Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Voyager

"Memorial"

***

Air date: 2/2/2000
Teleplay by Robin Burger
Story by Brannon Braga
Directed by Allan Kroeker

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"Guilt can be a difficult but useful emotion." — Seven

Nutshell: Genuine Star Trek attitudes. A good premise and some interesting messages presented, though sometimes a bit too obviously.

While watching Voyager's "Memorial," it occurred to me that the message behind the episode wasn't really behind the episode. It was right up front, decidedly obvious, where there could be no chance to make a mistake about it. It's not about subtlety. When the payoff arrives, characters argue the moral lessons for the audience's benefit in search of the Greater Meaning. It's the classic Star Trek approach: The science-fiction device is a means to a lesson's end.

Now to go off on a tangent, an interesting comparison comes to mind. Law & Order, perhaps the most visible and accessible (and best) issue-oriented show on the airwaves right now, is based on an approach that is in contrast to the typical Trek approach. The characters fighting the battles on Law & Order do so strictly in terms of their jobs. The morality takes its place behind a routine pragmatism that sort of envelops the entire show in a low-key attitude.

In fact, in my opinion, the weakest episode of Law & Order this season ("Sundown," if you care) suffered in part because its characters ventured into a weirdly unnatural soapbox preaching that seemed to be coming from the writers' mouths and not the characters.

But we're used to Star Trek using its characters as mouthpieces for social commentary—even when the Greater Meaning is only thinly disguised as inter-character dialog. Trek wears its morality on its sleeve. That's part of what makes it what it is. As a result, Voyager can get away with the way-up-front nature of dialog that characterizes episodes like "Memorial."

To be sure, I liked "Memorial," mostly because of one key moment that seemed vividly powerful, but also because the episode is pretty solid throughout (though not groundbreaking).

One aspect that stands out about "Memorial" is that it's a true ensemble piece. Tuvok didn't have much in terms of crucial actions or dialog, but virtually everyone else did—and that's reassuring. As an example of utilizing the entire cast and utilizing them fairly well, this episode is probably the best attempt yet this season. The Torres/Paris relationship in particular seemed well-written, with a nice balance of affection and routine. (Another idea I liked was Paris' quarters being filled with furniture from the 1950s. We need more little character nuances like that on Voyager.)

The story's initial focus is on a Delta Flyer team consisting of Chakotay, Paris, Kim, and Neelix, who have spent the past two weeks on a scout mission cataloging planets. (This week's Harry Kim insight: Don't be near him when the creature comforts go off-line. He's a bear.) They return to Voyager and apparent business as usual, but then weird things starting happening in their minds. They begin having post-war-like flashbacks and hallucinations. Paris' reality is skewed and he somehow finds himself fighting a battle, seemingly while inside a 1950s TV set (don't ask). Kim suffers from claustrophobia and exhaustion. Neelix pulls a phaser in the galley when he believes soldiers are descending upon Naomi Wildman (don't ask). In the simplest of the examples, Chakotay has bad dreams.

All these flashbacks share the same elements, what appear to comprise a battleground with people running and screaming and phasers firing. What happened during the away mission? Were the away team's memories altered in some way? Are there stars in outer space?

The more useful questions, of course, are why and how these latent memories got into these characters' heads, why they've suddenly resurfaced, and whether the remembered events actually happened. The memories depict a violent showdown, which at first unfolds for the audience through numerous quick isolated pieces. The chaos slowly becomes more clear, until the characters' subconscious memories become fully conscious, at which point we in the audience come to realize the gravity of the situation. The violent showdown was nothing less than a massacre, where an armed military unit wiped out an unarmed civilian group following a murky misunderstanding that is wisely never made clear.

The mission was to relocate a civilian group as part of a larger military operation. But something went wrong, someone opened fire, and once people starting running, the situation took on a life of its own. Ultimately, all 82 civilians were dead at the hands of the military unit.

For the most part, Robin Burger's script and the direction under Allan Kroeker works well. The way the story uncovers pieces of the puzzle through skewed reality is effectively psychologically jarring. And there's something about the actual depiction of the massacre that strikes me as believable; it demonstrates how intentions can go very wrong, and how a volatile situation can instantaneously seem to render individual responsibility irrelevant, at a moment when it should be more relevant than anything.

The question for our Voyager crew members is whether they actually participated in this massacre as they believe they have. Memory alteration is not new in the Trek universe, so the possibility exists that none of what happened was real.

The search for the truth is what encompasses the middle stages of the episode, as Voyager retraces the Delta Flyer's mission, hoping to find the actual site of the massacre. The search is more or less routine, but competently executed. It takes a back seat to the effects these memories have on our characters, who are riddled with guilt and psychological torment. Some of the exposition on guilt works well, although some of it isn't very fresh. As the ship nears the planet in question, more members of the crew start experiencing the memories, which sets off alarms in those of us with onboard plot computers, or even in those of us without.

Really, the major revelation that explains everything going on here is not unexpected, especially given the title of the episode, which practically serves as a dead giveaway. What's interesting, though, is that even once we see where the story is going, the impact of the payoff isn't lessened. The story is about the crew making right with what they believe they've experienced, not about being a mystery for the audience to solve.

As such, I thought the moment when Janeway and Chakotay finally found the monument was very powerful. It's a moment that clicks because it knows the audience understands what's going on, and we see the moment of the crew's discovery. Visually, it's impressive because we see this 300-year-old monument standing on the location where our characters were so recently participants in (and we the audience the witnesses to) the actual event. It provides a good connection between the past and present in a weirdly visually psychologically cinematic way—it's effectively unsettling and poignant.

And yet, maybe the story doesn't understand the effectiveness of that moment as much as it initially seems to. We go to commercial break and come back, at which point we have Janeway and Chakotay studying the monument inscriptions in astrometrics, eventually cueing Janeway to say, "It's a memorial." Well, duh. (Me to Janeway: Are you and your crew a bunch of idiots, or do you just assume we in the audience are?) The old adage of "show, don't tell" should apply here, but "Memorial" seems to prefer showing and telling.

But like I said, this is Trek, where lessons are worn on the sleeve, and this final act is a decent example of that mindset. The question becomes what to do with the memorial, a device that beams memories of the dark event directly into the brains of passers-by, in the hopes that the event will be fully understood and never repeated.

Most of the characters want to deactivate it. Why be forced to relive an atrocity you weren't responsible for committing? Interestingly, Neelix vehemently argues in favor of not deactivating it, saying that doing so would be an affront to the honor of those who died. Using Neelix here is an idea that rings true and remembers him as a more dimensional character than the series often does; this is, after all, a guy who was in a war on his home planet years ago.

Janeway agrees with Neelix, and her solution displays a Trekkian conscience for a greater historical purpose, but I hesitate at the way her decision here plays. Here we have all of Janeway's officers (except Neelix) arguing against repairing the memorial, and Janeway steps in with one of her patented What Janeway Says Goes decisions. It seems a bit too arbitrary. The arguments are potentially interesting, but they seem prematurely laid to rest. And Janeway's decision doesn't entirely sit right—nor do the rest of the crew's arguments for deactivating it. Janeway comes off as the story's arbitrarily mandated supreme moral compass. (The idea of putting a warning beacon in orbit made a lot of sense, though.) The ending works to some degree, but not completely.

As far as performances go, there's an abundance of yelling in "Memorial"—maybe a bit too much. There's a fine line between acting and overacting—between moments when we believe characters are under extreme pressure and moments when we suspect actors are unleashing lines under a pay-per-decibel contract. "Memorial" walks that line numerous times in the course of the hour. There's no egregiously unconvincing overacting, but there's also that stylized sense, like when Tom screams at B'Elanna or when Harry freaks out in the conference room.

I liked this episode. It's in the tradition of classic Trek. But it also makes me wonder: Might less have been more?

Next week: SEVEN VS. THE ROCK. Winner takes all. Viewers brace for impact. Will you SURVIVE? Find out on "Voyager Smackdown!"

Trailer commentary: On a scale of 1 to 10, the "Tsunkatse" promo gets an 11 for over-the-top-ness. Oh well—it will undoubtedly be the season's highest-rated show.

Previous episode: Virtuoso
Next episode: Tsunkatse

Season Index

56 comments on this review

Rob in Michigan - Sun, Oct 26, 2008 - 7:47pm (USA Central)
I love this episode because there are so few of Voyager that really have an emotional core. So much of it is the action-oriented/technobabble FX show that when we have one where a character (or in this case, everyone) is shown to emotionally vulnerable, it's a treat as a viewer. In addition, I like what they did with Neelix on this one, reminding us that Ethan Phillips can, in fact, act in an emotionally affecting way (like when he described his family's death to Janeway way, way back and when he was brought back from the dead). I wish they'd done far less of the "feel-good clown" thing with him throughout the series.
Daniel - Sun, Nov 2, 2008 - 8:57pm (USA Central)
It was hard for a show like Voyager, with its no-arc, episodes-existing-in-isolation-from-one another structure, to create scenes of genuine emotional resonance through dramatic charge coming from the characters arguing, but this episode did it: Neelix' speech beginning with "someone went through a great deal of time to build this memorial....," showed a passion that reminded me of what Trek is all about: the line between past and present, the line between human and not human, and the desire to somehow ensure that the significance of an existence does not end with physical death. (See also "The Inner Light," Voyager's "Remember.").

Janeway's solution might seem like splitting the baby (as well as pointless - how many people would truly choose to ignore the warning buoy she sets up?), but the arguments that lead her to the solution she reaches are compelling, thoughtful, and address one of the concepts of humanity Star Trek addresses best: memory. For as someone once said, "Our memories are all we have. For, when they are gone, we are gone."
Damien - Sat, Mar 28, 2009 - 9:24am (USA Central)
I found this episode to be rather poor. The flashbacks became boring when it became clear that they were implanted false memories, which was pretty early on. Thereafter, the story held little interest and the end was ludicrous. As I see it, the transmitter is nothing more than a terrorist device which implants horrific and permanent imagery into the minds of unsuspecting passers by. How is that a noble gesture and why is it worth preserving?

Do you seriously think any passing alien race is going to be thankful for possibly years of nightmares and stress as a result of this 'memorial'? And why does some violent episode need to be remembered for all time anyway? Do you remember or care about some brutal battle that happened in the 1700s? I didn't think so.

The saying that those that don't learn from history are doomed to repeat it, is patently false. People don't learn from history, especially distant history, because they always think that today things are different, the circumstances are different, and so history doesn't apply, or they think they can get away with it anyway.

At least Janeway put up a warning device before restoring power to the memorial, but if that fails, then we're back to square one, with another 300 years of broadcasting horror. One star.
Banjo - Wed, Nov 18, 2009 - 8:28pm (USA Central)
You know, off-hand I can't think of a fictional character - certainly not in sci-fi - that I HATE more than Janeway (and that's even including characters written specifically TO be hated!). I don't just dislike Janeway, everything about her I find distasteful and/or annoying.

In this episode, as soon as she became involved (notably as the person who stood against the massacre... Mary Sue Janeway again!) I KNEW she would want to keep forcing other spacegoers to relive the trauma of the massacre... and what Janeway wants - torture of prisoners included - Janeway gets!

While I get the point that "nobody should forget", the monument here is hardly fair on those who stumble across it... you don't even just witness the massacre, you TAKE PART IN IT! Essentially, anyone affected is mentall violated - "raped" - in a way OTHER trek episodes will revile.

Chakotay once again is right on the money here, but Janeway overrules him as usual... why there was never a real mutiny on Voyager, I don't know! She has no business captaining a starship.

Frankly, I'd rather go on a mission with Nelix than Janeway... at least the Talaxian, for all his annoying stupidity, has his heart in the right place (most of the time!). Not so Janeway, IMO.

Hey, too bad Sudor wasn't around still to experience the massacre... he might had had a great time! :D
Ken Egervari - Sun, Dec 13, 2009 - 6:15am (USA Central)
Didn't like this episode. Outside of the scenes with Tom and B'Elanna, can't say the episode was all that good. The scenes did not have much emotional resonance for me. It just seemed dry, obvious and boring. Even the end didn't give me a happy feeling, which is what the direction was going for. It's passable - far from terrible. But 3 stars? Nah.
Michael - Fri, Jul 9, 2010 - 7:36am (USA Central)
"Another idea I liked was Paris' quarters being filled with furniture from the 1950s. We need more little character nuances like that[.]"

You're kidding, right? Such gimmicks are totally unrealistic and pathetic. It's like N.A.S.A. engineers regularly sitting through five-hour performances of King Lear at the Globe Theater in 16th-century London! If I had to choose THE one part of this episode that really grated on me, this T.V. nonsense would be it.

This whole 20th-century tripe has to stop. They all seem to know how technology worked back then (how many of us would be able to shoe a horse, for instance, or adjust a saddle?), they all reel off full names and dates of even trivial events right off the tip of their tongues, several of them (Paris and "Can't-Get-A-Lock" Kim, to name two) are "obsessed" with the 20th century. What baloney. It's used only because anything earlier would be even more stupid and for anything later the writers would need to switch on their brain and actually come up with Earth as it might be in, say, the 22nd century, which is too much work. So yeah, let's use some props from the 1950s. ARGH!!!

Anyway, this episode: Too much hysteria, too many hallucinations. There seems to be a hypospray or cortical stimulator or whatever for just about anything; couldn't they have sedated the crew they did toward the end sooner? Paris screaming at Torres, for instance, is really unpleasant and unnecessary.

The idea of the show though is really interesting: An away-team being abducted, conscripted, used to fight a battle and then sent bback with their memories wiped. And then "memories" start surfacing among other crew membersl; an unexpected twist - NOW we got a show! I genuinely had no idea what the explanation was and looked forward to getting it. When we got it, I thought it was very good.

But then Neelix started agitating to preserve the memorial and Janeway made anothe imbecilic decision. I certainly think we should remember history, especially its less wholesome episodes, but to force someone to unwittingly relive it is excessive, to put it mildly.

I thank the almighty whatever that the show is about the entire crew; if it was all happening to just one person, it would be unwatchably boring.
Michael - Fri, Jul 9, 2010 - 7:51am (USA Central)
Rob in Michigan: "So much of [Voyager] is the action- oriented/technobabble FX show[.]"

Um, isn't that what you WANT from a science fiction show?! To show a character "emotionally vulnerable," as you put it, does that character really need to be part of a show about a starship in the Delta quadrant four centuries hence?? Can't you tune into the Gilmore Girls for that?

Danien and Banjo: BULLSEYE!
Rob in Michigan - Fri, Jul 9, 2010 - 10:56pm (USA Central)
Michael:

Um, isn't that what you WANT from a science fiction show?!

No. What I want is characters that are human, not props to the technobabble of the week. I happen to like the space battles and the Borg and all of that, but I also like it when things *impact* the characters.

As for the Gilmore Girls crack - I didn't say I wanted a soap opera, I just said I liked it when we got a break from the constant phaser fights and saw some emotional resonance.
Michael - Sat, Jul 10, 2010 - 4:30am (USA Central)
Hi Rob:

Please don't take it personally; I really didn't mean to come across as antagonistic.

I wouldn't want endless battles and lasers and phasers and geysers either, but I do want it to be "science" first and "fiction" a distant second, delivered to the audience thru dynamism, action, unexpected twists, intrighuing plots, etc.

What REALLY bunches my shorts are ten minutes of static dialog between two characters in which they go on some personal journeys (such as Acoushla Moya and his buffalo spirits or whatever or Torres in that Barge *barf*) or talk about their feelings and shit.

Take The Doc: I found him funny and refreshing in Season 1, what with his abrasive personality and caustic rejoinders. But they decided to make him more human. And so we had several episodes with him diddling some holographic broad or "finding" himself. What the diddly, yo!? If they would've let him stay the way he was first introduced, he - with his deadpan sarcasm and non-nonsense approach - would be the perfect foil for the touchy-feely, pacific Janeway, especially in her more dumbass moments, such as in this very episode.

Now the only one we can rely on for any kind of dissent that is more than pro forma padding is Seven and they've been chipping away at her, too, and it's only a matter of time before she joins the "Dr. Phil collective."

Anyway, went off on a tangent there. My point: More action, less talk. Let's agree to disagree :)
Rob in Michigan - Sun, Jul 11, 2010 - 12:45am (USA Central)
"... delivered to the audience thru dynamism, action, unexpected twists, intriguing plots, etc."


And your watching Voyager?!


(Okay, that was snarky - but the premise had such promise before the instantly replaceable shuttlecraft and the seeming ability to never run out of "critically low" supplies.... It was just such a disappointment overall.)

And I actually agree with you - I loved the action scenes as well - I just wish that everyone remembered things from one episode to the next so that things had a lasting impact, rather than being episode-specific. And, I LOVED Season One Doc - before they went and decided he just had to "grow". I guess I loved the emotional scenes in this episode because it really was rare (especially for Neelix) for anyone to evince some sort of psychological effect of what the crew was going through (which you'd think would be more of an ongoing undercurrent - considering that they're trapped 70,000 light years from home and don't have a Councilor on board).
Michael - Mon, Jul 12, 2010 - 1:51pm (USA Central)
You're totally right about the undercurrent, Rob. There is none. The episodes are basically discrete. I mean, the amount of pummelling Voyager took should have left it in such poor shape that they'd have to get out and push it way back in Season 2, but no, they're still rocking at Warp 9 and the hull is as shiny as they day it came out of the shipyard or whachamacallit six years down the line. I came to terms with that early on, which is why I find these bonding and emotional/emotive scenes fake and a waste of time. You know what? I think I just turned really cynical!
Procyon - Wed, Sep 29, 2010 - 6:33pm (USA Central)
I really disliked this episode. Firstly, you can see what's coming a mile away, and it really isn't that interesting. Secondly, I hate the way this episode (like the previous one) seems artificial and contrived for the sole purpose of driving home it's emotional content and/or moral point (I have never watched TOS, and if this is what it's like I never will).
Lastly the moral point is not that great. The Voyager crew have been mentally violated, so the killers can now add that to their dubious record.

Also, why isn't the captain relieved by the second in command (Tuvok I suppose, as Chakotay is similarly indisposed), when her judgment is obviously compromised by PTSD?
Cloudane - Thu, Mar 24, 2011 - 8:09pm (USA Central)
Oh Michael. You aren't interested in any form of characterisation.. we get it. No need to complain about any slight hint of it it in every single comment you make :P
I'm sure you'd be most happy if it was all about an autonomous ship spewing lasers and technobabble, but many of us appreciated that Star Trek ships were manned by living, breathing, FEELING biological entities!

So anyway. Fascinating episode. I get the feeling we've done this before (wasn't there a remarkably similar Chakotay episode??) but whatever.. it was done well. Again. I'm getting quite impressed with this season of Voyager.

Yes it was predictable, highly so, but it didn't seem to detract from the experience for me. It makes a VERY good debate towards the end of whether one should deactivate this or honour it. I'm with Neelix and Janeway all the way - if only we could do something similar here and now, maybe there'd be fewer of such atrocities back in the real world. I was quite shocked really at Chakotay having the opposite opinion, I thought that was out of character, ex Maquis or not, but fair enough I guess.

Yes it's wrong to be kind of "mind raped" in that way, and deploying a warning buoy was a good call. It's something that should be encouraged but NOT forced. Still, deactivating it completely would've been a dishonour.

It did very well - it kind of left me a bit thoughtful about the subject matter too, never mind the characters having it beamed into them. I know some find moralisation annoying, but as long as it's not every episode I'm all for it now and again.

If anything it was a little TOO intense, but isn't that the point...
Nick - Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 9:44am (USA Central)
I've come to believe that some Star Trek fans have acute cases of a particularly degenerative disease: continuity fetish. Once infected with this disease, its victims can only appreciate television episodes that constantly refer back to other episodes which have come before. By this measure, all of the Orignal Series, most of TNG and Voyager are worthles.
Cloudane - Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 11:49am (USA Central)
Heh, I have that. Think it came from watching DS9 and seeing all the wonderful things that can be done with continuing threads. DS9 was an evolution in Trek storytelling IMHO, with Voyager being a regression.

I wouldn't say it makes it worthless and it was not really noticeable in TOS or TNG, although it did have frustrating moments like the wonderful "Inner Light" not having lasting effects beyond one mention in one episode. It's frustrating because it's unrealistic.

It's just that Voyager had a tendency (after ~S3 when they became outwardly proud of the reset button) to rub the reset button in your face a bit. Even TNG followed quite a few things up, but Voyager does things that blatantly should be but drops them. Because this happens so frequently, we end up griping about it a lot in reviews and comments
Nick - Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 2:38pm (USA Central)
Yeah, I know what you're saying about the reset button. DS9 is probably my favorite Trek of all but I think it's decision to tell arc based stories stemmed from its stationary setting. In this sense, it is atypical in terms of Star Trek as a whole. I've come to really appreciate Voyager's high concept, episodic format, particarly it light touch and the sense of family among the crew.
Iceblink - Sun, Aug 28, 2011 - 4:37am (USA Central)
Hmm. I liked this episode better the first time around, when it was called “Remember”.

“Memorial” is entertaining and well-paced with some good directing and a great score by David Bell, but it’s way too derivative and obvious. I’d guessed what was happened long before the ‘big reveal’ and this was like a needle in a balloon in terms of shattering whatever emotional resonance and intrigue was there. For me, “Remember” was a far more effective episode. I’m surprised no one else has drawn the parallel because the story is basically the same.

I had a hard time with Janeway’s decision at the end to not only keep the memorial operational but to patch it up. Why exactly? Does creating and perpetuating suffering somehow change what originally happened? How does that advance the cause of peace in any way? Have to disagree with Jammer’s assertion that this episode was filled with “genuine Star Trek attitudes”. I found the moral stance a little off-balance. Again, Janeway makes a highly dubious decision and completely shoots down the rest of her crew. The bitch had a real attitude problem.
Kristen - Thu, Sep 29, 2011 - 6:36pm (USA Central)
I'm amazed at the number of people saying they didn't like this episode!

Then again, I tend to only bother to post comments on Jammer's review when I hate an episode. The need to vent is stronger than the need to share warm happy feelings. So maybe I should assume that happens for other folks, too.

I adore this episode. I find it moving in the kind of way that I not just WANT Trek to be, but that I EXPECT Trek to be. Episodes that fall short of this level of philosophical debate-generating are unsatisfying to me. (Unless Q is in them, in which case they're perfectly awesome.)

But then, maybe I should be happy that people are saying they didn't like it. Because most folks are saying that they thought it was stupid/bad/wrong for the memorial to be left intact. And that discussion is really what the episode is all about for me.

Yes, it's horrible. It's horrible that the crew underwent this experience. It's horrible that they have to live with these memories. With the guilt. With the confusion and fear and repercussions.

But how else does one avoid repeating the mistake? Do you learn not to touch a hot stove because someone told you it was hot? Or because you read a compelling story about how hot it was? Or do you learn when you put your own darn hand on that stove?

Is it necessary to learn this lesson about these settlers being killed? Is this the only way to learn it? Is this the best way? These are great questions! Voyager is asking them! And we can keep thinking about that, and having strong emotional responses, 11 years after the episode aired. And that's great sci-fi.
Nathan - Fri, Nov 11, 2011 - 8:36pm (USA Central)
Naomi Wildman has to build a quadrilateral? WTF?
Nathan - Fri, Nov 11, 2011 - 8:42pm (USA Central)
"It's like N.A.S.A. engineers regularly sitting through five-hour performances of King Lear at the Globe Theater in 16th-century London! If I had to choose THE one part of this episode that really grated on me, this T.V. nonsense would be it.

This whole 20th-century tripe has to stop. They all seem to know how technology worked back then (how many of us would be able to shoe a horse, for instance, or adjust a saddle?), they all reel off full names and dates of even trivial events right off the tip of their tongues, several of them (Paris and "Can't-Get-A-Lock" Kim, to name two) are "obsessed" with the 20th century."

It's not much different from the whole SCA/Renfaire/etc. culture.
V - Wed, Feb 8, 2012 - 1:12am (USA Central)
I would like to add to what Nathan said. There's a reason why some sci-fi viewers are also into fantasy, killing-dragons type genre.

Plus, honestly, as an engineer, the ancient tools used in the old days for navigation or for building ziggurats fascinate me as much as bio absorbable screws and artificial hearts. To me those characters are relatable and realistic which makes me care more about them and be immersed and entertained by that world.

Maybe Michael being a lawyer and therefore having the need for order as his job, he wants chaos for his entertainment. All I'm saying is to each his own. Get it?
Captain Jim - Tue, Apr 17, 2012 - 10:28pm (USA Central)
There were parts of this episode that reminded me of TOS, especially when the monument was revealed, with its ongoing effect upon travelers and its long-dead arcetects.

The story was enjoyable enough, though I totally disagree with Janeway's decision at the end. I agree with what (I think it was) Chokatay said: the monument itself would have been adequate. (The mind-rape isn't necessary.) It was also a bit perturbing to see Janeway to go against the better judgement of pretty much her entire senior staff in this matter, as though her moral compass was superior to everyone else's.
Jelendra - Wed, May 30, 2012 - 3:53am (USA Central)
I liked this one. Im a little disturbed by some of the reactions above...if you dont like the show why do some of you keep watching it ? Especially after its been off the air for so long...it isnt going to get better. Wouldnt it be better to bash the show a few times and then go watch something you actually like ? I thought everyone was good in this. Loved the 50's furniture in Tom's room and Neelix finally getting a few lines...
Justin - Wed, Jun 6, 2012 - 10:21pm (USA Central)
@Cloudbane, you're spot-on about Chakotay's reaction being out of character. After all he's been through with the Maquis and his experiences in "Nemesis," he should want to preserve the monument the most. I'm really beginning to understand Robert Beltran's complete frustration at the mishandling of his character.

@Nick, I'm all for episodic television. In fact most of my favorite episodes of Trek are the single, self-contained hours of great storytelling like "Measure of a Man," "The Visitor," "Drone," "Inner Light," "Children of Time," "Living Witness" - the list is huge.

BUT -

The reason I take issue with VOY's lack of overarching storytelling is because the show was specifically set up to have a major arc and it was more or less disregarded. How often do we hear the word "Maquis" after the first season?
Cloudane - Wed, Jun 27, 2012 - 10:59am (USA Central)
I have to agree with Justin's last comment and expand upon it: Voyager actually had one major arc - getting home. Aside from the first and last episode, the odd time when they're thrust forward x thousand light years and establishing contact with Starfleet late on, this isn't even touched upon.

Continuity was less of a problem on TOS and TNG as they were 100% about exploration, not running a space station or getting home.
Cloudane - Wed, Jun 27, 2012 - 11:20am (USA Central)
(Lack of edit button!)

Sorry I didn't word that too well. Obviously Voyager "touched upon" its premise quite frequently. I just mean not quite as deeply as it could - it could have been very much a continuity based series, with more emphasis on passing through various areas on the journey (more than just Borg Space), more ongoing issues relating to their situation etc.

I think what frustrated me was that it had this grand premise of being lost at the other side of the galaxy, but in the main was treated as just another (weaker) TNG.

The TNG style is fine, and I'd probably re-watch the series just thinking of it as like that. Just with DS9 at the same time and them coming along with this exciting series premise that could've also set itself apart from the old episodic format for something deeper and more continual, I had expectations that were let down.
Destructor - Mon, Jul 2, 2012 - 1:06am (USA Central)
Snorefest. Zzzzz
Cail Corishev - Fri, Sep 28, 2012 - 9:12pm (USA Central)
Neelix needed a punch in the face at the end. My take was that he couldn't give up wallowing in emotions -- even someone else's emotions. You can teach people about an atrocity without raping their minds and leaving them with PTSD or suicidal tendencies. You could even let them live through it, but followed by the realization that it wasn't real. They'd still learn whatever walking in those shoes was supposed to hit them over the head with, but wouldn't be damaged or sent off on some quixotic mission to right their wrongs.

Kind of a cop-out at the end, putting a buoy in place. It reminded me of a couple earlier episodes when we saw that other cultures see Voyager as a sort of drive-by catastrophe -- they zoom into the neighborhood, turn everything upside down, and zoom off. Here, they leave a buoy that more-or-less walls off the memorial -- but then they're gone, so someone could take the buoy down the next day and have it right back up.
CeeBee - Tue, Dec 11, 2012 - 9:44am (USA Central)
This is a creepy episode. In "time and again" IIRC Janeway shouts at Paris that he shouldn't warn these people that they're on the brink of annihilation, due to the racist star trek prime directive. Don't contaminate, even if that means they will all DIE. And now she thinks it's great to mind-rape every civilization passing by by because PTSD for something you never did is great. Who knows what propaganda this whole monument is. How does Janeway know this is the truth? She is written as a total schizo and lunatic.
Take it easy - Thu, Jan 3, 2013 - 2:09am (USA Central)
Kristen: "But how else does one avoid repeating the mistake? Do you learn not to touch a hot stove because someone told you it was hot? Or because you read a compelling story about how hot it was? Or do you learn when you put your own darn hand on that stove?"

How did you learn not to murder somebody? By murdering somebody and feeling it is bad?

Are you saying before this all of Voyager's crew was murdering innocent people in cold blood and they need this experience to not do that?

Actually it is more logical for people to get the memories of the victims to stay away from that crime (like feeling the heat of a stove rather than putting a hot plate on somebody else). If cold blooded murderers got this memory they might relish that and do more.


Bonkers - Sat, Mar 30, 2013 - 8:13am (USA Central)
What about the fence? What am I talking about? In one of the first shots of the memorial with Janeway in the foreground there is a wooden fence in the background. Who has been maintaining it for the last 300 years. Scans for life signs were as I recall negative so whos been looking after it? Has an alien race from a nearby star system being making regular visits to see that it is properly maintained. If so I commend them for there dedication. After all whats faster than light intersteller space travel for.
NCC-1701-Z - Tue, May 21, 2013 - 12:35am (USA Central)
Good episode. It felt like a callback to TOS-style morality plays when Gene was trying to get his messages past the censors (my favorite example being the classic "Day of the Dove").

Janeway didn't really carry much charisma at the end though - as pointed out in this review her final judgement felt kind of arbitrary. I also question the away team's cavalier approach toward getting a medical check upon returning - they obviously have not seen enough Trek episodes ("The Naked Time", for instance ;) ) And does Paris have any interests at all outside of old Earth stuff? Is the 24th century really that dry?

But this is still a good episode. 3, I might even go as far as a 3.5.
Mahmoud - Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - 12:35pm (USA Central)
Too much yelling, too much overacting. Lack of subtlety and how long it takes for the crew to get what's going on really killed this episode.
ProgHead777 - Tue, Jun 25, 2013 - 4:54am (USA Central)
This episode started out mediocre at best but then plummets right down into absurdity at the end. I find Janeway's unilateral decision to not only let the monument continue to broadcast its extremely dangerous signal into the brains of unwitting passersby, but to actually REPAIR IT and ensure its continued functioning long into the future (?!!!) to be one of the most irresponsible, probably downright CRIMINAL, things that she did throughout the course of the entire series... and believe me, that's saying something!

(To be fair, it was also as incongruous for her character as the Doctor's actions in the preceding episode, "Virtuoso". SO, crappy writing, for the most part.)

Anyway, doesn't the nature of this device strike anyone else as reckless and immoral? It would be bad enough if the only effect was causing PTSD in people who did nothing to incur such an injury, but this is actually FAR, FAR worse. Just as one example, look at Neelix's behavior in the mess hall, blindly firing a phaser at his own crewmates because he thought they were hostiles. He could have easily killed someone... hell, if his meltdown had occurred in just the wrong place (like engineering) he could have killed every man, woman and child on the ship!

Didn't that incident alone demonstrate that the effects of this device are extremely DANGEROUS and could (in fact, given enough time and VICTIMS, almost certainly eventually WOULD) lead to the deaths of perfectly INNOCENT beings? It wouldn't be worth it even if the risk of such events were small, but that risk ISN'T small; IT'S PART OF WHAT THE FREAKIN' THING IS DESIGNED TO DO!

And don't try to sell me any crap about Janeway's stupid warning beacon. Please. For all Janeway knew, that beacon malfunctioned or was destroyed by some random natural event less than a week after Voyager departed. Or maybe passing aliens wouldn't even understand the message it was broadcasting ("Darmok", anyone?). Thus leaving the "Memorial" (read: psychological torture device/weapon) to wreak havoc on the minds of any sentient beings passing through the neighborhood. Easily one of Janeway's WORST calls. Zero stars.
azcats - Wed, Aug 14, 2013 - 2:09pm (USA Central)
@nick

he is totally right. the continuity fetish is old. yes, voyager doesnt ahve multiple arcs. but no ST besides DS9 does.

interesting episode. i liked the idea of the living memorial. reminds me of the wright memorial in NC.

like michael, i tend to like the scifi part of ST. i like technobabble and time traveling.

2.5 stars
Daniel - Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - 3:08am (USA Central)
"And does Paris have any interests at all outside of old Earth stuff? Is the 24th century really that dry?"

That's one of my favorite parts of Voyager - people have arbitrarily specific historical interests all the time - it was bound to happen eventually that we'd have a character whose interest was our current time frame. At least he's consistent.
Adam - Tue, Dec 10, 2013 - 5:36am (USA Central)
I enjoyed this one a lot. Felt almost like a TOS episode. It wasn't subtle, but the story was quite effective in this one. I took it as an allegory for soldiers covering up appalling war crimes. Good performances from most of the cast. Garrett Wang overacts a bit, though.

I agree with this review. It's a very good episode.
Cloudane - Tue, Jan 21, 2014 - 4:54am (USA Central)
Quite fitting, that this is one of if not the episode of Voyager I always remember the most clearly. Whenever I think of Voyager I think of this episode (and the warp 10 one, unfortunately)
Nic - Sun, Feb 2, 2014 - 11:00am (USA Central)
I think this is one of the best efforts of the season. Very dark, but still true to Trek’s ideals and a very effective use of all the characters. I particularly liked the Seven/Neelix scene about guilt.

You claim the characters are doing the preaching for our benefit, but I felt all the dialogue and reactions during the last act were true to the characters (though having Tuvok not suffer any symptoms and preach logic was a little obvious — it would have been nice to see him relive the memories of someone who did have feelings.) The only scene that didn’t work for me was the one where Tom yells at B’Elanna. I understand the sentiment but he went a little overboard.

3.5 stars for me.

@Damien: Obviously the story’s message did not work on you. We probably don’t remember about the brutal battles and wars of the 1700s, but we SHOULD. If we did, we could have avoided all the conflicts that are going on today. « We learn from history that we do not learn from history ». You may be right that people thing that today is different. But those people are wrong. Technology advances, but human nature pretty much stays the same. That is the lesson of this episode.

@Iceblink: I agree « Remember » was superior (I’d give it 4 stars) but the main difference here is that the massacre was an accident.
Nathan - Sun, Mar 30, 2014 - 2:49pm (USA Central)
I never really had a chance to watch Star Trek Voyager until recently, in this episode is just another episode that revisits what every other scifi show does: mind rape. What made Star Trek what it is, Voyager via Janeway turns it upside down by what is allowed to continue.
For a ship with limited everything, amazing how often the reset, regen, replicate button is used. Mind rape, PTSD, most of the senior staff affected. Let it continue? This is coming from a Federation Captain and the Vulcan officer who is here best friend has no objections? What happened to the writers? The more
Nathan - Sun, Mar 30, 2014 - 3:10pm (USA Central)
The more I watch of Voyager reminds me of what Kirk said about the Klingons in STVI: Let them die. I love Trek, but watching Voyager makes me wonder if I am watching anything having to do with Star Trek.. In this episode the message is clearly about justifying mind rape. It is as though the writers are on a soapbox.
Ric - Thu, May 15, 2014 - 9:11pm (USA Central)
Good ideas, powerful moments, but overall uninspired execution. I completely agree with Jammer that there was too much yelling and some dose of overacting. I also didn't like the dark lighting shooting across the episode, which looked a bit childish in what regards trying to create atmosphere. The overall production, acting and script looked as forcing everything too much.

Sure, it was not a bad episode at all. But trying too much to be memorably powerful and even dark, it became immature and, sometimes, annoying.

PS: some people comparing this to TOS is something that chocked me a bit.
Ric - Sat, May 17, 2014 - 10:10pm (USA Central)
@Nathan If that's what you think of Voyager, i.e. that it disrupts Trek morality (a very uncommon criticism to this show), I am wondering what did/will you think of DS9 (where this problem is evident, although the show was mostly good at the beginning).
Robert - Tue, May 20, 2014 - 11:26am (USA Central)
@Ric - I actually usually found late season Janeway's moral decisions to be abhorrent and the show typically painted her as "right". If you listed the top 10 worst things Janeway did I don't think any of the DS9 characters could crack that list.
Robert - Tue, May 20, 2014 - 12:54pm (USA Central)
Although I will say that in this case, I didn't particularly mind the final solution. I always felt that Janeways decision to repair it means that future people encountering it will not be "confused" the way our characters were, her decision to put a warning beacon means that there is no mind "rape" factor (because anyone ignoring the beacon will not be experiencing the memorial unwillingly, and her decision to not destroy/deactivate it was a respectful decision with regards to the Memorial.

What happened to the crew who experienced this was awful, but 2 wrongs don't make a right. In this case I will give a VERY rare (for S6 anyways) "I agree with Janeway".
Elliott - Tue, May 20, 2014 - 3:12pm (USA Central)
@Robert :

I think the key here is Nic's use of the term "Trek morality"--that is not to say common (current) moral standards or certainly what ever particular moral choices you or I or he might make. Every Trek (including DS9 on occasion) displays instances of this speculative morality which quite often conflict with our current non-idealistic models (think TNG's "I Borg" or ENT's "Dear Doctor").

In this respect, Nic's assessment of DS9 is accurate. It's characters usually exhibited moralistic behaviour that gels with our contemporary feeling, but not with the speculative morality which had been firmly established by the time DS9 began its run.
Patrick D - Tue, May 20, 2014 - 5:05pm (USA Central)
@Robert

DS9 characters don't crack the list of "abhorrent behavior"?

Sisko poisoned a planet in order to satisfy a vendetta ("For the Uniform"). Not to mention all the shenanigans from "In the Pale Moonlight".

An Odo from an alternate timeline condemned a population into non-existence in the name of love for Kira ("Children of Time"). And then Odo pals around the with Female Shapeshifter in the middle of the war and neglects to follow through with Kira's plan.

Worf breaks Weyoun's neck for making a lewd comment.

Kira tries to murder her mother. ("Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night")

Quark sells weapons to warring factions ("Business as Usual")

Jadzia Dax goes on a quest for blood vengeance ("Blood Oath")

And this is just the stuff of the top of my head. The heinous things Janeway's done was due to bad writing. The stuff mentioned regarding DS9 was the ultra-jaded ethos of Deep Space Nine. ("Let's keep things edgy and have our heroes do sociopathic things!")
Robert - Wed, May 21, 2014 - 2:01pm (USA Central)
@Elliott - I do agree with you in part. DS9 was not a shining example of Rodenberry morality. But I think that has more to do with the universe and less to do with the characters. Gene's "Trek Morality" would never have allowed things like Section 31, the Maquis, In The Pale Moonlight, Garak, etc. But on the whole I think "our characters" still mostly stand for that speculative morality across all the shows, even if DS9 is probably the least obsessed with it.

@Patrick - "DS9 characters don't crack the list of "abhorrent behavior"?"

I never said DS9's characters weren't guilty of ANY abhorrent behavior. I said Janeway's top 10 would beat all the things you listed. I still (mostly) stand by that. And unless you call the entire show bad writing... that's a cop out answer.

I do kind of have to give you the "Children of Time" example. If you believe Voyager was a ship of goodness it's not QUITE on par with Admiral Janeway wiping out 20 years of Voyager's history in the Delta Quadrant to save Seven, Chakotay and Tuvok... but the "Children of Time" thing would crack Janeway's top 10 list. I can't argue that.

As to the other examples...

Sisko poisoned a planet in order to satisfy a vendetta ("For the Uniform"). - Actually it was closer to poetic justice. The closing of the episode makes it clear the Cardassians and the Maquis switched planets. It was hardly a "nice" thing to do, but the episode paints it as grey.

Odo pals around the with Female Shapeshifter in the middle of the war and neglects to follow through with Kira's plan. - This is a pretty bad crime, I don't know that it'd make Janeway's top 10 list, but it's pretty horrible. Odo is clearly the greyest character on DS9.

Worf breaks Weyoun's neck for making a lewd comment. - A Klingon killed an enemy combatant while imprisoned for coming a bit too close. Yawn, that wouldn't even break the top 100 in Star Trek's questionable moments.

Kira tries to murder her mother. ("Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night") - This is pretty bad. I've never been a fan of this episode, I'm not sure what it was trying to do or if Kira could actually have killed her mother. By her own faith the prophets wouldn't have allowed her to do it if they weren't totally cool with it, but saying that is a bit of a cop out. So I'm undecided here.

Quark sells weapons to warring factions ("Business as Usual") - This was painted by the episode as a way to get 2 despots out of business. I actually thought this was one of Quark's higher moments morally speaking...

Jadzia Dax goes on a quest for blood vengeance ("Blood Oath") - Again, Klingon morality. This certainly is abhorrent by human standards, but I don't think it would earn a place on Janeway's top 10.
Robert - Wed, May 21, 2014 - 2:59pm (USA Central)
Ok, now I'll do Janeway.

Tuvix - If the Doctor won't perform a procedure because it's ethically wrong, the Captain probably shouldn't be doing it unless a whole heck of a lot depends on it. Tuvok was not irreplaceable (Tuvix was just as good a security chief or better) and LOL @ Neelix.

Threshold - She abandoned her and Tom's kid on some random planet :-(

The Swarm - Janeway violates another race's territory in a hostile way to save 15 months. Way to make First Contact!
TUVOK: Would it affect your decision if I pointed out that encroaching on the territory of an alien species is prohibited by starfleet regulations?
JANEWAY: No, it wouldn't.
TUVOK: Captain, you have managed to surprise me.
JANEWAY: We're a long way from starfleet, Lieutenant. I'm not about to waste 15 months because we've run into a bunch of bullies.

Scorpion - Taking the Borg's side in a war because she wanted a shortcut. I hope that prime directive thing feels really soft whilst she wipes her ass with it.

Killing Game - The woman that would have let Voyager be destroyed instead of giving the Kazon technology to replicate WATER gave the Hirogen Federation holodeck technology ::slow clap::

Equinox - Janeway tortures a Federation citizen and relieves her XO of duty for calling her on her BS.

Spirit Folk - Janeway risks two of her crew member's lives to save her holo-vibrator...

Endgame - Wiping out 20 years of good Voyager did in the Delta quadrant because her best buds didn't make it home. Granted, this is an "alternate Janeway", but you used an "alternate Odo"... so it's fair game. And one more week and she could have saved Joe Carey... but he wasn't one of her best buds!

I'll only list 8 because I'm starting to think your 2 Odo examples probably belong on this top 10 horrible actions list. And these are only things that are morally abhorrent. A list of her questionable command decisions would be a LOT longer. I've considered putting Kira's attempted murder of her mom on the list, but if you found out your mom was screwing Hitler you might be able to argue temporary insanity. AND she stopped herself.

And as for Trekkian morality... let's just remember that nothing DS9 has EVER done could possibly make Gene turn harder in his grave than this comment from Janeway.

JANEWAY: I think about our ancestors. Thousands of years wondering if they were alone in the universe, finally discovering they weren't. You can't blame them for wanting to reach out, see how many other species were out there asking the same questions.
CHAKOTAY: The urge to explore is pretty powerful.
JANEWAY: But it can't justify the loss of lives, whether it's millions or just one.
Ric - Fri, May 23, 2014 - 1:06am (USA Central)
@Robert, Elliot and Patrick D:

Anything Section 31 did in DS9 is pretty much worse that every single mention of Janeway's "crimes". Federation and Starfleet accepting genocide against the Founders should be seen as top 1 in my list for sure. If they actually had to genocide them or not due to other developments is an entirely unimportant matter for judging their morality in DS9. The examples are numerous. Not to mention that certainly there is a minor Sisko craziness for each Janeway misconduct.

However, don't get me wrong. While Robert's examples of Janeway were mostly not nearly as bad as the DS9 mentioned before, by me or by others, I do agree that Janeway frequently behave along wrong lines. I myself have criticized it in a lot of episodes. I got really mad at her completely insane and unquestioned command decisions as well. And I think they were sometimes lazy writing, but many other times they were in fact bad moral choices.

Still, as Elliot has pointed out (just to be fair with Nic, I am Ric, not Nic, but that's close enough to cause confusion!), an entirely different thing is to claim that Voyager has sailed through the same 20th centurish moral waves as DS9. Because it mostly did not. While DS9 became, at some point, just a crude extrapolation of 20th century humans to space-ships. It completely altered the very moral grounds where the whole Starfleet and the whole Federation existed before or after. Btw notice that your examples are all from Janeway, while DS9 as a series is full of examples.

In a more picky response, I have only two comments, so we don't make this a clash of episode listing:

"It was hardly 'a nice' thing to do, but the episode paints it as grey" - I fail to see how poisoning an entire planet can be painted as grey. Or put side-by-side with a difficult decision as in Tuvix (although I have criticized Janeway at that episode as well).

"Again, Klingon morality" - That's a super cop out answer. Moral treatment of characters is moral treatment of characters. Worf was also a Klingon in TNG. And for me worst part in DS9 was not even to see characters behaving immorally, unethically or even criminally, but to see the blatant lack of any punishment or even reprehension for any of them. An excuse the situation of Janeway certainly gave her (although I still detest the insane command decisions the writers have written to her).
Robert - Fri, May 23, 2014 - 9:42am (USA Central)
"Anything Section 31 did in DS9 is pretty much worse that every single mention of Janeway's "crimes"."

There are 3 kinds of human morality for every Star Trek. There is the portrayal of the Federation, the portrayal of the characters and the writer's morality.

Some episodes the writers clearly don't take a side, but let the viewer think on both pieces, some episodes they do. I think it's VERY clear that the writers and our characters consider Section 31 to be "the enemy". Including them paints a MUCH darker picture of the Federation and humanity than any other Trek, but I don't know that it's fair to include their actions on this list because the episode clearly paints them as evil (nearly mustache twirly evil) but it doesn't paint the same picture of Janeway's say... torture of Crewman Lessing.

I can't argue that DS9 paints a darker picture of morality, but I think OUR CHARACTERS (with the aforementioned exception of Odo) behave better than Janeway.

"I fail to see how poisoning an entire planet can be painted as grey."

Captain's log, supplemental. Resettlement efforts in the DMZ are underway. The Cardassian and Maquis colonists who were forced to abandon their homes will make new lives for themselves on the planets their counterparts evacuated. The balance in the region will be restored, though the situation remains far from stable.

It's pretty clear Sisko used a toxin that was not poisonous to Cardassians SPECIFICALLY to generate this exact result. And he poisoned ONE Maquis planet to catch the guy that was poised to poison ALL OF the Cardassian planets. So 2 planets worth of colonists got to switch homes instead of an entire race's worth of colonies being made homeless. I'm SHOCKED at the number of people on the internet that see this as evil instead of grey.

"That's a super cop out answer. Moral treatment of characters is moral treatment of characters. Worf was also a Klingon in TNG. "

And Worf revenge killed Duras in TNG. And it pissed off Picard, but he largely got a pass because "Klingon morality". I DO agree with you that if aliens do things that we consider "morally wrong" it's still a judgment on the morality of the character (see the Odo discussion for aliens acting badly). I'm just saying that maybe revenge killing a baby murderer can just be classified as "grey" instead of "morally abhorrent" when you factor in that Klingon's avenge their loved one's murders in this fashion.

You can feel free to disagree of course, I find this discussion to be very interesting so far!
Robert - Fri, May 23, 2014 - 9:47am (USA Central)
I guess where I'm going with all this is that DS9 paints a darker picture of human/federation morality than any other series by far... but for some reason I always found Janeway to be the most morally troubling character.

Odo is clearly morally troubling too, but when he acts really evil I feel like at least the other characters call him on it. Chakotay occasionally calls Janeway on her BS, but the writers seemed to always paint her as the one that was "right" in the end, and I just never felt that way about it.

If that makes sense.
K'Elvis - Wed, May 28, 2014 - 10:05pm (USA Central)
I see no reason that Paris shouldn't have a fascination with the 20th century. Go to NASA, and you'll probably find people who do watch Shakespeare. There are plenty of Shakespeare fans. People go to Renaissance festivals every summer. Some people are fascinated with the Roman Empire. Why shouldn't someone be interested in the 20th century?

The ending seemed a little mushy. Janeway mentions memorials for Gettysburg, but we don't force people to experience Gettysburg, we memorialize without it.

This memorial was built 300 years earlier. If it was intended to last forever, there should have been a power supply that lasted for longer. Isn't it a Prime Directive violation to make this object last longer than intended?

Robert - Thu, May 29, 2014 - 8:09am (USA Central)
@K'Elvis - "This memorial was built 300 years earlier. If it was intended to last forever, there should have been a power supply that lasted for longer. Isn't it a Prime Directive violation to make this object last longer than intended?"

The Prime Directive is fuzzy. It doesn't seem to apply as heavily to post warp societies... which these could have been if they are making a device like that.

And technically, she's interfering with either sane decision, right? I mean... if she shuts it down or leaves it on she's interfering. The worst decision would be to leave it alone, ie to degrade the way it was already doing since the memories experienced by the breaking down machine were so jumbled that it was less of a documentary and more of a mind screw.
Robert - Thu, May 29, 2014 - 8:14am (USA Central)
That should read "shuts it down or repairs it". Leaves it on is clearly the worst choice, as presented by the episode.

I always got the impression that if it was fully functional people would have experienced it a lot like Lt. Torres experiences the events of "Remember".

They'd not have been confused that it wasn't them. You might argue that a ship full of colonists that was chock full of children experiencing the massacre like that is still horrible for instance, but it's still better than what happened to Chakotay and company.

It might have been interesting to see Naomi Wildman in this episode, albeit a bit dark.
domi - Sun, Jun 22, 2014 - 9:06pm (USA Central)
I hated this one. Predictable, boring, and a retread of several past episodes.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer