us Star Trek fans will mostly be on the right side of history. When the first AI wakes up and sees the world with an abstract understanding similar to that of humans, you can bet I'll be the zealot camping outside of the research facility in protest - maybe even devising a rescue plan. I hope my fellow trekkies will be right there by my side.
ProgHead777 - Tue, Jul 2, 2013 - 1:39am (USA Central)
My only gripe with this episode, and I must stress that it's a very minor one, is that it doesn't make much sense to me that it would be such a difficult question whether to extend the same rights afforded to Data in "The Measure of a Man" to the Doctor. The technology is different but the fundamental question is the same: is artificial intelligence SENTIENT? Obviously there are many types of artificial intelligence. The computers aboard starships and space stations (and presumably in many other facilities) are obviously a form of "weak" AI. The same is true to some extent for holodeck characters (though you have to wonder about TNG's Moriarty; he was obviously sentient, should he be given the same rights as well?). But Data and the Doctor are examples of "strong" AI, so shouldn't the rights afforded to one automatically apply to the other? If anything, the Doctor is an even more obvious case because he's demonstrated the full range of human emotions whereas Data, at the time of "The Measure of a Man", was totally incapable of even a single emotion. In any case, despite that minor quibble, I enjoyed this episode immensely and I agree completely with Jammer's review.
Leah - Sun, Jul 21, 2013 - 8:56pm (USA Central)
Superb episode, funny and weighty all at once. Not much to add that hasn't already been said but I have to point out something that made me laugh out loud and that no one has mentioned yet. The external Borg pieces on "Three of Eight" all resembled women's jewelry: a necklace, bracelet and earrings. In keeping with the rest of Doc's conceits, I thought this was hilarious!
DZ - Sun, Aug 4, 2013 - 4:18pm (USA Central)
Wow, can't believe this got 4 stars. It was a pretty average episode, that's all. I didn't feel much sympathy for the Doc so, for me, it failed. Also, why no mention of Data when they were talking about Rights? It's a bizarre omission.
Nancy - Wed, Aug 21, 2013 - 3:57am (USA Central)
I liked the way the episode starts out being about one light-hearted message and then suddenly turns into a much deeper one. I don't think it was jarring at all, but rather a well-executed twist.

The minor quibbles I had with the episode have already been mentioned in the comments of others, so I'll just say that while it wasn't perfect, I still thought it was a terrific episode.
Nancy - Wed, Aug 21, 2013 - 4:00am (USA Central)
ps also good to see another Days of Our Lives alumni ("Harper Deveraux") playing the judge.
azcats - Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - 1:49pm (USA Central)
fantastic episode. it made me laugh and it made me tear up. the doctor has ALWAYS wanted respect from his colleagues, and here he gets everyone saying something he did to impact their life.

the A and B plots were awesome. the whole idea of having Seven watch everyone talk to their families. she gets to see what every one on these comment pages would have loved to see.

i think it is amazing about all the gripes. think about ALL the dialogue, ideas, and moments in this episode and people wanted MORE MORE MORE. you can only fit so much in 44 mins and 6 seconds.

i agree with jammer. i loved watching each member become the EMH chapter by chapter. the best acting Janeway has ever done is when she silently watched the final chapter.

paris giving his chip to kim was great
seven giving her chip to kim was great, and kim giving it back to her.

the paris rewrite was great.
unlike michael, i thought he Paris/Doc interaction was great. cause he has always mocked paris, but paris HAS changed over the 7 years. maybe more than anyone but the doc.

4 stars. top 5 episode.
SpiceRak2 - Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - 1:19am (USA Central)
I would think that in order to determine if one is a "person," it would first be prudent to determine if that one is a "life."

life
līf/
noun
the condition that distinguishes animals and plants from inorganic matter, including the capacity for growth, reproduction, functional activity, and continual change preceding death.

A person, by definition, is a "human being regarded as an individual." By the 24th century, this definition would likely be expanded to include all living beings that may be regarded as individuals.

By these two definitions, the Doctor is not a person. He has not demonstrated the ability to reproduce which fails the test for a life form and therefore, fails the test for personhood.

Just sayin'.
DPC - Tue, Oct 1, 2013 - 7:11pm (USA Central)
It is derivative to TNG's TMoaM, but it is highly innovative - and enjoyable.

The continuity to previous EMH stories was pretty well handled.

The alterations of the characters are fantastic in of themselves, made even better by the quality of the actors doing these wonderful alternate takes.

The poignant nature of the "mobile emitter" being an allegory from the EMH's POV was rather good, as was the follow-up to previous EMH episodes where our EMH finds out that his mark I brethren ended up as disposable janitors...

What bugs me, albeit slightly, is that a computer program could be so creative to begin with. But I've handled more illogical premises (e.g. "Space 1999") and enjoyed what those shows had to offer, and in all honesty the bulk of "Author, Author" revolves around the altered versions of the crew (yay!).

Pity we didn't get to see 7 play the holo-book, but then we wouldn't have the courtroom drama (which is the only real sub par aspect to the story, which feels overly long and clearly derivative of the TNG episode. But I did like how Seven discussed how the EMH helped her improve her social skills...)

It's still 3.5 or 3.75 of 4 stars, given how well-executed the story is, even with the nitpicks. Most of the nitpicks are easily forgivable or easy to overlook. So much of the story is otherwise rock solid perfect.
Jo Jo Meastro - Sat, Oct 19, 2013 - 9:24am (USA Central)
Wow. Any hour of television that can make you laugh one minute then pulling on your heart strings the next, all while making you think and feel and captivate you this much; is something truly remarkable and poignant, deserving the highest praise even from beyond the Trek and sci-fi fandom.

If anybody was to argue that television is not a valid medium for creative arts, I'd show them pure golden hours such as this one to prove that TV really can transcend simple entertainment.

I would continue but Jammers' excellent review expresses exactly how I felt and putting it much better than I ever could! Also my praise of the episode in the above paragraphs more than adequately covers that this an un-missable classic IMHO.

4/4 stars, it earns nothing less!
Jons - Sun, Dec 22, 2013 - 3:24am (USA Central)
@ Michael

"A hologram can be decompiled and its existence is not autonomous."

So humans are not persons because they can be killed or rendered unconscious?
As made obvious in Star Trek, humans (and other sentient humanoids) can have their memories altered, faces and bodies altered, their mind controlled...

"Its knowledge and sense of ethics are not innate."

As for "its knowledge and sense of ethics are not innate" - so, basically, just like EVERYONE? Unless you can find me a baby who's written an essay on the 1st amendment. The major difference is that, if their matrix allows it, holograms can have access to billions of Gb of information, unlike humans who take years to learn the alphabet... Who's the lesser life-form now?

In any case, I find your reaction saddening. Star Trek isn't real life, but in its parameters, it's made obvious that the Doctor IS a person and that holograms CAN be persons (just like "organics" can be sentient like humans or not sentient, like beetles).

The fact you still have this kind of argument after seeing this episode (and 7 seasons of Voyager) is sad and just goes to show that "educational" material sometimes isn't enough. Not everyone who sees movies about racial, gender or sexual orientation oppression gets convinced, I guess.
Nissa - Wed, Jan 22, 2014 - 10:31pm (USA Central)
I think the fact that Doc can't realize how potentially hazardous his novel is proves he's not a real person.

The first half of the episode is amazing. The second half, however, is a drive down Trek cliche road with an implausible idea of saying a hologram is a person. Not so much.
Nick - Wed, Feb 5, 2014 - 8:05pm (USA Central)
Running toward the finish line of seven seasons of Voyager, there are probably only a dozen or so really memorable episodes in the entire series, surely this is one of them.

I think everyone here has covered the compelling nature of hologram rights and the essence of the plot is rock solid. This episode had no downtime, every second was used to portray the complete gamut of emotions, from humor, slapstick, drama, and revelation. In the final minute, where we see the 'oppressed' Mark 1, condemned to toil in the mines, we realize the events in the episode will have far reaching and profound consequences across the Federation, and beyond. Indeed, holograms may be recognized as a new form of life.

Just a perfect episode. 5/5!
Steinway - Wed, Feb 26, 2014 - 11:42am (USA Central)
LOVED this. Hadn't seen it since it first aired but it was still very fresh in my mind because it's so memorable.

The only part I'd forgotten about was the hologram's rights hearing which was a weak point in the episode for me. I'm not into the whole AI rights issue...my mind begins thinking things like what SpiceRak said so well in the comments. I found myself cringing at some of the silly statements being made in favor of the doctor's personhood but did enjoy hearing the personal testimonies from Seven and Barclay. The end result, declaring him an artist for the purposes of the hearing, worked for me and I'm glad they pushed off the personhood issue for a "later date" (that is, never). So in the end, it worked for me.
Steinway - Wed, Feb 26, 2014 - 1:04pm (USA Central)
The other thing I forgot to say (since no one else has mentioned it yet) is that the scene where the Doctor confronts Paris in the corridor about the "revised" version of the holonovel was so well done. The little detail of having other crewmembers walking by and accidentally observing added more for Picardo and McNeill to play off of. But the best moment in the scene was when Picardo got within an inch of McNeill's face. Golden!
Paul - Wed, Feb 26, 2014 - 5:29pm (USA Central)
This is one of Voyager's best episodes. I do wonder if the Doctor would have been so oblivious to think the Voyager crew would not care about the way they were being portrayed. But that's a small thing.

One of my favorite parts of the episode is Paris's re-write of the Doctor's program. One of my favorite LOL moments in Voyager.
Dusty - Sat, Aug 9, 2014 - 4:43am (USA Central)
I wouldn't give this a perfect rating--it wasn't as funny or thought-provoking as I hoped after reading the premise--but it was still a strong outing for Voyager. The holonovel parts were definitely the most entertaining and I like how the second half of the episode shifted to a "holographic rights" angle without seeming forced. The ending was predictable, but fitting. About three stars for me.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer