Star Trek: Voyager

"The Q and the Grey"

**

Air date: 11/27/1996
Teleplay by Kenneth Biller
Story by Shawn Piller
Directed by Cliff Bole

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"Well, it's time to be going. The old ball-'n-chain really hates it when we're late." — Family man Q

Nutshell: Entertaining in places, but mostly an implausible, unfocused mess.

"The Q and the Grey" is another one of those shows that the promo people live for. Another "high concept" idea that hopes to win its audience over with a plot that can be described on the previews in a single sentence: "Q comes to the Voyager and asks Janeway to mate with him!" It's a hook but it's not a story.

Actually, there is a story mired in Q's inept attempts to serenade Captain Janeway, but it's so unfocused, ponderous, and ambiguously handled that it's hard to get much enjoyment out of it. This is the follow-up of sorts to last season's wonderful "Death Wish," in which a revolutionary Q played by Gerrit Graham voiced his desire to die because his existence had reached the point of irrelevance due to the Q continuum's love of the status quo.

This time, Q comes aboard Voyager and tells Janeway that he has chosen her to be the mother of his child. Janeway is naturally non-receptive, asks him to go away, etc. Q responds with dumb but amiable jokes:

Q: "You're playing hard to get."
Janeway: "As far as you're concerned, Q, I'm impossible to get."
Q: "Goodie! A challenge!"

Janeway keeps Q in his place until he finally, but temporarily, gives up and vanishes.

Naturally, as the case usually is with Q, there's more here than meets the eye. In fact, Q's desire to have a baby with Janeway, he explains, is something he hopes will have repercussions within the Q continuum itself. But to complicate the matter, a jealous female Q (Suzie Plakson, who played Worf's now-deceased half-Klingon lover K'Ehleyr on TNG) appears, and suddenly we have a classic triangle (or so the Plakson-Q thinks) with Janeway unwillingly caught in one corner.

Considering that the story isn't really about this preposterous triangle, it seems rather silly that the show wastes the opening 1 1/2 acts on it. Some of this is mildly amusing (I got a chuckle out of the tattoo gag, for instance), but much of it is just silly and overly proud of its playfulness.

And, after a mere two episodes, I'm sick of Neelix's stupid island holo-program already. The French pool hall had much more class and style if you ask me. (Speaking of Neelix, his exuberantly annoying "Wow!" in response to witnessing a supernova at the beginning of the episode continues to go along with my theory—Neelix is still a painfully irritating character).

Midway through the second act the show finally shows signs of getting better as the story begins to develop into something beyond obvious Q gags. Q takes Janeway to the continuum (courtesy of another one of those human-comprehensible metaphorical renditions like in "Death Wish"). This time, the metaphor is the American Civil War, used to represent a civil war within the Q continuum. The war, Q explains, is the result of Graham-Q's suicide in "Death Wish"—it has caused chaos and dissension between advocates of the status quo and the need for new thought. Our de Lancie-Q is one of the key Qs standing up for freedom of new ideas, but he's on the losing side of a battle which is causing cosmic side effects (like the aforementioned supernovas). Q is convinced that introducing human DNA into the Q gene pool (or whatever) will bring forward a new era of peace (or something).

Okay, fine. So what does all this exposition and discussion about war in the name of ideals really boil down to? Not much, in my opinion. The problem here is that the episode attempts to tell simple little human stories using what are supposed to be omnipotent beings. Is the show saying that the most important thing on an all-powerful being's mind is the discussion of whether the mother should raise a child or the father? And how exactly would the integration of human DNA into Q society magically end the war? The episode thinks a vague, half-explained answer will suffice, but it doesn't. The way the story uses the Q continuum is too questionable; as much as they know about time, history, and the universe, the episode will have us believe the opposing side of the war thinks it can bring the conflict to an end simply by killing Q. Haven't they heard of martyrdom? Do they believe that making Q a martyr will cause his supporters to lie down and give up?

Maybe that's the point the episode is trying to get across—that the omnipotent, all-knowing Q are ultimately just as flawed and ignorant as any backward humanoid. Unfortunately, that's no definition of Q I've ever heard of, and many of the arguments feel like self-contradictions as a result. Besides, do we really want to see the Q reduced to talking about standard Trek-issue arguments of peace and war?

The other big problem with "The Q and the Grey" is that the use of the Civil War metaphor—initially fine—forays into far too tangible, literal terms. The whole point of "Death Wish's" visit to the continuum was to represent a story with somewhat abstract ideas in more tangible, human terms. But here the metaphor becomes a simple plot device that the human characters can fully interact with—and that's totally unacceptable. By the end of the episode, the entire Voyager crew is in the Q continuum, fighting an unfathomable war with omnipotent beings. This is an "action" finale that, frankly, proves absurd. Because the ending is based on action and not dialog or ideas, all that remains to scrutinize are the physical events. These events have no real rhyme or reason; they just happen and assume they make storytelling sense, which they don't. Why can't these omnipotent Q simply snap their fingers and send these pesky humans out of the continuum? Because the writers say so, that's why.

For that matter, the Voyager getting into the continuum in the first place is contrived and misconceived—and based on reams of unnecessary technobabble. Using Plakson-Q's help (who has lost her powers for reasons we needn't concern ourselves with since the story doesn't), the Voyager is able to cross "into" the Q continuum—using methods that seem about as arbitrarily decided on by the writers as the flip of a coin. Plus Plakson gets shoehorned into the thankless role of a smug, superior being who is better than everyone else and makes sure they know it, too.

Another underlying problem is that this episode doesn't really know what it's about. First it's about relationships and love, then procreation and parenthood, then violence and war between immortal superbeings. In a vacuum, some of the isolated dialog has valid human points and works pretty well, but the show doesn't find any true focus over any of it, and so the themes feel like they've been jammed into a murkily explained, incoherent overall package. And the constant shift in tone from "downright goofy comedy" to "attempted cerebral drama" sure doesn't help the flow of the episode.

And, I'm sorry, the banter between Q and Janeway just does not hold its own. There are some good lines, I'm happy to say, and I think Mulgrew and de Lancie both manage to transcend the material, but overall it's based too much on silly sexual innuendoes and recycled jokes. All such scenes do is highlight how much better similar scenes worked between Q and Picard, where truly smart dialog took precedence.

"The Q and the Grey" is a mishmash of less-than-compelling themes and lackluster dialog. All that we're left with at the end is a bunch of questions that are supposed to have wonderfully complex answers, but instead have little wonder and just feel vague for the sake of inexplicable vagueness.

"Death Wish" this is not.

Previous episode: Warlord
Next episode: Macrocosm

◄ Season Index

33 comments on this review

Bob
Wed, Oct 31, 2007, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
I like how they portrayed the Union as idealistic men of principle and the Confederacy as mindless minions of orthodoxy when the historical reality was the opposite (Slavery was not cool, and all that, but there were many factors that led to the Southern states attempting to withdraw from the US). That aside, this episode was a lame ratings-booster to stall for time after the writers blew their wad on "Future's End". Oh yeah, all the other Q episodes on Voyager sucked, too. In fact, every time TNG and Voyager met, suckage abounded!
Salmonax
Thu, Nov 1, 2007, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
I dunno, Bob - Lt. Barclay's appearances on Voyager usually seemed to work.
Gretchen
Sat, Nov 3, 2007, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Not that the series gave us anything truly stellar before this, but this is the episode which really turned me off Voyager.
So, if you want to visit the Q, all you have to do is fly into a star?
And, after the crew stops the Q civil war, Q doesn't send them home as thanks? Okaaaaaaaaaaaaay!
Dirk Hartmann
Thu, Apr 10, 2008, 2:37am (UTC -5)
This episode does not deserver two stars. The one and only scene I really enjoyed was the dialogue between the female Q and B'Elanna.
Mike
Wed, Oct 22, 2008, 9:40am (UTC -5)
Yeah, 2 stars is pushing it. Although Jammer's review points this out, the idea that the Q are completely helpless against the invading humans is ridiculous. The Q are acting completely different from all the other Q episodes, which I think is unforgivable -- admittedly, season 4 and 5 would see the Borg change similarly. This COULD have been a good episode but was felled by incoherent ideas and terrible writing (and continuity).
Nic
Tue, Jun 1, 2010, 8:55am (UTC -5)
I always enjoyed this episode. "Death Wish" it is not, of course, but there is one scene which in my opinion bumps it up to a 2.5 star rating, and that's the scene where Janeway is tending to Q's wounds in the camp. The lesson that Q learns here is that human's best qualities are not a result of genetics but of education. They are a result of learning from our mistakes and doing our best not to repeat them, which is something the Q have never had to do. That to me gives this episode more cohesiveness, though I admit the final act is a contrived action-oriented mess that almost makes you forget the good scenes that came before.

Almost.
bigpale
Thu, Feb 17, 2011, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Another show that is Voyager in a nuttshell: a great idea and a botched execution.

The series major flaw was the lack of agood showrunner. Taylor just couldnt cut it. The episodes -- nearly all of them -- were in need of a page one rewrite. That tells me whoever was running that writing room wasnt doing their job keeping the writers on point and focused.

Not that Braga was any better...
Elliott
Fri, Mar 11, 2011, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Seasons 2 - 4 had the unfortunate habit of forcing one to sift through some silly crowd-pleasing hokiness to see the meat of an episode. As Nic pointed out, there are some really wonderful dialogue scenes and the ideas presented (though they never flower as they ought to) continue philosophically from "Death Wish"--Quinn was adement that the idea of Q being omnipotent was posturing, that they are indeed as flawed as any other being but simply much more advanced technologically and possessed of seemingly infinite knowledge. This is an idea I sincerely wish had migrated to DS9--I wish the Bajorans would have had to contend with their gods being, well, beings who are flawed. I wish they would have seen something like what the Dominion saw (and ignored) in its gods...but I digress.

This is probably a 2.5er--the last act requires one to turn his brain off and just go with the gags, which is not something I want to do when confronted in earlier acts with deep issues. I seemed to me that the whole civil war scenario was created just so that Janeway could tend Q's wounds in a setting which favoured the dialogue there. The writers then found themselves with a big mess to clean up and few avenues of logical escape, so they just threw logic out the supernova-transdimensional aperture.
Elliott
Mon, Mar 14, 2011, 12:33am (UTC -5)
You know, I just rewatched this episode and it struck me as a lot better than your synopsis recalled to my memory. The plot is goofy, really goofy and as you say Q traditionalists may have a hard time mixing the story's core which is an intimate story with the "COSMIC CONSEQUENCES!!!!" of the civil war, but the acting on Mulgrew's part especially is so under-played that it works. It's something that Brooks could never achieve even when given a very meaty story.

There are two sides to this instalment of the trilogy, one which adresses a serious albeit light-weight issue of where values really come from (a refreshing change from the DS9 idea that Federation values are some sort of meaningless mantra) which works very well, nearly as much so as "Death Wish," and there's the side that's an excuse for fun with the cast and sets, etc. As I said, the mix is a goofy one, but the execution is surprisingly tasteful.

I also really enjoyed the in-joke between Ms. Q and Torres regarding Klingon females (and of course half-klingon females).
Anthony
Tue, Nov 22, 2011, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
I just finished watching this episode and I feel dirty.

Doesn't Q and "Trek" in general deserve better than teenage-level swooning and sexual pastiche?
Arachnea
Mon, Dec 24, 2012, 6:49am (UTC -5)
The perfect show would have been a mixture of DS9 and Voyager:
DS9 was better in plots, storytelling,long arcs and use of great recurrent characters but lacked in allegories and deep-thoughts questions (sorry, I don't if that's the proper way to say it in english, but I guess you understand anyway) and forgot a lot about what Star Trek stood for initially. Voyager mostly was the contrary.

This episode is a perfect example. With a DS9 storytelling and the Voyager's thoughtfulness, it would have been excellent. Nic and Elliott already highlighted the good points, thanks.
navamske
Sun, May 26, 2013, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Best line in the episode? A toss-up:

"You! Bar Rodent!" (de Lancie-Q to Neelix)
"You! Helm Boy!" (Plakson-Q to Paris)
Kevin
Sat, Jul 27, 2013, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
I think it says something that this episode effectively has its own entry in the Evil Overlord family of Stupid Plot Tricks:

"If I Am Ever a Starfleet Captain... If my ship is whisked to the far side of the galaxy, leaving us with a seventy-year journey home, and a super-being offers to take us home instantly in exchange for having his baby, I'll agree and ask what we can get for two babies."
Ric
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Ok, this one was mostly silly and goofy. But I have to say that in the first 10 minutes I laughed out loud one or two times. "My cosmic clock is ticking"? Hahaha, oh my! And what about the later "you, helm boy"? Hehe, this was so ridiculous that... it sort of worked to me.

Sure, Mrs. Q is terribly goofy and a teenagerish idea, but blah... The problem is that I found her character to be portrayed a bit too sexist for my taste. Like the joke about the captain being billions of years younger... well it treats 20th century sexist visions as universal.

However, here we see a clear continuity from the last time we saw Q. Actually, it seems like decisions made in the last time are giving results here. Pretty cool. Also, I think if Q's telling the truth about him being the one that "sounded the trumpet", this gives his character a lot of additional depth.

PS: oh yes, seeing the Doc walking across the ship was also a good surprise of continuity. Although I had prefered him stuck af the sick bay, I am happy to see a bit of continuity here. Good call.
SlackerInc
Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Bob's comment at the top of this thread perpetuates a pernicious myth about the Civil War that needs to be countered with a dose of reality:

www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/five-myths-about-why-the-south-seceded/2011/ 01/03/ABHr6jD_story.html
Robert
Mon, Jun 23, 2014, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Well, I'm going to step offside from most of the opinions and perceptions above and say I like this episode and would give it a good solid 3 stars. I'm not suggesting I'm "right" it's only my opinion.

I just saw the episode, then read all the reviews above, and I will say that there were things in the episode that stretched even my rather large ability to suspend disbelief. As in, from the get go, before I read all the reviews above, I've never been able to really swallow the idea that Kathryn being the mother of a Q hybrid baby could solve a political crisis in the Continuum. The episode says that human DNA will express love and compassion and transmit these values to the Q. Kathryn argues that these are things which are learned, not inherent in the genes. This last point is open to debate; I've heard people argue that genetics accounts for a lot more of what we think of as learned behaviour than we might think.

This leads into one of the criticisms I read above that now makes some sense to me i.e. that the episode tries to cram too many different themes into one show, at least for most people. So if the show was about the nature/nurture debate maybe that would have worked for more people. Same comment for the themes of the perils and pitfalls of war or if the episode was just an old fashioned screw ball comedy. That's too many subjects for 45 minutes for most I suppose, especially when they don't fit well together. Like an egg/ice cream/relish sandwich.

And a think it's a fair criticism that the Q have been taken down a notch after a fashion, and that's something of a loss. They're not really omnipotent, just really really powerful and really really old. They are heretofore reduced to "alien of the week" status. I guess the prior Q outing ("Death Wish") started this (the mighty Q requiring human mediation to resolve a social problem) but I thought that episode had a single powerful theme, which I've also seen well explored in other Science Fiction (I'm thinking of Frank Herbert); that is that "immortality" so called really means living a long long time and is ultimately incredibly boring.

An episode on the trials and tribulations of civil war could have the potential to be compelling. Don't know how you squeeze in the need for Voyager to help stop a Q civil war. Maybe that was the conundrum that lead the writers to come up with the baby idea i.e desperation i.e. we gotta get this show on the road and this is the best we've been able to come up with.

w.r.t. the American Civil War, I read the article recommended by SlackerInc. This article is well written, contains points I've read before from the bit of reading I've done on the American Civil War, and on the face of it sounds "right" to me. But I'm a Canadian and there's no way I'm going to wade into the debate about such a volatile subject as the American Civil war; we have our own "hot button" issues in Canada, such as I've heard passionate opinions expressed about who really won the Battle on the Plains of Abraham. That is where the English defeated the French and occupied Quebec City. As I've been told by English people "we won". But then I've heard of other interpretations. I've been told that Separatist dogma in Quebec is that the battle was a tie, and that is what is now taught in schools in Quebec (I don't know if this is true but it sounds plausible to me). I also read a serious historical article that said that even though the English occupied Quebec City, that isn't the whole story as to how Quebec became part of the British Empire. The explanation offered is that France and Britain were engaged in an 18th century World War which raged in many places,and at that time the big prize in the New World was the Caribbean. So when the conflict was finally being settled at the table the French were more motivated to take what they could get in the Caribbean. Apparently losing Quebec really stuck in the craw of the French, they hated the idea of their French com padres falling under Anglo rule, but the economic benefits they got out of their Caribbean holdings was worth more to them. So Quebec was ceded to the English. The suggestion is that France could very realistically have won Quebec back militarily if France continued the World War, but then they risked losing some of their Caribbean holdings.

Wherever the truth lies there are a couple of big picture points I'm trying to make that this episode of Voyager, and at least one episode of TNG, try to deal with, at least a bit. One is that the passions inflamed by war don't just go quietly into the good night. This is one of the major evils of war. In Canada we still have strong tensions between the ethnically British and the Quebecois. Canadian politics is much more complicated than that but that's one of our big political stressors. In the States it's very clear that the Civil War still inflames passions. I've heard there are people in Asia still upset with Genghis Khan and his visits.

And that is another big picture item; what is the historical truth? And even if diligent and careful and rational and hard working scholars can determine the "truth", there is the problem of what will people believe is true, irrespective of what actually happened. People arguably have tribal instincts that can outweigh an appeal to reason. Well, I'm saying these are topics worthy of Star Trek, and there are many others that revolve around the experience of war.

My understanding (maybe incorrect) is that Gene Roddenberry served in WWII in the Air Force and came out of it with no love of war. But he still believed that evil as war is, it is still sometimes a necessary evil. The tricky part is figuring out in advance when war is a necessary evil.

This is no academic exercise. As I write this there is a very hot debate going on in the States as to what to do militarily in Iraq; the consequences of the decisions being made right now will probably, at least possibly, have far reaching consequences. So back to Star Trek, I think it does a public service when on difficult subjects it makes us think, hopefully helping us to make wiser decisions in times like these.

So why do I like this episode so much? My reasons are pretty prosaic. Even though I'll concede it's a mishmash of incongruous themes, I don't mind that that much. I like all the themes presented, no matter how ineptly.


And if we've lost something with the evolution, or perhaps devolution, of Q, well we've kinda picked up another comedic angle. Even if it is pretty lame.

When it comes right down to it it's two characters that really make it for me. One is the Suzie Plakson Lady Q. I can't get enough of her. I was so sad when they killed her off on TNG, and I wish they'd brought her back some way or other many more times.

I also really "liked" the Confederate Colonel Q, played by Harve Presnell. As in he was polite, witty and a complete SOB. I wouldn't want to be stranded with him on a desert island. But as a character in a TV show I thought Harve did a great job creating a believable, vivid character, with very few lines of dialogue.

And I'll just add that Captain Janeway and Q have their moments, as do B'Elanna, Chakotay, Tom and Harry. I even liked Neelix's bit.

That's all I have to say!
Voyager
Mon, Aug 25, 2014, 1:35am (UTC -5)
The only saving grace to this one is some well-realized humor and de Lancie's reliable performance. Otherwise, it is a wasted hour that accomplishes all of the wrong things. Mainly the dumbing down of Q, the insulting of the viewers intelligence, and the Voyager standard of rolling a few good ideas together into the shape of something that fairly resembles a turd.

1 star.
Skeptical
Mon, Mar 2, 2015, 8:06pm (UTC -5)
Move over Threshold, we have a new worst episode in town.

Let's start with the fact that they spent the first half of the movie doubling down on the stupidest part of Death Wish: Q hitting on Janeway. This is, without a doubt, the most juvenile thing I have seen on Voyager (and yes, that includes salamander-sex in Threshold). It is nothing but a farce. Remember, Q is a god-like being, far beyond our way of thinking. So why? Why is he forced into every bad cliche of a nerd hitting on a girl?

I mean, at least with Picard hitting on Lwaxana in Menage a Troi was supposed to be embarrassing for Picard, hence the comedy. Here, it's only embarrassing for John deLancie and the viewers who are forced to see this.

This is the Q who shrugged off the death of 18 Starfleet officers in Q Who as irrelevant. This is the Q who considers humanity as barely beneath contempt, and only interesting for what they would become. This is the Q that told Picard flat out that he would have appeared first as a woman after seeing Vash. This is the Q that didn't even know what hunger and sleepiness felt like, much less any romantic inclinations. In other words, Q isn't male! He's an omniscient being!

So why, then, is there a female Q? That Q apparently "dated"? What does that even mean in the Q Continuum? Who, of course, acted like a stereotypical woman, because Voyager writers have no imagination. What, prey tell, does human gender differences and romantic interactions have to do with an immortal, omnipotent species? Absolutely nothing.

It didn't fit the show, and it wasn't funny in the first place. Sure, the latter part may be a matter of taste, but the former isn't. This is completely out of character.

Next, let's look at the Q Continuum itself. When last we saw it, Quinn referred to it as a metaphor for the real Continuum so that the Voyager crew could comprehend it. Most tellingly, none of them interacted with anything in the Continuum, because, well, how could they? It was a mere metaphor, and it's not like Janeway is all-powerful or anything. It was just a visual representation, nothing more.

But now? It's real. Oh sure, it still takes the form of something that Janeway could understand or whatever. But that "metaphor" is actually real. The rifle that shot Q formed blood, and Janeway was tending to his wounds. So, either she was literally tending to a literal bullet wound in Q (which makes no sense), she was just doing stuff that made no impact whatsoever since the wound was only metaphorical (which doesn't make sense, as Q was reacting to it), or she was tending to whatever his real wound was somehow and somehow gained the power to do that despite not actually having any powers beyond being a human Starfleet captain (which doesn't make sense either). So which is it? The answer is the third one, because the rest of the crew appeared with rifles and the Southern Q all surrendered! Yes, Tom Paris is so awesome that he is able to defeat a Q.

And Southern General Q says that they are using Q weaponry. So wait, Q have technology? Voyager can just fly into a supernova to reach the Continuum? How does any of this relate to anything we know about the Q? They are no longer the Q, they are just Trelanes. Just really powerful humans with super fancy technology. Nothing that sets them apart.

And that last part is important: this episode shows the Q acting just like humans. TNG showed that the Q both disdained and were intrigued by humans. Disdained us because we could act awfully primitive at times. Found us intriguing because of our capability to grow and evolve. But they were only interested in humanity's potential, not the "pettiness" that much of humanity is engaged in. Yet here, it is the Q who are petty. De Lancie trying to get in Janeway's pants. Plakson Q acting like a scorned girlfriend with PMS. Southern Fried General Q acting like an obstinate fool. Stock characters, in other words. Nothing unique about them.

In brief, this episode is completely devoid of anything related to the Q that we know.

And as an episode, it's a mess too. Like I said, the juvenile "love triangle" was just silly, and that was a huge chunk of the episode. The Civil War was silly too. There were a few halfway decent scenes between Janeway and De Lancie Q, but that's about it. On the whole, it was trying to be cheesy and fun, but failed miserably on that last part.
DLPB
Thu, Mar 26, 2015, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Writers WAY out of their depth here in understanding what made Q a great character... this episode and the writing is frankly an embarrassment.
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Mar 27, 2015, 2:02am (UTC -5)
@DLPB: Completely agree with you there. VOY ruined the Q so badly that their emasculation of the Borg looks like substantial character development by comparison. (lone exception being "Death Wish", the last great Q episode)
DLPB
Fri, Mar 27, 2015, 5:45pm (UTC -5)
I didn't like Death Wish, either, because it was trivializing the Q to the point of farce. The thing the writing staff should have realized from the beginning is that because the Q live beyond our comprehension, trying to answer what they are should have been left to people's imagination. And, furthermore, the Q was to humans, like humans are to bacteria... so all these nonsense comic relief episodes are totally off-base. Q was meant to be a serious, clever, near omnipotent being, possibly millions of years older than humans. Their "race" was judging humanity. It became less and less about that and more about cheap humour. The writers, especially after TNG, just had no clue what they were doing. They also ruined the Borg with similar childish storylines and short-sighted logic.

How else can it be said, really? Some of the writers are utterly Q-less.
Yanks
Thu, Aug 13, 2015, 8:08am (UTC -5)
This episode gets 2 point for including Suzie Plakson.

..and this line: "you know, I've always liked Klingon females. You've got such spunk."

lol, and a great Klingon she was. Just love Suzie.

Another .5 for outstanding banter back and forth throughout the episode.

I guess we are supposed to care about this because.... well the supernova thing I guess. But if the "other" side wins, which they were almost ready too, the supernova thing would have stopped, right?

Why did the war stop?

2.5 stars, it's funny at times.
Zeldark
Tue, Aug 18, 2015, 1:23am (UTC -5)
The painfully obvious stupidity of this episode aside, the only part I did enjoy, though I did thoroughly enjoy it, was female Q referring to Janeway as a dog. Because Janeway is an awful character.
John
Thu, Nov 12, 2015, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Wait a minute! Q says that sex with another Q has "never been done." Um, did he forget TNG's 6th season episode "True Q?" Two Qs have a daughter through human sex named Amanda Rodgers. In Q's words to Picard, they did it "in vulgar human fashion." In the end, Amanda returned to the Continuum with Q. So where was she here? Wasn't she the new blood that the Q needed to end this war? Q says to Janeway here that he can only mate with a species capable of copulation. Not true. Amanda's parents were executed by the Q for mating in human fashion (which Death Wish even alluded to). There is literally no continuity here.
Del_Duio
Thu, Nov 12, 2015, 6:59am (UTC -5)
^^ Good point, I guess the writers never saw that episode haha ^^

Another shining example of quality Voyager right there. /sarcasm
45 RPM
Sun, Dec 20, 2015, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Voyager I am complete agreement with you. The Q were more than just 'parlor tricks'. The very nature of Q gives them insight and access to anything and everything - including human evolution. Hell, Q seemed to be the only one to really challenge Picard regarding anything! It sure wasn't most of the admirals on the show who put the 'in' in inept.

This episode lowers itself to the point that the Q are now being schooled by humans. Worse, the voyager crew. Uh, right. Can anyone truly name a captain whom kicked the Prime Directive in the family jewels more often than Janeway? I don't even think Archer broke it as many times. And they didn't even have a PD yet! They are the last ones the Q should be turning to in terms of anything regarding human development.

The Q episodes worked because they were a way of getting humans to think beyond the routine and the rote. They could be high brow or they could be more pedestrian but there was always an underlying message in all of them wasn't there? Q himself got a lesson in humility in Deja Q. I fail to see what the message is on either side of the equation in this ep. If omnipotent beings disagree and argue to the point of a fullscale war then that would spell certain doom for lesser beings and the universe I would think.

Worst Q episode ever. At least Q2 attempted to restore the status quo and structure to the continuum. And no, that episode wasn't exactly much better than this one, barely half a star more. That one (and this one for that matter) were too juvenile for my tastes. But that one had a more plausible excuse seeing as how it was his son and not grown Q that were beyond galaxies and time. The Q deserved more than this low brow effort by the writers.

1 star.
MartinB
Fri, Dec 25, 2015, 5:03am (UTC -5)
The whole problem with this episode can be summed up in that one establishing shot of the enemy Q's Civil War camp. We cab see a man, obviously a Q like everyone else, laid on the ground, with both legs missing. So... We are supposed to believe that a Q, an omnipotent being with seemingly infinate powers, can be handicapped? Why doesn't he magic himself up some new legs? Or change form to something else? Or go anywhere else? Etc etc...

Why does Quinn's death have the impact it does at all? Amanda Rodger's Q parents were actually executed by the Continuum for renouncing their powers and having a child. Their deaths didn't plunge the Q into war, why did it here? Why wasn't Amanda herself brought up as an example of a child born to two Q, as Q Junior is here, and her birth and subsequent rejoining the Q, had jack all effect on the Continuum as well. So basically, a death in the Continuum did nothing before and a birth in the Continuum did nothing before, but, they are supposed to be the cause of and solution to a problem that didn't happen the first time!

Voyager should have traded Neelix to the Q general to use as target practise in exchange for sending Voyager home.

The tattoo gag wasn't funny, nor was Janeway's "not big enough" attempt at a dick joke (that's how far this episode has dragged the series and the Q down). The only genuinely funny line was Q calling Chakotay "Chuckles" and Janeway barely reacting to it. And I suppose Female Q's "I'm not talking about the puppy" line was funny, but needlessly bitchy as she never showed up when Q was trekking Vash around the Gamma Quadrant for 2 years...
Chrome
Mon, Jan 11, 2016, 10:18am (UTC -5)
It's funny that I should watch this after "Threshold", because it starts to feel like a running gag that characters are trying to impregnate Janeway. John de Lancie (Q) and Kate Mulgrew (Janeway) have an interesting chemistry. Mulgrew plays this episode almost the same as Stewart played his role in Q episodes. She plays an intelligent soundboard for humanity while Q continues to be puzzled by it. The difference between Mulgrew and Stewart, of course, is that Mulgrew has to play a character whose nether-regions are fair game for Q. But compare this episode to "Q-Less" where Sisko just spends an hour proving he's the anti-Picard, which, while successful in universe, seems like a waste of bringing de Lancie onboard. Voyager has much more fun with Q, which seems truer to the spirit of his presence.

There are some problems with this episode, though. It seems to be missing a heart. Beneath the great acting and punchy dialog, it doesn't seem clear what this episode's message is. Is Q a pro-human rebel or is he just a menace of the continuum trying to get humanity tangled in his problems. In that way, this show doesn't work as well as say "Deja Q" of years back which actually explores Q's relationship with humanity.

Another small problem is that Janeway shuts Q off when he offers to take Voyager home. I mean, I know Q is a jerkass genie, but Janeway seems smart enough to manipulate Q. Why doesn't she try to ride his little game for what it's worth and earn some reward?

That said, I liked this episode. Practically none of the story was focused on Voyager's forgotten premise or the feeble problems of the Doctor, and instead we get a nice humanity piece which could fit into any part of Trek.
Chrome
Mon, Jan 11, 2016, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Oh yes, and it wasn't lost on me that Q played a rebel while wearing a Civil War Union uniform. It seems problematic, but then we don't know exactly which side is what in the continuum, so I'll give that a free pass as simply window dressing for a generic war analogy.
Diamond Dave
Wed, Jan 27, 2016, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Well, thank God it didn't stay as a sex comedy for the full hour. Although it didn't get a whole lot better...

Good points up front, the dialogue here is really, really good with more one liners than I can recall in any recent episode. "You! Bar rodent!", "Not big enough", "What are you doing with that dog?" are all genuinely laugh out loud moments.

But on the debit side, the trivialising of the Q and moving them into a realm where humans can affect them directly seems like a mis-step. The whole civil war theme might have worked in small doses too, except the metaphor became massively over-extended and the mawkish scene where Janeway extols the compassionate virtue of humanity is well overdone. Overall, it misfires on the innuendo and misfires on the main story. 2 stars.
Voyagerfan
Fri, Apr 8, 2016, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
As usual, another terrible review from Jammer. A person who hates voyager and just reviews it so that can he let everyone else know his lame opinions.
Latex Zebra
Tue, Apr 12, 2016, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Voyagerfan - That's what critics do, they tell people their opinions.

No one is saying you have to agree. Maybe you should offer some insight in to why you disagree with his reviews (and in many instances, many of the readers of this site) instead of mindlessly trolling and not actually offering any substance to the site at all.
robrow
Mon, May 2, 2016, 1:25am (UTC -5)
As a follow-up to Deathwish, that was ghastly. Although the opening scenes and de Lancie's repartee were as good as usual. I can understand how the production team thought it might be a ratings winner, but I almost hoped the civil war story was one almighty scam by Q to get Janeway to sleep with him. No such luck.

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.