Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Voyager

"Timeless"

****

Air date: 11/18/1998
Teleplay by Brannon Braga & Joe Menosky
Story by Rick Berman & Brannon Braga & Joe Menosky
Directed by LeVar Burton

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"You owe me one." — Harry to himself in the past

Nutshell: Me likes—a lot.

I'm noticing a trend here. It's a trend many have observed in connection with the Trek film franchise. So far this season, the odd-numbered Voyager episodes have missed the mark, while the even-numbered episodes have been hits. That's probably not a crucial observation, but I figured I might as well make note of it while it's the truth from my perspective. Hopefully next week the trend will end; that is to say, hopefully we'll have an odd-numbered success.

But anyway, why couldn't "Timeless" be the season finale for last season instead of the irritatingly manipulative "Hope and Fear"? There are many similar themes, but "Timeless" is so much more focused, rings so much more true, is so much ... better.

It's not every day, in other words, that we get a meaty story about Harry Kim that's interwoven with a time-travel premise and an effective look at the Voyager crew's attempt to get home.

Set 15 years in the future, the story brings Harry and Chakotay to an icy planet, where they locate the remains of the USS Voyager, which had crashed there following a disastrous accident. The crew was killed on impact. The only survivors were Chakotay and Harry, who had been in the Delta Flyer. The two have been searching for Voyager basically ever since the accident.

The story unfolds as it crosscuts between two perspectives. As the action unfolds 15 years in the future, we also see the story's "present" perspective, which documents how the Voyager crew, in attempting the risky use of experimental quantum slipstream technology to get home, ends up spiraling out of control and crashing on the aforementioned ice planet.

Right from the start, "Timeless" picks a refreshing, workable way of telling a Voyager Homecoming Story [TM]. We know the crew's use of their new slipstream engine is destined to fail (because the episode informs us from the outset), so by flipping the perspective and putting the emotional center of the episode in a completely different place (rather than taking the "crew's hopes being crushed again" approach) the story puts itself in a much better position.

Specifically, the story chooses Harry Kim as its central character. And what the story supplies him is interesting indeed.

It's about time we've finally been dealt a high-caliber Harry show. With only a handful of Harry-oriented episodes to choose from—and among them such disappointments as "Emanations," "Non Sequitur," and the nearly unmentionable "Favorite Son"—I must say that "Timeless" provides the best analysis of Harry the series has probably yet provided, virtually saving a character who has long been teetering on the brink of oblivion.

"Timeless" is a confidently told tale of guilt. As we learn in the "present," the crew's attempt to get home with this experimental quantum slipstream drive is something that has been months in the making. (It's quite nice to see the technology, first introduced in "Hope and Fear," has been remembered by the writers, and that the Voyager crew has been actively working on a way to use it.) It seems the engine is ready to go—the crew is celebrating, leading to an unexpectedly wonderful moment where Seven finds herself unwittingly intoxicated—but Paris finds a last-minute flaw, which in actual flight could possibly cripple or destroy the ship. Subsequently, Harry believes he has devised a solution—he says he can compensate for the flaw from the Delta Flyer, essentially leading the way for the Voyager crew—but this carries with it a substantial risk.

What I particularly liked about Harry's proposal was the way he delivered it to the captain. As much as I resisted the way last season's "Demon" tried to suddenly make Harry "more assertive," there's evidence here that the writers are following through with the idea in a plausible way. Harry is passionate about the work he has put into the slipstream engine, and he isn't about to give up on it because of a last-minute technicality; he wants the captain to give him a chance to make the adjustments while in flight, and he confidently asks for this chance—with more forcefulness than I've ever seen come from Ensign Former Green.

Well, Harry's calculations weren't correct on that day 15 years ago. So while the Delta Flyer, manned by Harry and Chakotay, successfully piloted through the slipstream to arrive in the Alpha Quadrant, the Voyager was thrown out of control, eventually coming to the end of its journey on the icy planet at the edge of the Alpha Quadrant. Harry and Chakotay became the only survivors of the lost USS Voyager.

The story's core is about this future Harry, who has lived with the guilt of failing his crew every day since. Now he is determined to change history—erasing the past 15 years—to save Voyager from its fate. Garrett Wang, in one of his best performances to date, paints future Harry as guilt-ridden to the point of obsession. This is a changed man, both in ideology and attitude. Gone is the pleasant, youthful Ensign, and in his place is a weathered, sullen, impatient man who will do whatever it takes to give himself a second chance in the past. He has resigned from Starfleet and come up with a very illegal plan. He has stolen a special Borg device from Starfleet Intelligence. With the help of the Doctor, whom Harry has retrieved from the Voyager wreckage, he intends to use this device to send a message with the right slipstream calculations to Seven of Nine in the past—correcting his error and getting Voyager home the way he originally planned.

The moral implications here are interesting. Harry and Chakotay are fugitives, charged with stealing the Delta Flyer from a Federation shipyard and with conspiracy to break the Temporal Prime Directive. Hot on their trail is the USS Challenger, commanded by Captain Geordi La Forge (the guest role could've been anybody's, but since Burton directed the episode I'm not about to gripe about him being wasted—it wasn't his story, anyway). Time is short; Harry and Chakotay have to complete their mission before La Forge stops them.

The question, of course, is just whether or not they should complete this mission. Who knows what events in the past 15 years could be affected by changing Voyager's fate? Now that so many years of history have been "written," this mission essentially means cleaning history's slate. As an analysis of Harry, this is quite powerful; he's so obsessed that he's willing to affect countless others to alleviate his own guilt. That's pretty scary, and something I find fascinating given how squeaky-clean our "present" Harry has always been.

However, one problem I have with "Timeless" is the way this moral theme affects Chakotay. Specifically, just what motivates him to help Harry change 15 years of history—something the Federation (and I would assume both Harry and Chakotay, despite their situation) considers morally wrong? Harry's reasons are clear: He's obsessive and guilt-ridden. But Chakotay, for all that he may want to do to help his Voyager crew, strikes me as somebody that doesn't live pondering the mistakes of the past. I tend to think, based partly on how Beltran performed him, that Chakotay would've moved on with his life by now, and wouldn't so lightly change 15 years of history.

The presence of his lover Tessa (Christine Harnos) on this illegal mission is a mixed blessing. She has no agenda or purpose beyond following Chakotay's lead, and seems more than anything else like a convenient character to whom Chakotay relays his doubts in dialog. I like that the story shows Chakotay has doubts about what he is about to do, but I don't think those doubts are developed nearly enough, especially considering that Tessa provides such a supposedly strong emotional tie between Chakotay and the timeline he intends to erase. Overall, the utilization of the future Chakotay struck me as iffy—the only thing in the episode that somewhat holds it back.

On the technical side, the crosscutting between the timelines was confidently pulled off. It wasn't nearly as complex as TNG's "All Good Things...," but the structure and the way the episode moved between the timelines as the crises peaked certainly had an "All Good Things..." feel to it that was effective, right down to the culmination of disaster as Voyager crashes in a nifty special effects display. (Yes, the sequence was reminiscent of the Enterprise-D crashing in Generations, but so what? It still worked.) LeVar Burton's direction kept all the story's pieces nicely in check.

By the end, of course, the future Harry is able to change history in a way that saves Voyager. I liked, however, that his first solution didn't work, and that he had to come up with another idea. But what I liked more was the final scene, where we learn that Harry sent a recorded message back to himself when he transmitted the calculations. This message, and especially "present" Harry's reaction to it, brought a poignancy to the show's time-travel aspect that I hadn't expected. The silent dread in Harry playing back this message was exceptionally well-played by Wang. Words from the future would be frightening enough; but I imagine that words from ourselves—at least, one possible version of ourselves—would be terrifying, and Wang hits this moment square on the head.

You know, it's funny ... a number of complaints I made at the end of last season have been addressed in this single episode. For one, we have finally gotten a standout Harry Kim episode—an experience that one would hope would change him forever. For another, we have a crew homecoming attempt that ends with a sense of renewed hope and momentum rather than in utter disappointment; the 10 additional years taken off the journey, as Janeway mentions, is something that feels like true progress, which I prefer greatly to the typical "reset to zero." And in execution, almost everything comes together, balancing effective use of all cast members, great production values, and a nice overall direction by Burton.

"Timeless" is an episode that gives me hope—hope that Voyager is well on its way to getting somewhere new this season.

Next week: Will Seven of Nine die? Find out on a "special" Voyager. (Please, someone lynch the promo people.)

Previous episode: Once Upon a Time
Next episode: Infinite Regress

Season Index

50 comments on this review

TH - Tue, Mar 25, 2008 - 4:41pm (USA Central)
My only issues with this episode are minor at most; Seven gets drunk and the doc tells her that her "blood/synthehol" level is... some large number. Isn't the whole premise of synthehol that it's a non-alcoholic substance that can't get you drunk? Maybe it's a borg thing.

The other issues, while minor, are probably necessary for the plot, and therefore excusable. I'm a bit iffy on Harry's initial plan in the "past"; If future Harry is so adament that it took 10 years to get the right corrections (which turned out to be wrong), and he can't do it in three minutes, was past Harry just extraordinarily naive to believe he could make the corrections in realtime while leading Voyager? Or was he just very unaware of the difficulty? Why didn't they bother to test THIS plan on the holodeck like they did the drive itself? It's also convenient that Harry's message gets to Seven exactly after the comline to the Flyer gets knocked out, and before it's too late to stop the slipstream safely. Kim presumably had to guestimate the four minutes before Seven's death that he set as the destination time for the message; yet this isn't considered by Kim when the plan doesn't work. Of course, we of the audience have seen the past and know that this isn't the problem, but Kim in the future can't know this; I would like to have seen a more accurate way of determining the exact time to send the message. They still have the flyer; I would think with all the logs these Starfleet ships keep, one of them would have the time he sent the wrong correction to Voyager, or when the comlink was lost. This would eliminate the doctor's entire reason for being there, however.

My only beef of a creative nature (non-plot) was the way the crash of Voyager was handled. When Kim and Chakotay find Voyager, it's mentioned that several decks are compacted and that the ship must have crashed at full impulse (that would be 1/4 the speed of light - only about 270 million KPH... not too fast). I don't know why the writers add dialogue like that (a speed) when they know the visual team is not likely to match to it. I didn't even see any evidence of damage to the ship from the initial impact (certainly no crushed decks - nothing near the damage I'd expect a ship slamming into the ground at even the speed of gravity). And then they cut away while the ship is coasting along the ground. I'm torn on whether that was a good or bad decision, but I'm still sort of curious how the ship ended up under ice as it was. Perhaps it crashed during the winter, and was found during the winter, but there was a nice summer in between where the ice melted and the ship settled in a pond.

Finally, I wanted to point out the excellent scene between LaForge and Chakotay where the former acts somewhat unlike most "law enforcement" characters on Trek - he doesn't just angrily demand they stop and turn themselves in, but he has a real conversation, understanding Kim and Chakotay's reasons for doing what they are doing, even mentioning that he might be doing the same thing in their positions - a sentiment I thought had a bit more impact on the viewer given the fact that we know LaForge and his (at least former) crew and can imagine LaForge doing everything he can for the old TNG crew. I also liked the "good luck" exchanged between the two, as well as fact that the writers were consistant in not having LaForge later turn pushy by insisting that they beam over once Chakotay declined following the start of the breach.
Stefan - Tue, Mar 25, 2008 - 11:42pm (USA Central)
Where were 29th Century guys? I thought they prevented alterations in the timeline. I guess in this case they cut the Voyager crew some slack.
Bill T - Tue, Apr 1, 2008 - 8:14pm (USA Central)
If the Delta Flyer can make it home in a slipstream, why not build 9 or 10 more Flyers, cram the crew on to those and leave Voyager behind? :)
Tim - Mon, Apr 21, 2008 - 10:40pm (USA Central)
I love love love this episode. Except for one thing. The Slipstream lets them travel 10,000 in a matter of minutes and Janeway orders the damn thing taken apart! I could almost hear the log entry: "If the crew can't get us home in one big jump, then I'm not interested. Its the principle of the thing!" :)
Stefan - Tue, Apr 22, 2008 - 2:39pm (USA Central)
I interpreted the dismantling of the slipstream drive to be Captain Janeway's way of not pressing her, and the crew's, luck.
Jake - Fri, Oct 10, 2008 - 12:48pm (USA Central)
Am I the only one wondering why Janeway didn't promote Harry at the end of the episode?
Stefan - Fri, Oct 10, 2008 - 8:03pm (USA Central)
Jake, keep in mind Ensign Kim was the one insisting on taking the slipstream trip (even after Lt. Paris proved its instability) and the one who failed to get Voyager safely through the slipstream. His adventure in time travel was simply him making up for his earlier screw-ups. If he hadn't screwed-up earlier, there would have been no need for his heroics later. That's why he didn't deserve a promotion.
Jake - Sat, Oct 11, 2008 - 5:25pm (USA Central)
Well, didn't he make up for his fatal error in, arguably, the best possible way. And even if he didn't do anything in this episode, he certainly should have made Lt. by this point in the series according to Data (in TNG's "Datalore" Data says one is usually an Ensign for 3 years; Harry's been one for at least 4 by this point, and would still be one by the end of the series).
Stefan - Sat, Oct 11, 2008 - 8:08pm (USA Central)
For some reason it was decided that Harry Kim would always be an Ensign. Notice when Tom Paris was repromoted to Lieutenant Harry Kim notes he still had not been promoted; everyone just ignores him.
Brian - Fri, Oct 24, 2008 - 9:42pm (USA Central)
The most confusing thing in this episode for me is that the slipstream is presumably based on the technology they discovered at the end of season 4 (when evil bloke wanted to trick them back into borg space). This technology would get them home in approx. 3 months according to that episode. Suddenly here we have Janeway planning to be in the Alpha Quadrant "tomorrow".
EP - Sat, Feb 28, 2009 - 12:07am (USA Central)
In the US Navy, one typically receives a promotion from Ensign to LTJG in 12-18 months, assuming your nose is clean and your shoes are shined.
That Harry never gets a promotion is merely a necessary plot device to keep him a "green rookie"-type stock character. Which is fine, by the way. These are stories, after all.

I was also wondering where the Time Police were, by the way. The whole idea of temporal enforcement, while logical from an in-universe point of view, is an absolute killer for the sake of drama, since no one wants to write a spec script that says:
(1). Tried to time travel.
(2). Stopped by time police.
(3). The End.
Besides, Captain Braxton does show up later in season 6.
gion - Tue, May 5, 2009 - 11:20pm (USA Central)
It's an excellent episode. Well directed, emotionally strong. However (and this is a big however), I've always been extremely ambivalent about time-travelling in Star Trek and this episode provides further ammunition for it. First ofcourse, there was the absence of the time police, as already noted. This episode, as all others featuring time-travel should've been null and void from the start.
Moreover, if the Borg have technology that allows them to send messages to their past-selves, then what is stopping them from making any mistakes ever? They could have warned themselves about species 8472 and how to defeat them, just to give one example. They'd essentially never be beaten.

This brings me to a misgiving I have with this series, and that's its tendency to create huge inconsistenties with the Borg (maybe just because it features them so often). We've had the Borg utilising deceptive diplomatic tactics (re negotiating with Janeway to defeat species 8472). Yet they're supposedly unable of deception since they have no need for it in a collective. We've also learned that the Borg posses slip-stream technology that can bring them to Earth in a matter of months (according to Hope and Fear), or in a matter of hours (according to this episode), yet they somehow never got around to sending entire swarms of cubes to Earth to assimilate it (and they do are interested in doing so, as we've learned in the past).
Actually, they could have assimilated the entire Milky Way galaxy before James T. Kirk was even born.

The writers of Voyager really should've been more careful writing episodes featuring the Borg and time-travel, because they tend to blow huge holes in established knowledge of ST-universe.
Jay - Sat, Sep 5, 2009 - 12:34am (USA Central)
Tuvok gets promoted to Lt. Commander somewhere along Voyager's run, which presuambly would have opened up a Lt. position for Kim. Alas, no. Captain by night, ensign by day, right til the end.
Kev - Sat, Sep 5, 2009 - 6:34pm (USA Central)
I wonder why people attack every time travel plot with "Where are the time police?".

These people dont spend their days trying to correct or prevent every temporal incursion that has ever happened. Rememeber, except when interacting with the 29th century, all time travel plots in all of Star Trek are part of 29th century history. These events have already happened for the people of the 29th century, they werent caused by someone in their time.

Infact if they were to stop Voyager, or anyone else in the 24th century, from engaging in time travel plots, they would themselves be violating the Temporal Prime Directive. They would be changing their own history. And thats just bad management.
Will - Tue, Oct 27, 2009 - 9:54am (USA Central)
Oh my lord. I am sick and tired of this. This episode is NOT good, there is no point saying it is good just because it has a cool shot of Voyager crashing into an ice planet, and because it has LeVar Burton. With all due respect, LeVar Burton? Is that the best they can give us? For DS9's 100th anniversary they gave us the entire cast of the Original Series. There is a whole list of things DS9 did better than Voyager, but I still like Voyager, I just think this episode is criminally overated
Jason Keon - Wed, Nov 18, 2009 - 12:20pm (USA Central)
The most over-rated episode of Voyager! No better than other time travel stories. To give this **** stars is just plain ridiculous. Garrett Wang is a competant actor, but his efforts in this episode (where he is required to stretch himself) are poor. It's also oh! so conveniant that Voyager stays intact after crashing into the ice planet. LeVar Burton's presence adds nothing.
CJ - Thu, Dec 24, 2009 - 2:32am (USA Central)
@Will: Actually, DS9's 100th episode was "The Ship"; "Trouble" happened a few episodes later.

I enjoyed this episode a great deal; though I found old Harry's "angst" to be a bit overdone in spots, his final cry of triumph at the end was just about the best thing I've ever seen Wang do on the show; it felt very real after all the years of dealing with his (Harry's, not Wang's) failure.

If I had to rate the show with a gun to my head, I'd say 3 1/2.
John Pate - Thu, Feb 25, 2010 - 4:53am (USA Central)
If I read this right, Harry's mistakes are interesting. In the course of the story we see the crash as a result of his first attempt to correct the crash - in fact, his corrections from the future could be what caused the crash in the first place!

As suggested above, it was established in "Future's End" that the temporal police interfere in things which frak up their canonical timeline - so Voyager wasn't fated crash in the prime timeline, obviously.

The real inconsistency is that in "Hope and Fear" they got Slipstream up and running at a moment's notice and maintained it for a pursuit of the faux Dauntless (with weapons discharges) and for a while afterwards. Plus they have knowledge of (related) Borg Transwarp tech to draw on. The Slipstream here was just too hinky to make sense in that context. Let alone that they can get Slipstream, Borg shields, portals to Fluidic Space (the Borg assimilation process re-armoured the hull in "Scorpion," the crew could surely do something along those lines), open at the drop of a hat, fix the guy's Coaxial Drive from "Vis a Vis"...
Paul - Thu, Feb 25, 2010 - 6:31pm (USA Central)
This is the episode where the Doc's mobile emitter suddenly starts working again, without explanation as to how it was recovered or repaired.
Paul - Thu, Feb 25, 2010 - 7:31pm (USA Central)
Great to see Geordi.

But who designed the StarFleet comm badge of the future, the London 2012 committee? And doesn't the Challenger look INCREDIBLY like the Enterprise...considering the Enterprise was the Flagship of the fleet, how can there be sister ships? Come on Voyager - continuity, please??!!
Jason - Wed, Mar 17, 2010 - 6:41am (USA Central)
Harry Kims finest moment - The triumphant "YES" just before the DF goes boom.

I loved this story when it was first broadcast over 10 years ago, and it is probably my favourite Voyager episode. It’s a shame that the series couldn’t be this good every week, but in retrospect I would say that Season 5 is the strongest so far (I’m working my way through the box-sets).

On a side note – You just gotta love the Doctor… He is neck and neck with Data for best ST character ever.
Stefan - Wed, Mar 17, 2010 - 7:34pm (USA Central)
Paul, the Enterprise certainly can have a sister ship. In the TNG episode "Contagion", its sister ship (the Yamato) was destroyed. Why can't it later have another sister ship?
Patrick - Sat, Apr 17, 2010 - 10:01pm (USA Central)
My main issue with this episode was Janeway's choice to land the ship on a planet. With inertial dampeners offline, and hull breaches happening all over the ship, the Voyager crew should have:

1)AVOIDED landing the ship,
2)AVOIDED any kind of acceleration/deceleration
3)Tried evacuation by shuttles & escape pods

(it's b/c they landed the ship that they were destroyed)

Other than that, the episode is very solid.
Maaz - Sun, Sep 19, 2010 - 10:41am (USA Central)
For me, this was where the Voyager story ended, in the real timeline.

All further adventures they had, was in an alternative universe, one of the ones we saw the Enterprise from at the end of Parallel in TNG (but not the one where Riker's ship is all thats left of the Federation!!)

So in theory, they could go back to any point, preferably to when the Caretaker nuked the atmosphere of the Ocampa's homeworld... or better still, even further back and stop the Borg coming about.

In the normal timeline though, let the epitaph read "The Starship Voyager crashed with the loss of all hands. (bet you wish you promoted Ensign Kim to something higher now!)"
Cloudane - Mon, Nov 29, 2010 - 4:51pm (USA Central)
There are loads of Galaxy Class ships (Enterprise-D sisters).. especially in the various Dominion battle episodes in DS9 or heck even the DS9 opening has one docked.

I do find it hard to believe they're still using about a 30 year old ship design (at that point 15 years into the future) but that's another story!

Anyway.. very good episode. Admittedly I'm a sucker for the time travel stuff. About all I have negative to say is that it seemed very slow for the first act or so but that's only minor. Once it got going it showed all these awesome things I thought Voyager had left behind like continuity, consequence and characterisation. Who'd have thought it?! Easily one of the best episodes of Voyager so far in the series, and a good sign after an awful Season 4 and shaky start to Season 5.
Matrix - Sun, Dec 5, 2010 - 8:02pm (USA Central)
Galaxy designs in the tech manual are supposed to endure for a hundred years, which considering the excelsior has lasted that long isn't that strange. They'd probably modify systems internally often, but seeing as how the current carrier enterprise is 50ish and a starship probably doesn't go through the same kind of aging, it makes sense to me.

But this ep was quite nice and I like the way it unfolded slowly. And there was some great acting all around. Crazy determined long hair Harry was a nice change of pace. one little thing I liked was that ace pilot tom paris was the cautious one and straight-laced harry kim was the one to take the risk. Also geordi making an appearance tied it into the bigger star trek universe and makes sense behind the scenes too. I just love star trek crossovers! Though, the first time I heard captain la forge was appearing in a voyager episode, I immediately thought it was gonna be geordi's mother who'd gone missing! This was just a really great episode and I enjoyed it a lot.
Iceblink - Sun, Jul 31, 2011 - 8:53am (USA Central)
One of Voyager's strongest episodes definitely. It would probably be churlish of me to note that it doesn't have a fraction of the power or resonance of DS9's "The Visitor", an episode of reminded me of a fair bit - but for what it is, it works very well. Although the reset is inevitable, it's still so engaging that it entertains throughout.

Interesting that Garrett Wang seems far more comfortable (and gives a far stronger performance) as the bitter older Kim than the regular Kim. Only Chakotay's presence seems a bit superfluous here and comes across as a little too bland - and his girlfriend is the epitome of pointless. But great to see Geordi in a cameo role. Good stuff
Jay - Sat, Sep 3, 2011 - 3:29pm (USA Central)
Doc: Ensign!
Kim: I go by Harry now.

uh....didn't he always? Ensign is just a job title.
Nick - Wed, Sep 7, 2011 - 10:08pm (USA Central)
An amazing piece of work! Brannon Braga's work during Voyager's fifth and best year was definitely a career highlight. Although some fans will never forgive him for Enterprise(or Threshold). I think he and Joe Menosky were a more natural fit as writing partners given their sensibilities than he and Ron Moore.
Dan - Sun, Sep 25, 2011 - 1:45am (USA Central)
Enjoyable, but as others have mentioned, I just don't get the urgency, the all-or-nothing attitude the Voyager crew takes regarding the slipstream drive. We have one technobabble line about how the crystals will decay or something... But so what? They got to this point in a few months. Why can't they do it again? Find some new crystals and make another 10-year trip (or 5-year, to not push their luck) in a year or two. At the very least, make a test run, and call a 30-second flight progress! The cautious, one-step-at-a-time approach in Hope and Fear seemed a lot more believable.
Jack - Sun, Jan 15, 2012 - 12:22pm (USA Central)
Maybe someone mentioned this, but Season 5 of VOY was set in 2375, so the future setting in this episode was 2390. I would think a Galaxy class vessel like the one LaForge commanded would be rather obsolete by then. A Prometheus class like the one from Message In A Bottle would have been better...
V - Sat, Jan 28, 2012 - 5:44pm (USA Central)
Finally a really good harry kim episode! Actors can't get better if they don't get stretched. I'm glad they finally treated the harry charater some respect. I just wish everyone has had some promotion by now. Janeway come on!

BTW, great job levar, geordi is one of my favorites. Made me want to be an engineer and i did lol.

@jack prometheus is too small for what galaxy class starships are meant for: floating cities in space with starfleet and civilian crews meant for deep long explorations. In the trek universe galaxy class is the biggest for quite some time. Ent-E is actually smaller. 15-20years isn't that long a time if you think about it. Think 747 still in use or nuclear subs still active. Maybe at this point galaxy class is just starting to be replaced.
Captain Jim - Tue, Mar 6, 2012 - 10:20pm (USA Central)
Jay, I think when Harry said, "I go by Harry now" (not Ensign) it was a reference to the fact that he had resigned from Starfleet.
Justin - Wed, May 2, 2012 - 1:07am (USA Central)
This is Braga/Menosky high concept Trek at its pinnacle - its absolute best. As I said in the comments of "Drone," this is why I watched Voyager throughout its lowest moments. Because episodes like this were bound to happen sooner or later.
duhknees - Wed, Jul 11, 2012 - 12:02am (USA Central)
I love Drunk Seven!
Cail Corishev - Sun, Sep 23, 2012 - 2:11pm (USA Central)
I enjoyed the episode (I just ignore the nonsensical time travel contradictions), but I think it could've been even better without Chakotay along for the ride. Harry had the doctor to play off of, and that was enough. I could've bought Chakotay coming along to rescue Janeway because he never stopped carrying a torch for her, but not when he brings a girlfriend along.

Tessa was even stranger: she's so attached to Chakotay that she goes renegade with them and risks death....for the sake of ending their time together and even their memories of each other? What's her motivation again? Just another Chakotay romance that fizzles into nothing.
Jay - Sat, Oct 20, 2012 - 1:50pm (USA Central)
Did Chakotay say"it looks like VOyager hit the ice at full impulse"? From the crash scene, it was clearly not going anywhere near what that speed seems to be established to be...if it had I would think there wouldn't be a piece of Voyager left larger than a nickel.
Latex Zebra - Fri, Dec 28, 2012 - 6:39am (USA Central)
Alternate future episodes are fun.
Drunk Seven was a riot 'You are my Mentor and We are One.' both excellent lines.
Some great FX, pulling back to see Voyager under the ice for the first was amazing.

Can see this as the catalyst for Janeway to change the future in Endgame. After all if Harry can do it to save Voyager why can't she.

I liked Voyager Harry, future Harry not as much.
Again, wondered why he was never promoted, can only assume he gets a Captaincy as soon as they got home.
Jo Jo Meastro - Mon, Jun 3, 2013 - 8:33am (USA Central)
This really was a classic episode, pretty much near flawless. I thought Garret Wang showed an energy and dynamic presence normally completely void in his acting performances as dorky Harry. Maybe he's just better suited for darker or more edgier roles, I really bought him as this bitterly desperate and unstable Bad Ass Harry.

The writers would do well to at least attempt to play to Wangs' strengths and revive Harry from the depths of blandness....unfortunately I know this was not to be and I nearly groaned outloud when I read from the comments that dorky Harry is going nowhere, not even in rank!

Alas, it doesn't effect this episode and how extremely good it is.
Tom - Sat, Aug 31, 2013 - 11:29am (USA Central)
TH,

Yes, they fixed the Seven drunkenness thing in a later episode by flat-out saying that she can get drunk from synthehol. It was the highly entertaining season 6 or 7 episode where they hide the doctor in Seven's body and he takes control. Can't blame the guy for wanting to experience food and drink :P

Regarding the episode, definitely one of the best. Right up there there with "Living Witness" and "Year Of Hell."
Jack - Mon, Sep 23, 2013 - 5:02pm (USA Central)
Vegetarian Chakotay eats salami?
Caine - Mon, Nov 25, 2013 - 8:09am (USA Central)
I enjoyed this episode a lot - and that's coming from someone who despises time-travel episodes.

The visuals in this episode were just great, details like Voyager under the ice and the celebraion in slow-motion just made thus episode stand out to me.

I also loved many of the little character moments, somethign we generally don't get enough of on this show.

It's just too bad that this episode, like most of Voyager in general, doesn't do human drama well. The episodea are usually filmed and edited in such a way, that we don't get a chance to "linger" on the emotinal impact on a character. Some TNG or DS9 pacing would've meant a world of difference for the way we perceive older Harry in this episode - as it is, we get a sense that he's bitter an all that, fine ... but we never get under his skin, the epsiode doesn't make us feel what he feels. As a consequence, I (as a viewer) don't really care whether he suceeds or not, it's all more or less a matter of going through the morions, getting from point A to point B of the story.

So, to me this episode is enjopyable and entertaining - not "great" or "fantastic" or even something I'll remember a week after watching it, unless I really strain my memory.
But that's just the nature of Voyager as a whole (in my eyes).
DLPB - Mon, Mar 10, 2014 - 2:40pm (USA Central)
Yes, they fixed the Seven drunkenness thing in a later episode by flat-out saying that she can get drunk from synthehol.
-------

That doesn't fix anything. It's a crap excuse for a previous plot hole, and makes no sense.
Trekker - Thu, Mar 20, 2014 - 9:59pm (USA Central)
For Chakotay's excuse to do this: I think he still harbors a subconscious romantic interest with Janeway.

No, I am not shipping them, I am just being honest here. It would explain the line in the episode between him and his new lover, Tess, about his heart still being on Voyager after he heard Janeway's log entry, speaks volumes about him. I know his denial in "Shattered" and series finale gave us an unexpected lover interest with Seven and Chakotay, but there is no chemistry for Seven.

(Also for the readers of the Star Trek Novels, including "Full Circle", yes big spoilers, Chakotay and Janeway are a verified couple).

With that explained, I thought the episode lacked something; we knew it was an obvious reset button, so I wasn't really interested or drawn in. Harry is a more serious character, which I liked, but it just gets reset at the end. There is little real character development.

7.5/10
Ric - Sun, Apr 20, 2014 - 3:26am (USA Central)
Certainly an overated episode.

Sure, nothing in this kind o episode pleases me more than seeing one of the insane, dumb, unprofessional risks taken by the captain quite often finally ending up in the obvious disgrace they should have caused many other times before this.

But common, it is offensive to watch yet another insane suicidal decision that felt completely bizarre in that artificial sudden sense of uregency to try a crazy new way to get home. It's utterly absurd. The crew develops an experimental idea in a ship that is lost from home for more than 4 years. And the captain is ready to try it even after knowing that there is a fundamental flaw!


What to say about Chakotay in this episode? Only that it is still painfully annoying to watch he agreeing once again with the captain's crazy decision of the wee, in yet-another-are-you-with-me-scene.

The episode had many other issues. From the corny countdown where the action happens when it reaches zero, to the super corny (and fairly silly) message that Kim sends to him in the past.

Yes, it was a well executed episode in terms of dialogue, especial effects, camera, etc. And yes, there were good pieces like Chatkotay and Kim as fugitives in the future. Still, here we have to swallow that they are willing to go back in time and make a history change of, in this case at least, pottentially enormous consequences. Without a moral doubt shown on screen.

Ok, it was sort of entertaining to watch. But it was not exactly good and is easily the most overated episode of Voyager I have found in this website so far. Certainly not more than 2 stars for me.
doctorbenjiphd - Wed, Apr 30, 2014 - 6:59am (USA Central)
I just finished watching this episode... it had been a few years, but I always remember it being one of Voyager's best moments. God knows I have my issues with Voyager overall, but I stand by the fact that some of the entire franchises' greatest shows happen to be Voyager episodes. OK, maybe not "some", but three or four....and this would most definitely be one of them (and the only non-Doctor centered one as well)

I just wanted to comment on a very subtle moment that was really well done. Right after they rescue the Doctor and bring him on board the Flyer, Kim fills the Doc and us in on the back story - he says something like, "ka-boom...thank you, Ensign Kim." And the Doctor looks over at Chakotay, who stares back with this expression that speaks volumes. An entire conversation is there just in that moment of eye contact. The Doctor is taken aback by Kim's self loathing and overriding guilt, and Chakotay is telling him, "He's been doing this for 15 years now...I stopped trying to talk sense into him a long time ago." Or something like that. Fascinating.

Anyway, Voyager is usually about as subtle as a sledgehammer, so this quiet little glance really resonated with me, and I'd appreciated it. In a lot of ways I think it's a testament to the acting chops of Picardo and Beltran.
pauls - Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - 4:09am (USA Central)
I guess I missed something...
If they can send a message (even a video message!)
back in time, why couldn't he just tell them to not even try the slip stream drive in the first place?

This is my problem with a lot of lazy time travel stories. Why go back to a point in time just before an major event? Why not much earlier?
Stefan - Fri, Aug 1, 2014 - 7:56pm (USA Central)
Harry blamed himself for the crew getting killed. He became obsessed about getting the crew home. It never occurred to Harry to simply to keep the crew from crashing Voyager into that ice planet.

The only reason Harry's and Chakotay's mission was successful was because the Doctor told Harry to try to send a message to Seven that would save the crew, even though it would not get the crew home. At that time, Harry was having a nervous breakdown, his attempt to get the crew home having failed.

So basically, Harry tried for the whole hog (crew home), failed, then (on the Doctor's advice) sent a last second message to Seven to cause her to inadvertently shutdown the slipstream drive and thereby save the crew.
Shaen - Thu, Aug 28, 2014 - 2:32pm (USA Central)
"Can you eject the core?"

"No, emergency systems are offline."

Man, how crappy are all the safety functions in Trek's version of the future? You've got what amounts to antimatter warheads zipping about the galaxy getting into precarious situations with no reliable way to avoid catastrophic failure.
Dave in NC - Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - 11:27am (USA Central)
@ Shaen

We have nuclear powered aircraft carriers and submarines now. Last time I checked, we don't have an easy way to clean it up should something go wrong.

It's not implausible that future humans would take the same risk, especially since 99.999 whatever percent of space is empty.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer